WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mark Ruffalo on Playing The Hulk in "The Avengers"

Posted: July 29th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mark Ruffalo on Playing The Hulk in "The Avengers"Submit Comment
Entertainment Weekly caught up with Mark Ruffalo (Shutter Island, Zodiac) and asked him about replacing Edward Norton as the Hulk in "The Avengers" and what it was like appearing in front 6,500 fans at Comic-Con.

"It was very exciting," he said of the San Diego event. "And I realized I had some pretty big shoes to fill. Those were my heroes up there. I was a comic book fan growing up. I loved The Hulk and The Avengers — it;s just strange to be entering that world as an actor. I never would have imagined that before."

Ruffalo then commented on the Hulk and the character's human alter ego Bruce Banner. "He's a guy struggling with two sides of himself — the dark and the light — and everything he does in his life is filtered through issues of control. I grew up on the Bill Bixby TV series, which I thought was a really nuanced and real human way to look at The Hulk. I like that the part has those qualities."

Regarding taking over for Edward Norton, he stated: "I'm a friend of Ed's, and yeah, that wasn't a great way for all that to go down. But the way I see it is that Ed has bequeathed this part to me. I look at it as my generation’'s 'Hamlet'."

Ruffalo added that he expected to begin shooting his parts this winter.

Click here to read more about "The Avengers."

Source: Entertainment Weekly


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
LeeMaca writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 7:40:39 PM

this generations hamlet???
LeeMaca writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 7:41:40 PM

Buddy your generations hamlet was hamlet
Dre-EL writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 7:52:45 PM

I just cant see him as banner, he better slim down more for the part.
xxtomboxx writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 8:03:14 PM

I know theres been alot of debate over the multitude of actors portraying the Hulk over the years but I kinda like it. Its almost like Marvel's own James Bond.
LeeMaca writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 8:09:13 PM

I dont get the big deal with this in a movie thats going to be crammed with characters how big a role can bruce have?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 8:10:53 PM

He looks more like Stephen Strange, then David Banner ... but he's got some serious acting chops ... I'll have to wait and see ...
rabid writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 8:36:36 PM

I could care less who plays Banner. He's pretty much an empty concept in this film. He'll have a couple minutes screentime and then the rest of the film he's a giant green CG monster. Hulk is the star, not puny batter.
rabid writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 8:37:16 PM

*Banner

f*cking touchscreen keyboard
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 8:47:27 PM

Edward Norton should rip off his shirt, reveal his huge swastika, and curb stomp Joss Whedon.
CCBlev writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 9:11:26 PM

^ Violent
Ok moving on, i'm willing to give it a try. It sucks to have Norton gone, but who knows it could be great.
Left On The Moss writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 1:28:12 AM

But he's too nice a guy to play The Hulk!

Should've gone with Josh Brolin or Peter Sarsgaard.
johnny_boy writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 1:30:55 AM

Yeah it sucks that norton is gone. If he was a good sport and was screwed over, I'd feel bad for him. As someone pointed out in another post, norton would just be a drama queen amongst the group of stars. Hope Marvel saw a quality in him besides his willing to get low pay
boogiel writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 2:33:26 AM

None can replace bill bixby...NO ONE!!!
LastActionHero writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 6:32:06 AM

Terrible decision, terrible actor.
Attos writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 7:12:38 AM

I'm giving Ruffalo my vote on this one.
We all knew Norton would have pissed off the entire cast and crew anyway.
I think he might just have the chops to pull this off. I can't honestly say I've ever disliked him in a movie. I may not have always liked the movie, but he never ceases to entertain me in some way.
It wouldn't be the first time someone socked it to the nay-sayers.
I still remember the uproar about Heath Ledger being cast as The Joker, but he ended up giving us one of the greatest performances in recent history.
Attos writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 7:17:17 AM

Besides, Norton shines better in non-comic book material.
He was good in The Incredible Hulk, but I wouldn't really say he captured the character of Bruce Banner.
He pretty much played a panicky version of himself. Sure, it was a pretty entertaining movie, but I really feel that neither of the last two Hulk movies lived up to the actual character.

I'm hoping to be surprised by this version.
Stranger things have happened.
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 10:46:57 AM

I like the guy, yeah Ed should've have been allowed and or requested to stay but its over and they have an equally talented replacement. To be pretty frank I think Mark is going to be better for the part based on prior work. But we shall see, Fear what they will do to the look of Hulk now more than who plays Bruce.
Time traveller writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 2:49:53 PM

@left on the moss

Bruce banner IS A GOOD SWEET GUY!! sheesh, don't you know who banner is ? and hes a too nice guy to play the hulk ? LOL, Edwarx Norton DID NOT play the hulk,per say,beyond some motion-capture for his face and some running around,if that. the HULK is pretty much all CGI.just liek he was in 2003 and 2008 versions,Norton jsut screamed his lungs out while being Hulk lol, you don't need acting talent at all to show rage and scream.Ruffalo will easily do jsutice to both Hulk and Banner,being more likeable as a person than Norton,just what Banner needs.

@
jaz_mayor writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 9:01:24 PM

Banner's supposed to be kinder than Norton's portrayal. Ruffalo is that character then you have the Hulk who is the opposite. I don't mind a Bill Bixby inspired version. Everything else has been tried and they were never really likable, this should be interesting. Besides Ruffalo will only be on the screen for a few minutes I guess.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved