WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Cruise to Star in "Van Helsing" Movie?

Posted: August 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom Cruise to Star in "Van Helsing" Movie?Submit Comment
A few days ago, we reported that Guillermo del Toro (Hellboy, Pan's Labyrinth) has signed on to direct "At The Mountains of Madness," which is an adaptation of the HP Lovecraft tale.

NY Magazine is reporting that boarding the project meant dropping out of a new "Van Helsing" film, which del Toro was also rumored to helm. The plan was not to remake the 2004 Hugh Jackman film, but to base it on the same fictional character from Bram Stoker's "Dracula."

Tom Cruise was planning to produce and possibly star. At this point he is still attached, but del Toro is no longer involved with the project. Cruise is now searching for a new helmer.

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
snake eater writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 6:59:42 AM

amazing tom cruise is back again can't wait
masht7 writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 7:22:02 AM

A vampire film directed by Del Toro would of been so awesome. Tom Cruise playing as a vampire again wouldn't be the same, work with Spielberg again or start on MI4.
Frank4969 writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 8:18:51 AM

Tom cruise is a fag! Take that Scientology sh*t and shove it up your Ass Tom!
CCBlev writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 9:00:41 AM

After Knight and Day, Tom is done. Goodbye My Cruise Nut Job!
CCBlev writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 9:11:28 AM

Mr Cruise I mean
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 10:02:05 AM

Tom, with the way your career is floundering, I can only make one logical suggestion ....

Brett Ratner.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 10:38:58 AM

Cruise would make a terrible Van Hellsing. He can't pull off foreign accents and he's way to clean cut (and short) for the role.

On the topic of vampire slayer movies, a friend of mine suggested that Hwood make a Vampire Hunter D live action film starring Alexander Skarsgard. It would be the perfect role for him considering he already has the look for the part. Plus a VHD film is long overdue. Its easily one of the most influential anime's ever made and after seeing Avatar and the trailer for Sucker Punch I'd say the technology has finally advanced far enough to support Anime-stlye live action feature films. Tom should produce this, get Zach Synder or Neil Blumkamp to direct, and co-star as the ancient villianous vampire D is after. There you go Hwood, I just dropped a winner in your lap. Now make it happen!
SACdaddy writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 10:44:58 AM

For all those that think Tom's career is over, don't forget about the Less Grossman film in the works. Call me optimistic, but I can't see how that film can fail.
Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 11:27:18 AM

funny that both cruise's and kidman's careers went to the toilet after they separated...
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 11:49:58 AM

he should see what Tim Story's mediorce ass is up to these days. That's a surefire way to insure no one watches this.
Time traveller writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 12:30:58 PM

@Rambo,absolutely incorrect and false info buddy. they separated in 2000, Cruise began his arguably best period of his career then,with MI 2,Vanilla Sky,Minnority report,Last Samurai,Collateral,War of the Worlds and MI 3 all being huge hits.With that said,he's done now and I'm glad.
CCBlev writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 12:50:57 PM

@Sac
good call on the Vampire Hunter D. You're right I forgot all about Les Grossman, that should be a good one.
Frank4969 writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 1:00:19 PM

Les grossman is a fag!
Ranger writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 2:18:48 PM

Tom Cruise to Star in "Van Helsing" Movie?

THIS JUST IN:

I don't care.
Valerie writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 3:25:35 PM

CCBlev: Goodbye My Cruise Nut Job!


Was that "My", a Freudian slip? LOL

Anyhow, i thought he put Pitt to shame in that movie, but damn Cruise, i am starting to really nto care anymore as well.
scarface85 writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 3:26:03 PM

@frank4969 i agree with you
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 3:42:47 PM

Did Tom use to get paid $20 mil a picture? I'm pretty damn sure he don't get paid that nowadays.
trailertrash writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 3:42:50 PM

Time traveller-

Looks like i was spot on with Inceptions gross this weekend it's around $27 mil and Dinner for Schmucks is around the $23 mil mark.

Expendables will be it's only threat i think..
kmccarney88 writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 4:16:39 PM

The problem with this, in my opinion, is that Hugh Jackman actually would still make the perfect Van Helsing if only he had a good director and a good script to work with. The 2004 film was absolutely atrocious and an insult to the Van Helsing name/mythology, however I'm still convinced Hugh could pull off a great version of the character if only the movie was darker and took itself more seriously. Tom Cruise on the other hand I think is a little too soft for the role. He just doesn't fit the persona of the character, in any way, shape or form.
Van Helsing is one of those lucrative properties that has the potential to be amazing, but it needs the right people involved in order to do so. I guess it could still be alright as long as Tom gets one hell of a director to helm the project.

Time will tell with this one....
encoreyourface writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 9:54:57 PM

i actually liked the 04 one and would like a sequel to that ...
Rambo writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 3:50:01 AM

^agreed
Rambo writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 3:50:01 AM

^agreed
LastActionHero writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 8:55:06 AM

Will definitly be better than the horrible Hugh Jackman version.
rabid writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 12:20:41 PM

Anthony Hopkins will always be the supreme Van Helsing.
tucsonkid writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 12:39:45 PM

This is NEWS HOW?????

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved