WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Inception" in First Place After Three Weeks

Posted: August 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Inception" in First Place After Three WeeksSubmit Comment
After three weeks in theaters, Christopher Nolan's "Inception" remained at the top of the domestic box office this weekend by grossing another $27 million. The film has now earned over $360 million on a $160 million budget.

In second place was the Steve Carell comedy "Dinner for Schmucks," which opened with a solid $23.3 million. That will be enough to earn back the $69 million the film cost to make.

Other new wide releases, "Cats and Dogs: Revenge of Kitty Galore" and "Charlie St. Cloud," had to settle for fifth and sixth places. "Kitty," which had been expected to open in one of the top two positions, grossed only $12.5 million even though the movie played on over two thousand 3D screens and cost $85 million. Zac Efron's "Charlie" only took in $12.1 million and had a budget of $44 million.

Click here to read our "Dinner for Schmucks" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 76 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
GambleBDJ writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 7:14:56 PM

Hollywood please take note. People are sick of sh*tty flicks. We want quality original movies. So happy for Nolan and team.
Crazyhorse writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 7:29:34 PM

I Thought Salt was good
GambleBDJ writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 7:40:29 PM

I mean most movies tht have come out recently. Ex: all these weak remakes and 3d bandwagon films. Not to mention the twilight saga.
Inception writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 7:47:45 PM

Make it 4 weeks in a row with the next results.
Barney Stinson writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 8:55:15 PM

I'm really surprised b/c I thought the majority of Americans would be like "Oww my brain hurts. f*ck this sh*t, I'm gonna go watch American Idol or Jersey Shore or Twilight or ______ (insert another stupid f*cking thing)".

Well done Nolan & Leo.
borat writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 9:10:45 PM

nolan u make ah money like russian hooker
Ranger writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 9:51:14 PM

Borat, I thought you said you were leaving your Mother out of this.
Ranger writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 9:51:23 PM




Teasin' Bro.
Ranger writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 9:52:44 PM

I can't believe this movie is making that kind of cash considering an 'expert, movie critic' rated it only 5 out of 10.

So... WTF?!
FBO writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 10:25:38 PM

@ barney - you do realise that all those retarded movies like GI Gangbang, Twitlight, and Transformers 2: All Robots go to Heaven, do better overseas than they do in america. Don't get me wrong, i know america has it's fair share of idiots but if you wanna talk about a country packed border to border with the dimwitted then lets talk about france or f*cking russia
CCBlev writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 10:58:17 PM

As it should be!!
johnny_boy writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 11:07:11 PM

"Zac Efron's "Charlie" only took in $12.1 million and had a budget of $44 million"

How the f*ck can you make a movie that expensive when it's only about boats and talking to some dead kid taking place in a small town? Didn't district 9 get made with like 30 million?
Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 11:59:56 PM

'The other guys' will be number 1 next week.
GIST writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 12:16:11 AM

You serious?! I thought The Last Airbender would at least take 5th place.
Ranger writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 12:18:58 AM

@johnny - Efron's hair gel budget?
GIST writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 12:19:14 AM

It's all about the Totems! ________<-Insert misogynistic joke here.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 1:07:14 AM

@ GambleBDJ i liked your post...but unfortunately hollywood will keep producing lower quality films like paranormal activity stuff...but hey, at least finally some of those executives might get the point that people care more about quality story as well as everything else that goes with it...of course i'm talking about Nolan's films...even if he uses the cheapest budget imaginable, he knows that simplicity is key to making great films
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 1:12:47 AM

Since there isn't really anything I can comment on for this article that hasn't already been side I figured I'll ask this random question that popped into my head today about another original idea: Back to the Future. My random thought was: Does anyone else feel Christopher Lloyd should have at least gotten an Oscar nomination for his role as Doc Brown? I thought about the movie and his role in it and looking back now he seems so good at it that I am shocked he didn't get anything for that brilliant role!
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 1:17:41 AM

@Ranger you mean Efron's ass lube budget
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 1:19:30 AM

Click here to read our "Dinner for Schmucks" review.
BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAA YOU KILLING ME MAN
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 1:24:01 AM

@Sleuth1989 use the DeLorean to go back in time and give him the awards yourself
Ranger writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 1:28:45 AM

@BH - ass lube... lol. I stand corrected.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 1:30:21 AM

@BITCHHUNTER
I wish man. There are a lot of actors in famous films that screwed over for awards.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 1:31:00 AM

correction: GOT screwed over for awards.
Ranger writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 1:31:29 AM

Putman needs to get himself a man (outside of the family).

johnny_boy writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 1:37:07 AM

@ ranger.... Might as well be Alex since he's always to the rescue when we bash on putman.

Now to time how long this comment stays up before deleted..... Ready, go!
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 1:55:47 AM

PUTMAN SUCKS
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 1:55:56 AM

PUTMAN SUCKS
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 1:56:04 AM

PUTMAN SUCKS
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 1:56:14 AM

PUTMAN SUCKS
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 1:56:27 AM

C'mon, everybody, now!
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 1:56:37 AM

PUTMAN SUCKS
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 1:56:45 AM

PUTMAN SUCKS
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 1:59:44 AM

Oh my God, I just read his review, did he ACTUALLY just compare this movie to the Vin Diesel crap-fest xXx?!?!?!?!?!?!

Oh, Dusty...tsk...tsk...tsk...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 2:00:01 AM

How the f*ck could Cats and Dogs get a 85 million dollar budget?
trailertrash writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 2:45:11 AM

I have no idea the first movie is nearly 10 years old and only did ok money at the boxoffice.

It looks really bad and deserves it's low opening weekend.

Inception looking pretty strong still ...

Valerie writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 5:24:46 AM

There is still hope in America to recognize a good, well made, intelligent movie then?! Woah i thought after Twilight there was none, thank you Nolan.

And its even sweeter since it kicked Salt's stupid ass for the second time!
trailertrash writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 8:17:38 AM

Sniff Sniff ,God What is that smell !!!

Oh Lindsay has been released today ...
CCBlev writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 9:31:26 AM

as she was released all the roses around her faded and died a tragic death.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 9:36:05 AM

Keep it up Inception. I was going to see it again yesterday until some f*cking cop pulled me over for not signaling to change lanes. Of course being black (in Texas), a simple 5 minute ticketing usually turns into a 20 minute game of 20 Questions until the pig is finally satisfied he can't charge you with murder or bait you into an argument. Needless to say I got a $75 fine and he made me miss the movie. Score one for The Man :(

Oh yeah, f*ck Putzman!
trailertrash writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 9:41:59 AM

CC-

This is the guy that picked her up:

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_9gn6KLa5xtY/Ro4nsPutIlI/AAAAAAAAAmU/P7Ytou4NDa4/s400/BirdFluBioSuitManMeetsSwan.jpg

trailertrash writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 9:48:01 AM

SAC- No wonder they pulled you over !!

http://www.nuvement.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/03/pimp-car1.jpg

;o)
CCBlev writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 10:22:28 AM

Trailer LOL! Nice! I knew that oil spill was due to Lohan taking a swim in the Gulf of Mexico. how can they blame poor BP for it?
jeffw1978 writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 10:26:39 AM

Well Johnny_boy's comment is still up. Lets see how long this one last.

DP being tru to his initial wishes for a long hard donkey c*ck at the same time as effron's tube steak.
trailertrash writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 10:30:51 AM

CC-LOL

you know that she leaked fluid herps into the ocean !!

jeff- say want you want my good man no one in at WP today by the looks of it...
CCBlev writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 10:54:21 AM

Yea I was begining to wonder if there was anyone here today? No new news :(
jeffw1978 writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 10:59:09 AM

So I can't fullfill my daily goal of at least one deleted post per weekday.
Salvador writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 11:21:52 AM

@SACdaddy:Sorry to hear that...

@ElizabethMitchellsBoobs: Of course, PUTMAN SUCKS!!!

And yes, "Inception" is THE MOVIE, no matter a moron gave it a 5 out of 10.
Salvador writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 11:25:35 AM

@ElizabethMitchellsBoobs: that's why I don't read his reviews anymore!
trailertrash writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 11:34:11 AM

CC- Everybody at WP is taking care of DP today someone has taken a picture of him when he was reviewing Inception last month a posted on the net....

http://www.myspaceantics.com/images/funny/ass-no_head.jpg

jeff- that may get deleated LOL
trailertrash writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 11:36:02 AM

Salvador - same hear, not read a review of his for a while now, It's not worth effort..
johnny_boy writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 11:46:14 AM

Whoa! My comment is still up? Either Alex is getting lazy or may have just grown a sense of humor
CCBlev writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 11:51:51 AM

@Johnny
No you gotta be like me when you wanna get a comment deleted. You gotta post something on topic saying"This looks good" or "Not too bad I may watch this" and then watch it get deleted in a matter of minutes. I'm tired of that bullsh*t happening.
Kurskij writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 1:07:59 PM

@FBO

"...if you wanna talk about a country packed border to border with the dimwitted then lets talk about france or f*cking russia"

Didn't expect it from you, mate. Sad.
nicholas56 writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 1:21:02 PM

no sh*t this movie would take #1. lack of good ideas for a movie anymore, no wonder people stopping going to the movies to enjoy themselves and expand their minds. hollywood get back to basics and make a f*cking movie worth watching instead of making remakes sequals to some sh*tty movies that bearly made any f*cking money at the box office
trailertrash writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 2:43:19 PM

^^ You been on the King Dooby's fella
Salvador writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 3:05:01 PM

@trailertrash: well said!

"Somebody" in WP is listening?
Time traveller writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 3:08:19 PM

some msitakes WP made in thsi article. After 2 weeks,not 3 weeks. What you wanted to say is 3 weekENDS, different entirely. Secondly, Dinner for Schmucs will not make back itäs budget probably,because the studio only gets 50-55% of the gross domestically, and foreign box-office returns are only 1/3 for the studio out of all it makes. And I see that this article stressed only the doemstic opening,so going by that only,this movie would need around 130-140 million bucs stateside to break even, but this is ofcourse if we don't count all the foreign money it'll make. If this makes 70 million domestically,that means 35-38 million for the studio.And if it makes say 90 mil foreign,that will be 30 mil for the studio. All in all 68 mil, basically just breaking even.So not so fast saying it'll make back it's money. The movie industry isn't doing these movies to break even,they want PROFITS,that is the only reason they made the movie to begin with.Breaking even is dissapointing for any studio.Oh,and I forgot to mention the MARKETING MONEY,they spent at least 40 mil to promote this,so yeah,sad story for this one. And Inception will most likely indeed make a profit,seeing as it's budget 160 mil + 90+ mil on the marketing around the world,that's 250 mil. Say Inception ends up with 260 mil in the US and 300 mil foreign, that means 130-143 for the studio and 100 foreign. so IF it makes MORE than that, preferrably stateside,since more % of that gross go to the studio,then it might make a profit,let's hope it does.
jeffw1978 writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 4:10:13 PM

No offense time traveler but I am going to mark the last comment under don't give a sh*t pile, due to the fact I could truly give a sh*t less how much the studio makes back........Oh yeah almost for got DP wants to announce his candidacy for the president of the Guys who take it in the ass club.
idioteque.volta writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 4:59:53 PM

the way it should be
Lowryder writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 6:07:41 PM

wow wth no news for today?
Ranger writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 6:58:25 PM

Isn't Lohan out of the joint pretty soon?

(and by 'Lohan' I mean: 'whoring, infected c*nt!').
trailertrash writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 7:09:40 PM

She Got out this morning !!

14 days , what a hero ....

bet she stinks of dried c*m ... (not thats anything new BTW)
Ranger writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 7:17:13 PM

No... it isn't.

She farts out dried (Daddy's) c*m.
trailertrash writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 7:28:06 PM

Dina and michael cant wait to f*ck her tonight they have missed their little girl...

One of the girls saying good bye , the prison way....

http://www.freeqporno.com/thumbs/240x180/174/347100/2.jpg

trailertrash writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 7:29:40 PM

Still no news whats going on WP !!
Time traveller writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 7:32:35 PM

@jeffw1978

You hsould care though,if you want more smart movies liek Inception in the future.because if this movie makes a profit,then that wil lencourage more movies like this one,which is laways a GREAT thing.And btw,Inceptino is based on pretty much realistic notions,since shared Lucid dreams,and even precognitive lucid dreams have been proven to exist.it is a matter of training and will power and intent as well as patience,focus and memorizing. It is all possible,albeit maybe not as easily as putting in a needle and having some instant lucid dreams lol, but I;m sure soem day,when our society isn't dream illiterate and doesn't think that dreams are jsut bunch of nonsense.When that day comes, the progress on this will sky-rocket.So I look at Inception as a "before its time" movie,but surprisingly,but nto shockingly,people seem to dig it even now. DREAMS are just as much reality in our infintie Universe,as this physical visualisation or illusion we call life.The experience is real,but physicality is not.Scientists will never find the physical material that stuff,molecules,atoms,kvarks etc are amde of.Cause it is only made of energy,which is essentially consciousness.Sorry to drift off,but I find Inception a fascinating movie,it sparks conversation and further exploration.Trust me,our world is not as mundane as you may think.And some day,maybe all the way after death for some,you will realize many things.It's a never-ending journey,individual one for each of us,being on a different level each of us.
Ranger writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 7:33:20 PM

Ugh!

http://frillr.com/files/images/Lindsay%20Lohan_0_0.jpg
trailertrash writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 7:37:20 PM

LOL

What is Dina doing to her ..

She is truly one of life's winners ..
Ranger writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 7:40:25 PM

LiLo before crack:

http://www.bollywoodworld.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/Lindsay-Lohan-india.jpg


http://www.topnews.in/light/files/lindsay-lohan_3.jpg


And after (having her) crack (violated... multiply times):

http://www.celebritysmackblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/lindsay-lohan-arrest-warrant.jpg


http://static.technorati.com/10/03/29/11105/Lindsay-Lohan-16.jpg


Kind of looks like 800 miles of bad highway!
Her face looks like the south end of a north bound Palomino.

Thank GOD for make-up!!!
trailertrash writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 7:41:52 PM

What ever it is your on tonight Time Traveller

You should be getting laid not posting on here fella..
trailertrash writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 7:47:38 PM

She's looks female in the first 2 pic's , what a shame...

The last ones should be used as a warning against incest..

Don't let your mum and dad do this to you..
Eben1277 writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 7:51:39 PM

Time traveler, it would seem them that you are probably the person that can explain how Harry Potter 5 grossed almost a billion dollars and supposedly lost money for WB
rabid writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 7:55:42 PM

LOL energy is not consciousness. That's some spiritualist mumbo jumbo.
and scientists have already found molecules, atoms, and quarks. Dreaming is not access to some new age shamanistic fantasy realm we all share. It's nothing but your body running random simulations that help your subconscious file info and practice for situations that make you nervous.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 12:19:54 AM

@Trailer: SAC- No wonder they pulled you over !!

http://www.nuvement.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/03/pimp-car1.jpg

LOL!!! Maybe I should have closed the doors before I got on the freeway.
trailertrash writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 3:34:30 AM

SAC- LOL , Good stuff...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved