WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Costume Designer Hints at "Inception" Ending

Posted: August 2nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Costume Designer Hints at "Inception" EndingSubmit Comment
Many of you already had the chance to see Christopher Nolan's "Inception," and just like everyone else, you are not sure what happened at the end of the film. Nolan will tell you that it's up to the audiences to make up their minds, but what did the director have in mind when he was filming the final scene?

SPOILERS AHEAD:

Many believe that Cobb (DiCaprio) was still in a dream since his kids are wearing the same exact clothes as in his "memory" throughout the film. But not so, says costume designer Jeffrey Kurland. "The children's clothing is different in the final scene," he told ClothesOnFilm. "Look again."

I have seen "Inception" several times and have not been able to spot any difference in the clothing, but if Kurland says that the kids are dressed differently, then I have to believe him. After all, he dressed them.

So what does this mean? Apparently the idea was to dress the kids in a different way to show that Cobb is no longer dreaming. To put it in other words, the totem fell.

Plus there's also the wedding ring theory. Cobb is seen wearing the ring when he's dreaming, but not in reality. At the end of the movie, he is ring-less.

Source: ClothesOnFilm


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Barney Stinson writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 7:55:40 PM

They were wearing different clothes, albeit only slightly different.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 7:59:56 PM

If he was awake, while being asleep, he would be able to manipulate the clothing (color, pattern, dress) by reaching for the creative side of his awake subconscious ...

if he was, however, in REM sleep, he might not have had the same ability.

It's similar to being able to edit a film while its in the editing room and rolling the same film from the projector, while in the theater.
pomme writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 8:06:04 PM

i say :he dreams since the beginning(his job doesn't exist,the tech doesn't exist,every character has one utility and Nolan dislikes happy ends)
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 8:09:51 PM

@pomme

I say shut the f*ck up...
BlueMobius writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 8:11:50 PM

I maintain that the entire movie was Cobb's inception. In other words, the father/son (i.e. Cilian Murphy) characters were simply projections designed by those who care for Cobb and the entire mission is really to get Cobb to accept his wife's death and "return" to his children. He needed to think of it himself but since he's very good at his job he would spot an inception aimed at him, hence the elaborateness.
BobMcBob writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 8:12:02 PM

the last scene couldn't have been a dream for the same reason the murder scenes in "American Psycho" could not have been dreams: the films would have been cop outs and the scenes would have defeated the purpose of what the filmmakers were attempting to accomplish in terms of theme
BlueMobius writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 8:12:27 PM

Oh, and that means the end is Reality. The other hint is that whenever we see the totem in the dream it doesn't so much as wobble even slightly. At the end, it's wobbling.
trailertrash writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 8:17:35 PM

The ending is what ever you want it to be ...

The film was great no matter what happened in the last minute or so.
Crazyhorse writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 8:20:04 PM

Im dreaming
Im awake
Im dreaming in my 2nd dream
Im in reality
wait Im dreaming in my 3rd dream

Wait hold it

yes did you smell that

Confused me too
jrnwllm7 writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 8:27:25 PM

the shoes were the only difference as far as i could tell
Detrimental writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 8:43:41 PM

Let's agree they were ugly kids.
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 8:51:31 PM

well if Nolan told him to make the clothing slightly different then it strongly proves it is a dream
remember in layer 4? the building were falling, obviously this was a "Half remembered dream" so the kids clothing being slightly different proves that he actually awake and can't remember that dream clearly

bottom line is: either one of the explanations can be used, depending of your understanding of the movie
darkraven28 writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 8:51:44 PM

You really have made a messy and incoherent movie when you have to have your costume desginer decrypt it for your audience. I think this might actually be my least favorite Nolan movie now.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 8:52:59 PM

I love the open-endedness ...

it makes the movie more interesting ... as opposed to ... uhm,let's say .... the 2010 Karate Kid ... Knight and Day ... Jonah Hex .... Shrek Forever After ... Marmaduke ...
TeemSelami writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 9:27:25 PM

think I'm with trailer on this one
FBO writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 9:53:34 PM

Are any of you guys familiar with Frank Stockton's"The Lady or The Tiger?" That's all I could think of after watching Inception, This is Nolan's Lady or Tiger
xlostprophetsx3 writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 10:06:16 PM

The clothes are different, but not in style. He's referring to their sizes. Sure, you can't find a difference in appearance because, as far as I could tell, there was none. But the kids are larger, having grown up since his memory of last seeing them.
CCBlev writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 10:35:41 PM

Trailer- Great way to say it. Thats the genius of Nolan. The ending is designed to be interpreted by how you thought it ended. Was he awake or was he dreaming? You'll never get all the details but the whole movie sticks in with your subconcious, every little part in the movie plays a minor key role to how "YOU" interpret the ending on what your mind thinks it should be. We may never know the real ending but again we may never, b/c we aren't supposed to. That's the beauty of it.
Sboz writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 10:38:12 PM

I'm pretty darn sure I saw that artifact starting to to wobble before it cut off. In the dream it was spinning perfectly. You don't have to be a physics major on this one. XD
takai writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 10:56:33 PM

The children are not the key to the ending, even though IMDB has two sets of children cast, one slightly older than the other (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1375666/fullcredits#cast).

The top isn't even the key to the ending, even though you can HEAR it slowing down, which it never did in the dreams. The final shot was pure marketing genius.

The real key to the ending, is his wedding ring. He never has it on in real life, including the night of his wedding anniversary, and always has it on in dreams, including limbo with old Mr. Saito after he had "let his wife go".

I spent the entire second viewing, watching his wedding hand. While doing so, I noticed that Nolan makes it a point to see his ring finger in ever new scene.

Also, all this bullsh*t about the whole movie being Cobb's inception is just that; bullsh*t.

There is no hint of said theory in any way. People are looking WAY too far into it.

Also, when you understand how Nolan works, you understand that he would never do the "it was allll just a dream!" horsesh*t.

He made an extremely complex and layered film that was unbelievably easy to follow and comprehend. People aren't used to that, which is why they're digging way deeper than necessary.
JohnZee writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 10:58:04 PM

Crap next the costume designer will tell us that Soylent Green is made out of dead people, or the reason the "Crying Game" is called the crying game is because the chick has a d*ck.

Thanks for spoiling a part of a movie that was still in the theaters, and was sparking interest and free publicity in it all over the world, and was probably helping to attract movie audiences to buy ticket and watch it.

...I'm thinking Nolan just went looking for another costume designer.
OmgArbysAgain writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 11:59:05 PM

@JohnZee

The spoilers are labeled, so why don't you quit being a complete f*cking idiot.
shayhiri writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 12:32:17 AM

As if someone cares, WP.
cosplay writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 2:49:34 AM

They were wearing different clothes, albeit only slightly different.

Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=18512#ixzz0vWUrutTQ
ChainsawX writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 2:59:56 AM

the beauty of inception is that it works either way if you want the happy ending..then there ya go ..if you think hes still dreaming you can make a case for that...thats what i really liked although i prefer to think hes not dreaming
Ted Mosby writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 3:03:56 AM

OT:
anyone who is dying to see The Expendables HAS to watch this BADASS interview with Sly... trust me... its insane lol

http://www.youtube.com/expendables
trailertrash writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 3:16:21 AM

Will Do !!
trailertrash writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 3:19:30 AM

Ha Ha Ha Good Stuff Ted !!
trailertrash writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 3:21:54 AM

If Testosterone could mate with an explosion , This movie would be it's offspring !!!

Nice.......
trailertrash writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 3:26:02 AM

CC- Exactly my friend !!
Kid_A writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 7:54:27 AM

The ending is absolutely reality. Nolan did this once before in "The Prestige" ending by leaving audience to comment about it. Cobb was offered a job that could help him see his children again, he did the job, he succeeded and he finally reunited with them, that's it.
Barney Stinson writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:05:09 AM

@cosplay - Don't be a smartass. I was talking to Alex who said "I have seen "Inception" several times and have not been able to spot any difference in the clothing". Just making a point that I spotted that the second time I went to see it.
rabid writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:58:07 AM

Not neccessarily reality... He has purged himself of his bitchy basement wife, so he doesn't need the burden of wearing the ring in his dreams anymore.

The ending is better left open for interpretation.
Time traveller writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 3:02:04 PM

@takai

Could you help explain a few problems i have with the movie. If Dom and Mal spent 50 years or so in the dream within a dream(he said they experimented the dream within a dream together,so I don't think it was just a simple 1 layer dream,besides you can't get 50 years out of a dream if it's not layer 4),so my question is,they showed them i na scenese as very old people,showed those old hands holding each other etc,walking old together.And then in another scenese,where he explained that he incepted the idea of not being reality to Mal and so they went to get run over by a train,how come during that trai nscene the ywere young? Just something Noland forgot? SSince it was after they spent 50 years together that they woke up into the real world again and she killed herself for real there.Why were they not old on the rail tracks? And secodn question,why was Saito OLD when Dom found him..and Do mstil lbeing the same age he was always..why didnt Dom age lol ? another inaccuracy,since if Saito aged that much,that means he was in the 4th layer still and Dom finalyl found him in the 4th layer.
Time traveller writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 3:07:46 PM

@Rabid

Even after he purged himself of her, long AFTER, he STILL wore the ring when he finally found old mr Saito, so your version just failed to be fare. He had let go of her,but within the dream still wore the ring. and doesnt in reality, just check out all the scenes,even when they celebrated the anniversary,in real life,before Mal jumped,he wasnt wearing the ring even on the anniversary or in any scene he was awake.So yeah, he was awake in the end.logic is on that side.
takai writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:04:40 PM

I have two theories on why they were only portrayed as old people once.

1)Cobb only pictured Mol as her young self because that's what she was when she killed ourself and he couldn't get let her go. Cobb recognizing the fact that they grew old together was the key to letting her go.

2)It was just a film trick Nolan put there to add intensity and explain Mr. Saito's age at the end.


Cobb didn't age because he hadn't been in limbo as long as Saito. Saito dies quite a bit before Cobb goes into the fourth layer, and as they explain before, limbo is not bound by time.

So, when Cobb finally does go into limbo, he is (conveniently) found immediately after dropping in, and brought to Old Mr. Saito.
takai writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:17:31 PM

Sorry, I forgot to @Time traveller. hahaha
rabid writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 9:19:52 PM

If Nolan had intended the ending to be unambiguous, I think he'd have made it so.
takai writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 10:27:06 PM

Nolan's ending was pure marketing genius and nothing more, in my opinion.
Carl Erik Rinsch writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 12:53:08 AM

Yes but he is no longer attached to the Mal character, so his dreams would be different, he can still dreamin, but think in his mind that he is awake so he sees his kids, by the way yound realize that Nolan dont show you the kids that are talkin cause they are older, as they seen in the last scene, his daughter sounds more like a teenager that a kid, I get that movie, in the final youre not gonna see if its fall cause they want that you want a sequel to know...
Mudders writes:
on August 10th, 2010 at 2:49:14 AM

its what you make of it...yes it wobbles at the end but we dont see it fall...the kids are older but not much else is different...personally i think it was a terrific movie and the ending is perfect for what the movie is...a brain teaser.
i think he is awake

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved