WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Three "Inception" Stars Considered for The Riddler in "Batman 3"

Posted: August 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Three "Inception" Stars Considered for The Riddler in "Batman 3"Submit Comment
At this point, we know that The Riddler will be the main villain the third Christopher Nolan-directed "Batman" installment. According to several reliable sources, Joseph Gordon-Levitt (Inception) is in talks to play the character.

Now, CBM says that Nolan is actually considering three "Inception" actors for the role, including Gordon-Levitt, Leonardo DiCaprio and Tom Hardy. DiCaprio has already expressed interest in starring in a superhero movie and Hardy is on his way to become a well-known actor, so he would jump at the chance to be The Riddler.

"Batman 3" is scheduled to hit theaters on July 20th, 2012.

Question: Which of the three actors would make the best Riddler?

Source: CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 102 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
HannibalK1ng writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 6:08:29 AM

i think all 3 actors are great but Joseph Gordon-Levitt is most suited to that role.
moods_001 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 6:13:19 AM

Actually none of them.

1-DiCaprio: Not his realm.
2-Levitt: Bale as Batman would squeeze the life out of him before uttering any riddle.
3-Hardy: Won't work... he likes to play the tough-guy kinds of roles. Riddles is not his league.

And Mr. Nolan: Try to come up with an original casting choice, and please stop re-casting your actors in subsequent projects.
blinkbomber writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 6:19:39 AM

yeah... so really any of them would work, honestly. hell, it's Nolan's Batman world so depending on what direction he's taking the Riddler... even Rampage Jackson could have a shot!

^^ ok, not really. but the other three, yeah. remember no one thought Ledger was gonna do the Joker justice.
masKritic writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 6:27:36 AM

Everyone would be way out of Leo's league in my opinion. Everyone in the films are A list don't get me wrong but Leo would be too much for them. I can't imagine him as Riddler at all regardless. I'll stick with Eddie Murphy.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 6:28:30 AM

Did I miss something? I don't remember ever seeing an official announcement saying that the Riddler would be the main villain in "B3". Unless you count the various incoherent ramblings of Michael Caine. I'm pretty sure he's still convinced the Cher is playing Catwoman in "Begins". And I agree with moods_001 - none of them would be my pick for the role. I'd prefer Michael C. Hall in the role.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 6:35:31 AM

Are we really 100% sure that The Riddler is going to be the main villain?

It's hard to tell which one would be best suited, since we don't really know in which direction Nolan will take The Riddler.

But I do believe that DiCaprio is the least favourite. He's a good actor, but it isn't really his cup of tea. I know people said the same about Heath, but Heath wasn't really an established star in the same way Leo is now. Why hadn't seen Heath's true potential, but we have seen Leo's. Hardy and Levitt are able to go the same lenghts as Heath.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 6:51:53 AM

Well if it is The Riddler then I would go with JGL...second choice would be the guy from Dexter and Gamer not sure of his name I think evil.kev2 got him.

Tom Hardy is a really good actor..saw the film "Bronson" he was really good in that, don't really like the man (Bronson) but Hardy was brilliant...if they go with a more physical villian then he would be a good choice coz of how he bulked up for the role.
johnny_boy writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:03:56 AM

I vote Lindsey Lohan. She's got red hair, give her some more coke she'll loom so tore up she'll look like a dude and she's the reason for the biggest riddle: why is she still getting work in Hollywood
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:09:07 AM

Wilford Briemly
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:16:00 AM

Gonna change my mind






Gary Coleman
Inception writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:24:47 AM

Get Daniel Day-Lewis as the Riddler and you will have a better film than the Dark Knight.

BTW Agree with moods-001, and specially with the #2.
VDODSON writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:26:07 AM

I want the Red Hood for the villian.
Inception writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:31:07 AM

Bale as Batman and Levitt as the Riddler, then the name for the 3rd film should be: "Batman: The Animated Series".

BobMcBob writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:34:41 AM

DiCaprio would never play second fiddle in a second sequel to a comic book film; Tom Hardy should and probably will get the role
boiler tk writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:35:07 AM

Paul Bettany should be the Riddler.
Inception writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:40:05 AM

also get Ellen Page so she can play Catwoman as well.
Inception writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:41:18 AM

or some love interest of Bruce or Rachel's daughter the one he never knew about.
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:41:48 AM

I really like JGL as riddler...him and DDD are my top two choices.

I'd rather see DiCaprio as a Hush or even Black Mask character
Anung_un_rama writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:43:06 AM

John Malkovich should be the Riddler eccentric bad guys are suited for him, and its not about fighting its about hows smarter Bats or Riddler.
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:43:06 AM

Leo could play the spoiled, jealous, brooding rich kid/guy pretty well IMO...and would give Bale a counterpoint to work off of.

I'd rather see him as Hush, but in the movie is great
The_Zizzler writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:46:03 AM

I have reason to believe the main villain in B3 will be Catwoman.
Kid_A writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:46:25 AM

Nooo! No DiCaprio! Joseph Gordon Levitt please! He's the man!
BigTate writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:54:50 AM

JGL isn't aged enough IMO. DDL would be simply amazing. But, Nolan will cast the perfect person no matter what direction he takes the character. Albeit he has a nepotistic streak, I think whoever he chooses will own the role.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 8:27:53 AM

JGL or Hardy certainly not DiCaprio. DiCaprio hasn't got the range, isn't charismatic enough. JGL could certainly do a more wily, cunning, smiley face but doesn't really get his hands dirty Riddler (can't picture him and pale in a face off). Hardy could do a more brutal closer to origin Marksman Riddler. Hardy is a fantastic actor.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 8:33:43 AM

"At this point, we know that The Riddler will be the main villain..."

Says who? Christopher Nolan hasn't said anything about any of the villains except that it won't be The Joker and it won't be Mr. Freeze.

Why not wait for some official confirmation before running rumors like this?

Also, if this were true, I highly doubt Leo would be playing The Riddler, as he's not the type who would play a third-billed lead in a comic book movie (remember, Bale and Caine are always billed first). And Tom Hardy is way too much of a tough guy to be playing a weakling character like The Riddler.

P.S. The Riddler sucks as a villain, anyway. Go with someone who hasn't been utilized on the big screen yet. You don't need to have one of the "big" villains to make it a success. "Batman Begins" was a big hit, and Ra's Al Ghul and Scarecrow are hardly the most well-known of Batman's rogues. Also, with "The Dark Knight" being an even bigger success, crowds will come anyway, regardless of the villain.

Bottom line, though, let's wait for some 100% official confirmation before getting too excited about rumors like this.
whoever writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 8:34:47 AM

I would normally say Joseph Gordon-Levitt but I recently saw Tom Hardy in Bronson. He does a really good psychotic manic!
LeeMaca writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 8:35:14 AM

@blinkbomber
nobody thought that Ledger would do Joker jusice? because I thought he would be brilliant from the word go i thought TDK major flaw was the lack of Ledger and batmans annoyingly over the top voice
LeeMaca writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 8:41:20 AM

JGL still to babyfaced, i seen him recently playing a redneck assassin in a movie with Mickey Rourke, JGL stole the show but even then I had a hard time buying he was this dangerous person AND moods_001 hit it with BALES batman would squeeze the life out of him, couldn't agree more
TRUEMAN writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 8:51:02 AM

moods_001 hey golum golum is mine is mine!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 8:51:06 AM

I would vote Charles Nelson Reilly or Gary Coleman for the Riddler ... of course, the dialogue would need some touchup, since ... well, since they're both dead.
palosverdes writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:10:48 AM


No to Dicaprio, JGL, and Tom Hardy, but more important a BIG NO to the Riddler. Riddler is nothing but a wimp version of the Joker.

Batman 3 needs a new charismatic villain. A really mean and lethal Catwoman is what is needed to have the sequel more exciting and fresh. No other woman is equally loved and hated. Angelina Jolie fits the bill.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:12:27 AM

I said it on the last B3 post, Hardy is the perfect choice. A British Riddler would be a great spin on the character. Hardy has great range as an actor. He can be charming and intimidating in the same breath. Neither one of the other two can claim that. And before you JGL lovers have a fit, just think about it, there's absolutely positively NOTHING intimidating about him. He still looks like a f*cking kid (Leo too), and that's not the look for the Riddler. They're all great actors but only one embodies the the dark edge necessary for a Nolan Batman film. If anything Nolan should only be considering Hardy and Leo (who needs to play a villian soon) for the part.
darkraven28 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:32:26 AM

Gordon Levitt already has his dastardly villain thing set (if he returns to GI Joe, that is). And Hardy has already done the main villain thing before in his Star Trek movie, which he was the best thing in. I say DiCaprio, just because it would be a real surprise to see him do it.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:33:31 AM

All you Leo haters out there saying he has no range must have been asleep for the last 15 years. The guy has played everything from lovable retards to hard nosed gangsters. His role in the Aviator should have easily won him an Oscar and might be one of the best performances in recent memory. The only thing missing from his resume is playing a villain, and I'll wager every major director in Hwoodd is dying to give him that opportunity. All the Leo hate is pure jealousy imo.
i3u7n5 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:46:17 AM

Hush is one of the worst, most boringly cliche and obvious characters in the entire DC universe much less the Batman rogues gallery. I have *no* idea why anyone likes him in the comics much less have any desire to see him clutter up the screen.

I like JGL as an actor but I don;t think he has anywhere near the needed presence or intensity to be able to hold his own in a scene with Bale as batman. Hardy has that charming but sort of eerie quality about him which could work as the Riddler and help move the character away from the public's perception of him as that of a silly prankster to a brilliant, cold, calculated villain. And DDD shoulda been Ra's...just saying.
i3u7n5 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:46:55 AM

Err DDL :)
xtlhogciao writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:54:34 AM

I can't picture Leo in the role, whether it's an over the top Riddler like Carey's/60's tv show or if it's a darker version of the Riddler. I can't say anything about Hardy. I've only seen him in Inception, Bronson, and I never finished Layer Cake.
Inception writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:57:02 AM

"Why hadn't seen Heath's true potential, but we have seen Leo's. Hardy and Levitt are able to go the same lenghts as Heath."

@ Freudian_Nightmare:

Heath was already doing protagonist roles and was a very well known actor, I agree on some extend with Leo with might have seen almost of what he can offer, BUT, have we ever seen him play a challenging villain role? No. This is his way to cement his legacy.

Hardy and Levitt are starting in the biz when you compare their resume with others. If Levitt is the Riddler then this movie will suck balls. Don;'t get me wrong the kid can act but like some one else said here, Bale will crush him and still he looks like a f*cking kid. Levitt in Batman 3, not even in online I will see this piece of sh*t if Cobra the Riddler commander is in it.

In all seriousness my choice would be Daniel Day-Lewis, because he will deliver an even bigger and more terrifying performance and quotes compared to the late Ledger. But seeing how this will go down, I'm 98% sure it's gonna go down to Leo.
Inception writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:57:30 AM

Breaking news: The Penguin is the main villain alongside Scarface.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:59:41 AM

You guys understand that The Riddler isn't a villain who's "in the sh*t" himself, right?

because "Bale as Batman would squeeze the life out of him before uttering any riddle." is untrue. If any of you have read any comics with Riddler, or played arkham asylum, you'd know that The Riddler is a c*nt who doesn't have a face to face showdown with batman, he hides behind codes, secrets, and of course, riddles.

assuming that Batman and Riddler would have a fist-fight at the climax of the film is f*cking retarded, because
1- Reasons just stated
2- this is a NOLAN film, not a schumacher. and
3- The third batman is going to be the end of it, and the riddler will be a much much more emotionally draining opponent than a physically exhausting one.

Honestly, shame on you guys for assuming Schumacher-type tomfoolery in a Nolan film!
velocityknown writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:00:00 AM

Gordon-Levitt.

Hey, no one thought Ledger would give the kind of Joker performance he did, did they?

Plus someone said that Bale would basically kick the crap out of the Riddler. Yeah that's pretty obvious, but as proved in THe Dark Knight, it's not about physical confrontation with the villain.
Inception writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:01:59 AM

Editing:

I agree on some extend with Leo with might have seen almost of what he can offer = I agree on some extend with Leo, we might have seen almost of what he can offer
CCBlev writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:03:46 AM

@Sac
Trailer and I were talking about Hardy being the perfect choice as well. I really do like that idea.
velocityknown writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:05:30 AM

@Inception

How exactly is Gordon-Levitt just starting?

He's been acting since 1988, was on 3rd Rock from the Sun, has starred in numerous critically acclaimed indies (Manic, Brick, The Lookout) as well as the bigger hits like 10 Things I Hate About You and (500) Days of Summer (and now you can add Inception to that list).

So in the realm of critical acclaim and financial success, he's no newcomer. He's no Leo, but you can't say he's new even compared to a lot of other people.
velocityknown writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:08:07 AM

@SAC

Haha "loveable retards" I always forget to put Whats Eating Gilbert Grape among his top performances. You're right though, I think Leo has yet to show us his best. Like I said, a lot of people were unsure of what kind of persona Ledger would bring to the Joker, seeing as Leo is more established of an actor than Heath was, I say we give him more credit. He could do it. Honestly I won't judge any decision Chris Nolan makes.
joedirt writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:18:00 AM

how bout nick cage. he usually does a pretty good "different" character
atn5022 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:18:00 AM

i knew the second i saw inception that it would be one of those three playing the riddler
BigUnit writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:19:47 AM

since i feel like batman 3 has to or should try to top Dark Knight, they should def go with Leo as the Riddler, going with someone like Gordon-levitt or hardy is just to similar to how things went with the dark knight, they took a big gamble with Heath and no one expected him to do what he did with the joker. Thats why for batman 3 they need to go all out, sign Leo as the riddler, bring back two-face and scarecrow and it will be a show.
Inception writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:20:36 AM

Impressive how fast has Levitt become the newest overrated actor out there.

2 names that will kill this batman trilogy are either Levitt or Depp. Take a break and watch both Nolan's Batman films and picture the 3rd film with one of those 2 jackasses. You see, they don't belong in there.

BTW read an article long time ago about Nolan been a fan of Leo and wanted to work with him since long time ago. OK, got his chance, but then again if the chance appears again to cast one of your top favorite actors out there for a daring role, will you do it? The same opportunity appears again, mmm.. by logic Leo is supposed to be the new Riddler.
Bunny X writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:20:42 AM

Ok here's my choice. I say, go with all three. I mean it's Nolan, it's The Riddler. So why not have all three in the role as different real-world folks from a succesful businessman to a middle class blue collar guy to the recluse in his mom's basement but all three are essentially The Riddler. But have Nolan spin it as the three real-world personas are the fractured reality of one man, The Riddler.
It would be a great way to turn the Riddler persona on its ear and have it apply to Nolan's universe.
Think about it. The whole campaign could be driven behind "Who Is The Riddler?" with not even Batman knowing. We could see scenes of each actor living out their lives and not knowing until the end or never knowing at all.
It really seems like a stretch on paper but I'm sure Nolan could deliver that to be right on par with Memento.
BigUnit writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:22:23 AM

if it wasnt any of these three. Gur Pearce
BigUnit writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:22:47 AM

Guy Pearce**
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:29:48 AM

This comments section is filled with awful ideas.

These comments are bad and you should FEEL bad!
Inception writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:30:27 AM

@velocityknown:

What I meant saying Levitt was starting in the biz was saying that NOW he is getting great roles and more importantly main ones. Before Killshot and Miracle at St. Anna he was doing Shadowboxer if you remember, and tons of crap. When Ledger did the Joker, Ledger was already doing protagonist roles, while Levitt has been a protagonist in how many films? That's what I meant in being new to the biz. They will not give to a kid a heavyweight role.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:38:02 AM

Hey if Jim Carrey can be threatening by being funny and crafty at the same time when he was the Riddler I am not crossing out any three actors. Plus, the Riddler is meant to be more intelligent than anything else. Joseph Gordon-Levitt defintely seems like he is best for the role (He showed his ability to be intelligent and maniacal in G.I. Joe) but Leonardo DiCaprio has an intensity in each role he plays and be interesting to see him in the role. Tom Hardy seems too tough to play the role, but hey if he can be smart and crafty give it a shot.
Inception writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:39:16 AM

Levitt would have been better in the Spiderman reboot.
BigUnit writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:40:05 AM

Guy Pearce or Robin Williams are my choices personaly
velocityknown writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:50:39 AM

@Inception

Couldn't agree more about the Spiderman reboot. He might've fit better than Maguire.

Like I said, I'll support any decision Nolan makes.

I like the idea of Guy Pearce (they did work together of Memento), James Franco could also be a possibility seeing as he was supposed to play Arthur in Inception (he obviously had to drop out and Gordon Levitt took over).
rabid writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:54:23 AM

We don't know sh*t about Batman 3. The Riddler might not be in it at all.
But if I had to choose among those, DiCaprio is the better actor, with Tom Hardly looking the part.
Inception writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 11:01:43 AM

@velocityknown:

Instead of going with the Garfield dude they could have acquired better talent like Levitt for Parker, but Hollywood never learns.

My top picks for Riddler are

1-Daniel Day-Lewis
2-Guy Pearce
3-Leo
4-James Franco
cblackwell writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 11:15:06 AM

With the way The Dark Knight ended and with Heath's death it would be great for them to bring in Harley Quinn, she love the Joker (for memory when he was in Arkham Asylum) and they just start by saying The Joker died while there and she blames Batman and Gordon who put him away
NatG83 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 11:15:24 AM

DiCaprio is solid in all his roles, but I don't feel he has the ability to totally change for a role like Ledger had. I think Hardy has some strong talent, but I haven't seen him in enough performances to judge him fairly.

I think Gordon-Levitt can totally become a role like Ledger did. As VelocityKnown said, look at his films: The Lookout, Brick, Maniac, Killshot, even Shadowboxer. He turned in very different performances in all those movies (almost to the point that you would have thought it was another person). My only issue is his youth, but I don't think that the Riddler has to be a middle-aged guy.

Guy Pearce is a good suggestion, too.
VDODSON writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 11:16:57 AM

Im a big fan of Hardy, but I see him in a different light after he said he used to have sex with men. He fancies himself a modern day James Dean.
boiler tk writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 11:19:13 AM

I still think Paul Bettany would be an awesome Riddler. Maybe David Tennant would work too.

Ideally I would love to see Gary Oldman as the Riddler if he weren't already attached to the franchise. He is always a great villian.
Moose756 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 11:24:40 AM

I nominate the shamwow guy.
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 11:27:46 AM

Joseph Gordon-Levitt hands down in this case. Hardy should chill, he's the new Mad Max.
DiCaprio needs another project to come into play.
Aingx writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 11:30:01 AM

JG-L is the only one of the three that can bring that role some life. Riddler isn't a very interesting character to begin with but maybe he can do something special with the role. Doesn't matter anyway; they've already messed up the DK storyline....
rabid writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 12:07:10 PM

Paul Rubens as The Fiddler!
rabid writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 12:07:34 PM

Michael Jackson's corpse as The Diddler.
PirateDave128 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 12:20:20 PM

I reckon Tom Hardy would do a good job, have seen his work and he has proven himself very versitille. Although I am unsure about character choice of Riddler, but if Nolan thinks it'll work, then it will work!
thismoviesucks.org writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 12:36:05 PM

Johnny Deep
leezy84 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 1:02:28 PM

Keep Johnny Depp away from this please thank you.
My top 3 would be:

1. Daniel Day Lewis
2. Micheal C. Hall (Dexter)
3. Tom Hardy ar JGL
jgrantt18 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 1:06:02 PM

I like JGL the best for the Riddler, but Hardy would be fantastic in any role. DiCaprio shouldn't join up.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 1:56:48 PM

SAC: I don't hate leo, but I still don't think he's special. He's too mechanical and analytical of an actor to me. Spends so much time studying the character that he loses the organic feel that a great actor possess. He feels like he belongs in the 30s/40s. He has still not had a performance where he has transformed. The mere fact that you said he couldn't be charming and intimidating is a testament to things he lacks as an actor.

He has played different characters, but he hasn't BECOME any of them. They all seem to mesh anyway. His script choice is odd too, sure he's in good movies, but does he provide enough separation in the performances. This year is the best example. He's essentially played the same character in two high profile movies. Is it a terrible script decision? Well Chris and Marty are great directors yeah, but he's not really showing the audiences anything new. He can learn a thing or two from DDL, Sean Penn, f*ck even Joseph Gordon Levitt. Ellen Page said it best in this interview with Joe.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DOucU0sNcug&playnext=1&videos=JlHdTawDhXo
LeeMaca writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 2:22:31 PM

Said it before on here but i still think robin williams would be a terrifying Riddler, he has the wacky and the wacko old rolled into one plus he's getting on a bit now so it wouldn't be a fist fight batman movie more of the riddler torturing an all ready emotionally charged bruce/bats, I think a lot of people are forgetting how TDK ended and the third one should start with Batman being hated for "killing" dent so in an already dark movie we need someone who can go that step further than the joker because it's going to take a dark horrible c*nt before gotham turns to batman again
LeeMaca writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 2:22:31 PM

Said it before on here but i still think robin williams would be a terrifying Riddler, he has the wacky and the wacko old rolled into one plus he's getting on a bit now so it wouldn't be a fist fight batman movie more of the riddler torturing an all ready emotionally charged bruce/bats, I think a lot of people are forgetting how TDK ended and the third one should start with Batman being hated for "killing" dent so in an already dark movie we need someone who can go that step further than the joker because it's going to take a dark horrible c*nt before gotham turns to batman again
LeeMaca writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 2:23:28 PM

^ sorry hit submit then refreshed
boiler tk writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 2:39:57 PM

@ LeeMaca
TDK ended with Batman being hated for killing all the people THAT Dent killed, not for killing Dent. Unless I missed something, but blame for Dent's death was never truly established?
billofill writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 2:56:09 PM

For Riddler think John Doe from Seven or Simon Gruber from Die Hard 3. Um that is all.
The_Zizzler writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 2:58:31 PM

As I said hours ago, this article and all the comments are pointless. I have great reason to believe Catwoman is the new villain. The die hard Bat fans will know this when they hear the latest podcast on BOF.
holtlt writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 3:15:29 PM

Damian Lewis or William Fichtner... Ohh wait, Fichtner was the bank manager in TDK
The Honest One writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 3:24:11 PM

Having watched Inception, I'm kind of hoping Levitt will get the part. I understand that both he and Hardy are steadily climbing the ladder to stardom and will give it their all to make the part work, but I honestly believe Levitt has the look and the build for the part. Leo's pretty much golden wherever he goes which is kind of why I want to see someone else try to ace the role.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 3:32:08 PM

PICK SOMEONE FUNNY! Depp would be alright because he's a great character actor and he could pull of the dark/sinister/humorous traits the Riddler includes. Levitt may be a cool guy I just dont think he's right for the part. What about Alan Tudyk??
jeffw1978 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 4:05:47 PM

I say Michael C Hall. But Depp could definately pull it off. f*ck it just use Ryan Reynolds he is in everything any damn way.
velocityknown writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 5:26:13 PM

I like the idea of Michael C Hall, mostly because I'm a huge Dexter and Six Feet Under fan and he's one of the (if not the) best actors on television.

Johnny Depp seems like too obvious a choice and I think one of the best things about Ledger's performance is it was something we had yet to see from him. We've seen Johnny Depp act like a weirdo plenty of times, it'd be nothing new or interesting. Plus it'd feel like stunt casting.

My list:
1. Joseph Gordon Levitt
2. James Franco
3. Leo DiCaprio
4. Michael C Hall

Actors I think would be interesting to consider but won't be:
Will Arnett, he was mostly a dramatic actor prior to Arrested Development.
Michael Emerson because he played the ultimate bad guy who worked behind deception (a la the Riddler)
Ben Foster, worked with Christian Bale on 310 to Yuma and is a pretty talented actor.

Movie_Cookie writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 5:28:45 PM

Thumbs up for Alan Tudyk!!! He would be awesome! Joseph Gordon-Levitt would be a good choice, too.
TemporalFlux writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 6:21:37 PM

Levitt could pull off a crazy serial-killer type Riddler kinda like the Zodiac killer or someone. I really think the character needs to be more gritty in Nolan's movies, not the over the top circus clown escaped from the assylum type that we have seen before.
Tyrkae writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 6:41:48 PM

Ok so the theme for the movies is 2 bad guys so who is the other one for this movie Catwomen or Poision ivy id like to see poision ivy have some kinda plant to make ppl tell the truth and thru it riddler finds the identy of batman
LeeMaca writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:23:21 PM

I got he was getting the blame for the people Dent killed but I thought he was getting blamed for Dent's death asell?
shizz101 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:07:47 PM

Not 2day Johnny Depp hands down like a straight jacket he's a better actor than all 3 , n wen he's in character he's in character look at jack sparrow
scotty7471 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:43:32 PM

im voting for tom hardy. i think he will make it work. plus i like his accent :)(
murphyslaw93 writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 1:02:55 AM

Wow, this is an incredibly tough decision being that all three actors are just plain awesome. I think DiCaprio is the least best choice just because he's better at playing a hero (even if the hero is not exactly the nicest of all people...Blood Diamond). I think Joseph Gordon-Levitt is an incredible actor and its sad that its taken this long for him to become a name and not just a familiar indie face. The same goes for Hardy whose been in more british films and is just now getting out to American audiences. Either Levitt or Hardy, but I'd prefer Hardy since he's more of a tough guy and I think he'd put an interesting twist on the Riddler. Plus he played a great bad guy (in my opinion) in Star Trek: Nemesis. But if they wanted to keep the Riddler a more Adam West-tv show look, Levitt could definitely pull if off. Either or, for real.
blinkbomber writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 1:37:21 AM

@LeeMaca
then it was you, me... and a very select few others because when the news got out and before the first pic was ever released i remember reading nothing but insults thrown his way.
Derp88 writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 1:58:10 AM

Tom Hanks should be the Riddler
SACdaddy writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 7:23:34 AM

@TDK: Don't know if you seen these films but all are great examples of Leo's ascension as a great character actor. All show great range and humility, but most of all they show him playing a part and not just being Dicaprio:

1. Basketball Diaries
2. The Aviator
3. Blood Diamond
4. Reservation Road

I have a hard time believing anyone who loves movies would not appreciate these performances as some of the best in modern film (but to each his own). JGL and Hardy are coming up, but they have a long way to go to come anywhere close to delivering the gems that Leo pumps out on a regular basis. He and Denzel (and Nolan apparently) are about as close to a guarantee as Hwood gets these days.
rebel writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 4:05:25 PM

i like the idea of JGL. decaprio should play an actual superhero. actually, he might work out well as the flash? hardy i just dont see in this role, at all.
YodaIam1 writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 5:21:12 PM

Guy Pearce
Carl Erik Rinsch writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 12:17:01 AM

its a shame that Cillian Murphy was already cast as The Scarecrow, because he would do a very good Riddler, in other hands JGL would do perfectly specially since The Riddler dont fight with punches, he is a very inteligent hacker so it`ll gonna be a fight with the mind...
Carl Erik Rinsch writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 12:20:50 AM

By the way seeing IMDB, I see that d*ck Grayson is been cast, for the third movie so that means that we gonna se Robin in the last film, worstpreviews check taht out, because you always say that Nolan dont want Robin...
bill the butcher writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 2:56:05 PM

tom hardy bronson
joseph gordon levitt mysterious skin
leonardo dicaprio revolutionary road
3 amazing actors
was heath legend known for comic book films before the dark knight???
he was cast because his performance in brokeback mountain was fearless...
Blade12322 writes:
on August 9th, 2010 at 11:38:37 PM

nooo
none of these
DEFINITELY not the guy who plays Dexter
it has to be Johnny Depp! the character seems so perfect for him
ill be disappointed if its anyone else, no homo ofc
but damn, i cant imagine it as anyone else at this point
Mudders writes:
on August 10th, 2010 at 2:58:37 AM

i dont think any of them.

1.levitt looks too much like ledger

2.hardy just isnt that type of guy

3.di caprio in my opinion would be better of the 3 but like hardy it doesnt seem right for him

id like to see someone from left field like sharlto copely or even ed norton!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved