WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Road to Perdition" Sequel is Moving Forward

Posted: August 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Road to Perdition" Sequel is Moving ForwardSubmit Comment
Back in 2008, Max Allan Collins, who wrote the graphic novel that Tom Hanks' 2002 "Road to Perdition" movie was based, said that he had written a screenplay for a sequel called "Road to Purgatory." Collins was planning to direct the follow-up.

MovieWeb has now caught up with Collins to get an update. "We seem to be right on the brink of a deal being signed," he said. "It does look like, now, that I won't be directing, but it is my script. That's the most important thing to me, that the material be faithfully rendered."

We previously reported that the sequel would focus on Michael Sullivan Jr, the son of Tom Hanks' character, who returns home from World War II, seeking out vengeance for the death of his father. "I will tell you that [the new movie] will happen about 10 years after 'Perdition' ends," said Collins. "Michael is 10 years older in 'Road to Purgatory'."

Collins added that they are very close to signing a director and moving forward. At this point, however, he has no idea who the helmer will be. Stay tuned.

Source: MovieWeb


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
KingEngland writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 8:26:48 PM

Road to perdition never needed a sequel, but I could actually see this work if they get a great villain. Really liked Jude law last time, maybe whichever inception star doesn't get nolan's riddler role might fill that void
CCBlev writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 8:32:38 PM

I dunno, the 1st was great.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 8:38:43 PM

Seriously, doesnt need a sequel! maybe if Tom Hanks' character was alive. I hate when they make sequels to perfectly ended flicks.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 8:56:10 PM

Road to Perdition is one of my all-time favorites, so I'll be looking forward to this.
redbluedevil writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:08:28 PM

This could be interesting. But Tom Hanks and Paul Newman were absolutely phenomenal in Perdition. Newman's passed away now, and Hanks' character is dead, and he's too old to play his son @ 25 or whatever.

So let's see where they take this. It'll likely be quite different from Perdition.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:45:27 PM

"At this point, however, he has no idea who the helmer will be."

Just a shot in the dark here, but hows about Sam Mendes?
Ranger writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:47:04 PM

No sequel required.

Either come up with something completely NEW Hollywood, or...

you can just f*ckIN' SMILE... AND BLOW ME!!!
rabid writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:54:05 PM

Never seen the movie. Never read the comic book. Is it really worth my time?
Inception writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:28:20 PM

Hollywood's gonna do it again folks, f*cking the legacy of one of the greatest mafia/crime films in history.
TeemSelami writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:34:08 PM

Road to perdition is f*cking awesome this probably wont be
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:36:36 PM

Why f*ck up the original ?

Does Hollywood need money that bad ? I mean, what the f*ck ? Are they losing money from subprime mortgages or sh*t ?
rabid writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 12:35:28 AM

Every film these days is a hundred million dollar gamble, so I guess its a much safer bet when your movie already has a fanbase.
encoreyourface writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 1:20:34 AM

am i the only one thinking "road to penetration"?
Aingx writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 1:38:27 AM

Can't believe this. It's been so long. Perdition was great and I really hope they get the same staff on this one, otherwise it'll bomb.
trailertrash writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 2:40:48 AM

Really !! this is all you've got hollywood :(

1st movie was great

This sounds like a Straight to DVD movie to me.
Daigoro writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 4:22:51 AM

Lone wolf and Cub never did a follow on with the father dying and son taking revenge! Not really sure it will work though. That's probably why one was never made?
ilovemovies82 writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 5:04:31 AM

STUPID! I LOVE the first movie. It's a GREAT friggin' movie and this movie sounds like a bad idea on SO many levels. First of all, who is there left to get revenge? Paul Newman's character is dead. Daniel Craig's character is dead. Jude Law's character is dead. Who would he be getting revenge on? Second of all, the whole point of the ending was that Michael is NOT his father. He couldn't pull the trigger on Law's character. The whole point of the movie was Hanks keeping his boy alive and that he was happy that his son isn't a killer like he was. Hence the dialog between Newman and Hanks when Newman says none of them will see heaven. And then Hanks says Michael could. And Newman responds by saying then that it is his responsibility to make sure he does then. This whole revenge thing, besides not making any logical sense, would destroy that whole part of the movie. This better not happen. Makes me mad if it does! ERRRRR!!!
Aaron writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 6:17:27 AM

"Is it really worth my time?"

Anything Sam Mendes does is worth your time.
jdl107 writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 8:12:40 AM

Purgatory sounds a little lame. but i did like the first, I need to watch it again
billofill writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 11:17:43 AM

The only problem i had with the original is the fact book was like Untouchables meets John Woo action wise and they kid of f*cked up the ending.
rabid writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 11:56:13 AM

I've never seen a Sam Mendes movie that I liked. American Beauty was waaaay overrated.

But I'll check it out just because I hear the graphic novel was amazing.
Vjlomb13 writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 4:53:09 PM

Max Allan Collins wrote a novel called Road to Purgatory which was a sequel to Road to Perdtion in 2004. This is an adaption of his own work. He also wrote another sequel called Road to Paradise
Vjlomb13 writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 4:55:05 PM

Max Allan Collins wrote a novel called Road to Purgatory which was a sequel to Road to Perdtion in 2004. This is an adaption of his own work. He also wrote another sequel called Road to Paradise
bill the butcher writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 3:09:46 PM

i saw ROAD TO PERDITION in the cinema when it came out paul newman on the big screen
who played paul newmans son???
up and coming british actor daniel craig
wonder what happened with him...
newman was nominated supporting actor
catch me if you can christopher walken
road to perdition paul newman
and the oscar goes to.....
chris cooper ADAPTATION

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved