WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"X-Men: First Class" Re-Written Because of "Inception"

Posted: August 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"X-Men: First Class" Re-Written Because of "Inception"Submit Comment
Director Matthew Vaughn (Kick-Ass) is currently working on "X-Men: First Class" and even though he has very little time to make the June 3rd release date, he revealed that he has been re-writing the script after seeing Christopher Nolan's "Inception."

"I saw 'Inception,' which I loved," he told LA Times. "But my heart sank when I saw that a few of the ideas we had were up [on the screen]. So it's either leave it in and look as if you're copying or change things. We completely ripped out about 12 pages of the script and the storyboards."

The scene that was removed involved Professor X (James McAvoy) and some other mutants in spinning rooms with other physics-bending imagery.

Vaughn later told IGN that "First Class" will probably be compared to JJ Abrams' "Star Trek," since it's a reboot of the franchise, but wit a completely original story.

"The story that Bryan Singer came up with is very, very smart," he explained. "It's very clever when you see how he has integrated the characters into the time period where the film is set. It's a very clever way of getting these characters involved in recent history, in recent world events."

Source: LA Times, IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
wonderBOY writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 6:06:22 AM

how can it be a reboot if theres going to be xmen 4 and wolverine 2
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 6:22:13 AM

So, this isn't taking place in the 60's? How the hell are they going to have a 35 year old concentration camp survivor in modern times?
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 6:28:18 AM

@eViL.kEv2

I agree, these reboots, remakes, sequals and prequals are just confusing the crap out of everyone and starting to not make sense at all.

I lost faith when they were strongly thinking of having Taylor Lautner play the young Wolverine along with the young other X-Men...which doesn't make any f*cking sense at all!!
Feanor224 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 6:32:46 AM

@wonderboy--what do you mean? It's a reboot because they're telling the origin story from the beginning.

X-Men 4 is purely speculation at this point. At best, it would come out 7th or 8th behind other Marvel films already in the works and would be lucky to have a release date before 2013.
And while I'm excited about the potential for Wolverine Origins 2, it would exist completley seperately from this
telur writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 6:41:18 AM

so... Cylcops will wear blue or black spandex?
johnny_boy writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:02:01 AM

The only chance for it being good but Inception beat them to the punch.
Inception writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:20:45 AM

Vaughn go and suck a mutant's c*ck, this film will be a huge mess.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 8:30:01 AM

This really mean that they lacked the confidence to be able to execute their sequences on the same level or on a higher level than INCEPTION. Inception didn't do anything I hadn't seen before, it just did it very well. This is a lame cop out.
TRUEMAN writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 8:33:10 AM

i smell a crapfest!
SACdaddy writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 8:58:10 AM

While I respect Vaughn for not wanting to look unoriginal I think he's giving the spiraling room scene from Inception way too much credit. Its was a great idea, but it really doesn't come off as anything special onscreen. The camera was so close to the action it came off looking like more of a Bourne bathroom fight than some mindbending dream sequence. Lets face it, its hard to be original in the shadow of the Matrix. Inception succeeds imo by delivering a excelllent plot to go along with its effects not by trying to dazzle you with the latest and greatest CGI/3D parlor tricks. Vaughn is competing for ideas with the wrong film. Leave the spinning room sh*t in the New Class film, Inception wont be remembered for that. There is so much more that made it memorable than that 10 second JGL fight sequence.

If I were Vaughn I'd be thinking of how to top Singer's X films. To this day, I think the opening Night Crawler attack scene in X2 is one of the best special effects sequences in recent film history. If Vaughn's spinning room concept is better than that no one will remember the Inception fight or cry plagarism. Plus, taking concepts from other films didn't seem to bother Nolan too much when he made Inception. He lifted the ending right from Total Recall (and several Nightmare on Elm Street films) and nobody complained. Just do your thing Vaughn and let the audience decide what's better.
i3u7n5 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:38:03 AM

This is sounding more and more like a SyFy movie.
CCBlev writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:54:59 AM

I knew they were trying to to hide this as a reboot.
Bunny X writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:10:21 AM

Oh you don't want to seem like you're copying Inception in one scene but folks will fall all over themselves to follow the 3D trend.
Give me a break. Just shut up and do your movie.
rabid writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:48:15 AM

aw, cmon! the comic book did it first. Inception is just ripping off Existenz and the Matrix. X-Men would be ripping off its own self.
rabid writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:49:54 AM

He says they took Abrams route of rebooting... Does that mean this will be some sort of Days-Of-Future-Past storyline to change the future and rewrite the other X-movies?
because if it is, then that's brilliant.
KallousTom writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 1:52:40 PM

Vaughn's got some genuine talent as a filmmaker. While I'm not really on the Kick Ass band wagon I can see why people are, and I really loved Layer Cake. But I personally hate prequels and re-boots. They're a bit of a con and don't really do the franchise justice most of the time. Whatever happened to making One great movie *Coughs* Inception *Coughs* and just leaving it as part of movie history instead of trying to sh*t out sequel after sequel?
Austin VBA writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 1:53:42 PM

I don't get how this will fit into the X-Men films... Iceman was in X-MEN, so wtf? And Angel was in the third, though he was absolutely pathetic. So agin, wtf? I have hope still and I think this will be better than all the X-men and Origin films!
Time traveller writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 2:43:39 PM

austin,this has been discussed to death,i suspect you werent around when everyone discussed this. X3 is ignroed by everyone,that movie killed of most of the cast,thoguh they showed professor X taking up the new body of the braindead guy,but still,no jean grey,no scott,rogue lsot her powers, magneto lost his powers etc. Trust me,if they make X4,this movie will porbably be ignroed alltogether.As for Iceman,nobody said he's gonna be in this reboot.And what has Wolverine got to do with this film? Wolverien can go off and do his own thing in his movies,so how does that interfer with x-men in the slightest? you don't make sense.
Sinestro writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 3:16:37 PM

What a lame sh*t.

Nolan didn't go back to the drawing board after playing Modern Warfare 2. :)
Ranger writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 3:42:32 PM

@Bunny - well said, as usual.
jeffw1978 writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 4:15:08 PM

Unless the X-men are going into dreams and stealing/planting sh*t it is not the same, maybe the same physics beniding effects but not the same story line, so do it your f*cking way and shut the hell up.
Austin VBA writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 4:50:10 PM

@Time Traveller

I was just saying this I have hopes in this film as far as quality, thats where Wolverine comes in. He wasn't incorporated in any way for the film itself.

And thanks for clearing up the confusion.
victor arroyo writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:17:08 PM

Hugo f*cking Weaving!!!!!
encoreyourface writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:50:37 PM

weird ...
takai writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:17:43 PM

I skipped reading the comments, but what I have to say is:

I am quite impressed with Vaughn's decision. I think that it's a really good move.
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:37:24 PM

@ Time traveller

I saw X3. The cure didn't work, so Rogue and Magneto probable got their powers back.
rabid writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 11:18:04 PM

I know how Vaughn feels. I just had to scrap about half of a graphic novel I've spent two years writing because one plot was too similar to Inception's dream-within-a-dream.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 1:05:54 AM

I hope this is good, Vaughn is a pretty good director even though the only film of his I liked was Kick Ass (but I loved the sh*t out of it). I do have faith, and it is a good idea to re-write or tweak that scene because that whole sequence where Joseph Gordon Levitt was doing anything without gravity was the most memorable scene in the entire movie and anything that comes from now on that even slightly resembles that will be compared to Inception (even though Inception's scene is pretty much a rip off of the subway fight scene from the Matrix). All the new Xmen flicks are not gonna work alongside one another but whatever.
rabid writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 11:44:12 AM

perhaps they will in the way that the old Star Trek films relate to the new one. An altverse instead of a reboot.
rebel writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 4:03:07 PM

i feel like i need to throw this out for anyone whos not getting why this is a mess, and why it absolutely MUST be a reboot:

ice-man was in the first X movies. this is a huge problem. ice-man is an important part of first class. same problem with angel. you need those characters to be involved, leave, and return at a later time for, oh, idk, the apocalypse story arc maybe?

he considered lautner for wolverine? okay lets ignore for a moment that he considered a talentless hack from a movie that only teenage girls, gay guys, and desperate ugly older women like. WOLVERINE WAS NOT PART OF FIRST CLASS.

i didnt even like the first two X movies. the only casting i even liked was xavier, magneto, and wolverine.
even the costumes were horrid. no, i dont expect to see wolverine in a yellow costume, etc. but do something a little original then, instead of putting them all in this terrible ugly pleather. for example, what was wrong with wolverines look in first class, where he just wore his streets and his leather jacket? thats perfect. stick to things like that.

in short, first class is looking less and less hopeful as time goes on.
darthluke writes:
on August 15th, 2010 at 12:29:46 AM

@Rebel

"WOLVERINE WAS NOT PART OF FIRST CLASS."

"...for example, what was wrong with wolverines look in first class, where he just wore his streets and his leather jacket? thats perfect. stick to things like that.."

Are we on the same page here????





There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved