WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Brandon Routh and Tom Welling Want to Star in "Superman" Reboot

Posted: July 28th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Brandon Routh and Tom Welling Want to Star in "Superman" RebootSubmit Comment
Christopher Nolan is putting together a "Superman" reboot for Warner Bros and has already put together an outline that David Goyer is using to write the script. All that's left now is cast Superman and make the movie.

Speaking to CinemaBlend, "Superman Returns" star Brandon Routh revealed that he would love to play the Man of Steel in the reboot. He said: "I certainly would [love to play Superman again]. As much as I say I'm working to shake that off or shake it up, I certainly don't want to extinguish or get rid of it because it was a great honor and I would love to be able to return as that character."

Meanwhile, "Smallville" star Tom Welling is getting ready to don the Superman suit for the first time on the show and has revealed that he too would love to play the character on the big screen. "It's not as simple as everyone would like to think," he said. "There are a lot of elements that have to come together. [But] I've always been open to it."

Source: CinemaBlend


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 149 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rabid writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 5:48:12 AM

Tom Welling is the best choice.
not that skinny mannequin from the last one. They should avoid anything resembling Donner's vision.
Monash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 5:52:19 AM

Tom Welling would be great if not for the obvious
He's really the first to have both the look at the build. I did like Dean Cain however, he was stocky and did nerdy well, to each his own.

Superman should like someone who could f*ck you up even if void of powers, I don't get that from Routh or Reeves but Reeves still did a great job.

I also felt it unfair that everyone would cast Welling, only because its a shame when actors are type cast but if he doesn't care, I sure as hell don't
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 6:02:02 AM

f*ck Tom Welling. Smallville is one useless show and Welling is a very big part in that.

Recast Supes.
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 6:03:50 AM

What complete and utter nonsense Monash/rabid. Tom Welling?? Comeone. Get your heads out of the sand. He has portrayed the character in a tv series. He has not the stature or the look. He looks like a pretty boy male model. And smallville is Dawsons creek. Im sure hes services the tv series well (but i am not interested in those anyway... backstory yaaawn), but it was given to Routh and he should continue to portray the man of steel. there is no reason why it cannot be spectacular in the Nolan and co hands.
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 6:11:34 AM

I liked Brandon Routh as Super Man , never watched Smallville so i can't comment on the other guy..
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 6:23:21 AM

Still joping for Zachary Levi. Welling had his shot for long enough and I still never really saw his as Superman. Routh did as good of a job as he could for what Singer wanted to do with "Returns". It's just too bad that there were so many other things that were wrong with the movie. Routh shouldn't be considered for this because people will have a hard time disassociating it from the last 5 movies. Not sure if Daniel Cudmore has taken any acting lessons since "X3", but he might be a good contender too. He could definitely pull off the physicality of Supes. Not sure about the nerdiness of Kent though.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 6:24:03 AM

"joping"?
Monash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 6:25:38 AM

@adamcable
"Get your heads out of the sand. He has portrayed the character in a tv series."
Allow me to answer your argument with something I've already written
"Tom Welling would be great if not for the obvious"

You went on to write
"He has not the stature or the look. He looks like a pretty boy male model."
"...but it was given to Routh and he should continue to portray the man of steel."

Routh literally was a male model
Good argument, well made.
AYT BALL writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 6:31:03 AM

@ trailer - with you there, liked Returns and liked Brandon, dont know why it got so much hate to be honest, other than the super kid part.... meh
Charlie9 writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 6:49:38 AM

Definitely not Welling, it would seem too much like the film version of the show, and there are too many ppl out there that are not fans of Smallville. Most ppl didn't mind Routh so it has to be him or a new face.
VDODSON writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 7:15:23 AM

Rabid- Your crazy bro, Welling sucks and will remain a tv actor. If you didnt like Rouths performance, that means that you didnt like Reeve's performance. He played that role to a f*cking tee, and the turnout of the movie is in no way his fault. It was written sh*tty, that was its downfall.
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 7:18:55 AM

@monash
Routh literally was a male model.... So what?
So was tom welling. But Tom Welling LOOKS like
a male model, wheres as Routh looks like Superman.
Im not into criticizing other people to get my point across,
so I donít need to be rude to Tom Welling. Am sure he serviced the character well for the TV series, but the whole concept of Smallville is just people wanting to build something out of very little. Its braindead stuff. The balls Singer and co had to bring superman back... After all the failed attempts.. Thank god it never got made with Burton and Cage. Thank god the other apparent conteders didnt get their hands on it. Remember the balls it took to get it up there. Its just to easy to be cynical and say, nah..trash that, lets try another. Its not a McDonalds happy meal.

Id also be interested in knowing what it was excactly people didnít like about Returns?
VDODSON writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 7:32:47 AM

The problem with Returns was the absence of a foe with physical strength that rivals Superman. The whole super dipsh*t kid, and married Lois was ridiculous. The plane scene was great, and some of the visuals were astounding. When Supes is out of orbit listening, and then swoops down to earth was badass. If it wasnt for Rouths standout performance, it would of been a huge letdown.
Monash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 7:43:20 AM

@adamcable
"Id also be interested in knowing what it was excactly people didnít like about Returns?"

For me it wasn't all that original for a revival, not a terrible film, just didn't bring much to the table.
Kryptonite is bad
Luthor is evil
Lane is a bitch

I also didn't like the inconsistancy of how kryptonite effects him, most of the time a small rock incapacitates him but just because he had more willpower he was able to lift a large island of kryptonite while a piece of it was stabbed into him?
In a movie about the last son of a super-powered, alien being, flying around in a brightly coloured suit while no one notices he is Clark Kent because of one not-that-great facial disguise, THAT was a little hard to believe

Spacey was great, visual was great but it deserved a better plot and a fresh villain
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 7:46:58 AM

@VDODSON

I donít completely agree that the marriage, and child aspects were wrong. These aspects give him extra phsycological challenges that he has to overcome. How to be a great man in a persons life, even if you are not there 24/7.

How to be the best you can be, even though the woman of your dreams has made commitments to another. Having a child gives superman to feel more human, and less of an alien. It would mean he doesnít trail of to Krypton as much, that he maybe found his home on earth. He has an extra reason to be "around" - other than for the sake of humanity,
or for usnig his powers for vanity.

There were some great scenes in Returns. And whilst it wil be great with new foes in the sequel, it made sense to have Lex appear in Returns. It could have been better perhaps, but all things considered, i think it was actually great, and sets the stage for a soaring follow up!
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 7:53:54 AM

@monash

I agree it was a little predictable, or had some retreading aspects from Superman the Movie. But seeing as that film is the greatest of them all, it is quite amazing that they could pay such homage, and re introduce the man of steel to a new audience. To bring him back after all those years, it needed to have some familer asects i feel, and thats why it was totally right to have Lex back. Who has been his main foe. I think the logic can be, that when kryptonite is physically on the man (on a chain in Superman The Movie/stabbed in Returns) Then that means serious suffering and on his way to death. The rock he took out of the ocean had Kryptonite inside, and was close to him, but he wasnt touching it. You saw him falter when it got close to him in the rock. And the will to lift it and take it away almost took his life, remember? He fell from the skies like an angel with broken wings.
CCBlev writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 7:54:40 AM

As much as I'd like Routh to reprise his role, I say go completely new here. it's a new decade, a reboot. Time to let go of Chris Reeve and Donner's vision.
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 7:59:01 AM

@CCBlev
As much as I'd like Routh to reprise his role, I say go completely new here. it's a new decade, a reboot. Time to let go of Chris Reeve and Donner's vision.

Written by the 80ís Freddy Kruger face... ;-)

Routh can make Superman his own now. "Returns" was a bridge to a new land from the old one.
ceerow writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:04:01 AM

RECAST .. we want a new superman with new suit .. superman is the only superhero wearing gay clothes....
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:08:02 AM

Not to be a racist, but I'm against intergalactic mating. That kid of theirs should not be.
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:10:51 AM

Not to be a racist, but I'm against intergalactic mating. That kid of theirs should not be.

So superman is an alien to you huh? Doesnít belong here? He seems very human to me, albeit with powers that seperate him from us.
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:12:25 AM

ceerow writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:04:01 AM
RECAST .. we want a new superman with new suit .. superman is the only superhero wearing gay clothes....

The superman costume has been like this in variations for over 3 decades at least. Its not gay. Its brave, like him.
AYT BALL writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:23:54 AM

@ adamcable - clearly freud was joking, but yeah, superman is an alien after all! lol
gunfighterii writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:35:55 AM

Tom Welling is by far the best choice...10 years becoming clark kent and superman how is this goy not qualified? hes been in movies aswell like 'The Fog' etc. Sure smallvile sucked between seasons 3-6 but has really picked up thanks to new executive producers. Season 10 is going to be insane! and they are finally bringing superman to the screens for what ever no. of episodes...either way to saying Welling isnt ready or right for the role is complete BS dont fault the actor on the backstage crew. Heck Welling worked with Reeves and even Reeves agreed that he is the superman of our generation and has the talent to become the man of steel on the silver screen..
Either way devoting 10 years of his life Tom in my opinion deserves a go at the role and not to be turned down.. and work on the geek side of CK, even though most adaptations of CK nower days arnt geeky just a normal reporter
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:36:07 AM

i know he was ;-) Just having to roll up my arms and defend the supes...and brandons supes for that matter. ;-)
VDODSON writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:39:09 AM

Tom Welling may be Clark Kent, but he is no Superman. He needs to stick to tv shows, and family movies.
gunfighterii writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:40:55 AM

And for all those saying SMallville is crap, i have to remind ppl for the 1000 time. Smallville doesnt follow the Mytho's in a direct line like most comics because it is its own adaptation on the superman story.. and what most fans believe is set in another earth within the Multiverse so there...stop the whining
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:44:49 AM

@gunfighterii

tom welling is from the smallville world, which is a
tv series to feed impatient superman fans. Or just tv couch potatoes. Id rather get up and go running than sit through this stuff....Im not a fan of these tv spinoffs, and pray god he doesnt "spin on"- to the big screen. He just doesnt look the part, nor does he have the characteristics to fill the shoes on the bigsceen. Though he pobably worked well for the teenage angst/Dawsons Creek demographic. And thats me just being polite.. Please open our eyes, and do what we can to avoid this silly suggestion to even be considered.
gunfighterii writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:46:21 AM

@VDODSON
"If you didnt like Rouths performance, that means that you didnt like Reeve's performance"

What the hell are you on about? Rouths performance was completly diffrent to reeve's sure there are simularities but there not the same, for you to say that is dumb.

"Tom Welling may be Clark Kent, but he is no Superman. He needs to stick to tv shows, and family movies"

He's no superman YET but will be in 10-12 episodes. and because hes from a TV show hes not worthy to be Superman? i think he makes a far better superman then routh hands down

gunfighterii writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:47:47 AM

Wheres Ranger when u need him im sure he'll have something to say if it has Smallville involved! back me up buddy lol
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:50:33 AM

@gunfighterii

and as for the explaination about smallvilles adaption.. it probably wasnt allowed to follow the original movie storylines. as that should be kept holy. But it probably clawed its way onto tv due to sniffing loopholes in licence rights. So one bright speark said "lets make a show about clark as a boy on the farm" and tada! Greedy corperates trying to milk the icon, finding a way to profit. There have probably been things the show cant do due to copyright laws, but it keeps crawling around maquerading as someting to do with superman, which it has nothing. Credit to their entrepeneurial efforts, but it ultimately only tarnishes the Iconography of superman.
gunfighterii writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:54:13 AM

http://i995.photobucket.com/albums/af78/gunfighter28/Tom20Welling20Superman.jpg

Now tell me he doesnt look like superman, even though you will :P
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 9:07:54 AM

@gunfighterii

is a still image thats been doctored with shading etc. Ive seen tom welling, in interviews and on commercials for smallville. The person ive seen and heard walling and talking does NOT emote superman for me. Not even close. Sorry, and no offence to Tom Welling. He has as ive said probably done good things in his role, and pleased a certain audience group (based on your commetns). But if he was an option, they would have had him come in on Returns. He didnít, and he shouldnít.
VDODSON writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 9:13:04 AM

Gunfighter- Are you nuts, Routh had Reeves mannerisms, and speech pattern down to a science. He didnt take on the role of Superman, he took on the role of Christopher Reeves portrayl of Superman. At least Singer knew how much Reeves performance weighed heavy in the heart of the public, and he chose to embody that versus a brand new take of the man of steel.
VDODSON writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 9:14:39 AM

Gunfighter- stick to your teenage angst driven portrayls of Superman, and leave the films to the adults.
AYT BALL writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 9:21:34 AM

@ gunfighterii - Vdodson is right, it was almost spooky watching routh in some parts, clearly used reeves as inspiration.

and is it just me or does Welling look like John Barrowman?

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_WEZtp7KMpdo/SIbs8iYNkYI/AAAAAAAACoE/qKoJFpQGUAs/s400/JOHN2.jpg

lol
BobMcBob writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 9:31:05 AM

they should make a gay porno together wearing Superman costumes; they would probably earn more money than their making right now
KindredMac writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 9:32:01 AM

Tom Welling for the win.
Routh just looks like he is over acting when he tries to be serious... as in the last season of Chuck.
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 9:35:04 AM

AYT - AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 9:35:28 AM

Nice pants !!
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 9:42:49 AM

Got to say Routh nailed Superman for me.

I loved what Reeve did (1st 2 movies only) and i thought Routh's performance was in keeping with those movies and was very respectful to Reeve's Superman, spot on.

No Contest Routh for Superman...
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 9:43:45 AM

If the only incentive is to make money, then we have adhered to one of the evils of the human heart, at our peril. A discussion about the virus that is the porn industry should not be entered into this conversation thread. The drug industry is also huge. Should they have superman taking drugs to feel strong and brave for that reason too? With a good team behind the Superman followup, there is reason why it cannot be spectacular, with Routh agin wearing the cape.
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 9:45:04 AM

@trailertrash

agree with you, thouugh i think he can now make the role more his own with the continuation.
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 9:46:47 AM

Correction (in capitals).

If the only incentive is to make money, then we have adhered to one of the evils of the human heart, at our peril. A discussion about the virus that is the porn industry should not be entered into this conversation thread. The drug industry is also huge. Should they have superman taking drugs to feel strong and brave for that reason too? With a good team behind the Superman followup, there is NO reason why it cannot be spectacular, with Routh agin wearing the cape.

LeeMaca writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 9:47:44 AM

Christopher Nolan is putting together a "Superman" reboot for Warner Bros and has already put together an outline that David Goyer is using to write the script.

Funny as every other bit of info i've read about the reboot was David Goyer had that good a story Nolan got on board not the other way around, and I have more chance of getting this role than Tom Welling

BRING BACK ROUTH
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 9:52:59 AM

Either one is fine with me.

The storyline and the director being able to put it together is 80% of any movie. The other 20% is the actor making you believe it.

Routh looked the part of superman it was just that Bryan Singer had you going in to many directions with not enough action an making him too vunerable all the time
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 9:55:15 AM

@LeeMaca

"I have more chance of getting this role than Tom Welling"


;)
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 9:57:43 AM

Oh

If it is not either Routh or Welling, they better make sure he looks like superman

They originally wanted Bruce Jenner back in the 70's for superman.

I dont think the movie would have been popular had he been cast

He just didnt look like him, heck neither did Dean Cane on Lois and Clark

Get it right
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 10:03:08 AM

When told about an internet groundswell supporting his return, Routh said that he wants it to ďturn into a tsunami,Ē. I agree...
MasterFonzo writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 10:07:48 AM

Hell Yeah Tom Welling for superman for sure :D time for new era & superman & hes the man for "The Man of Steel".
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 10:11:13 AM

@gunfighter

in that pic he kinda looks like harry connick jr haha
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 10:13:25 AM

having said that, bring back routh he was awesome...let him do his own adaptation now
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 10:21:54 AM

@SquirrelFlyer

You contradict your self friend. Routh is Superman. Welling is.. well a good looking fellow who catered to the dawsons creek demographic, and a series that made someting out of nothing. It should not really be connected to Superman The Movies. It wants to, it persists, and masquerades. But let it remain what it is. BRING BACK ROUTH.
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 10:23:13 AM

@SquirrelFlyer

Sorry friend. Confused your comment with masterFonzo, who is clearly out of his mind.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 10:24:04 AM

Actually, I wasn't joking. That kid should not be. Superman is an alien, not a superhuman, mutant or exposed to radioactivity, he's an alien. He's pretty much to us what we are to monkeys. Take my word for it, we can't mate with monkeys. I'm no scientist, but I do believe that the whole "not the same species" is a major factor. But even if we can look beyond this and buy that Lois isn't killed by Clark's ejaculation and that their genes somehow can mix and that the kid inherit his father's strenght, that does not explain how Lois doesn't pull an Alien when the baby starts to kick in her womb.
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 10:32:29 AM

@Freudian_Nightmare

Superman is as human as it gets. Hes made to feel like an outsider because of his powers. But he uses them for GOOD. He longs for Krypton and wanders off back there. And all the time we missed him. having a child here means he has an extra reason to feel at home here on earth. And not just be "a friend" only. References to ALIEN the movie are of course just stupid. Hes strength also comes in him being around for someone even though hes not with them 24/7. He has to cry the weight of Louis being with someone else, but still he fights for us. Make him feel alien again, and he WILL want to go back to the remains of krypton.
AYT BALL writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 10:41:58 AM

@ adamcable - you er, you really do love superman dont ya? lol not a bad thing bud, but im with freud, that kid would have kicked a hole in lois!
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 10:54:41 AM

@AYT BALL

@ adamcable - you er, you really do love superman dont ya?

I guess I do. We all do too Iím sure, and I know your mainly messing around with the ALIEN referance. Just hard to be light hearted when people genuinely seem to consider people like Tom Welling, or anyone else than Routh, now that Superman returned in the movies back to us. Just feel I have to get defensive. Just think we have to honour decisions made, and not feel we can just scrap something because it Didnít make 10 zillion dollars. All things considered, i think Returns in hidsight, and with time to digest it - was close to as good as it could be. Not that im not hoping the continuation/follow up will not now take us to new cinematic places..
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 10:56:42 AM

I could careless which they choose, but one of them is a must I think. Maybe both? Anyhow I hope the script is awesome.
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 10:58:53 AM

Superman needs a new villain to fight more than he needs a new face behind the cape IMO
LeeMaca writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 10:58:56 AM

The superkid part was the greatest flaw of returns well that and using lex yet again and i suppose you could say that Welling has earned a chance at a big budget supes movie but by that reckoning Adam West should have been our new dark knight lol. Big diff between pulling of a tv show and a hundred odd million movie and if you want to get really picky his teeth f*cking annoy me so Routh all the way HOWEVER i must admit I am a fan of smallville and love the comeback it's made over last couple of seasons
Lizardking515 writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:13:18 AM

Tom welling is best choice....routh is a lil bitch n f*cked up the last superman
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:17:11 AM

@Adamcable: Your devotion for Supes is nice (although borderline creepy) but Superman is not "as humas as it gets". You know how I know that? Because he's from an other planet, he can fly, move faster than light, quite strong, have x-ray vision, laser eyes and some other stuff I might have forgotten about. Did I mention he's from an other planet? If you don't come from earth then you are, per definition, not human. Alf did also have human emotions, do you consider him a human? Feed a dog and he will show you love, which also is a human emotion.

"Hes strength also comes in him being around for someone even though hes not with them 24/7. He has to cry the weight of Louis being with someone else"

I have not a single clue about what you just said there.

I didn't compare Superman to Alien, but the kid to when the alien burst out from John Hurt's chest. And honestly, if the child can kick a piano across a room, imagine what that baby would do to Lois' already stretched stomach.
LeeMaca writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:18:06 AM

what about terry crews he's a big dude can play a bumbling fool pretty well too infact i think he'd be a great supes although i feel i'm forgetting something
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:21:08 AM

@Lizardking515

You can see my previous posts on what i think of Tom Welling if you like, or can be asked.

Comments like "routh is a lill bitch n f*cked up the last superman" donít bode well for any fruitful debates though. Please give the Welling debate a rest already. Over and out.
AYT BALL writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:22:38 AM

@ adamcable - hey you should have seen the hours i put into defending kick-Ass on here! nothing wrong with backing up something you love. I know supes kid was never gonna burst out of lois but at the same time you see women in alot of discomfort from kicks and punches from regular babies, so would lois and he human womb be strong enough to take an innocent kick or punch from superboy?? mmmm not that it will ever be addressed on film but its an interesting discussion, i agree with you on Routh, thought he did a great job and like others have said, if you put him up against a "super" bad guy then we will see something a little special. But will the studio risk putting him in the reboot and expect people to know its a reboot? i think it would just be to hard for them to explain to kids that its not a sequel. The poject is in good hands though, i say wait and see ;-)
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:26:15 AM

LeeMaca - terry Crews To Old maybe, was that what you were forgetting ??
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:27:52 AM

AYT- What ever happened to big Sam ?? LOL
AYT BALL writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:31:05 AM

@ Trailer - hahaha think his brain burst!
AYT BALL writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:32:57 AM

@ Trailer - did you get those movies you ordered? cant remember what they were now, think it was disturbing movies? mmm
triggax writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:33:07 AM

"And for all those saying SMallville is crap, i have to remind ppl for the 1000 time. Smallville doesnt follow the Mytho's in a direct line like most comics because it is its own adaptation on the superman story.. and what most fans believe is set in another earth within the Multiverse so there...stop the whining"

Smallville is gayer than sh*t.

Smallville did to superman, what twilight did to vampire movies.

Turned it into teeny bopper faggotry.... How about grow a pair, go watch superman 2 the directors cut and you'll gather a good idea of what needs to be done... i tell you though... if they cast that little homo as superman, i will NEVER watch it.
LeeMaca writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:35:04 AM

@TT on the nose mate he's too old that was it!

@AYT what's your thoughts on the green lantern suit and pics so far, gotta say i prefered yours to what i'm seeing!
avaela writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:38:26 AM

Tom Welling pleeeeeassssssse
AYT BALL writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:39:54 AM

@ LeeMaca - Cheers much appreciated! think its looking ok, like i said at the time of doing mine, i dont know enough about the history of that character and the comics to judge weather or not they are accurate or faithful, but they aint bad, not sure about the suit of light, thought the mask looked a bit crappy but interested to see how it looks in motion. Mark strong looked pretty much the same with a few lines around his face so would like to see a full view of him too.
adamcable writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:39:55 AM

@AYT BALL

Dont know who got in early and started calling this a "reboot". Probably a wall street money addict, who wants to get dark knight earnings, and just snaps at the socalled failure of Returns (someting it wasnt). Reboot is a lazy word. I care nothing for yet another spiderman franchise, and hope it falls on its face. Weve just had that. People who think you can copy art and get the same results because someone else had success with it simplydo not have an artists mind. Perhaps there are too many moneymen having there say. Who knows. Of course if they redo everthing, then it would naturally not make sense to have brandon in there. It would have to be Brandon and the Cast. Please let there not be only a cynical crowd determine the outcome of the sequel. A reboot 4 years after Superman Returns? Its completely ridiculous and I will probably boicott if thy start yet again. it makes no sense. The only motive for this would be jealousy over The Dark Knight earnings. And it would be foolish for jealousy to be a driving factor.. We should learn from the power of rhetoric and simply stop calling it a reboot. Call it the sequel. Boot out the word "reboot". ROUTH FOR THE SEQUEL. And its in good hands, only as long as they dont dishonour has been done. Over and out. Enough typing from me for one day. Best wishes. Adam.
AYT BALL writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:48:27 AM

@ adamcable - agree with all your points, truth is though its all about the money, they didnt make what they wanted so blamed all involved, booted singer and Routh and went to (sorry) reboot mode. I dont see nolan and goyer writing a sequal, think they have been asked in to do something new, so i think the origin will have to be shown, YET again and that would mean it cant follow as a sequel, sucks i know but dont see it any other way.
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:50:08 AM

AYT -

I agree with Leemaca , i thought your Green Lantern stuff was better as well !!

Yeah i did get those dvds, there was 2 films and i can't for the life of me think of their names but very disturbing LOL!!

Have you seen Inception yet , If not why not !!
LeeMaca writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:52:49 AM

wow i just got f*cking roasted on the Ant-man thread people be warned time traveller is on the rag
AYT BALL writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:52:56 AM

@ Trailer - i havent, had crazy amount of work on and various other things! at least when i do go there will be no one else at the cinema! lol

And cheers too! :-)

Were the movies audition and irreversable?
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:54:50 AM

Oh Toy Story 3 was f*cking Awesome BTW people , Just seen that.

Watched it in 3D which was it's only downfall really, I Didn't think it was needed, and the ending was simply perfect !!
LeeMaca writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:57:56 AM

@ Ayt
no need to thank credit where credit is due!! I had to laugh at the Sinestro pic i think they stole yours after the suit got trashed lol. I agree that the suit should look better on screen when it's 'alive' and i was happy that they were keeping the mask until I saw it as your quite right it sucked!!!
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:59:07 AM

AYT-

Yes that was them !! Not had a chance to see those yet , not really children or wife friendly me thinks !! LOL

Ateam this weekend , we are getting some good movies now the world cups over (thank god)
rabid writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 12:15:45 PM

Smallville is a great show, but I could understand how someone who doesn't watch it could perceive it. The acting is hammy, but Tom Welling has done okay in other films. The guy is massive. He has a much bigger build than Routh.
I read how the script will unfold and it's going to require someone less wooden than Routh. Yknow, Reeve and the Donner movies were great, but the character has changed quite alot since those films came out. He's not the same guy or the same look. They should put a cap on that style of Superman story and move on to something new, and that includes not casting terrible actors just because they remind you of someone that was good.
AYT BALL writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 12:16:07 PM

@ Trailer - cool, and yeah not family entertainment, saw the A Team a few weeks back tho, few cheesy bits but good stuff in general, Murdoch stole the show even though he doesnt get as much screen time!
BuuMonster writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 12:18:54 PM

Let the big poof have the part again. Routh did a good and has that Superman look. Also after how he did in Chuck it could only get better
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 12:27:27 PM

See I think it's time people stop thinking Superman needs to be all tough appearance wise. That's what it cool. Some guy who looks wimpy as Clark Kent who looks like a moderately in-shape guy as Superman so he feels approachable. I mean seriously, the way some of you are describing the way you want Superman to look sounds like you would have picked Sylvester Stallone when he auditioned for the first film in 1978. I mean come on, just some buff guy seems really stupid and strips the character of humanity and humbleness. That's why Reeves and Routh did excellent jobs. They played geeky dudes as Clark kent and then managed to be, not tough guys, but guys who wouldn't back down. And to the first couple guys on this blog, SUPERMAN IS NOT JUST SUPPOSE TO MAKE YOU FEEL HE CAN BEAT YOU UP! THIS ISN'T WRESTLING! Batman is all about the fear, Superman is all about encouraging people to stand up, not feeling like they'll bash your head. You want that then go watch any action movie with a wrestler pretending to be an actor. Otherwise, let them pick someone who is a friendly face because Superman IS NOT BATMAN just because Christopher Nolan is part of it.
vaodsi writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 1:02:24 PM

it's a reboot....
casting either of them would only make it a continuation
LastActionHero writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 1:30:16 PM

I wouldnt mind Routh again if he got bigger.
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 1:44:33 PM

I think the amount of post about this new Superman and posts about it in the past show one thing:

Nolan

If you get this film right like you have done with Batman you will probably be voted Director of the Century
Salvador writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 1:48:20 PM

@rabid: Donner's vision was good. I enjoyed in the 80's but the world today demands a different version of Superman.

Tom Welling? Not sure...
jeffw1978 writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 1:51:56 PM

I say neither f*cking one, especially not welling and that is only because rabid said he is the best choice.
Rambo writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 1:53:04 PM

f*ck you both.no place for crappy b actors in nolan's movie.
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 1:56:14 PM

I like Welling in Smallville (don't like Smallville as much, because they do that:

1 show on message (fortress, Jor-El, Supes destiny, training, etc.).
2-3 shows complete bullsh*t! A WTF was THAT episode! And I'm sick of it.

Routh as Action Figure is still my pick. And yeah, they NEED (BADLY) to make this fictitious character more 'real.' Kryptonian heart... a hard-ass. Lose the wet spot for Lois. Go SAVE the planet(s). Visit other solar systems. Do SUPER-sh*t!

Cats out of trees days are OVER!

STILL would LOVE to see that trilogy I've heard about (from posters on here) that's floating around... whereby Supes is the last survivor on Earth. Does he stay out of loyalty, memories... Earth being his adoptive home... or does he leave?

That and/or start off with a planet wide, devastating battle to the death (that's right people... I say Supes KILLS somebody FINALLY) with Solomon Grundy!!!

GET THE f*ck ON THIS HOLLYWOOD!!!!
Don't let Nolan 'babysit' this project... LET HIM RUN THE WHOLE SHOW!!!

Supes IS (clearly) the GREATEST Superhero of all time. We all know it... Hollywood does not.

And God Bless Christopher Reeve! Thank YOU for setting the standard (in Supes 1 & 2).
The true Man of Steel (no... I'm not counting his wheelchair!).

RIP!
moreHOLLYWOODvomit writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 2:06:48 PM

@almost all of you
i really dont car who i piss of here, please get at me, but your all f&$king nuts!! Routh sucked balls homos, and to the duchebags compairing him to reeves you need ur head caved in. Reeves was something that could not be duplicated so dont compare trash routh to reeves. hate on welling all day but the guy has put in years with this character and he looks the part. i like tom for this hands down like 6:30, but if its not tom then lets see who else is offered the part. routh was crap that last superman was crap, suck my balls mr.garrison! but people, keep in mind that nolan is doing this, so even if routh's bitchass is cast, or welling, or anyone it will be good. nolans stamp of greatness like my mushroom stamp on yo fo'head!
AYT BALL writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 2:20:21 PM

@ moreHOLLYWOODvomit - got about two lines through your post and realised im 1) a homo and 2) just wrong about what movies and actors i enjoyed.

So thanks for clearing that up Yoda! ;-)
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 2:36:48 PM

@ moreHOLLYWOODvomit -

I to are in your debt of knowledge.

I now know I'm a f*cking crazy Homo , which explains why i always want to pop one up milas kunis poop shoot.

Not sure what "my mushroom stamp on yo fo'head!" means

That must be the way you hetrosexual guys talk i guess..
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 2:39:36 PM

@moreHOllYWOOD - clearly you have a tiny boner for Welling. Good for you. Bad job hiding your homosexuality though (not that there's anything wrong with that).

Thx. for expressing your thoughts that you feel others are not allowed to do on here.

So, until you get the job of God (and someone 'caves my head in'... LOL!), you can just: 'f*ckin' smile... AND BLOW ME!!!!'
Peter Parker writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 2:42:08 PM

Recasting Superman, huh?
Two words:







(... wait for it...)








... Chuck Norris.
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 2:55:25 PM

Could Chuck Tone his Hardness (hee hee) done though to play Superman ....
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 2:56:42 PM

done=down :)
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 3:04:44 PM

Chuck Norris eats Kryptonite cereal for breakfast!

Krypton didn't explode because of it's shifting orbit in relation to its sun... Chuck Norris got angry, and f*cked it up!

Lois Lane is in love with Superman, because well... Chuck Norris doesn't give her the time of day!

Chuck Norris doesn't need to fly. He jumps and the Earth moves beneath him!
Peter Parker writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 3:08:52 PM

@ Ranger and TT:

- LOL!

And Lois Lane's kid? He's Chuck's too!
He didn't push that piano. He roundhouse kicked it!

Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 3:11:55 PM

Chuck wouldn't waste a roundhouse on that piano (he saves those to kick-start planetary rotation)...

He stared at it...

AND SCARED IT INTO THE BAD GUY!!!
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 3:17:20 PM

Could Chuck (Norris) tone his Hardness (hee hee) down though to play Superman ....

Short (obvious) answer: No.

He only has ONE setting: 'GOD!'
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 3:24:03 PM

Chuck Norris could have built Heaven and Earth in less than 6 days... but his price was too high. So the Universe went with God.
Peter Parker writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 3:27:47 PM

Jesus: "My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?"

Chuck Norris: "Shut up, hippie! It's only three stakes, you wimp!"

trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 3:29:06 PM


Chuck Norris can touch MC Hammer you know.

Superman only has two weeknesses. Kryptonite and a round house kick from Chuck Norris.

Pee Wee Herman got arrested for masturbating in public. The same day, Chuck Norris got an award for masturbating in public.
Peter Parker writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 3:33:57 PM

"Chuck Norris got an award for masturbating in public"

... and it was the public that was masturbating Chuck Norris. Hundreds of people. At the same time.

trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 3:34:25 PM

When General Zod was looking for the son of Jor EL he thought it was Chuck Norris
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 3:36:44 PM

When Chuck Norris wants to, and makes the time... he's God's tutor.

Until then... God is on his own.
rrrisr3 writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 3:37:16 PM

moreHollywoodvomit was soooo right. Also, Welling does deserve a movie shot as long as it is NOT a continuation of "Smallville". That was the problem with the "reboot" of the "Highlander" franchise after the TV series ended. Which fortunetly was NOT tried with "Stargate". For those of you trying to judge Welling without having ever watched the show or watched with consistency....just shut the hell up. Your showing your immature fanboy adolescence. They are apples and oranges (TV and movies). Think about how things always change when you attempt to interpret something away from it's original medium (COMIC BOOKS - for those of you who are not old enough to remember). Think about the "creative license" that was utilized then since film is altogether a different means of interpretation a la "The Watchmen". TV has done a great job maintaining interest in the mythos that is "Superman", with "Smalleville" (whether you like it or not) being the longest running comic-book themed incarnation since GEORGE Reeves in the 50's/60's (how about that for an archaic reference). Routh was good as Kal-El, the story was weak, but what everyone fails to realize is that it was a bridge movie like Star Wars - Episode IV or Lord Of The Rings - The Two Towers. Everyone kept glossing over it but they needed to wipe out the taste that was the fiasco of the final Christopher Reeves interpretation of "the last son of Krypton". Sorry for whoever can't handle that simple truth. Now Nolan has a chance to completely revamp thanks to "Returns". It wasn't great but it was good enough to rate a revisit. The Jet, in 3-D, was awesome. The baby didn't manifest any power until he was out side the womb and exposed to direct sunlight (come on people this is "Superhero - 101" stuff) or he reached some sort of Kryptonian adolescence since he was half human. Also, please think of the movie franchise "Alien". Note that their DNA adapts whatever life-form it is ingested into(remember the dog-alien in III or the Predator-Alien in AVP). Routh was only weak because of the story written for him but he played it as well as he could and there were a lot of first in that movie. Lex seemed as menacing and psychotic as the Joker for a change and actually got his own hands dirty with some "jailhouse action" by using a "shive" on Kal-El. Lois had another love interest, we saw him "charge his battery", his whole body is indestructable (the eye scene), and another of my personal favorites FIRST FLIGHT. With all that the lack of a real super challenge was a killer to the ability to gather a solid following. Wellings incarnation does maintain a following considering the constraints that licensing puts on the franchise. Last, but certainly not least, SuperBOY was a long time part of the whole mythos in comic form, with he and his father trying to maintain the secrecy of his powers and his involvement in human affairs. Please people, do your homework. Don't just spout off adolescent absurdities just because you can. Let's have some intelligent thought here (also with explecetives deleted). Let the feeding frenzy begin!!!
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 3:42:43 PM

Chuck Norris wouldn't read rrrisr3 post , he'd just round house kick that sh*t off this site !!
trailertrash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 3:44:42 PM

I jest :)
rrrisr3 writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 3:48:49 PM

@trailertrash: Peter Griffin - "ROADHOUSE !!!" Smack! "ROADHOUSE !!!" Smack! "ROADHOUSE !!!" Smack!
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 4:14:53 PM

@rrr - good post.

TV to movies is apples to oranges, but you make the leap several times in your post that has me a bit lost.

Smallville - Highlander - Stargate - Alien - Watchman, Star Wars, LOTR. That's a lot of name-dropping and I'm still looking for the cohesive thread of thought for those comparisons.

Welling should get a shot at Supes... but you say Routh did a great job? I agree... he did.

And for nostalgic reasons, you left out Routh catching the Mustang and holding it in the same position as Supes did in Action Comics #1 (1938)... another clever addition by Singer.

Supes bastard child with Lois was a waste of film. What? Is he in the next movie? Is that half-breed going to take Kal-Els place one day wheezing and coughing and pushing pianos into his enemies? Get a haircut kid... you're mocking your Kryptonian heritage! WHY was Supes kid needed in that movie? His powers - the sun... moments of stress... too stupid to use them... what?! Horribly unexplained. Supes (as much as we like him) is completely alien. I seriously doubt his DNA would produce off-spring with a Terran.

And yes the bullet to the eye and the jet rescue scene were fab. Amazing actually. As was Supes flying in at the speed of light to block the bullets from that mini-gun... ALL Singer... and you and I agree he deserves that credit.

Then you jumped back to Reeve's TV series which ran from 52 - 58. And you're right... it did run longer than Lois & Clark (4 seasons), but lost on your point again.

As for Smallville sticking to the Supes storyline. Maybe you can explain the hour we all lost in our lives watching the episode whereby Clark Kent learned that his sneezes were... well... SUPER?! Wow! That's so inline with his Fortress training and his destiny.

So you go back and forth from TV to the movies (even though they're 'apples and oranges') - from Reeve to Reeves to Welling to Rough... bit lost as to your direction (this post is written in the same fashion notice?).

As for the wish that expletives being dropped... unless you're a moderator or owner of your site and you make that policy here... not a f*cking chance.

I did enjoy your read though.

Feeding frenzy... you wish. Lol.

Agreed we're all Supes fans though.

And having said what I've said. I'm a HUGE fan of Welling when they write him episodes like meeting the Justice League, and starting to build his own team. Save the filler episodes for the edit room floor. Were I the producer's I would be doing exactly what they're doing. Beat the dead dog that is Smallville for a 10-season boxset will sell for more than a lesser seasoned show would. I'd milk that bitch (female dog... with nipples... I like it RUF... RUF!) as they have.

But Routh and Singer deserve another kick at the cat.

More muscle on Routh.
More meat in the story.
Bigger balls on Singer.
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 4:16:59 PM

Rough = Routh.
Peter Parker writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 4:24:05 PM

rrrisr3's post in ten seconds:

"For those of you trying to judge Welling without having ever watched the show or watched with consistency....just shut the hell up. Your showing your immature fanboy adolescence"

Followed by:

Well... several immature, unrelated and opinionated references to several Superman pseudo-facts.

Yesterday it was Mr. Some Day Of The Week, today, this dude.

Hey, Ratner, idiots are falling from trees! Go get'em, boy!

rrrisr3 writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 5:05:39 PM

@ranger

Thanks for that. I was hoping to see some real thought on the matter. The point to all of those references was how things change with the medium, some good some bad. Superman is one of the few that has been transitioning several times. The reference to Star Wars (V is what I should have typed) and LOTR II is examples of transition between the start and finish of an idea. Which in the case of a reboot there is the need to connect the original concept with the new to allow for both audiences to enjoy the reboot. As for the "superchild", I know in the "real" world it's a no go, but then again we're not dealing with reality, are we? So the Aliens DNA comparison sticks. I don't really care if you curse, I just know it normally f*cks with people if you call them on it. Just like it bothers people when I jump all over the place in thought-to-page conversation (Which I appreciated you being kind enough to follow), but, as your typing, thoughts pop into your head and sometimes you just go with the flow. Thanks for addressing the homage to "Action Comics" in "Return". I am glad you recognized that I am a fan of both efforts for different reasons. Welling's turn may be premature, but the illusion of money may supercede... With Singer's "at bat" I was left feeling that something was missing. Which is what brought up the transition conversation in the first place. Thanks again for responding as thought-provokingly as you did.
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 5:11:08 PM

You're welcome.

And good post back. Thx. for the clarity.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 5:39:23 PM

Personally, I'd rather see a new actor for the new take on Superman. But if either of these 2 had to be cast in the reboot, I'd go with Routh. Tom Welling is a dreadful actor who doesn't have any presence whatsoever. Brandon Routh at least pulled off his scenes as Superman really well; too bad he had to be saddled with a lame Donner-retread script.

Anyway, I'm sure in the end neither will be cast in the new Man of Steel movie; the Nolans will go with somebody fresh.

On a side note, I find it humorous that it was Nolan's success with "Batman Begins" that led to Bryan Singer's "Superman Returns". And since that failed, Nolan is now in charge of Superman as well.
Charlie9 writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 6:18:22 PM

Once a year Chuck Norris throws a lucky child into the sun.
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:31:29 PM

... on a Sunday.
JohnZee writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:31:30 PM

Highly doubtful that they'll use either one for the Superman Reboot.

Did Nolan use any of the actors that had ever played Batman on television or the movies?

Adam West didn't even get a cameo, still hasn't gotten a cameo, and probably will never get a cameo.

Michael Keaton, Val Kilmer, and George Clooney were never considered for the Nolan Batman movies.

I'd wager that they'll get someone who has never played the role before.

But as far are marketability Tom Welling has Brandon Routh beat hands down. Longest running science fiction television series...

Routh on the other hand, one Superman film, and jack sh*t besides...

But even then Welling has become very used to being catered to by the production crew that works on Smallville.

And that crew won't have anything to do with the new Superman reboot. So he would be out of his element, and not just because he is mainly a television actor.

It would not be an easy transition, but far more reason to pick him to play Superman in a movie then Brandon Routh.

And in case you didn't know, a lot of people think that the main problem with Superman Returns was that it tried so hard with Routh to adhere to the old Christopher Reeves Superman movies.

This reboot is planned to be a reboot. Moving away from the Reeves Superman movies.

With good reason, the Reeves movies are a hard standard to live up to. Especially taking into account that they are so dated.
rabid writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:46:59 PM

This comicon footage shows Welling in the suit and flying, if anyone cares to see.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LfA2vSwYeIc
rabid writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:47:59 PM

I meant it shows the suit, not him in it. But he is finally flying.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 9:12:04 PM

I just don't get why everyone hates Superman Returns to much. It took the atmosphere of Christopher Reeves's Superman films (The first two, not the out of place sequels) and finally made Superman a little more of the superpowered guy we have been waiting for on the big screen. And another thing, the whole son of Superman in Returns I think was brilliant for one reason and one reason only...to make Superman easier to relate to. I mean sure he needs to be superpowered but, and Ranger might agree if I explain correctly, Superman is like the ultimate immigrant. Yeah he comes from a different culture, but deep down dude has the same wants and needs we want which is why he defends them and tries to protect our way of life. Him having a son further proves how Earth became his home. I know I'm starting to sound like a some guy giving a monologue in a movie, but Superman was joy to watch for me as a kid because, even though he was an alien, he had the heart of a human and I believe Singer portrayed that right. Anyone who has anything against Returns better understand that Superman, as I said earlier in my last post, isn't frikkin' Batman. He isn't a brooding and cop-like superhero. Nolan did great with Batman and the psychological symbolism but, like it or not, Superman is the opposite. He is meant to intentionally be all of the cheesy patriotism and heroics that we ourselves make fun of for being too unrealistic, but deep down we all want the good guy to a good guy, not a dark "I block out the world" crap, hence why Superman and Batman collide so much. Superman gets close to people and Batman refuses. If Nolan does this, he better be aware this is a very different superhero. I heard how, even though Inception was great, it lacked the human aspect a little. Superman is all about the heartfelt moments and I expect this character treated with respect to its moral integrity as well as awesome action. Otherwise, you get a Bay film and while those are fun, Superman is more then that. Hope this post, which I'm sure could be a small novel by now and has outdone the length of any of my previous posts, is a little insightful and look forward to the responses.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 9:12:17 PM

I just don't get why everyone hates Superman Returns to much. It took the atmosphere of Christopher Reeves's Superman films (The first two, not the out of place sequels) and finally made Superman a little more of the superpowered guy we have been waiting for on the big screen. And another thing, the whole son of Superman in Returns I think was brilliant for one reason and one reason only...to make Superman easier to relate to. I mean sure he needs to be superpowered but, and Ranger might agree if I explain correctly, Superman is like the ultimate immigrant. Yeah he comes from a different culture, but deep down dude has the same wants and needs we want which is why he defends them and tries to protect our way of life. Him having a son further proves how Earth became his home. I know I'm starting to sound like a some guy giving a monologue in a movie, but Superman was joy to watch for me as a kid because, even though he was an alien, he had the heart of a human and I believe Singer portrayed that right. Anyone who has anything against Returns better understand that Superman, as I said earlier in my last post, isn't frikkin' Batman. He isn't a brooding and cop-like superhero. Nolan did great with Batman and the psychological symbolism but, like it or not, Superman is the opposite. He is meant to intentionally be all of the cheesy patriotism and heroics that we ourselves make fun of for being too unrealistic, but deep down we all want the good guy to a good guy, not a dark "I block out the world" crap, hence why Superman and Batman collide so much. Superman gets close to people and Batman refuses. If Nolan does this, he better be aware this is a very different superhero. I heard how, even though Inception was great, it lacked the human aspect a little. Superman is all about the heartfelt moments and I expect this character treated with respect to its moral integrity as well as awesome action. Otherwise, you get a Bay film and while those are fun, Superman is more then that. Hope this post, which I'm sure could be a small novel by now and has outdone the length of any of my previous posts, is a little insightful and look forward to the responses.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 9:15:25 PM

Oh and sorry for the repeated post. Thing loaded slow, I pressed the "submit" button again stupidly and I posted twice.
gunfighterii writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 10:39:32 PM

I think this is without the doubt the longest commented story i think WP has ever seen...

Either way i get where everyone is comming from Routh is the reincarnation of Chris Reeves and we all love him because he reminds us of the greatest superman of all time. Tom Welling comes along and threatens the memory and image of Reeves superman...
Its a reboot pure and simple, we dont want the same stuff happening over and over again we've seen it happen to nearly every great film released and it ruins it inc follow ups (Clash of the Titans, Predators, Superman returns and the upcomming Spider-man) We need something fresh!!

I say its time we leave the Reeves/Routh on the DVD rack and let someone new join the highly infamous blue tights red cape club. Tom Welling is by far the only person capable in pulling off the character(s) Clark Kent/Kal-el. Ive said it countless times the guy has spent 10 years adapting his acting carrer into performing the role despite crap stories by producers and writers and shady acting from other cast members he deserves a go..end of.
We've got Nolan now give us Doomsday or another villian and a NEW silver screen Superman...Tom Welling.. and we got ourselfs a new legend
rabid writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 12:24:09 AM

So by judicial decree DC's film rights to Superman expire in 2013 and revert back to the creators' family. And I know that the Smallville rights were grandfathered in a while back.
Making a big budget spin-off film starring Welling from the tv show might enable them to keep the character rights past 2013 via that legal loophole. That means $$$$$$$$$$. If its legal, don't think WB's lawyers haven't considered it.
They'd have to call it "Man of Steel" or something rather than Superman, and only refer to him Kal-El though.
rabid writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 12:25:17 AM

*as Kal-El
Anthonypilone01 writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 2:53:05 AM

@Freudian_Nightmare "Useless show"? f*ck you, schmuck, SMALLVILLE'S a great show and I'm sick of bastards haters like you giving it a bad name!!!!!

I don't what other ignorant people say. WE NEED TOM WELLING FOR THE PART, NOT ROUTH(NO offensive to the actor)! HE'S PERFECT FOR THE ROLE, HE HAS THE BEST QUALITY SINCE CHRISTOPHER REEVE, HE HAS THE EXPERIENCE, HE'S BEEN FAMILIAR WITH THE CHARACTER FOR YEARS AND A LOT BETTER OF AN ACTOR THAN ROUTH, THATS FOR SURE! HE'S GOT TO DO IT BECAUSE HE'D MAKE AN AWSOME SUPERMAN FOR THIS GENERATION! PLEASE, GET TOM WELLING FOR SUPERMAN - HE'S EARNED IT!
trailertrash writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 4:39:14 AM

You seemed to have left your caps lock on silly !!
Ranger writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 5:44:16 PM

@rabid - great Comic-Com Smallville vid... thx. for posting.

IF ALL episodes were as great as that trailer... I'd have NO problem with the show.

Blind followers to Smallville though amuse me (when they use all caps too). AS I posted above (and before) - for said blind followers of the show. ONE episode will be ON message, followed by 2-3 episodes that are just off-topic, filler bullsh*t! Don't care if you love the show (Anthony), but I doubt there's one person reading this that watches Smallville regularly that would doubt my claim.

Looks like though... finally... they've saved the best for last (10th season). Congrats to Smallville... but f*ck you for ALL those filler episodes.

Babylon 5 = ONE story. Miss even ONE episode and you're f*cked sideways!

Battlestar Galactica - same thing. Although as I didn't watch all 5 years, I'm only assuming they followed close to Babylon's formula of making a 5 year limited run into ONE VERY TIGHT storyline.
LeeMaca writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 5:59:16 PM

@Ranger

Couldn't agree more as i said above good show but went wrong for one season too many and you made a point of when he sneezes what about the episode when he shoots fire everytime he gets horny
rabid writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 7:11:27 PM

If you peek at the episode guides from season to season, you see that they swap the order of their episodes around alot. I think there's alot of last minute editing and consulting on the main story arc and the filler episodes give them a chance to catch up. Plus much of the filler episodes are devoted to soapy love triangle plots. I can't fault CW for pandering to women. They balance it well enough to keep boys and girls interested.
I don't mind the filler stuff though. This season, I appreciated any break they took from Callum Blue's smarmy Zod impersonation.
Anthonypilone01 writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 7:51:43 PM

@trailertrash Why yes, I meant to do that. triggax I admit, when Welling started on the series, I was concerned about his acting, rather than just the looks of the character. But as the years went by, he's become a great actor and a lot of potential in him. So,if the series were as bad, there wouldn't be a lot of viewers.
And yeah, Ranger, they seemed to saved the best fo last and my congrats to the show's 10 season as well :)
Ranger writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 3:53:54 AM

@Anthony - it's nice to see your passion for the show (it's viewers like you obviously that have kept ratings up when people like me bail on it when they have those short run of 'blah' episodes). And yes... 10th season looks VERY promising. I'll be watching it more (my PVR IS set to record ALL episodes... but when I read the synopsis of the episode and it's lame... I just delete it).
adamcable writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 8:20:13 AM

@Anthonypilone01

tom welling is from the smallville world, which is a
tv series to feed impatient superman fans. Or just tv couch potatoes. Id rather get up and go running than sit through this stuff....Im not a fan of these tv spinoffs, and pray god he doesnt "spin on"- to the big screen. He just doesnt look the part, nor does he have the characteristics to fill the shoes on the bigsceen. Though he pobably worked well for the teenage angst/Dawsons Creek demographic. And thats me just being polite.. Please open our eyes, and do what we can to avoid this silly suggestion to even be considered.
rabid writes:
on July 31st, 2010 at 1:49:51 PM

I just saw the trailer for the Blue Beetle series on youtube. It will be spinning out of Smallville and will also star Booster Gold.
Anthonypilone01 writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 1:36:10 AM

@adamcapable Only time will tell. But until then, we'll just have to wait and see what happens. I am a Superman fan, too. But I am not one of those "impatient" or "chouch potatoe" types, just to let you know.
But don't be hatin' my favorite tv show,alright?
Anthonypilone01 writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 1:37:57 AM

Wait, "Hatin' on my favorite tv show", forgive me.
adamcable writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 7:31:49 AM

@Anthonypilone01

Sorry to offend. Im not into attacking something to get a point across. Just surpriss me that people even think it might happen. Youre right, well just have to wait and see.. But im pretty sure that if Welling does miraculously appear in the new film, then i will have to let the film characterization of superman go. Its a childhood relationship anyways. And so maybe discontinuing the lineage brought on by Richard Donner might mean i can grow up for good.. The thing that gives me hope for continuing in the vein of the last film is Nolans recent mtv interview when he says how much an impression the Donner film made on him as a kid. Anyways. Sundays can be better used. Time for me to log out. Peace.
adamcable writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 7:36:07 AM

Also. I am a parent who is not always with their child 24/7 as the mum has moved on and is someone else and they are all a family unit. So i guess Returns made me connect to the character. Knowing that you have to be your own superman in this world. No matter the challenges and obstacles we face. If the series ends on that footnote, then i can be ok with that. But then i will leave the new film for the next generation.. But that these films honour their heritage is commendable, and time will tell if they continue to do so.
rabid writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 12:34:36 PM

so you're a deadbeat dad just like Clark Kent?
adamcable writes:
on August 2nd, 2010 at 6:30:34 PM

@rabid

Youre an *sshole with no idea how i am as a dad.
Im a great dad. You are obviously not one,
otherwise you wouldnt speak so insensitively.
moreHOLLYWOODvomit writes:
on August 4th, 2010 at 10:29:07 AM

@AYT, TRAILER, RANGER

ha ha clearly you are very sensitive nerds and maybe you should retreat to your parents basement and post some comments about girls or comic book characters so you feel better. im all for people posting there opinions and i enjoy it-thats really all i did as well. my opinion is that Routh is queerbait and sucked as superman. but you tough guys got your feelings hurt by it-oh no! not like i called any of you out directly either which just goes to show that maybe you are closet homos...the part that gets upseting is when nerdy clowns like you are so in love and obsessed with this man and his character that you rant and rave and argue with other posters about it. its ok for you to do it but when i say something about it its no ok? ok, im glad we cleared up how none of the three of yours posts at me made any sense. so you all talk sh*t and argue its ok but me, no way. then to be hyporitical you do the exact thing you were attemting to bash me for, and that is my opinion is not valid. you three are f*cking super genius. my last post on here was more directed @adamcable, ect because the "LOVE" of superman is way over the top (and cleary AYT you felt somewhat simlier seeing your posts) but thats really here nor there at this point. so think for a sec about some smartass comeback, but it is what it is. oh and buttranger you clearly are the funniest, coolest guy on WP, i mean wow you are GOD here! that blow me comment was the sh*t let me tell ya-i dont think i can take the pain from that, it is just such a devistation to me-ha you are about as important as lindsay lohans used tampoons..oh and blow me.
adamcable writes:
on August 5th, 2010 at 6:44:40 AM

To whom it may concern:
Its not uncommon for people to use these forums to express their opinions. or even to attack/make fun of other opinions in order to hopefully score points in their favour. That tactic however is usually a weak one, so Im not a fan of it - unless the opposite view is unrealstic to be considered. Not sure at what point i really attacked someone elses post? Certainly not in a below-the-belt way, or ot aware i did so. But whats done is done. The problem with net forums is that people feel safe in saying what they like, maybe feeling safe that they are anonymous. A bit cowardice for my money. Thats why i just put my name up their. Nothing to hide here. Also there is no body language to read behind peoples words, so some words can probably be interpreted differently - based on how its percieved. Too much of this kind of virtual chin-wagging is in any case unhealthy, and a little adddictive. So im logging out from now. Better to get some fresh air.. All good wishes to you though. Everyones entitled to their opinion. But forums are their to view different ones. Bye bye.
Anthonypilone01 writes:
on August 30th, 2010 at 8:25:24 PM

This should be interesting. But Welling deserves more credit than what some people have given him(Rambo). Even said it himself he's always been open to it and he's earned the right to be given a chance and if Nolan is to be involved, I hope he can see that.
But hey, whatever happens, happens. Time will tell.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved