WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Vanilla Sky" Voted Most Confusing Film of All Time

Posted: July 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Vanilla Sky" Voted Most Confusing Film of All TimeSubmit Comment
UK DVD subscription company LoveFilm put together a poll asking fans to vote for the most confusing movie ever made. Topping that poll is the 2001 movie "Vanilla Sky," starring Tom Cruise, Penelope Cruz and Cameron Diaz. Check out the top ten list below.

The film - which was directed by Cameron Crowe - told a surreal tale of a wealthy publishing heir (Cruise), who, after a car accident leaves him horribly disfigured, begins to suffer from a series of strange hallucinations.

LoveFilm spokesperson Helen Cowley said: "It's clear dreaming is the biggest cause of confusion for viewers."

The top ten most confusing films of all time are:

1. Vanilla Sky

2. Mulholland Drive

3. Donnie Darko

4. The Matrix Revolutions

5. Memento

6. 12 Monkeys

7. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

8. 2001: A Space Odyssey

9. Revolver

10. A Clockwork Orange

Source: LoveFilm


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 96 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masKritic writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 8:37:37 PM

ive seen all except number 2 and i understood all of them.
Aingx writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 8:40:39 PM

If those films are considered confusing, then I guess Darren Aronofsky is in a league all his own....
AYT BALL writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 8:41:12 PM

Gotta say, and no offence intended to anyone, but these all added up to me, id love to know what dipsh*ts they asked opinions on this......actually saying that the end of revolver was like watching a retarded snake in a bowl of spaghetti, even guy richie couldnt explain it in the commentary, seriously, listen to it, its cringe worthy!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 8:42:04 PM

OBVIOUSLY THESE f*ckERS HAVE NEVER SEEN PRIMER

f*ck hollywood mainstream movies, Real mindf*cks are in indie time travel films.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 8:43:12 PM

And how exactly is A Clockwork Orange a confusing film? How retarded do you have to be to now understand it?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 8:44:03 PM

This list f*cking sucks, I can't believe how pissed off I am over this, IS LOVEFILM OWNED BY DUSTIN PUTMAN?! THESE MOVIES ARE HARDLY CONFUSING, SOME OF THEM ARE JUST sh*tTY
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 8:46:02 PM

not* understand it
Charlie9 writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 8:54:05 PM

The ending to Mulholland Drive - Yes
Everything else - No
Films like Memento are confusing until the end, when it is explained and the audience understands, and others are easy to follow all the way thru (ESOTSM). Bit of a ridiculous list tbh.
Charlie9 writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 8:54:47 PM

This list should be number 1
RORSHACH writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 8:56:03 PM

there was nothin confusing about a clockwork orange or memento, and even donnie darko. I've not seen vanilla sky, but i think mulholland drive is the most confusing of them all....
murphyslaw93 writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 8:57:47 PM

Ill say that Mulholland Drive still makes no sense whatsoever in my mind and it took me a few viewings before I could assuredly say that I understood Donnie Darko (even though the first time it did seem pretty clear overall) but the rest of them are dumb easy to understand. Vanilla Sky is one of my favorite movies and that made sense the first time I saw it. These people probably thought Inception was hard to understand too
Ted Mosby writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:02:42 PM

On the subject of "confusing movies" none of those really were confusing unless your favorite movie is Big Mamas House... but recently i saw a movie called Uncertainty starring JGL... thought I'd love it cause the trailer looked crazy and I'm a big fan of JGL but good cause I still don't understand that movie what so ever... I'm curious to see if anyone has come across this movie and just as lost as I am? It's also on Netflix Instant View if you want to check it out...

Also I'm surprised they didn't throw Inception in at #10 considering people are retarded and complaining about "I don't know what I watched" ...dumbasses...

Also thought Darren Aronofsky's The Fountain should of made that list even though its one of my favorite movies. Can't tell you how many people hated it cause of the fact they couldn't wrap their heads around it. ok I'm done venting lol
Ted Mosby writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:03:49 PM

Also I can't listen to The Beach Boys "Good Vibration" WITHOUT thinking of Vanilla Sky lol
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:13:00 PM

INCEPTION will be on there soon enough.
CornLord writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:13:24 PM

How is The Fountain not in this list?
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:15:06 PM

Really??? The only thing confusing about A Clockwork Orange is the f*cking title! There was nothing confusing about External c*mslime on the Spotless Behind, and Mulholland Drive was WAAAAAYYYY more confusing than Vanilla Sky! But at least we got to see Naomi Watts titties!
Left On The Moss writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:15:15 PM

A Clockwork Orange? What the hell? That's probably the most blunt and forward film I've ever seen!

And where's Brazil?
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:16:55 PM

The Matrix REVOLUTIONS??? Don't they mean Reloaded? I thought that was much more confusing (though it was a better movie)
nriq writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:17:41 PM

Vanilla Sky? Better watch the infinitely better and original Alejandro Amenabarīs "ABRE LOS OJOS" (Open your eyes). That is a confusing masterpiece of filmmaking!!!
sc_kg writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:19:19 PM

@SpookyCupcakes
You're right, "Primer" is great, cofusing as hell, yet logic movie.
Ranger writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:21:18 PM

Shannon Price not being investigated for the murder of Gary Coleman baffles me. But that's not a movie... yet.
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:21:45 PM

I can honestly say I have not seen none of those movies listed.

Anyone one of these a Woody Allen film?

If not he should at least have 5 on this list
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:24:07 PM

I can also say I saw about 20 minutes of one Woody Allen movie and after that I never watched anything else that was associated with him.

Heck I dont even know the title of what I did see.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:24:09 PM

I haven't really seen all these films except 12 Monkeys, which was awsome. I have been needing to see Memento.
Ranger writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:24:56 PM

What about 'Legion'?

Oh right... this is a 'confusing' list, not a 'useless' list. Then they could have added 'Knowing' (2nd. half... aliens?! f*ck off!), Cyborg. Any RoboCop or Starship Troopers sequels... ahh...

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:29:01 PM

You mean Vanilla Sky beat out Gigli ??? Really ???

f*ck this list, f*ck WP, f*ck DP with a giant kangaroo-sized dildo and f*ck all those dweebs at the SDCC.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:32:15 PM

Ranger writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:24:56 PM

What about 'Legion'?

Oh right... this is a 'confusing' list, not a 'useless' list. Then they could have added 'Knowing' (2nd. half... aliens?! f*ck off!), Cyborg. Any RoboCop or Starship Troopers sequels... ahh...



@Ranger

You know, I bought Starship Troopers just to watch Neil Patrick Harris' solid acting skills ...

then I saw the gratuitous nude shower scene (a sista with a Oprah ass smacking Casper Van Dien's ass being super, super funny) and just put pause and then started sliding the carrot ...
DustinPutmansucksDick writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:33:47 PM

@Ranger- Robocop 2 was the best the 10 yr old kid with his hooker and lunch pail/machine gun was the best, he lived every mans dream.
johnthemon writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:40:04 PM

I'm confused how people can be confused by a movie...I never have been.
secondbest writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:48:20 PM

So A Clockwork Orange and 2001: A Space dyssey are on there but The Fountain isn't?
Osiris3eagle writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:48:28 PM

Mulholland Drive is a mindf*ck for sure. I love Vanilla Sky, I understood it.
secondbest writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 9:49:20 PM

Never mind, CornLord beat me to it.
KoJay90 writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 10:08:48 PM

Uhh I've seen Memento and if its confusing, then these guys aren't clever. I got the whole movie, maybe not the first time but I still don't think it's confusing anymore. If they're confused give me a holla, I got all day to answer their problems.
ashhamari writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 10:09:58 PM

i think primer, the fountain and pi is more confusing movies then most of the mentioned movies..
OneTime writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 10:14:50 PM

those are all great movies...the majority of people are stupid...
OneTime writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 10:19:34 PM

valhalla rising- you wanna see a movie that makes little sense..and ur left..wtf..watch this...
nicolemon writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 10:33:53 PM

whut. they don't even mention that Vanilla Sky is a remake.
CCBlev writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 10:35:27 PM

Interesting I never have seen Vanilla Sky. How is the Fountain not on there?
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 10:47:28 PM

vanilla sky is one of my favorite movies...i understood it the first time i ever saw it so...they're idiots
vaodsi writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 11:02:01 PM

hhahahha none of these movies confused me!
Rambo writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 11:03:23 PM

I think all David Lynch movies should be in the top 10 :-)
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 11:20:31 PM

Awwwwwwwww...is WorstPreviews upset that I made fun of their boyfriend Dustin Putman? They deleted my last post.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 11:57:25 PM

Surprised the Prestige isn't on there considering what's on there. I get Memento being on there though, a lot of average joes I know were like "wait so what happened there?"
Peter Parker writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 12:19:04 AM

Ya'll ain't seen confusin'until you see "Hermaphrodite Nurses".

... Now that's motherf*ckin'confusin'!

That sh*t'll make a man go to very dark places in his mind!

@ nriq:

Good call. "Abre Los Ojos" was also much better than "Vanilla Sky".
Regardless, in both movies, everything is well explained at the end, there's complete closure. How that can be considered "confusing" to some is...

... confusing to me.

Seeing "Vanilla Sky", "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" and "A Clockwork Orange" in that list is almost preoccupying.
However, considering that the result came from a public poll, put together by LoveFilm, I guess it makes some sense.

The general public isn't too fond of end twists and thought-provoking movies.
They rather see a nice little predictable film, full of the most common and annoying cliches, where the characters live happily ever after. The "Twilight" and "Avatar" phenomenons are the most recent proof of that.
And that's not necessarily a bad thing.
Not everybody has to need mental stimulation to enjoy a movie. After all, someone has to mow the lawns, right?

On a side note, I do agree that, sometimes, watching random, gratuitous violence is fun, just like kicking back and enjoying some juvenile movie parody, a simplistic storyline, momma jokes and lighting farts on fire.
The problem is when people lack the taste and/or intelligence to go beyond that.

"It's clear dreaming is the biggest cause of confusion for viewers."

- No, Helen. Stupidity and ignorance are the biggest causes of confusion for viewers, in equal proportions.

iamhockeyman writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 12:35:45 AM

requiem for a dream anyone?
angelus5621 writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 12:40:00 AM

Whoever came up with this list is obviously an IDIOT and has no business creating such lists. At least of the films listed, Mulholland Drive should be first! Vanilla Sky was explained!
encoreyourface writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 12:48:26 AM

the f*ck did Matrix get on there? out of all of these i've only seen 3,4,5, and 6.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 12:50:31 AM

PP-lol! good post.

Darkknight-Prestige was great! really confusing but it was explained in the end ...
ChainsawX writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 1:20:42 AM

to say the matrix revolutions was confusing is like saying uwe bowel movement should win an oscar
Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 1:45:50 AM

@DPSD - lol... yeah, a hooker and a kid. OK... I'll give you that one.

@Max - no, no my friend. The first Starship Troopers is a classic. I'll watch the damn thing every time its on TV (just watched it this past week), AND have the line: 'Damn bugs whacked us good Johnny!' on my PVR. No, the first... classic. Caught a bit (til I had to turn it off) of the 3rd one. They brought religion into it... ugh, it was painful!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 1:47:37 AM

Hey guys, dude got stabbed in the eye at comic con

Just putting it out there
Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:05:28 AM

Did he see a naked picture of Lohan and do it to himself?
Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:05:49 AM

I've done that.
Peter Parker writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:13:29 AM

Something caught his eye, apparently...

Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:17:15 AM

'Comic-Con... your eyes won't believe it!'
encoreyourface writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:24:51 AM

"comic-con: it's an eye popper!"
Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:28:49 AM

Wanna get poked?! Comic-Con 2010!
Peter Parker writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:30:17 AM

Comic-Con, more than meets the eye...


Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:31:15 AM

Eye LUV Comic-Con 2010!
Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:32:52 AM

Eye'll be back... to Comic-Con 2011!

c-prime writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:34:16 AM

"12 Monkeys"? One of my favorites of all time. That flick made complete sense. I guess the idiots who nominated it for this list actually expected the movie to be about twelve actual f*cking monkeys. Perhaps those guys should stick to more simplistic simian fare such "Buddy", "Congo", or "Mighty Joe Young". Less plot, more poo-flinging!
trailertrash writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:34:40 AM

Was it his one eye if so i bet he had it out in public !!

Lyndsy Fonseca was there

i would ..
Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:38:16 AM

Eye would too!
trailertrash writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:41:06 AM

LOL

The guy was stabbed with a pen by harry potter fan !!

Those guys are crazy ...
Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:42:33 AM

Probably said something against Emma Watson.
trailertrash writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:43:57 AM

I like to take a stab at Emma Watson !!
jigsaw23 writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:45:48 AM

the fountain should be 1.
matrix was not confusing
all else not confusing at all really.
revolver was until the end
trailertrash writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:55:06 AM

This list was put together by brits who don't go out of the house much and watch to much Eastenders and Coronation street.

Revolver wasn't confusing it was just sh*t !!
trailertrash writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:57:31 AM

I see Inception was leading Salt friday night (just)
Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:59:42 AM

Amazing considering an 'expert' rated it only 5 out of 10.
trailertrash writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 3:09:15 AM

I know , i think that was just a blip on his part he's normally right on the money with his reviews !!

Sex in the city 2 was 8/10 , not seen that yet but i'm sure it's really that good...
Duffman writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 3:55:16 AM

anybody seen southland tales? Heard that was suppose to be real confusing everybody I've talked to whos seen it has no idea wtf is going on. and wtf is matrix doing on there? wheres the fountain?
Duffman writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 3:56:27 AM

Jigsaw,

just saw you posted the fountain too, oh well f*ck it its worth a double post lol
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 5:21:03 AM

What about the recent Karate Kid movie that was confusing wasn't it???

Or am I just being confused on why they made it??
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 5:31:45 AM

First I think this might be DP's fan club or they are all from Nviblue and God help these people when they watch Inception.

The top ten most confusing films of all time are:

1. Vanilla Sky- Never gonna watch this crap.

2. Mulholland Drive- Will check it out, but have to be in right frame of mind first.

3. Donnie Darko- ? Really I thought it tells you at the emd what it's about.

4. The Matrix Revolutions- Only thing confusing here is how they got away with making this turd after the first was so good.

5. Memento- As with No2 have'nt seen yet, but hear great things.

6. 12 Monkeys- As with Donnie it get's explained in the movie.

7. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind- Not interested in watching this ever.

8. 2001: A Space Odyssey- ? Really?

9. Revolver- When I saw this there was nohting confusing in it.

10. A Clockwork Orange- Another one I can't understand why it is on the list.

Valerie writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 5:51:43 AM

Mulholland Drive is number one on my list!

ps: Tom looks hot in that photo, aw the times when i thought he was still f*ckable, despite my boyfriends telling me he looks like a midget! Those were the days.....
Inception writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 7:12:24 AM

This is a list composed of amazing and unforgettable films. Confusing? I wouldn't go that far.

Inception writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 7:28:10 AM

According to the poll Vanilla Sky is the most confusing film of all time. If these people saw "Un Chien Andalou" their little minds would have exploded.
Charlie9 writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 7:43:12 AM

Un Chien Andalou or anything in the 20's and 30's, but I'm just guessing this is gonna be aimed to the general public who think Matrix is confusing, not to film students
elrei writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 10:08:43 AM

this list is retarded... as in it was made by retarded people.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 10:39:41 AM

First of all, a complete idiot came up with this list. To only have one David lynch film on the list is an insult to trippy filmmaking. Lynch puts in a lot of work to make all of his films the weirdest in Hwood. MD isn't even his most confusing flick. For what its worth LOST HIGHWAY is by far the most confusing movie ever made imo. Here's a few more that should have topped the list:

Twin Peaks: Fire Walk with Me

Eraserhead

Naked Lunch

Total Recall

Matrix Reloaded (at the time I didn't get it at all)

The last Harry Potter movie (either I'm losing interest in these films or the plot is just getting a little thick for me)

Battlefield Earth (I still don't understand what that POS is about)
Jedimax writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 12:25:07 PM

Ok first of all lets scratch Donnie Darko, Memento, 12 Monkeys, Eternal Sunshine, and A Clockwork Orange to Begin With.

Because there is such a huge difference between an actually confusing film, and movie thats purposefully supposed to leave the viewer the dark for a little bit and comes together at the end. Of which Clockwork Orange is not even a part of that. Saying those movies are confusing would be like saying Fight Clubs confusing.

Matrix Revolutions I would say is a sloppy film, but I mean not really convoluted.

Ive Never Seen Revolver so I can't speak to that.

I can't even get started on Vanilla Sky, MULHOLLAND DRIVE, and 2001, I mean 2 of those 3 are two of the most important films of all time. Argue all you want Mulholland Drive was on a million top ten lists of the decade last year. I think Vanilla Sky is warranted to be on the list I don't think its number one.

I mean this is a real weak list if your taking into account The Fountain, PI, ever Cronenberg Horror movie from the 80's with the exception of The Fly (Through on Existenz), Everything Godard did after Weekend (including Weekend), and Persona, I mean the truth of the matter is complicated films don't really get made as much any more, and when they do they try to have the pieces air tight (I.E. Inception, just confusing enough for Warner Brothers to be confident that everyone in America will understand)
triggax writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 1:07:47 PM

The Fountain? what was confusing? you guys are just as crazy as the morons that made this list if you think the fountain deserves to be on here... maybe the timeline was confusing for some?

@spooky.... primer, yes... im still confused... but then again.. i think anyone that isnt a scientist would have a slight level of confusion... What about CUBE? Youre canadian im sure you agree....? that movies theme was confusion...
thetheeyecreature writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 2:57:05 PM

Hm. I think this list says more about the respondants than about the films. Short attention spans and limited cognitive abilities.

"Mulholland Drive" works as a movie-length dream sequence; like most of David Lynch's movies, I don't think it was ever meant to make sense as a narrative.

Apparently dreams and time travel present real problems. Surpised "12 Monkeys" is on the list and "Primer" and "Timecrimes" aren't.
Chewbacca writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 4:05:55 PM

I'm assuming the guys over at LoveFilm have never seen Manos: The Hands of Fate.
darkraven28 writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 7:40:40 PM

Inception reminds me of The Matrix Revolutions. Yeah, I said it.
darkraven28 writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 7:47:25 PM

And really, the biggest problems with movies about dreaming or that take place in the mind or something like that is that not often enough is there a way to differentiate between what the movie considers to be reality and what is the dream part of the movie. It's like the filmmakers give up in the middle and say "f*ck it! Where's David Ellis to do my action scenes?!??! Are they still in the dream? Aw, who cares. SHAKY CAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAM!!!"
Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 8:07:12 PM

Most Confusing Films of All Time.

Wow, I do not give a f*ck.
ilovemovies82 writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 5:08:48 AM

2001: A Space Odyssey should be #1. I didn't understand ANYTHING that occured during the last 20 minutes of the movie.

The Fountain, which was obviously inspired by 2001, is also a confusing mess that should be on the list. Especially over movies like Vanilla Sky, Eternal Sunshine and The Matrix Revolutions, which weren't confusing at all.
ilovemovies82 writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 5:12:29 AM

Also agreed with those who mentioned Primer. Good movie, but I understood maybe 25% of what they were saying in that flick, if that much.
freshfromthedeli writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 8:02:35 AM

Mulholland Drive should be #1. That movie could be the worst movie I've ever seen.
gatesoftanhauser writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 8:29:04 AM

Vanilla Sky = Great Movie. No really it's an awesome movie.

As for most confusing, I guess nobody saw "The Departed" which literally made NO SENSE at the end.
gatesoftanhauser writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 8:35:33 AM

Also, The Fountain is great if you watch it 2 or 3 times. I had to in order to understand it completely.
rabid writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 1:22:14 PM

Vanilla Sky was a sh*tty film, but I didn't have problems understanding it. You could probably add half of David Lynch's films to this list.
My number 1 for the list would be Inland Empire.
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 27th, 2010 at 11:15:01 AM

I love Vanilla Sky and I still can't get why people didn't like it. I mean Cruise was cast perfect in that roll and the movie, for me at least, worked awesomely with our current American culture and pop culture especially.
seveltoto writes:
on November 9th, 2017 at 7:51:36 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved