WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bill Murray Trashes "Garfield," Says "Ghostbusters 3" Won't Happen

Posted: July 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bill Murray Trashes "Garfield," Says "Ghostbusters 3" WonSubmit Comment
While promoting "Get Low," Bill Murray sat down with GQ magazine to talk about "Ghostbusters" and why he decided to voice the title character in "Garfield."

Regarding "Ghostbusters 3": "It's all a bunch of crock. It's a crock... Harold Ramis said, Oh, I've got these guys, they write on 'The Office,' and they're really funny. They're going to write the next 'Ghostbusters.' And they had just written this movie that he had directed... 'Year One.' Well, I never went to see 'Year One,' but people who did, including other Ghostbusters, said it was one of the worst things they had ever seen in their lives. So that dream just vaporized. That was gone. But it's the studio that really wants this thing. It's a franchise. It's a franchise, and they made a whole lot of money on 'Ghostbusters'."

Regarding "Garfield": "I thought it would be kind of fun, because doing a voice is challenging, and I'd never done that. Plus, I looked at the script, and it said, 'So-and-so and Joel Coen (of Coen brothers).' And I thought: Christ, well, I love those Coens! They're funny. So I sorta read a few pages of it and thought, Yeah, I'd like to do that. I had these agents at the time, and I said, 'What do they give you to do one of these things?' And they said, 'Oh, they give you $50,000.' So I said, 'Okay, well, I don't even leave the f*ckin' driveway for that kind of money.'

Finally, I went out to LA to record my lines. And usually when you're looping a movie, if it takes two days, that's a lot. I don't know if I should even tell this story, because it's kind of mean. What the hell? It's interesting. So I worked all day and kept going, 'That's the line? Well, I can't say that.' And you sit there and go, What can I say that will make this funny? And make it make sense? And I worked. I was exhausted, soaked with sweat, and the lines got worse and worse. And I said, 'Okay, you better show me the whole rest of the movie, so we can see what we're dealing with.' So I sat down and watched the whole thing, and I kept saying, 'Who the hell cut this thing? Who did this? What the f*ck was Coen thinking?' And then they explained it to me: It wasn't written by that Joel Coen.
"

Source: GQ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 6:47:30 AM

Bill you nutter on the coen mix up , but really you should have thought to yourself would they be making a garfield movie.

Some people paid money to find out it was a pile of sh*t at least they paid you fella...

BDeck writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 6:49:34 AM

I love how honest bill is but hes become quite a entitled *sshole.

you would have had to of known that a coen brother wouldn't touch a Garfield movie,or that the movie would be good for that matter.He was just looking for a paycheck.The same will prob happen with ghostbusters.
hottentott writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 6:51:49 AM

So why did he do the sequel.
trailertrash writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 6:54:15 AM

Not looking good for Ghostbusters 3 then !! And is that a little dig at Harold ramis , bill.

I take it your not as tight as John and Russell in real life then...
trailertrash writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 6:58:25 AM

BDeck-

Who wouldn't take the cash for a few days work.

he even took it for Garfield 2 !!
johnny_boy writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 7:02:30 AM

He's cliwning on Harold Ramos and year one. I love it
Tozic writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 7:06:58 AM

yeah sure, everybody loves money Bill...
thysmn writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 7:38:14 AM

- Okay, well, I don't even leave the f*ckin' driveway for that kind of money

LOL... Bill is awesome.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 8:07:31 AM

Bill, I could have told you Garfield was a big turdpile. But I guess it's hard to hear how bad the script is when your assistant is reading it while your playing on the seventh green and trying to avoid the sand trap.

I think it's better to do Ghostbusters 3 without Vankman. They can say his character went to Africa and got eaten by jigaboo cannibals for all I care.
trailertrash writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 8:17:06 AM

Bill Murray on a golf course has to be Carl Spackler !
KingEngland writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 9:06:08 AM

Don't get why Bill is complaining about Ghostbusters having bad writers but decides to take on GARFIELD. Even Year One was better than that nonsense
darthraige writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 9:28:12 AM

Kinda hope Ghostbusters 3 doesn't happen. The first two were awesome. You can't top them. Just leave these great films alone.
CCBlev writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 9:58:33 AM

Good ole Bill you never dissappoint. Love to see Bill go crazy like Mel has been an d release some tapes, that would be some awesome sh*t.
TEDDY KGB writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 10:19:48 AM

@ Darthraige
I agree. Why make a trilogy, just to make one.

I like Bill and he's taken alot of chances in his career, which alot of actors can't say. If he wanted to get paid playing that p*ssy Garfield again, it wouldn't bother me.
jeffw1978 writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 10:22:22 AM

I like Bill I do, but this interview really did make him sound like a self entitled *sshole. I would voice garfield 3 time over for 50k. seriously how much time could that take to read some f*cking lines a week or two for 50k. For f*cks sake these *ssholes are paid too much to f*cking do a voice.
moreHOLLYWOODvomit writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 10:33:34 AM

bill is a shadow of what he once was. he was complaining about taking 50,000 for 2 days work? what a fag, most people dont make that in a year, plus hes not even funny anymore. Wow you made some classics years ago, the last good role he did was king pin IMO, the rest is 70's, 80's roles. its 2010 bill who the f*ck do you think you are? dont anyone say that life aquatic was good cus that blew balls. a properly writen ghostbusters would bring this guy back to the top (at least for a few months) and make tons of money. with the cgi we have now it would look f*cking sick! i want a 3rd busters film but now i want it without murry, they can cast someone to take his place like that baby from the second one is grown up and is part of the team. Millions would see it without murry, sh*t put seth rogen in it and that fatass from superbad, it will sell no doubt.
velocityknown writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 11:15:02 AM

#1: Bill Murray, you're a one of a kind actor, but man you're a retard for not realizing that the f*cking Coen brothers did not write Garfield. And then agreeing to a sequel.

Coen Brother version of Garfield: Garfield massacres his owner in a woodchipper then goes on the run from the law and a hitman for hire?

#2: I liked Year One. Wasn't the best movie ever, but I definitely didn't see what the overwhelmingly negative reviews were about. Then again with Michael Cera and David Cross in the same movie, I have an AD bias.
Rosalie writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 11:22:54 AM

@ velocityknown:

"Garfield massacres his owner in a woodchipper . . ."

Now that's a Garfield movie I'd go see!
rabid writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 11:38:29 AM

Can't blame him. Year One was atrocious.
thismoviesucks.org writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 12:22:09 PM

Smart for not having a Ghostbusters 3 release and talks crap about Year One cause it did suck balls
LastActionHero writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 12:30:00 PM

Without Bill Murray there is no Ghostbusters 3. It would be like a Blues Brothers movie without John Belushi, Smokey & the Bandit without Burt Reynolds, The Mask without Jim Carrey, Predator movie without Arnold.
dave_the_bell writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 1:38:40 PM

Maybe he has a point - let's just treasure the original.

http://www.illinformed.co.uk/2010/07/what-makes-ghostbusters-great/
adamXmarshall writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 1:51:50 PM

GARFIELD WAS MADE BY ONE OF THE COENS!??! RENTING THAT sh*tTTTTTT
Ranger writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 2:02:35 PM

I too like Bill a lot.

But he's throwing a lot of stones here on others work (fine here, but a no-no when you're in the Biz).

He's calling sour grapes here a lot. I know he had to say something in this interview. And he wasn't paid a fortune for the stuff he's been in because it was so long ago. I seriously doubt the residual packages he would benefit from are huge.

And velocity said it well... Bill would have to have known the Coen's didn't write Garfield (yet he only finds out when he's in LA looping his lines... possible sure... but?).

Bill, you're no longer in high-demand. This crotchety, bitter thing you're trying to couch in humor is a bit translucent. Maybe... it's time to just fade out bro. The good stuff you were in was epic. Thx. for the laughs.
JohnZee writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 2:20:01 PM

If I had put my heart and soul into the making of "The Razor's Edge", working on the writing, set selection, and acting to the best of his ability. And just as soon as that movie wrapped flew straight to filming a movie that he could have slept walked through...you know just Bill doing the same old tired song and dance he had done for several years as a cast member of Saturday Night Live.

And both movies came out the same year, and the one that he had put so much effort into...that make no mistake is a much much better movie doesn't do anything at the box office.

And the other movie, the crappy one with the formulaic writing, bad puns, and him playing the same guy from SNL...that one was an incredibly huge success that made a ton of money for a lot of people.

Oh yeah, if that happened to me I'd be the biggest entitled sounding prick in the freaking universe.

And if you don't think that Bill doesn't know that the vast majority of his fans have never even seen "The Razor's Edge", or even know that he made a movie with that title, then you are wrong. He does know that, and he has looked himself in the mirror thinking about that a lot over the years...

...And so he comes off as an entitled *sshole.

Are you telling me you wouldn't?

Ranger writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 2:24:11 PM

@John... well said. I probably would come off sounding similar. Just saying leaving stuff unsaid (yes, even during an interview), or leaving it kinder-sounding isn't a bad thing. The biz is political. If he knows he's 'done'... then yes, let'er fly... speak yer mind. It is Bill's real life character he's played mostly and it's served him well. He has been always the no-B.S. kind of person.
Ranger writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 2:30:36 PM

Are we going to get the strip search video on Lovag?
velocityknown writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 3:20:57 PM

@Ranger

Breaking news: 5 missing ex boyfriends and a once promising career found dead in Lohan's vagina during pre prison entry search.
LastActionHero writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 3:38:24 PM

Here's more from the interview about GB3:

He says, "And it's still one of the biggest movies of all time. And ever since that story broke, everywhere I go people are like, "So are you gonna make that movie?" I was down in Austin at South by Southwest, and you go at it hard down there—fun but, man, you need to sleep for days afterwards. Anyhow, I got into it one night with a bunch of younger people who were like, Oh, I love Peter Venkman! I grew up with Peter Venkman! We got to talking, and the more we talked about it, the more I thought, Oh Christ, I should just do this thing."
encoreyourface writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 6:02:27 PM

good, 20 year sequels aren't a good idea just look at Indiana Jones 4 ...
Ranger writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 6:03:19 PM

@velocity - ouch! I knew 'stuff' like that would c*m out as soon as she was searched.
warlord writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 6:07:47 PM

murray its the d*ckhead of the year award
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 6:17:20 PM

I hope the Coens put Bill in one of their movies in the future, that would be f*cking awesome!
Lizardking515 writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 6:55:51 PM

Since he was f*ckked over by the garfield fiasco he should just do gb3 and get it over with. He's wuts holding it back....granded that the funniest thing from zombie land was all in "his house" and he got shot....thatss the best thing I've seen him in besides playing a man in a tree in steve carrells Get Smart....which he only has 2 lines for....and stuck inside a tree...as in the trunk...not up in a tree like a cat or a squirrel...but away...
GIVE THE FANS WHO GAVE U ALL UR SUCCESS A f*ckING BREAK AND GIVE US GB 3 MOTHA f*ckA
Lizardking515 writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 6:59:27 PM

And he sed that sum1 told him year one was funny?

All u needa do is know bout sum of the stories the bible and that's all u need to know...the rest is f*ckin hysterical. He should maybe go to block buster....if not. I know its on the instant queue on netflix....mothaf*cka doesn't know what's funny anymore and has ppl telling him what is or isn't funny. f*cking shmuck
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 7:11:20 PM

Bitter comments, somehow. Awesome person.

Studios made movies suck, and he wants the audience to realize it and to prevent more stupid films to be produced.
jigsaw23 writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 9:11:22 PM

love it
rabid writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 10:11:36 PM

Why are the Year One writers involved anyway? This is GB3. There should be hollywood titans fighting over this project, so what's with the bottom of the barrel treatment.
Good for Bill. He's got integrity.
thismoviesucks.org writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 11:53:52 PM

Maybe he'll be in zombieland 2 :D oh no wait he died boo
Kindlegolas writes:
on July 21st, 2010 at 12:12:45 AM

I thought Bill Murray already trashed Garfield with his cameo in Zombieland?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 1:39:57 PM

I figured it out. Bill must be suffering early from Altzheimers and thinking he's Shia LaDouche.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 1:41:46 PM

Breaking News :

Lohan tried to make a shiv out of a bar of soap.

No such luck.
darkraven28 writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 5:46:10 PM

Sounds like someone's been re-enacting Scarface's mountain of cocaine prior to interviews.
darkraven28 writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 5:49:31 PM

Why don't you just write your own f*cking scenes, *sshole? Every comic likes to do that so they just need to kiss your ass on that subject if that's what you want. I'm sorry that no one's been going to see all your Jim Jarmusch bullsh*t, but stop being a d*ck.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved