WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Planning to Reboot "Punisher" Again

Posted: July 25th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Planning to Reboot "Punisher" AgainSubmit Comment
Marvel Studios has been able to get back the rights to The Punisher character and now Marvel Studios President Kevin Feige has announced that the plan is to reboot the franchise with yet another feature film.

The first "Punisher" movie was released in 1989 with Dolph Lundgren. That followed with a reboot starring Thomas Jane as the title character getting revenge against an evil John Travolta. In 2008, a sequel was attempted but Jane decided not to return. He was replaced with Ray Stevenson in "Punisher: War Zone." All three were considered failures.

Marvel is trying to get the rights to all their characters, but Sony and 20th Century Fox still own "Spider-Man," "X-Men," "Daredevil," "Fantastic Four," "Ghost Rider" and many others. In order to keep the rights, the studios must keep releasing movies, which is why fans will keep getting superhero films for years to come.

Source: Marvel


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 62 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 5:37:43 AM

YES! Finally a good punished film coming our way. Now Marvel, get back spiderman filming rights and you're in business.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 5:47:34 AM

Well, you know the saying: "If you at first don't succeed, rise up and try again. And again. And again. You pretty much keep trying until people agrees with you."
vwkombi writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 5:48:55 AM

Dolph Lundgrens version worked as a cheesy eighties action flick.

Tom Janes was a generic revenge film. Mostly entertaining.

Ray Stevensons version was boring as f*ck.

Hopefully they will do an awesome film that's faithful to the Punisher character. But y'know, won't happen.
rocketman writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 5:51:59 AM

Good,i want white gloves n boots
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 5:52:03 AM

everyone above- too true there.

Would love to see a really good Punisher flick.
trailertrash writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 6:00:21 AM

4th times a charm so they say ..
GambleBDJ writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 6:01:12 AM

the punisher deserves a good flick. He's much better than ironman in my opinion.
Rambo writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 6:12:18 AM

It's all about the script and a good cast...they should watch 'Man on fire' a few times to see how it's done right...
johnny_boy writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 6:54:54 AM

After reading this I really hope they don't decide to reboot TIH. We can accept the change in how Bruce banner looks as we did with Don Cheadle taking over for Terrence Howard
mattjudge62 writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 7:18:43 AM

I watched 2 of the 3 they listed you can thank the 5 dollar bin at walmart Im hopeing when this ones released walmart will have a 199 bin
defiant1 writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 7:25:52 AM

Thank you Marvel. Punisher is my God. The last 3 movies may not have been phenomenal, but I enjoy them all. At least in Warzone, they stayed true to his origin. It wasn't a carbomb, it wasn't a massacre in Tampa, it was a slaying in Central Park. But the scene in the 89 movie when Frank drops into the casino and tears it up with an M-60 is still the sh*t. Just the thought of another Punisher movie is music to my ears. Although I have a feeling this one won't be given a fair chance just due to the fact that the others weren't received well. Alot of people have given up on Castle, but not me.
UnNameable_One writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 7:36:15 AM

Yeah i kinda agree with Rambo..."Man On Fire" is what Punisher SHOULDA been.
ZenShark writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 8:05:36 AM

ray stevenson made a good punisher...too bad the directing was crap, and the budget was peanuts...not to mention the script...they should get ennis to write it and feature baracuda as the main villain
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 8:07:06 AM

Tom Jane is the Punisher IMO
leezy84 writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 8:21:54 AM

ray stevenson is the punisher imo, he had the look down to a tee
darthraige writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 9:24:00 AM

Hopefully this one can be dark as f*ck and rated r.
ZenShark writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 9:49:49 AM

thomas jane to me did not encapsulate the punisher. he was too soft. I dont know why everyone loves him. have they ever read a punisher comic?
JohnZee writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 10:06:28 AM

You know if they had done three different movies on George Washington's *sshole. With three different actors, in three different movie formula styles. With three different directors...

...It's probably time to just accept that the character is either flawed or not capable of being viable on screen as a successful movie.

But yet a lot of comment makers are actually saying "Forth time will be the charm. This time they are going to make a Punisher movie that will be well worth seeing."

Which is a bit weird, you would think that most Punisher fans would be more into realism, than optimism.

I think if I had my choice I would much rather have a Mack Bolan: The Executioner movie.

But that's just the sad world we live in.

Punisher gets three crappy movies. Mack Bolan gets nada...

rabid writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 10:31:02 AM

I liked all the Punisher films. The last one was a real sh*tter, but the gore was perfect. Let's hope they have sense to keep it R-rated.
PencilNinja writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 10:31:09 AM

hell yes... now if only they could get Stallone to direct this one and dig deep into the Punisher Max series for inspiration... I thought Ray Stevenson looked the part but it just didn't work in War Zone, he wasn't mean enough.
rabid writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 10:31:55 AM

Barracuda!!
PencilNinja writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 10:34:17 AM

btw; is this the most rebooted franchise ever? :P
PencilNinja writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 10:35:22 AM

Oh yeah, bring in Barracuda!!
CCBlev writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 10:38:46 AM

I'm not surprised by this. wonder what kind of budget they'll give it??
SaulSilver writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 10:43:31 AM

They should try a TV series this time, on HBO Showtime, or Starz.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 10:49:05 AM

I love the punisher comics and character but let's face it, They just can't get him right. I think this one is beyond saving...Now, bring on ROM!! LOL!!
koul writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 11:00:23 AM

the punisher with Thomas Jane was already good and they f*cked it up by making War Zone
Aingx writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 11:21:00 AM

So they think 4th times the charm? Just put him in a damn Spider-man movie and let him hunt the little f*cker down and kill him....c'mon.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 11:26:29 AM

Thomas Jane did a good job and the film was entertaining. That last one... god awful. Though Stevenson did look and sound the part I think.
dissident187 writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 12:00:47 PM

I know reboot are all about starting from scratch, but I really think they should retain Ray Stevenson from War Zone. Although the quality of War Zone is debatable, Ray Stevenson was the ideal Punisher.
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 12:06:14 PM

Hopefully this will be like the second movie. I thought it was the best of the 3
rabid writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 12:29:06 PM

no more Thomas Jane. His Punisher was a total p*ssy. It was cool to see him fight the Russian. Maybe they can bring the Russian back with his giant womantits and the Britney Rules tshirt.
Peter Parker writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 12:32:53 PM

Put Frank Miller and Robert Rodriguez on it, give it a "Sin City" look, photography-wise, make it bloodier than a street hooker on her period and voila, you'll have a decent "Punisher" movie.

And tits, lots of gigantic, heavy, milky, full, round tits.




... and asses. Phat asses!



... and Carla Gugino.
Peter Parker writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 12:48:54 PM

BTW, here's an article we all should read, including clips from "Captain America" (1971), "Dr. Strange" (1978) and "Fantastic 4" (1994).

Halfway through the page, David Hasselhoff can be seen having sex with two puppies.

The article is "5 Comic Book Movies Way Worse Than 'Batman and Robin", and can be found here:

http://www.cracked.com/article_17118_5-comic-book-movies-way-worse-than-batman-robin.html

holtlt writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 1:02:58 PM

Give Jason Isaacs or Alexander Skarsgard a punisher suit and make him blow up mob bosses, that would be the sh*t
holtlt writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 1:03:01 PM

Give Jason Isaacs or Alexander Skarsgard a punisher suit and make him blow up mob bosses, that would be the sh*t
holtlt writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 1:03:03 PM

Give Jason Isaacs or Alexander Skarsgard a punisher suit and make him blow up mob bosses, that would be the sh*t
trailertrash writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 1:08:07 PM

PP-

That is a disturbing pic of the The hoff and those puppies !!

He f*cked them, you can see it in his eyes !!
Peter Parker writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 1:33:09 PM

@ TT:

I though the same thing!
That man oozes lust through his pores and the puppies where victims of his sexual power, obviously.

If he ever comes crosses Chuck Norris' path, I fear there may be nothing left on the face of the Earth after they clash.
The movie "Clash of the Titans" should have been about that encounter.

To make this post relevant topic:

Chuck Norris for the role of Punisher.
As we already know, The Hoff is the only true Nick Fury.
That's a winner right there.

Peter Parker writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 1:33:13 PM

@ TT:

I though the same thing!
That man oozes lust through his pores and the puppies where victims of his sexual power, obviously.

If he ever comes crosses Chuck Norris' path, I fear there may be nothing left on the face of the Earth after they clash.
The movie "Clash of the Titans" should have been about that encounter.

To make this post relevant topic:

Chuck Norris for the role of Punisher.
As we already know, The Hoff is the only true Nick Fury.
That's a winner right there.

Peter Parker writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 1:34:04 PM

... hiccups!

Dark writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 1:51:16 PM

Finally! Now get back the rights for everything. I swear to god Matthew Vaughn is going to f*ck X-Men real bad. (Yes! Kick-Ass was decent but its no Dark Knight so stop treating him like Nolan) Just look at the f*cking cast of first class. They even approached Taylor Lautner (fag). Fox will make X-Men franchise into a fagfest like twatlight. In other words they will kill the franchise with First Class.
snake eater writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:18:16 PM

punisher war zone was allright to me the tone and gore has fit well, ray stevenson also did good job on being frank castle but the problem was the script.To me there no need of reboot,marvel could just do the sequel but provide it with a better storyline like ghost rider to me better be remake rather than they continue with nicholas cage because he just not match for johnny blaze but they still continue on a sequel for ghost rider
trailertrash writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:28:54 PM

PP-

That would be the fight of all-time , it would make the Ali vs. Frazier fight look like 2 guys fighting over who had seen Avatar the most !!

The Hoff only has two weeknesses. Hairy German women and a round house kick from Chuck Norris...
spider-man writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:38:24 PM

thank god!!!! i acctually enjoyed tom janes acting in the reboot i say throw him in with a different story(more close the comics) and youve got a winner
Austin VBA writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 4:07:46 PM

Prepare for another failure!

Every other Punisher movie made everyone disinterested I bet.
BigUnit writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 5:33:41 PM

clive owen.
tino78 writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 6:13:24 PM

its really sad how they cant get punisher right. its probably by far the easiest marvel character to make a movie withh. he has no superhero powers. his story is just revenge. honestly i think marvel will get it right. remember lionsgate had the rights before and they suck!!!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 6:41:47 PM

The problem with Punisher is that it's a super (anti)hero story too similar to Death Wish, Death Sentence and a number of 70s and 80s vigilante movies that wound up on VHS tapes, straight to stores ... if they really wanted to seriously reboot the Punisher for the big screen, might I suggest The 'Nam ? It had the punisher in it and it was like Oliver Stone's Platoon gone SERIOUSLY in the sh*tcan as far as politically incorrect as one could go.
ChainsawX writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 6:54:42 PM

make it a tv series let the writers of the wire or sopranos write it put it on HBO....
snake eater writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 7:20:18 PM

I think the right storyline is to make punisher not only fighting the mob but he also fighting his mentality disorder after the death of his family and he has done kills the mob who did it but he still continue to fight the mob not because to show right or wrong but his mental began to enjoy slaughter the mob,plus at the same time maybe a hitman or barracuda is aftering castle
Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 8:01:21 PM

I'm going to reboot Marvel in the vag!
darkraven28 writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 8:04:36 PM

The phrase "don't know when to quit" comes to mind.

But, my appraisal of the three so far:

Never saw the Dolph Lundgren version. The Thomas Jane version wasn't half bad aside from TERRIBLE songs on the soundtrack. And the Ray Stevenson version was, to me, exacly how a comic book movie should be. Insanely violent. Completely over the top. Villains that chew the scenery like crazy. The Punisher as the unstoppable force AND the immovable object. And Colin Salmon was hilarious as the cop trying to get Punisher to stop killing everybody.

Honestly, what's not to love about Punisher War Zone? I mean, it's not f*cking Batman & Robin.
rabid writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 9:33:19 PM

The story, I guess. The plot was total sh*t. We never found out what it was that Jigsaw sold to the terrorists. The final endscene was weak. They left out Soap's f*cked up personal life. We never found out what happened to the missing money. And I think they did the film a disservice editing out Frank's narration. I'd like to have seen his battlewagon too.
But that didn't stop me from enjoying it. I've probably seen War Zone more than any other Marvel film.
The Thomas Jane version was actually a very good film. But I don't actually consider it a Punisher movie. The Punisher is a jet-haired psychopathic Italian ex-vet from New York City, not a manic-deressive blonde ex-cop from Miami.
jigsaw23 writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 2:25:06 AM

JANE IS THE PUNISHER, i did like ray didnt care for the dolph one, they just need to keep the hard R. great gore in warzone but it wasnt bad.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 3:04:32 AM

i'm okay AS LONG AS MARVEL IS MAKING IT. if not, f*ck it up the ass.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 3:07:05 AM

darkraven and rabid-i agree. the Ray Stevenson one was good but the plot .... just not as good as the previous one. haven't seem the 89 yet.
FBO writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 4:35:14 AM

My vote goes to Jane and to making a direct sequel instead of a reboot. I am really tired of origin stories.
LastActionHero writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 7:40:03 AM

3 tries so far and all have failed miserably.
Rambo writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 10:25:40 AM

Gerrard Butler could be a great punisher!!!

'Putman...we'll put his name to the test...'
Mudders writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 3:51:53 AM

reboot it i guess...not a fan but bring tom jane back...he was awesome in it
rabid writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 12:32:16 PM

LOL, yeah right.
he was good in a movie called the Punisher, but he was not the Punisher.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved