WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"RoboCop" Remake is Officially Dead

Posted: July 27th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"RoboCop" Remake is Officially DeadSubmit Comment
Both the Financial Times and Moviehole have confirmed that director Darren Aronofsky (The Wrestler) has abandoned the "RoboCop" remake for good and that the project is now considered officially dead. This isn't really shocking news, since MGM is penniless, but it's unfortunate considering how much work Aronofsky has put in.

The movie is just one of many casualties. At this point, a new "James Bond" installment and an "Amityville Horror" remake cannot move forward. "Red Dawn" remake can't properly be marketed, and the proposed "Rocky" movie (without Sylvester Stallone) will probably never get off the ground.

As early as last year, MGM was targeting 2011 to have the "RoboCop" remake finished. Both Aronofsky and writer David Self (Road to Perdition) were working on the script and were planning to begin casting.

Source: Moviehole, FT


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 67 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 3:45:03 AM

Good !!

It was an 80's classic and thats how it should be left...
masht7 writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 3:49:20 AM

Actually, it could of been a very interesting remake since Darren Aronofsky was gonna direct. But 'RoboCop' is still a very classic Sci-Fi film (one of the best of all-time).
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:06:40 AM

It was such a classic. That whenever they'd have extra copies in the bargain bin (no insult to the movie) of the first one... I'd buy all the copies and give them to friends.

So... now that this is dead... tell me if the following is 'talent' or creepy as f*ck (get past the singing bit) - Ranger presents... The Ross Sisters from America's Got Talent 1944 (I know... I ROC!):

http://www.youtube.com/watch_popup?v=BNR74UCidBI&feature=player_embedded
Mister Pickles writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:09:16 AM

@ ranger
I actually bought a triple disc set of all 3 movies at Walmart for 7 f*cking dollars!
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:11:24 AM

@MP - lol. Well... at least the first one was worth more than that... the sequels you got for free. So a great deal all 'round.
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:12:07 AM

He would have done a credible job i guess.

Just isn't a movie that needed a remake IMO



trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:15:14 AM

Why not remake Action Jackson

Hot

Hotter

Hottest
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:15:49 AM

Love 80's action movies !!
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:15:52 AM

@TT - I don't know. I'm HUGELY against remakes.

But RC was so kewl... and with Inception/Matrix effects... make him more high-tech than ever. More lethal... a PROTECTIVE SHIELD for his face in battle (even if just a force field), etc. This could have been kick-ass. And I'm a MAJOR fan of the first one (sequels to this can lick my arse!).
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:19:44 AM

Robo Cop 3 one of worse films i've ever seen..
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:20:33 AM

Yep... up there with Cyborg.
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:23:30 AM

That was soooooooo bad your right....

JC would make a part 2 to that before he would make Expendables 2 (The freak)
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:24:19 AM

"Rocky" movie (without Sylvester Stallone)"?

WTF?!?!

WHAT?!

WHAT THE f*ck?!

Who comes UP with this sh*t?!?!
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:25:16 AM

So, MGM... what was next?!

A RoboCop movie... WITHOUT ROBOCOP?!?!?!
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:27:34 AM

No wonder MGM are in the state they are !!

James Bond without James Bond next !!
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:31:06 AM

Amityville Horror 'remake' --- IT'S BEEN REMADE YOU f*ckING RETARDS!!!

Red Dawn - doesn't need to be remade.

Rocky without Sly? Go f*ck yourself MGM!!! I'm going to find the name of the dipsh*t that 'proposed' that idea, track him down and kick him so hard in the c*nt, his dead grandmother will bunch up in one end of her coffin!!!

I'll miss Bond (until MGM gets reasonable of their asking price and someone picks it up).

And I'll miss the possibility of a high-tech, lethal, inception-matrix-esque RoboCop.

Jesus MGM, NO WONDER you've gone down the sh*tter!
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:32:12 AM

How about MGM without MGM?!

All vote:

The eyes have it (Comic-Con humor there).
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:32:50 AM

Think sage stallone was waiting on a call from MGM you know..
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:34:56 AM

Sure... if MGM's phone weren't disconnected.
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:37:05 AM

'phones' OR 'wasn't'... take yer pick.

Ugh!

Still shaken up over that Rocky (which no more need to be made, granted) without Sly 'proposal'

Ugh!
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:41:44 AM

Do you remember this little gem

Ricky 1

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0293557/

trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:42:10 AM

MGM , thats your rocky without stallone !!
Monash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:53:12 AM

A more appropriate title to this would have been "Bitches leave"

i do hope someone realises just how clever that joke was
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 5:04:11 AM

Monash- LOL

That was Kurtwood Smith best role and line !!
encoreyourface writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 5:10:03 AM

good! like trailer said it's a classic ...
johnny_boy writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 5:11:50 AM

As Trailer pointed out, it's a classic leave it that way. Who needs robocop anyways. We have iron man. Pretty much the same thing cept with iron man we get scarlet johansen in a tight black outfit
Rambo writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 5:46:05 AM

shoots Murphy's hand..."Well,give the man a hand..."
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 5:58:13 AM

I'm to generally against remakes, but Aronofsky's name made this interesting and I would have wanted to see his take on this.

No more Amityville? Oh, the horror.

And Rocky without Sly? It amaze me how retards can get suck high positions in a company.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 6:00:42 AM

Your Move Creep!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 7:49:52 AM

" Damn, Murphy ... you're dead! "

I'll stick to watching the original one.

" I'll buy that for a dollar! "
SACdaddy writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 8:16:50 AM

Thank God. A remake of a another classic 80s film seemed way beneath Aronofsky's talents. I'm glad MGM went tits up. It looks like they were developing a bunch of crap anyway.
CCBlev writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 10:02:48 AM

There was gonna be a Rocky movie without Stallone?? WTF???? I woulda went apesh*t over that.
@Ranger why all the hate for Cyborg all the sudden? its a classic!! lol

I think MGM goin under was the best thing to happen.
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 10:06:49 AM

With MGM in trouble i'm going to miss such Classic's as

The Dirty Half Dozen

The Thomas Affair

Pink Floyd The Brick

And the remakes of ..

Harley Davidson and the Marlboro Man

Break'in

The Crocodile Hunter: Collision Course: with Bear Grylls and lohan as Crocodile bait

And The Re-Reboot of Halloween and Pink Panther.

What happened MGM !!
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 10:16:13 AM

CC-

rumor has it Jackie stallone was going to play a retarded Rocky Balboa ....

http://www.virginmedia.com/images/jackie_stallone400x300.jpg

xtlhogciao writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 10:21:25 AM

Wait a second, back up. A new Rocky movie without Stallone? How did I not hear about this? When they say without Stallone, do they mean he wouldn't fight but would train or mentor someone like in Rocky 5? If Stallone had nothing to do with the movie at all, how would that even be considered a Rocky movie?
Chewbacca writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 10:34:01 AM

"RoboCop" Remake is Officially Dead

Cue Peter Weller being blown to bits.
darthraige writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 11:10:50 AM

As it should be.
VDODSON writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 11:19:22 AM

Trailer- Carl Weathers is still available, and is awaiting the call.
rabid writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 11:45:51 AM

I want to see Frank Miller's Robocop brought to the screen.
Salvador writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 11:53:50 AM

@trailertrash: I agree!

Let the original Robocop be. No more f*** remakes!
Digital Desperado writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 12:01:47 PM

I can only say...THANK GOD!!!
rocketman writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 12:07:19 PM

Good,f*cking Judge Dredd ripoff.
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 1:06:17 PM

@CC - Cyborg does have a... 'charm' all its own, agreed.
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 1:49:22 PM

I just sent another 20 cent donation to MGM hopefully this will help

Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 2:00:26 PM

I sent them a pair of my sh*t-stained shorts (postage due).

f*ck 'em!!!
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 2:21:46 PM

Rang

You know they might be able to convert those into some kind of bio-fuel

You know they are big into being green out there so that might help them save on their utility bill

And with your help we might have a chance at Robo Cop and another Bond film

Things are looking up already
ZenShark writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 2:23:19 PM

aww man...arnofsky doing robocop would have been awesome...interesting at the very least...
ZenShark writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 2:24:12 PM

and really, how sh*tty must the management be for a company with so many bankable franshises go bankrupt? how the sh*t does that happen? why doesnt someone just buy the damn thing? im sure theres a lot of money to be made here...
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 2:31:35 PM

@Crazy - biofuel?! Hell no! Knowing MGM, they'd take my sh*t-filled shorts and try to make a movie about it (without Slyvester Stallone)... called:

'Ranger's sh*t-filled Shorts!'

MGM - you DESERVE to be BILLIONS of $'s in the hole... you stupid f*cks!
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 3:22:18 PM

Rang

Yea The director would be Michael Moore and Oliver Stone.

It would be a doc*mentary on how your a "typical" greedy American that throws your old shorts in a dumpster that ends up in a landfill when you should have bought a $500,000 DeLorean bio-fuel burning car from Willie Nelson and Doc from the movie Back to the Future.

I mean we all make more money than people in Hollywood so you should be able to afford the car
HideousSecretion writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:34:44 PM

Thank God.... I was dreading this remake more than others. The only bad thing about MGM going belly up is marketing for Red Dawn (unless its sucks a turd or isn't thoroughly anti-commie). I'd add delaying the Hobbit but that allowed us to get rid of Del Toro which is a plus. And with all the sh*t remakes it put to rest it seems a good thing.
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:35:54 PM

VDODSON - ha ha i bet he is !! He needs to bring Chubbs back to life...

Salvador - Well said , But Hollywood isn't listening at the minute !!
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:39:20 PM

ranger -

they did make a film out of your sh*t filled shorts (nice btw) is was called FAME and that just about finshed them off !!
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:43:53 PM

LOL.

'sh*t-filled Shorts: a day in the life of Lindsay Lohan'
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:50:46 PM

It's when her and danna try to pick out the peanuts from her own poop for breakfast you know she's hit rock bottom (hee hee)
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:57:49 PM

can't be real !!

http://tacoflutter.com/sitebuilder/images/Emma_Watson_Hot_f*cking_Tits-219x261.jpg

can it LOL
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 5:02:57 PM

my mate just sent me loads of these !!

johnny - seen this one

http://www.theexposer.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/09/vanessa-anne-hudgens-topless.jpg
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 6:23:47 PM

With chicks... naked is the way to go.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 6:41:56 PM

1. At least Peter Weller won't be putting me to sleep.

2. IMDB needs to f*cking update their sh*t.

3. Does this leave the chance for Total Recall II - Rewind and Set to Pause in developmental hell ?

4. Take the $ 20,000 used for catering and make the next Cynthia Rothrock martial arts movie (or Michael Dudikoff) ... god know they must be needing the work ... Jeff Speakman ? f*ck him.

5. This movie was the Nostradamus of movies in regards to predicting Humvee use in the residential market and SUVS :

It's back! Big is back, because bigger is better than ever! 6000 SUX: An American Tradition!

Something with reclining leather seats, that goes really fast and gets really sh*tty gas mileage!


6. And finally ... a word from the man of the hour :

Robocop: Leave me alone.
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 6:41:56 PM

It sure is my friend !!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 6:43:15 PM

The movie is just one of many casualties. At this point, a new "James Bond" installment and an "Amityville Horror" remake cannot move forward. "Red Dawn" remake can't properly be marketed, and the proposed "Rocky" movie (without Sylvester Stallone) will probably never get off the ground.

MICHAEL BAY ALREADY f*ckED AND GANG-RAPED THE AMITYVILLE HORROR. LEAVE IT THE f*ck ALONE, HOLLYWOOD.
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 6:46:06 PM

max- lol
Orias writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 6:48:55 PM

"rumor has it Jackie stallone was going to play a retarded Rocky Balboa ...."

Yeah, I heard that too...Jackie Stallone's character was going to wear a Goonies T-shirt in the movie and was going to be motivated each fight by Paulie by being told the opposing boxer killed Big Bird from Sesame Street so that he would go into his retard rage and beat him to death.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 7:26:45 PM

I am so happy to hear that they won't go f*cking with a classic. Too bad it had to come at the expense of MGM. Ah well. Peter Weller will always be RoboCop to me. No one else can do it. It would be like getting someone else to play the Gjin in Wishmaster instead of Andrew Divoff.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 8:52:29 PM

You've got a better chance seeing Christopher Reeve's corpse dressed in a Superman outfit and swingin in front of a green screen in " Superman : Doomsday " ... than you will see a remake of Robocop.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 1:03:43 AM

Praise be to Jesus!!!!
seveltoto writes:
on November 9th, 2017 at 7:18:37 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved