WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Karl Urban to Star in "Judge Dredd" Remake?

Posted: July 22nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Karl Urban to Star in "Judge Dredd" Remake?Submit Comment
DNA Films has already struck a deal with financiers to develop a new $50 million "Judge Dredd" movie that will be based on the original 2000 AD comics, rather than Sylvester Stallone's 1995 film.

BleedingCool has now learned that Karl Urban (Star Trek, Pathfinder) is a contender for the lead role and is expected to get the official offer soon. No word on whether DNA Films is considering any other actors.

"Judge Dredd" is set in a futuristic world filled with violence, and the character is empowered to act as judge, jury and executioner. It will be directed by Pete Travis (Vantage Point) from a script written by Alex Garland (28 Days Later, Sunshine).

Update: Karl Urban just confirmed to MTV that he's in talks for the role, stating: "I can't say too much at this point but it's lookin' good. [He is a] phenomenal iconic comic book character, so it's a world I know and it would be a privilege and a pleasure to be able to bring that to life."

Source: BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CCBlev writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 8:39:20 PM

Karl is a good actor, I hope he get it. Be awesome if Stallone had a cameo,
wonderBOY writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 9:29:04 PM

he does look like he is the LAW
coldplayesence writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 9:31:01 PM

I like the fact that the movie is gonna be made with only 50 millions. Now they just have to find the next Neil Blookamp.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 9:31:59 PM

@CCBlev

Better Stallone than Schneider ....
encoreyourface writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 9:52:11 PM

Vantage Point was sh*t, but i loved 28 Days later.
whoever writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 10:00:43 PM

I think they should get some one like Chris Hemsworth, they need someone around 6 4' to 6 8' for this role
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 10:02:39 PM

good news. but lets up the budget to 100-150 mil.
KallousTom writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 10:08:16 PM

I'll give this a go, but I'll always be thinking of Stallone going "Oy Aem.. Th'Lawg!"
shamusot00le writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 10:08:18 PM

..Stallone wore massive platform shoes....
CCBlev writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 10:24:17 PM

@Max
I forgot all about him being in that lol
Salvador writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 10:25:39 PM

@coldplayesence: I think movies should be developed under 30 million's budget.

There are a lot of blockbusters that just don't justify the expensive cost.
rabid writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 10:48:50 PM

I don't know who this guy is, but he sort of looks like Orson Welles.
rocketman writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 12:08:20 AM

Hope he does him justice,Dredd is my fave comic character.
Mudders writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 12:17:42 AM

god this make me proud to be a new zealander...kia kaha karl
Ranger writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 1:32:53 AM

I'M A DOCTOR... NOT JUDGE DREDD!
Rambo writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 1:38:48 AM

I'm a film critic...not a putman!
jigsaw23 writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 2:09:47 AM

sh*tty budget so it willk sh*t the bed so higher the budget the better sometimes
wonderBOY writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 2:10:48 AM

the first one is great
jdl107 writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 3:12:24 AM

I honestly am not a fan of this actor...... But I guess we will see how this falls through
jdl107 writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 3:19:50 AM

@Whoever: THATS exactly why I'm skeptical..... They need someone big but can also talk like he isn't a dumb ape.... *cough*Stallone*cough*
trailertrash writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 3:23:25 AM

I liked the Stallone movie.

It Killed Danny Cannon as a movie director.

Dont know if you guys ever saw Young Americans with Harvey Keitel, That was a good movie.
AYT BALL writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 4:23:13 AM

@ Trailer - Young americans was cool, have to hunt out my VHS of that! Think the stallone version got a bit too comic, Dredd should be alot more gritty in my opinion, R rated please!
trailertrash writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 6:19:22 AM

AYT- VHS !! LOL same here ..

That Would be good if Judge Dredd had that gritty edge to it.

rocketman writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 10:51:41 AM

Going to be an 18 so they say over at 2000ad,heads blow off stuff like that.And they are keeping the helmet on,i'm so f*cking pumped for this more so than Cap or Thor,Dredd rools.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 12:20:39 PM

He's a great choice...just please, no armand assante cameos...PLEASE?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved