WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Comic-Con Fans Scare Away Westboro Baptist Church

Posted: July 23rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Comic-Con Fans Scare Away Westboro Baptist ChurchSubmit Comment
About a week ago, we reporting that members of the Westboro Baptist Church were planning to protest Comic-Con on July 22nd for about an hour, claiming that people have turned comic book characters into idols.

For those who have never heard of the church... It is headed by Fred Phelps and is known for protesting funerals of American servicemen killed overseas.

As promised, several church members showed up to protest, but they quickly ran into about two hundred Comic-Con fans, who were dressed up as superheroes and carried signs that read everything from "Odin is God" to "God loves Gay Robin." As a result, the protesters gave up and left the San Diego event early.

Source: Syfy


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 6:24:50 AM

Suddenly I gained more respect for those nerds. And Odin is God.
VDODSON writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 6:29:03 AM

Good work Geeks!!
jigsaw23 writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 6:32:25 AM

agreed and those people call us idols
bacci40 writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 6:36:16 AM

best sign...the ceylons destroyed 12 worlds for your sins

cant beat the geeks
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 7:21:40 AM

Hah! They couldn't even last an hour! f*ck you churchy! God invented comics and beer for people like me and he invented inbreeding and syphilis for people like the Westboro Baptist Church. These are the most misguided people on the planet. They teach their kids to hate everything in the world that is not directly connected to their "church". They even have a website called godhatesamerica.com.
ghosttomost writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 7:23:56 AM

brings a tear to my eye. epic win.
GambleBDJ writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 7:36:23 AM

LOL! I'm crying with laughter. Best news I ever heard.
VDODSON writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 7:41:25 AM

You think just because a guy reads comics, he cant start some sh*t?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 7:45:36 AM

So the scripture was right...

"The Geek shall inherit the Earth"
whoever writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 7:49:52 AM

Shhhh, don't let the nerds know they have any kind of power!
RuGhi writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 8:13:19 AM

epic win indeed, this just brought a tear to my eye.!
rcazzy writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 9:08:05 AM

Favourite one was a Team Fortress 2 Spy with a sign reading "God Hates Sentries".
AYT BALL writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 10:21:52 AM

Revenge of the Nerds!! lol
Ranma-Irias writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 10:25:09 AM

lol that was hilarious.
VDODSON writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 10:31:31 AM

Revenge of the Nerds 6 (nerds at comic con) Where is Lemar, and Wormser?
bill the butcher writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 10:42:54 AM

f*ck the church
people are smart
they read the papers they watch the news
sex scandals every day
church wants to cover it up
f*ck the church
and now they think people are going to put up with this f*ckin sh*t
protest comic con
the church is in no position to criticise anyone ANYONE f*ck the church...
Lulupendragon writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 10:48:03 AM

I despise people who use religion to manipulate people into their own hatred and fears.
rabid writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 11:11:28 AM

I just despise people who use religion.
KallousTom writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 11:26:46 AM

Well done, Odin be proud!
VDODSON writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 11:30:01 AM

There are reports that a few costumed heroes were chanting ''For Asgard'' whilst repelling the evil Westboro Baptist Church hoarde.
TEDDY KGB writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 11:46:58 AM

Good work Superfriends!
TeemSelami writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 11:56:51 AM

they should have seen this coming bible nerds are way bigger pussies than comic nerds.
Ted Mosby writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 12:42:52 PM

hahaha great news for once... power to the Comic-Con..errs?
Eddie writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 1:24:19 PM

Nice. those assheads protested Dio's public memorial service too. Best sign I saw read "God hates this fag" while standing next to one of the protestors.
Left On The Moss writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 1:25:33 PM

I can smell a movie based on this starring Michael Cera... (shutter)...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 1:42:22 PM

I also heard they hate sunlight, holy water, stakes and passages read from Twilight.
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 3:44:48 PM

Very nice! Great story.

Oh, and to those splinter faction, self-righteous c*nt that protest Soldiers funerals... try that just ONCE f*ckers when I'm attending.

Digging another hole is no problem. But there are federal laws against illegal toxic dumping.
Blank x2 writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 4:38:18 PM

Good. Best news ever. Fred Phelps must die.

I'm gonna suggest right now that every single one of us attend Phelps' funeral when he dies. And it won't be long now, Thank God. We can make Time Square on New Year's Eve look like a kindergarten birthday party. These guys say they are protected in what they are doing by the First Amendment. Do they really want the WorstPreviews nation exercising our right of Free Speech at Phelps' funeral? We could turn most of them to atheists in an hour.

I would be more than honored to protest and party during the entire funeral, then take a nice big sh*t on his grave after it's over. Who's with me?
rabid writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 5:06:04 PM

oh, I'm sure he'll have a huge turnout when the day comes... and its probably soon.
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 5:26:24 PM

@Blank - good call. I'm going to love taking a piss on his headstone.
Blank x2 writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 5:40:31 PM

I'm dead serious. I WILL be at his funeral or visit his grave shortly after when he finally croaks.

Think of the signs we could come up with....

(Post a sign you would hold at Fred Phelps funeral)
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 6:30:39 PM

FRED LOVED ANAL!
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 7:20:29 PM

FRED HAD BEEN IN MORE SHAFT THAN AN ELEVATOR!
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 7:23:23 PM

FRED DIDDLED MY CHILD!!!
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 7:27:52 PM

Enjoy:

http://tinyurl.com/f*ckWestboroBaptists
FBO writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 9:13:59 PM

I don't know that anybody can call these people a church, unless their name was Westboro Church of Media Whoring
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 9:15:54 PM

ranger haha nice link
FBO writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 9:18:11 PM

and as for fred's funeral i say instead of filling his grave with dirt we just build an outhouse over his coffin so that we can all drop a deuce on him. How does being buried under six feet of sh*t feel like?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 9:24:29 PM

@blank- save me a seat on the front row...do you want a deposit or do I have to confirm in writing?

Westboro- Witless
Baptist- Bunch of
Church- C**ts
TGDirector writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 2:54:40 AM

FRED SHOWED ME HIS SNAIL BUT IT LOOKS MORE LIKE JOHN WAYNE BOBBIT AFTER HIS WIFE GOT PISSED!!!

Damn it's good to be back!!! ^_^
TGDirector writes:
on July 24th, 2010 at 2:56:30 AM

I have a much better idea about his funeral. We'll bring a Michael-Jackon-Molested-Child to the event and have him sing "Gold Digger" over Fred's grave.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on July 26th, 2010 at 1:03:35 AM

Good job nerds!

(Damn, I need to go to Comic Con before I die)
Crossdrill writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 4:41:43 PM

I was there the entire weekend. it was epic... the swarm of comic fans with signs was epic... they had a guy dressed as jesus protesting against the church.

it was so damn funny, they got swarmed by the protesting geeks :D it was like a divide and conquer move... they picked them out and had them separate.

the church left really fast after that :D

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved