WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Daniel Craig Confirmed for David Fincher's "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo"

Posted: July 27th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Daniel Craig Confirmed for David FincherSubmit Comment
Daniel Craig has officially signed on to play journalist Mikael Blomkvist in "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo," a deal which includes options for two sequels based on "The Girl Who Played with Fire" and "The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets' Nest." The novels comprise the best-selling trilogy by Stieg Larsson.

Craig will begin filming in Sweden as soon as he wraps Jon Favreau's "Cowboys and Aliens" in the fall. "Dragon Tattoo" will be directed by David Fincher (Fight Club) and is scheduled to hit theaters on December 21st, 2011.

The new movie describes the mystery surrounding the long-unsolved disappearance of an heiress. Journalist Mikael Blomkvist (Craig), recently dinged by a libel case, and young female hacker Lisbeth Salander try to resolve it, stirring up bundles of personal and industrial corruption along the way.

In related news, Natalie Portman recently revealed that she is not in talks to star as Lisbeth.

A Swedish adaptation of the book recently appeared in theaters, grossing $101.7 million worldwide. The sequel, "The Girl Who Played with Fire," has earned $54 million so far.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Brody writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:13:30 AM

Original Swedish movie this year is outstanding. I know its David Fincher, but damn, give it a little while before remaking it. Same for 'Let The Right One In'.
VDODSON writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:18:02 AM

This movie came out in Sweden last year, why the f*ck are they remaking it. The originals are fantastic, and I rate them higher than Let the Right One in. On the other hand, Craig kills it in every role he plays, so it may be interesting to see his take on the character.
The Ripper writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:19:19 AM

Agreed, the original, and the next two in the series, should be left untarnished.
AYT BALL writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:40:13 AM

a movie makes money and get praise in any other country that america and rather than just give it a bigger release they would rather remake it, Hollywoods full of greedy unimaginative d*cks.....that being said IF they NEED to remake it Craigs a good choice
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:56:06 AM

i have brought The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo , not seen it yet though...

Seem ultra quick for the Hollywood remake , But i like Craig as well so it could be worse.
johnny_boy writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 5:03:02 AM

Where exactly is the dragon tattoo on the girl? If it's a tramp stamp, gotta be weird Having to see that while boning her.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 5:14:46 AM

if it was "girl with dragon up her ass" i'd maybe watch it but yet ...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 5:50:34 AM

Funny how everybody likes these movies while, me being from Sweden, loathes the sh*t out these movies. Seriously, what's the big deal? Absolutely nothing happens, just a bunch of random cirumstances and the killer is a dead give away. And don't for a second believe that books are any better. I would use that sh*t as toiletpaper if it weren't for the fact that I like soft paper.

I hope you burn in hell Stieg.
Rambo writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 6:04:22 AM

In related news, Natalie Portman is hot.
AYT BALL writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 8:49:13 AM

@ Freudian_Nightmare - gotta say i didnt see the big deal either, i worked out the killer the first time they were on screen! the other two were pretty crappy. I thought it was an ok movie, but kind of a small story if that makes sense.
VDODSON writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 8:49:16 AM

Freudian- I cant believe you didnt like it. That sh*t had me glued to the screen. The storyline was great, and the actress is one of the best I've seen as of late. Cant wait to see the secon, and third chapters.
trailertrash writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 8:50:27 AM

Freud-

You hate this because Oplev's Danish don't you !! LOL
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 8:56:53 AM

@Freudian_Nightmare watched it too and I agree with you it's way overrated
sc_kg writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 9:21:50 AM

Good choice for main role, but I hope they have really good script. There's much to fix both in original books and movies. Especialy the structure.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 9:44:17 AM

@Trailer: How I wish it was only that, but the other ones are directed by a swede and, as I said, I really hated the book too.

@Vdodson: The actress was actually something that was my biggest issue with the movie. Before watching the movie I've heard a bunch of stuff how mezmerising Noomi Rapace would be and how Lisbeth Salander is an extra-ordinary character. Noomi just walks around being a whiny bitch the entire movie, that's not acting, that's twilighting it in.

It saddens me how big this franchise as become. Where's goddamn Bergman when we need him?
rocko writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 10:40:59 AM

I'm hesitant with the remake. when they remake it, we all know that it's not gonna be as great as the original was. A lot of sh*t is gonna be taken out. But as long as this doesn't end up being another sh*tty remake like Quarantine, then I guess it will be alright
KallousTom writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 3:20:42 PM

I love Daniel Craig, but the Swedish version had that sense and grit of an indie movie that was more interested in telling a great story. It's also Just come out on DVD in the UK, so a remake now just seems odd. Really unneeded.
ProfMovies writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 3:34:31 PM

Too bad the American public is too STUPID to accept subtitles, as ALL THREE MOVIES HAVE ALREADY BEEN MADE!!

God, subtitles are like showing a crucifix to a vampire!
Why are people such idiots about subtitles?

The three Swedish-language movies are very good, and I doubt will be equalled or topped by Hollywood mooks!
HideousSecretion writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 4:31:27 PM

Sweet soggy balls! This just came out and they're remaking it... And the crazy part is that the excuse is that the original was a foreign film. Well last time I checked Daniel Craig is British!!! Hollywood is creatively bankrupt.
OneTime writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 5:19:00 PM

ya i heard the origional is awesome
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 6:59:04 PM

This reminds me of Nolan's remake of Insomnia, only I think that Nolan wasn't given a request by the movie producers to remake Insomnia.
MontoyaWA writes:
on July 28th, 2010 at 10:23:37 AM

Very much looking forward to this. The Swedish version of the film is ok, but not a great adaption. All of the charcters seemed one dimensional, and the entire film felt like is was rushing itself. Although I did enjoy the actress who played Lisbeth Salander, and thought she nailed that character.

Daniel Craig is more on par of what I picture Blomkvist to look like. Yeah, I think this definelty has potential.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved