WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joss Whedon on Casting Jeremy Renner and Mark Ruffalo in "The Avengers"

Posted: July 25th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joss Whedon on Casting Jeremy Renner and Mark Ruffalo in "The Avengers"Submit Comment
MTV News caught up with director Joss Whedon to talk about adding Jeremy Renner (The Hurt Locker) and Mark Ruffalo (Shutter Island) as Hawkeye and The Hulk to "The Avengers" team.

"The thing about Hawkeye, hes got his bows and arrows, you need somebody who's very very down to earth, who's very grounded, and who's going to be the kind of guy who, you see him, and you understand why he likes to be far away from things and then shoot at them," the director explained, adding that without the right actor the role could get "very silly" if not handled correctly.

Regarding Ruffalo, Whedon said that he was his "first and only choice for Bruce Banner."

He continued: "I'm stunned that we landed that, just stunned. He has what I remember loving about the show, that quality of, you just look at him and you go through it with him, he invites you in in a way that [no] other performer has since Bill Bixby. He is a guy who's been beaten up by life, but not defined by that. That's what I want from Bruce Banner, is a guy who's still getting it done, even though he has his problem."

Click here to read more about "The Avengers."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Peter Parker writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 10:06:23 PM

I once saw a vagina that looks like that man's face.

I told the girl to go shave.
She took offense in my request
I gave her $10 and told her to go back to her Irish husband.




... she still calls, every now and then.
CCBlev writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 10:33:43 PM

You were stunned you got Ruffalo? Um yea, he would do anything for work right now. He'd even come over and wash Bay's car for a buck.
-Chewy- writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 10:45:53 PM

It seems a little weird; how can a no name like Ruffalo be your ONLY AND FIRST choice?

...Especially when there was a guy like SUPER AWESOME EDWARD NORTON to play him before.

Don`t you want to try to top him? Or do you need to save more money for bland CGI?
Aaron writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 11:30:36 PM

Norton is a worse actor than Keanu Reeves. Yeah, I said that.
Gates writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 12:06:59 AM

@Aaron

"Woah"
TeemSelami writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 12:19:08 AM

wow i actually like the logic behind hawkeye but i would still like to see an anvil land on him.
AshTrey writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 12:35:17 AM

Joss is softer than baby sh*t. Stop garggling rufflao and make a good comic book movie. DO NOT f*ck this up.
Burdman writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 1:08:32 AM

To be honest I love Ed Norton I think he played Banner Well however I thought Bana palyed the role ok except for that fact that Ang Lee's script was trash. But while im not a huge fan yet of Ruffalo playing banner yet, I think he is a great actor and hopefully he will get some Oscar recognition soon. He was great in You Can Count on Me and no nom for that but he does fine work.
telur writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 1:16:44 AM

whedon can't direct, he just good in write
VDODSON writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 2:15:56 AM

Ruffalo is by no means a no name. The guy killed it in The Zodiac, and in Shutter Island. He has a more endearing quality than Norton, and is one who you can sympathize with. I think that much needed trait is whats been missing from the Hulk. Renner is an excellent choice for Hawkeye, he just needs to lose a few pounds, and get back to that Swat weight.
FBO writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 4:10:49 AM

@PP - Did you mean to say a Buck or a f*ck, Cuz I don't think Bay paid Fox a buck...
FBO writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 4:11:21 AM

Sorry that for CCBlev not Peter Parker, My bad
Aingx writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 5:43:37 AM

Thank you Parker for making me laugh first thing in the am..
LeeMaca writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 6:16:34 AM

surely if they got RDJ they could have brought back norton and i'm pretty sure he said he wanted to and was looking forward to reprising his role.

@PP Irish husband?
murphyslaw93 writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 7:57:49 AM

Norton is one my favorite actors and there's rarely anything I don't find him exceptional in, The Incredible Hulk included. Its probably one of my lesser favorite roles, but I was still hoping that he would stay on for the Avengers. However, I think Mark Ruffalo has the role that both Norton and Bana have been missing and as of recently I've been very surprised and satisfied with Ruffalo's performances and I wouldn't be surprised if he truly killed it here. Adding Jeremy Renner is a plus no matter what, the dude is straight awesome
Time traveller writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 11:24:13 AM

Norton had his chance,he blew it. Ruffalo has my support,the guy truly needs it with attaks allaround.He'll doo a great job no doubt.And yeah,i can sympathize more with Ruffalo than Norton,just his face is more teddy bear lol, you gotta love him as a vulnerable banner.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved