WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Why Ant-Man Won't Appear in "The Avengers"

Posted: July 28th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Why Ant-Man WonSubmit Comment
During the Marvel panel at Comic-Con, the studio brought out the main actors who will star in "The Avengers," even Mark Ruffalo who has replaced Edward Norton as the Hulk. But where was the actor who will play Ant-Man, one of the founders of the team?

It turns out that just hours before the panel, director Joss Whedon learned that the character will not be used in "The Avengers" and it has everything to do with Edgar Wright's script for the "Ant-Man" movie.

CinemaBlend caught up with Wright, who explained everything. "I talked to Kevin Feige about that a while back where we just discussed about whether he would be in 'The Avengers'," he said. "The thing is, the script that I've written, the chronology of it or the way it works wouldn't really fit in with what they do. And my film is very much an introduction to that character, and so it wasn't something where it felt right to introduce him in that film. Maybe if I do the solo Ant-Man film and maybe there's a later Avengers then they could draft him in later. But it didn't work with the kind of the angle that we were going to do with the origin that I'd written."

Click here to read more about "Ant-Man."

Source: CinemaBlend


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rabid writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 5:45:51 AM

ditch Edgar Wright and find a director who can keep pace.
Monash writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 6:08:29 AM

Edgar Wright is the man but I say this because I like his movies and tv show where he has had complete creative control.
Here he has a character with a pre-determined back story that has to fit into a universe already created.

People keep saying they want Simon Pegg as the lead in this movie because of Wright (I myself wouldn't mind it) but what I'd like more than that is another movie to keep the blood and icecream series alive after "The Worlds End" with a superhero theme.
jdl107 writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 6:08:36 AM

I heard his voice on G4, f*ckin' crazy :O
johnny_boy writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 7:24:36 AM

He's already ruining it. Can his ass. Hopefully we don't see ant man in avengers, but I didn't hear anything about giant man
CCBlev writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 7:50:55 AM

Again I'm losing more and more faith in this movie.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:01:49 AM

I don't care.

So they lose a guy that you would need a magnifying glass to see on the screen.

I just wish ill health on the whole crew.
rjd040487 writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:29:44 AM

edgar wright is a leg... wait for it .... end. if u havent seen his films or series u need to, and to be honest if antman is another superhero that is introduced in the avengers then the film will b like 5hrs longs to explain everything as just look at the cast.

talk about too many cooks in the kitchen
LeeMaca writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 9:57:11 AM

Me thinks the days of quality Marvel movies is over, I'm holding out for Thor but Cap died the second johnson took over and how joss whedon got the Avengers gig is a bigger mystery than how Seth Rogen gets laid (come on, even with the money)
Jedimax writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 10:12:54 AM

Whatevz where is my Atom Ant Movie?
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 10:48:38 AM

What the?
darthraige writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:09:46 AM

Who the f*ck wants to see Ant-Man anyway? Just watch Disney's A Bugs Life.
Time traveller writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:18:11 AM

@Rabid

''Time Traveller, Whedon's quip about Ant-Man not being in the film was just a joke. He was making a crack on Nathan Fillion's career.

They just haven't announced Ant and Wasp because Whedon and Edgar Wright both have to agree on those actors. I'm sure they're still working it out. It's good to have more surprises in store as this film is still 2 years away''

So what you said was not true.So yeah,like I already said, they had the cast of the Avengers at Comic-Con,that's all youll get,deal with it.It doesn't have to be like comic fan boys want it to go,only like 0.0001% of the population even reads comics,let alone Ant-Man or Avengers comics.Most peopel have no idea who he is and don't care for him in the Avengers.I've only heard of this Ant-Man figure a few times here and there,but really didn't know who that is,since he has no cartoons of him that made x-men,hulk,iron man,spiderman,batman,fatnastic four etc familiar to all the kids like me in the 90s etc.
Time traveller writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:22:34 AM

@LeeMaca

''Me thinks the days of quality Marvel movies is over''

When did marvel movies even start,let laoen quality ones,is my question to you? I bet you're another ignorant tool who thinks anything before Iron Man was Marvel movies? lol,you are ignorant. Marvel only started to make movies,and already you say it is over? lol, damn that is an ignorant statement
LeeMaca writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:50:01 AM

i'm ever so sorry dear i meant to say movies based around marvel characters even though marvel dont own the rights etc
marvel movies just rolls off the tongue so how about you shut up and go finish the f*cking dishes! cause the grown ups are talking
AYT BALL writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 11:55:50 AM

@ Time traveller - need a hug?
rabid writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 12:02:26 PM

Edgar wright is a horrible director. He had one luckily funny screenplay with Shaun of the Dead. Everything else of his has been a total bore. If he can't figure out how to write a comic book prequel, then his game is weaker than I thought.
LeeMaca writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 12:14:10 PM

bid
have to agree with you there not a wright fan either although scott pilgrim's looking good
rocketman writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 12:16:56 PM

Unless they go with the wife beating angle Antman won't be getting my money,f*cking stupid character.Bug spray = job done.
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 1:21:39 PM

Nice posts folks... lol.

Go Giant Man (is that his other super-hero name), or go home.

Ants?! I just set out ant traps this past week. Maybe I'm responsible for his being cut from this movie.
rabid writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 7:43:35 PM

Oh, the Pyms get up to a little more than just spousal abuse. They're a kinky duo. Check out this scene from Avengers.
http://www.overtimecomedy.com/2008/05/20/ant-man-has-crazy-small-sex/
encoreyourface writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:13:44 PM

f*ck that, atleast have Hank Pym in there, i mean if you you're gonna have the Wasp get the f*cking husband.
rabid writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 8:20:36 PM

They'll have to put him in somewhere. Marvel fans would be seriously turned off by his absence. There could be potential rioting in moms' basements across the world.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 2:20:52 AM

don't i know it!
JohnZee writes:
on July 29th, 2010 at 4:32:01 AM

In case anyone is interested:

The Thor reel that was shown at Comic-Con:

http://www.aintitcool.com/node/45950
Telly like it is writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 5:28:22 AM

I just feel sad that without Henry Pym, Ultron won't be able to kick Avenger butt. :(
rabid writes:
on July 31st, 2010 at 1:47:57 PM

and no chance of Vision either

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved