WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Leonardo DiCaprio Drops Out of Mel Gibson's Viking Film

Posted: July 29th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Leonardo DiCaprio Drops Out of Mel GibsonSubmit Comment
Mel Gibson was set to direct Leonardo DiCaprio in an untitled period drama about Viking culture, but RadarOnline is now reporting that DiCaprio has dropped the project due to Gibson's racist rants and domestic abuse scandal.

"Not a chance," said a source close to the actor. "Leo has earned the right to pick and choose who he works with and Mel Gibson is not one of them."

DiCaprio has been expressing his excitement to star in the film, but is now refusing to comment. Back in June, the actor said: "I've always wanted to do Viking Story. I'm a big history buff and I don't think there's been a really fantastic Viking film ever made. Those were some of the most barbaric people ever in history. I'd love to see Mel Gibson's version of that."

The goal was to begin filming this fall.

Source: RadarOnline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
LeeMaca writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 7:37:03 PM

more like ran screaming from it
BigUnit writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 7:45:08 PM

come on leo... if leo wont work with mel, no one will..
Dre-EL writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 7:51:16 PM

f*ck leo just get somebody else. I still want to see this viking movie.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 8:08:56 PM

Leo's not stupid.

I'm still waiting for Gibson's Greatest (Face)Hits, released by Oksana ...
OneTime writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 8:15:19 PM

in other news..mel gibson hangs him self
encoreyourface writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 8:15:24 PM

can you blame him after mental Mel went over the edge?
rabid writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 8:32:53 PM

He's not avoiding it because he disagrees with Mel. He's avoiding the bad press because he's got no balls. What does a person's private hysterics have to do with their ability to produce a good film?
Sinestro writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 8:36:49 PM

Yea, Mel is a bit of a racist, wife-beating lunatic, but a Viking film directed by him with Leo as the lead would have kicked all kinds of ass.
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 8:46:11 PM

Get a no name Mel and sail the 7 seas

Your wife can play the villan right
CCBlev writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 9:06:36 PM

There were supposedly 30 calls made by Mad Mel I wanna hear everyone of em. As for this, that sucks that woulda been a badass movie, hopefully it still will be.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 9:14:25 PM

Kinda the right decesion, there would be a backlash against him if he worked with Mel
murphyslaw93 writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 9:46:27 PM

Yea this project is about to fall apart. Mel really f*cked himself. Really unfortunate. I guess Ill go watch Braveheart and relive the good ol' days when he wasnt as crazy and outspoken
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 10:23:26 PM

As South Park pointed out...Mel Gibson is barking mad but damn it he knows good story structure...you really missed an opurtunity there Leo.

Reckon this would/will be a good film.
nope.com writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 10:25:14 PM

hey Leo?


....


YOU SHOULD JUST f*ckING SMILE AND BAH LOW MEL!!!!!!
kmccarney88 writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 1:12:14 AM

DAMMIT!!

Oh man what a team that would have been! Too bad Mel Gibson lost his marbles because this is one film I would LOVE to see. With an actor as great as Leo on board, what could be better???
Alright, time for Gibson to pull a Tiger Woods by doing a public announcement with apologies, see a psychiatrist and then get his ass back to work. I for one dont give a sh*t what he is like in person so long as he continues to make good films without bringing an AK-47 to the set and mowing everyone down.
Come on Gibson, what happened to you? You're better than this crap.
FBO writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 1:19:41 AM

Leo, just think of it this way, if there is anyone in hollywood that knows about violence it's mel
pomme writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 1:47:52 AM

dicaprio always tought like a bookkeeper! he only wants an Oscar
boogiel writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 2:28:18 AM

Leo on viking's movie?? I'd rather watch sex and the city.....
trailertrash writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 2:41:58 AM

Saw Mel Gibson in the headline and thought it was a new tape !!

But it wasn't :(
Ranger writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 3:44:51 AM

Mel's reply to DiCaprio's decision:

'Now, don't hang up. I have plenty of energy to drive over there... AND I WILL!!!!'

(HUFF... PANT... HUFF)... 'YOU MAKE ME WANT TO SMOKE!!!!!'

'I WANT A WOMAN AND DESERVE A WOMAN... so you should just f*ckin' smile... AND B-LO-WWWWWW ME!!!!!!'

Then Mel drove over there and allegedly punched Leo (as he held their love child), loosening his veneers, in addition to which he gave DiCaprio a black eye (not to be confused with Bo-Tox injections).

Mel... could I love you anymore?!

XOXO - Ranger.

trailertrash writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 4:33:01 AM

Nice !!
SACdaddy writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 9:26:37 AM

Dammit Mel, I've been waiting for this Viking movie for a long time and you had to ruin it over a piece of ass and some Jack Daniels. I don't blame Leo for dropping out. He doesn't need the bad press and there are obviously plenty of other great directors out there dying to cast him in their films. Plus nobody knows what condition Mel is in right now. I doubt he was a raging drunk during his other directorial project (we would have heard something about it). He might be in no condition to deliver the brilliance behind the camera fans have grown use to. As a filmlover and formerly a big Mel fan I say this with a heavy heart, but f*ck MEL :(
SACdaddy writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 9:29:06 AM

I think its about time to see Inception again :)
ProfMovies writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 10:21:36 AM

What a wuss!
Like he's never yelled hurtful things at someone in the past?
Mel was SET-UP by this gold-digging whore, and his dawning of realization of that, coupled with alcohol, can be a bad combination!

HOW MANY OF YOU WOULDN'T WANT PEOPLE TO HEAR YOUR TAPED RANTS?

Your loss, Leo!
I'd proudly work with Mel at any time!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 10:32:48 AM

Mel should be the one to play the viking. Always yelling, brutal, violent and he grows a beard well. Only thing missing is chainmail and a broad sword(and I'm almost certain he already owns both) Lights, Camera, Pillage!!
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 10:39:21 AM

Business is business, saying domestic violence and or hateful sh*t, bad business. Then again, Mel Gibson sure made a fool of himself in so many ways, one of them being getting with that ugly money whore.
Salvador writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 12:38:37 PM

Yes, we saw this coming after the Gibson's affair...
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 3:33:56 PM

Too bad, Mel's nuts but he probably would've made an amazing Viking movie. They should just sell the script to a different more coherent and viable film maker.

Bet the plot would've been great too because he would've acknowledged the little know fact that before the jews ran hollywood, they controlled the viking boat market...
darkraven28 writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 4:19:32 PM

Leo just earned my total respect and understanding. Bravo, sir.
jaz_mayor writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 8:48:47 PM

Funny how people can't work with Mad Mel but at the same time they are fine working with a pedophile-rapist called Roman Polanski. Hate to hear his tapes.
Attos writes:
on July 31st, 2010 at 1:58:02 AM

I can understand where Leo is coming from on this one. It's not personal, it's business, and right now Leo is kicking some serious ass in Hollywood, despite my previous dislike for him.

He's really pulled through in the last few movies I've seen him in. Shutter Island was fantastic and Inception might be the most refreshing movie I've seen in a very long time.

So I imagine if I were in such a good standing as Leo is right now in the in the industry, I'd probably stay away from the controversy as well. Better to just walk away for now. Perhaps in the future they can collaborate on another film.
Valerie writes:
on July 31st, 2010 at 11:19:39 AM

You could say he has no balls! But then you could also see the bigger picture, Hollywood, is 100% appearance! As soon as you lose your good image (always totally fabricated by a good PR), the career is over (see how much damage the couch jumping did for Cruise, after his PRs worked hard to keep his Xenu love under wraps for nearly over a deacde.)

So Leo made a wise career decision. Just look how Foster is f*cked by Gibson's breakdown, her movie was dropped by distributors, probably DVD headed as we speak.....
seveltoto writes:
on November 9th, 2017 at 7:03:53 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved