WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

The Thing is Completely CGI in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

Posted: July 29th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
The Thing is Completely CGI in "Fantastic Four" RebootSubmit Comment
20th Century Fox is done with placing actors into suit. The apes in the "Planet of the Apes" prequel will be CG and now comes word from Fox's SFX department (via ScreenRant) that The Thing will be 100% CG in the upcoming "Fantastic Four" reboot, called "Fantastic Four Reborn."

Those who remember the last two films, Michael Chiklis played the character by being covered in orange foam and makeup, while the rest of the cast needed special effects to bring their superpowers to life.

ScreenRant has also learned that Fox won't begin work on "Fantastic Four Reborn" until "X-Men: First Class" is wrapped up, and the film won't begin shooting until September.

Source: ScreenRant


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bigcheese writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 5:59:38 AM

Not sure how i feel about this...
VDODSON writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 6:03:21 AM

Good, Chicklis looked like a f*cking idiot wearing that suit. The Thing should be close to the Hulks size, not the size of a five foot 8 guy walking around wearing a brick suit.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 6:14:29 AM

CGI looks way too fake, nothing pisses me off more than having complete CGI charcters. Compare the Stormtroopers in the original Star Wars to the CGI Clone Troopers in the later Star Wars...what looks better to you?
WV-Films writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 6:20:05 AM

Why are they remaking this again?
lebowski writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 6:24:54 AM

mel gibson is in talks to play doctor doom
GambleBDJ writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 7:19:39 AM

Not another one!
Rambo writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 7:27:34 AM

save the money and hire gary Coleman's wife to play 'the thing'...
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 7:41:06 AM

Worried about this. Maybe just by not casting a short, old, chubby guy in the role they could pull off the suit better on screen. Look at all the amazing creature costumes and effects from the Hellboy movies. Mr. Wink looked amazing and the only CGI that was used was to enhance the actor's performance and make his movements more lifelike. Go that route instead of total CGI, otherwise it's probably gonna look like the rock monster "Galaxy Quest".
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 7:59:38 AM

All they need to do is make the Hulk orange and voila! ... The Thing! ...oh, and I meant that sh*tty Hulk from Ang Lee's movie ... you know ... the one that looked like it was designed by a Commodore 64 by that one eyed kid from Smoking Aces that got a boner doing cheezy karate moves to the ex-police officer that was naked in the tub and had his fingers blown off ... that one. This is the most retarded f*cking thing that Marvel has signed off on since sticking Stan " The Lame-O" Lee in every movie as a friggin' cameo ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 8:01:39 AM

The new motto of 20th Century Fox ?

Hey, folks ... our sh*t does stink! And it's in CGI!
trailertrash writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 8:26:23 AM

rambo-

This is a family film that bitch will scare the crap out the children ...

No make up need though...
darthraige writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 9:02:32 AM

Great. We all know how Wolverine's claws turned out with that Who Framed Roger Rabbit type effects. This should be even more of a f*cking joke.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 9:11:03 AM

First of all, I don't consider The Fantastic Four worthy a reboot. They should just be forgotten.

But since that won't happen, I'm with Evilkev, put in some effort in the make-up and show your love for your work and this might work.

But since that won't happen, just f*ck off and die FOX.
CCBlev writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 9:15:53 AM

Wow, will this be another shtifest?
LeeMaca writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 10:35:47 AM

I read not too long ago that this one was being aimed at adult audiences as the first two where planned for a younger generation. REBOOT away if it's done properly but like the new spider-man 3d movie me tinks this will suck ass! why not just put jessica alba in an invisible suit for 90 minutes?
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 10:37:34 AM

Please make Jessica Alba look like she did in the first film

That dyed hair and fake looking contacts in the second film made her look like she was a victim of a Lindsy Lohan block party gone bad
ZenShark writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 10:40:08 AM

actually the thing was the best part of the originals, so i dont know what they were thinking....
rabid writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 10:45:18 AM

The Thing is not Hulk-size. He's only 6ft tall. I hope they're not planning on making him monster-sized.
I thought the suit Chiklis wore looked pretty much perfect.
ZenShark writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 10:49:40 AM

or to rephrase, the thing was the least of their problems...look at the effects on mr. fantastic. now imagine a thing like that. exactly.
HideousSecretion writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 11:00:23 AM

It's going to be interesting if the Marvel financed films continue with their level of quality while marvel characters licensed out to other studios keep getting pumped out no matter how terrible just to keep control. Two tiers of films, and some of the most popular characters like Spider-Man, are in the crap league. The good thing is that Marvel is sort of forced to go to lesser known characters which for real fans is awesome. But still the new Spider-Man, X-Men, Wolverine, Fantastic Four, etc will be terrible which is sad.
Kill-the-director writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 11:12:08 AM

really dont think they need to reboot fantastict four. i didnt mine the two thats already out
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 11:34:53 AM

Well as long as they get a good script that respects the comic series, a director with vision and skill, bigger budget and have gotten rid of oatmeal man, we might be good... We might.
rocketman writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 12:34:22 PM

Good,the old one looked like a turd,only thing missing was sweetcorn.Bring on the Hulk vs Thing now!
KindredMac writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 1:53:02 PM

The Thing SHOULD be CGI'd. Hands down.
Chicklis ruined it by demanding a suit and then he freaked out when they covered his ears during the test shots.

They should take the movie in a more stylized direction like a Sucker Punch/Zack Snyder way.
jeffw1978 writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 2:14:06 PM

I think CG is the way to go you can hardly tell the f*cking difference anymore for the majority of moviegoes, and if you really want to get that f*cking picky then get a life.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 2:31:41 PM

Meh. I'll give them a chance on this one since the second FF movie sucked so badly.
DOLAN writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 2:40:45 PM

It's all a dream. You never see Leonardo DiCaprio in the real world.

Wait, what were you talking about?
kmccarney88 writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 2:58:55 PM

@Skippy Spartan - I agree with you 100% about the Clone Troopers vs. original Storm Troopers in the Star Wars series. There's no question that having extras in suits is the way to go and greatly benefitted the originals. That's the way they *should* have gone with the prequels and their is no excuse why they didn't except that George Lucas is lazy and CG happy.
However, there are exceptions to CG characters. Can you imagine if they had hired some anorexic actor and dressed him up in a "frog-like" suit with some makeup for the role of Gollum in LOTR? It would have been horrible.
Can you honestly say you prefer the goofy, deaf wrestler of the 80's Hulk T.V. show to the last CG Hulk? I dont even like either of the two latest Hulk films but I still prefer the look of the Hulk to some guy in green paint. Do you know how terrible the 10 foot Naivi would have been if they hired basketball players and dressed them up in blue makeup for Avatar. The list goes on.

Certain characters need to be digital and The Thing is one of them.
The pic above is the perfect example of how terrible Michael Chiklis looked as a non-digital The Thing. What a joke.

So, in my opinion, this is good news for the reboot.

Now that we are on the topic, can anyone think of any other characters that should have been digital but were live action or visa-vera?

I say Juggernaut from X3. They either should have used force perspective to make the actor appear to be huge or they should have made him digital.
Even though force perspective would have worked out in his favor, it would have gotten to be pretty tricky once you get into a fight scene where he is interacting with other characters and throwing them across the room.

The aliens from Alien 3. Worst use of cg I've ever seen. David Fincher just got lazy and should have used animatronics/guys in suits like his predecessors. I guess the same could be said for Alien: Resurrection and AVP. CG Xenomorphs suck.

Also, the "vampires" from I AM LEGEND. Without a doubt the dumbest choice for cg. The movie would have been so much better and more believable with live-action actors dressed up in some creepy makeup. The cg was totally unnecessary and a complete waste of money!!

Lastly, Arnolds cameo in T4. Without a doubt the most laughable of any CG character I've ever seen, especially considering we all know what Arnold really looks like and its nothing like that whatsoever...so terrible.

rabid writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 3:00:31 PM

I think it's ballsy of them to make a new film when they never finished the story on the last film. Doom sucked, but I didnt mind the rest of the cast. But without the Silver Surfer movie to wrap up the Galactus threat, the last film is rendered pointless.
BigUnit writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 3:58:57 PM

is the reborn part really necessary, why cant they just call it fantastic four
Ranger writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 5:47:21 PM

Haven't read all the posts (yet) on this thread. But if they have to remake this story again, The Thing being all CG is the BEST news yet!

The Thing is supposed to be the size (almost) of The Hulk (they have battled one-another). So ACE decision to make his character right.

Chiklis did a fine job. But the rubber suit was crap.

****** This just in: ******

Jessica Alba still gives me a raging boner!
Adamtheflash writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 6:13:33 PM

20th century fox just needs to sell the rights to Xmen and F4 to Disney so Marvel can be one big happy family next to Mickey Mouse
LeeMaca writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 6:40:41 PM

DEPENDS ON HOW WELL IT'S DONE THIS COULD BE THE BEST COMIC MOVIE YET BUT IF THEY HAVE A CRAP CG THING KICKING ABOUT IT WILL RUIN THE ENTIRE MOVIE
rabid writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 6:57:11 PM

Ranger, the Thing is not Hulk-sized. The latest kids cartoon draws him huge, but in the books he always been average-sized.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 8:16:42 PM

if there was one thing good about the fantastic four films it was The Thing, he looked real, keep him the way he was.
boogiel writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 2:31:08 AM

@Max

"Hey, folks ... our sh*t does stink! And it's in CGI!"


Damn Straight!!

Ranger writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 3:39:19 AM

@rabid - a version I read (decades ago) literally had them shoulder-to-shoulder. Seems then they have trimmed him down over time.
Ranger writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 4:04:39 AM

@rabid - ie:

http://tinyurl.com/HulkVSThing

http://tinyurl.com/ThingVSHulk
Telly like it is writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 5:24:34 AM

@Ranger. Yeah checked out the photos you posted. He should be a wee bit smaller than the Hulk, but still quite big.
ShizPaf writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 8:56:33 AM

There is the thing with Hulk getting slightly larger when he gets really angry. So it would vary a little, with Hulk always being a touch bigger.

Not like me, I don't get bigger when angry- I get bigger when happy in a special way...
ShizPaf writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 9:01:19 AM

Also Thing is oddly proportioned. He's way heavier than any human proportion can read not tall but wide and thick with huge arms.
darkraven28 writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 7:32:51 PM

So, a digital turd is better than a real one? Hmmmmm.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 31st, 2010 at 12:54:10 AM

lol
Ranger writes:
on July 31st, 2010 at 3:46:04 AM

@Telly and Shiz - agreed... slightly smaller than The Hulk.

@Shiz - happy than bigger in another way... lol. Nice!
Ranger writes:
on July 31st, 2010 at 3:48:24 AM

Another lame thing about the rubber suit vs. CG.

The Thing's eyes SHOULD BE orange stone as well as his teeth.
rabid writes:
on July 31st, 2010 at 1:02:51 PM

The Marvel Universe handbooks never waver. Thing is 6', Hulk is 7'.
That's about the difference between Rick Moranis and Bill Murray in a fight, not that much.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved