WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Zack Snyder is Confirmed for "300" Sequel

Posted: July 21st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Zack Snyder is Confirmed for "300" SequelSubmit Comment
We've been hearing that "300" director Zack Snyder would helm a sequel if Frank Miller were to put together a follow-up graphic novel. Well... Miller has done that and Snyder is now on board to co-write the script. The new movie is called "Xerxes."

"We closed the writing deal on 'Xerxes.' We started writing about a week ago. So we're doing it. It's happening," Snyder told LA Times. Regarding directing the new film, Snyder said that he will likely do it. "I don't have a directing deal in place but we are writing it, so call it intent," he explained. "If there was a crime they could probably convict me."

Regarding the plot: "This movie follows Themistocles and the Battle of Artemisium, which coincidentally happens on the exact same three days as the Battle of Thermopylae [which was the basis of '300']," Snyder said. "This one starts off with a quick retelling of the why of the Persian wars. It starts off at the Battle of Marathon and then it goes back to Themistocles finding out that Persians are invading again. and off we go over to learn a little bit about why Xerxes is the way he is."

The director said that the sequel will have the same visuals as the original and will likely bring back Gerard Butler as Leonidas. But he has yet to speak to the actor about the cameo.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on July 21st, 2010 at 7:02:36 PM

I liked 300 and will watch this too ..
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 21st, 2010 at 7:36:43 PM

It's spray-tan, super abs and GGI again, folks!
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on July 21st, 2010 at 7:56:16 PM

Hardly bad news considering the amount of sh*t cinema that is being produced as of late
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on July 21st, 2010 at 8:20:06 PM

Just once, I just wish I could read a headline that said:

"Zach Snyder is Confirmed for Movie Based on Original Idea!"
elrei writes:
on July 21st, 2010 at 8:57:10 PM

So it's gonna portrait the Persians (Iranians) as the bad guys eh? mmm how convenient.
debonaire writes:
on July 21st, 2010 at 8:57:28 PM

i loved 300. not sure il enjoy this as much but only 1 way to find out :)
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on July 21st, 2010 at 9:52:18 PM

Looks like Gerald Butler is going to have to go on a diet.
-Chewy- writes:
on July 21st, 2010 at 9:58:28 PM

I like it. But please, PLEASE, do like Nolan and use CGI only when you need it. Blood is not one of those needs!
Frank4969 writes:
on July 21st, 2010 at 10:09:02 PM

I want to see cgi huge xerxes again!
Rambo writes:
on July 21st, 2010 at 10:45:18 PM

I would prefer a prequel/sequel called "Leonidas" focusing on gerrad butler killing tons of Persians.
CCBlev writes:
on July 21st, 2010 at 11:48:32 PM

I'll give this a shot.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 3:48:47 AM

300 kicked ass, i hope this does as well.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 10:21:36 AM

Awesome, the film wouldn't be the same without him behind the camera. The man is a visual genius.

@evil: I know what you're getting at, but what constitutes an original idea in Hwood these days and when's the last time you've seen one? And please don't say Inception, that film is great but hardly original. If the actors were wearing black leather and sunglasses they'd have to call it The Matix: Total Recall of the Spotless Mind :)
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 12:03:22 PM

@SAC - I agree about the lack of originality in the majority of films made in recent times. I turned on "2012" the other night just to check it out. Good god was that the worst f*cking thing I've ever seen? Sadly no. I switched channels and "Jennifer's Body" was on. It was the worst night of my life. What I was getting at about Snyder, was that I'd like to see him do something based on his own ideas instead of using other people's stuff all time. The guy's a fantastic director in my opinion, but I'd like to see what he can do on his own. No comment about "Inception" - still haven't had a chance to see it yet. Hopefully tonight. Love the "TR of the SM" subtitle!
rabid writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 5:32:21 PM

As a student of folklore I can tell you that there aren't any original stories. They're just the same ones told over and over again forever. The only time we ever see something remotely new is in sci-fi.
Inception was a somewhat original concept. I've actually spent the last 3 years writing a graphic novel that's eerily similar, so now it's back to the drawing board for me. Get out of my brain Chris Nolan!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved