WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Adrien Brody is Top Choice for "Ant-Man"?

Posted: July 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Adrien Brody is Top Choice for "Ant-Man"?Submit Comment
Director Edgar Wright (Shaun of the Dead) is working on the second draft of Marvel's "Ant-Man" script and the studio has already confirmed that the movie will come sometime after "The Avengers."

Apparently everyone is in a hurry to lock an actor in for the title role, since we now have two separate reports that place "Predators" star Adrien Brody as the top contender.

LatinoReview stated: "I personally checked w/my pals at Paradigm (Adrien Brody's agency) and at press time, YES they were pursuing Ant-Man but got nothing yet."

AMC stated: "Take this for what its worth, but I was just told Adrien Brody is most likely going to be 'Ant Man' for Edgar Wright."

Click here to read more about "Ant-Man."

Source: LatinoReview, AMC

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BDeck writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 6:45:58 AM

awesome...i really dug him in predators.i loved him in predators.who knew jew nose could be a bad ass?
johnny_boy writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 7:05:26 AM

So the point is, he's willing to accept very little money for the starring role, especially will be even lower cuz it's a character nobody really know much about.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 7:21:32 AM

Sure, why not? I like Brody, but Simon Pegg would've been epic.
VDODSON writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 7:46:09 AM

Brody is the man, loved him in the Pianist and Cadillac Records.
Monash writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 7:54:37 AM

Wright planned to include Hank Pym and Scott Lang
I don't know much about the character so which one would Brody play? and could Pegg be the other one?
i know that one is suppose to be a generation older than the other but if Pegg was the older one they could still use him in flashbacks/early scenes and even later in an old mask much like Watchmen did
But having said that i don't know the characters enough to say whether Brody or Pegg would be good in the role
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 8:09:29 AM

Do they have to pay extra to the nose ?
snp writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 8:28:56 AM

^ Max :))) Haahah
TRUEMAN writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 9:05:12 AM

the nose man is back, f*ck hollywood!
manichispanic writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 9:59:34 AM

CCBlev writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 10:03:14 AM

Wonder if he can pull off funny?
StrangerDanger writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 10:06:04 AM

what i want to know is which ant-man is in the movie because i would love to see how they spin Eric O'Grady because he is such an unrepentant bastard which i can see Wright writing.
Frank4969 writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 10:25:42 AM

Why would Disney make an ant man film. He's a second rate sh*t character. Why not another catwoman film. We saw how well that went. I'm saying it here first. This film will bomb!
jaz_mayor writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 10:36:45 AM

With that nose he might be the villain called The Anteater. Joking aside, good choice if he says yes that is.

Or how about him as the riddler in Batman 3.
DOLAN writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 11:04:28 AM

Brody hasn't been much since getting stabbed in the hand in "Bullet".

Given what they can do with CGI now, this could be like the next "Fantastic Voyage" meets "Honey I Shrunk The Kids". They better bring the script, because another misfire like "Jonah Hex" could be the start of the death knell for comic movies.
coldplayesence writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 11:06:23 AM

Another comment about the riddler... I hope Goyer and Nolan don't go that way.
rabid writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 11:36:15 AM

works for me, it's not hard to picture him in the role.
TeemSelami writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 1:26:05 PM

are there ants with giant noses?
adamXmarshall writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 1:50:30 PM

Ranger writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 2:07:34 PM

So, the ants will live in his nose then?
JohnZee writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 3:00:38 PM

Ant Man is an important player in the Avengers. And although he may seem second rate, or unimpressive to most. That's just because most people are complete idiots.

Inventor of shrinking and growing technology:

The possibly applications for this are staggering. It could literally end world hunger, overpopulation issues, consumption of natural resources, transportation of good, and a host of other issues.

Invented an artificial intelligence that evolved into Ultron:

Ultron, the robot that has taken on the big guns of the Avengers.

Girlfriend wanted to do the super hero thing, and he gave her superhuman abilities:

I don't know about the rest of you, but even if the guy called himself Ant Man, if he has the capability to give other human beings superpowers, I would want him on my team.

Now truthfully Marvel has squandered the possibilities and potential of these character for years, but than again we are talking about Marvel and they have never been good with "real" science.

...You know just that hokey bitten by a radioactive gnat so suddenly you have gnat powers.

But Hank Pym/Ant Man has a ton of potential, and having the character involved in a series of films would be a perfect way to shock and surprise movie audiences with the things he can do.

Left On The Moss writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 3:58:51 PM

I respectfully disagree. Okay, imagine a teaser trailer where it's three crooks dragging a weeping, screaming girl with her shirt torn down a dark alley. Very dark, very disturbing. We the audience watch in horror, and we think to ourselves, "Oh, this movie is going to be such a gritty portrayal of crime and the human condition. How blunt! How honest!" And just as things look hopeless, ADRIEN BRODY shows up, dressed in a RED JUMPSUIT and a SPACE HELMET.
Judging by the content, this movie is going to be just flat out silly no matter what angle they decide to take with it. And I'm not saying that trailer I came up with is what's going to happen. I'm just trying to make it clear that my expectations are low for this film, whether they do it like "The Dark Knight", "Iron Man", or worse "Flash Gordon". Though if they do it like "Flash Gordon", at least they'd be honest about how campy the premise is.

If you hate movies so much, go somewhere else.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 5:58:57 PM

i'd be cool with that, he was great in predators.
ShizPaf writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 6:03:25 PM

I'd like to see angry YellowJacket Hank Pym.
JohnZee writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 6:47:57 PM

@Left On The Moss

I'm doubting that this Ant Man movie will have Adrian Brody in red tights with a big goofy helmet on his head.

Maybe if the Ant Man movie came out right when the old Adam West Batman was superhot, but that's been a long long time.

...So long ago in fact that I'm betting you weren't even the smallest gleam in your father's father's eyes...

So not really sure why you think that Marvel is going to want to emulate that style of superhero movie style costume, especially considering the track record of other Marvel film project costumes.

And who the heck do you think you're kidding? Whatever the Ant Man movie is, it won't be some sort of ultra-gritty vigilante dark and gritty film.

You young kids, you are so funny. You actually think that the only type of superhero in movie and films are the type that Frank Miller liked to write...

(If you even know who Frank Miller is, most of you pups don't spend a whole lot of time reading from what I've seen.)

Much more to that genre than that.

Not all heroes are grim and gritty, wear dark clothing, and torture suspects. And don't use Superman Returns as any sort of example, because that was just some idiot applying that grimy gritty stuff to a character that it should have never been applied to.

Captain America in World War 2 is gritty, but when he awakes from being on ice by the Avengers, he's a boy scout's wet dream.

And from what I know as far as the original screenplays for Iron Man 2, Thor, First Avenger: Captain America, Ant Man, and the first draft of the Avengers movie...

...The Ant Man script is the best of the bunch. By such a margin that it is obvious to non-professionals.

See you are looking at the initial concept of Ant Man and laughing because you just don't think it will work as a movie. But here's a clue, ANYTHING can work as a movie.

If I looked at you and said "I'm going to write a screenplay about a guy that gets his penis turned into a banana." Your immediate reaction is probably going to be that that's the dumbest idea for a move that you have ever heard.

...But if the writing is there, if the context is there, if the dialogue is believable, if the jokes are more witty than just plain stupid, if the director is somewhat skilled, and if the actors halfway try...

...Than there's a good chance that it will be a good movie. No matter what the concept is.

It's not what the idea is exactly, so much as the execution of that idea.

And movie ideas are like *ssholes, everyone has them.
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 7:05:58 PM

Just a little inspiration and Adrien Brody can outperform most actors.
Left On The Moss writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 9:00:04 PM

You don't know me.

I know who Frank Miller is. He's the guy who wrote Sin City and 300, WATCHED Robert Rodriguez direct the Sin City movie, and he's also the guy who f*cked up "The Spirit".

I am a comic book reader, and also an amateur writer. I love "The Umbrella Academy", "Hellboy", the work of R. Crumb, and "Sandman". I won a Silver National Scholastic Art Award for a comic piece that I submitted. The story I wrote wasn't even a superhero story at all. It was the story of a boy fighting for his life on top of a rock in the ocean.

I don't think that the only superhero movie possible is a dark and gritty one like Sin City. Look at the original Superman movie from 1978. That was an incredibly entertaining piece of cinema! Or what about Spiderman 2?

And didn't you hear me say "I'm not saying that trailer I came up with is what's going to happen. I'm just trying to make it clear that my expectations are low for this film, whether they do it like "The Dark Knight", "Iron Man", or worse "Flash Gordon"."

See, I'm not as narrow minded as you want me to be.

My problem is that the idea of a guy who can change size and CONTROL ANTS (Whatever good THAT will do... What? Will he invade the picnics of his arch enemies?) it just sounds like... Well, something out of the Adem West Batman show.

Now, you say that any movie can work if handled right, and I actually agree with that. Maybe if this film were directed by Wes Anderson it would interest me. Edger Wright... Well, he's okay.

So don't go making judgement calls like that toward real people like me. I can make judgement calls toward Ant Man because he DOESN'T EXIST.
rabid writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 10:20:22 PM

I don't think that Frank Miller neccessarily f*cked up The Spirit. I think it had more to do with the fact that the Spirit flat out sucks as an action hero. He's boring and the majority of people are not familiar with the character and don't want to be. All the comic ever did was display amazing artwork, and I think Frank represented that aspect about as well as anyone could. As lame as it was, he actually surpassed the source material.

And Ant-Man is supposed to be a cheesy hero. Its one of his character traits.
JohnZee writes:
on July 21st, 2010 at 12:50:45 AM

@Left On The Moss

You're right I don't know you. All I have to judge you by is the words you write here on this website. And I guess my mistake is that I have never lucked into reading something that you have written where you actually gave a sh*t. And I'm willing to cut you credit and say that writing is probably much better than the content of your comments here.

But hold on and understand that I wasn't judging you or pointing you out. I was saying that a problem with the younger generation is...

...That's what older people do. Because we know that as much of a life and experiences you think you have had, it's just the tip of the iceberg.

I was generalizing, and it was not meant to be a pointed sleight against you. A person that all I know about is the username you picked out and the words of your various comments.

You know who Frank Miller is, good as you should, but a lot of the younger generation has no idea. But on the other hand there is much more to Frank Miller than 300, Sin City, and any other film project that he has gotten his hands on and turned into sh*t.

Congratulations on your winning that award, and I'll definitely give you kudos for your accomplishment. And if you have samples of your writing online than post a link and I will gladly read your work. But also don't think that the winning of one prize is going to instantly impress me. I know tons of award winning authors.

If you are worthy of me being impressed than I'll be impressed. But even then, me being impressed won't distract me a bit from making my point.

And even you admit that I wasn't completely wrong. You do think that the best that can be accomplished with an Ant Man movie is some modern day campy Adam West style Batman movie.

As far as what good could a man could do if he had the ability to shrink and control ants, well although they are not the greatest superhuman abilities in the world, they are still superhuman abilities. And there is still a lot that they can accomplish.

I mean think about it, what if this movie impresses on it's audience that Pym is like Leonardo Da Vinci?

Da Vinci could study and analyze birds in flight, and design and construct his own gliders, helicopters, and other inventions based on his perception of those creatures.

Hank Pym is a fictional character that does the same exact thing. And to me that is something that would be an interesting take on the character.

I think in the end I just see a lot more possibility with the character than you do. But I wouldn't say that you were any more narrow minded for not seeing his potential than the majority of writers and editors at Marvel, who have also neglected to see his full potential.

So again, a majority of my comments were meant as generalization, as you are right and I have no idea exactly what the strength of your character and openness of mind is.

Just keep making comments, and I'll keep reading them, and over time I should get to know you more that I do now.

But for the record I would say that it would probably be best if you steered away from telling me what I can and cannot do. I do something you don't like, than ask me not to do it again.

Fair enough?

Left On The Moss writes:
on July 21st, 2010 at 1:07:17 AM


Sure thing. Thank you for not bashing me in your response. In retrospect, I kinda regret going into full detail about the whole award thingy. That was kind of uncool of me.

Anyway, thank you for an intelligent and mature response. If only other WorstPreviews commentators could do that.

... Lookin' at you TRUEMAN.
koul writes:
on July 21st, 2010 at 10:44:45 AM

bad choice to pick for Ant-Man
DOLAN writes:
on July 21st, 2010 at 12:17:55 PM

You both are neglecting the fact that Pym Particles can make something exponentially larger as well as small. A CGI shot of him growing from ant-size to Giant Man size and tearing a building down would drop jaws if done well.

And in the Ultimates Line (which I'm not the biggest fan of), he's a wife beater. Not exactly kiddie-fare material.

Just my .02.

@Left: do you have a link to the work you mentioned winning the award for? I'd love to see it.
rabid writes:
on July 21st, 2010 at 1:10:07 PM

I bet that's one of the crucial moments of the film, when the audience finds out that this tiny guy they don't even see as a threat can suddenly grow the size of a skyscraper and punt Hulk like a football.
Ranger writes:
on July 21st, 2010 at 1:51:02 PM

Animated or not...

Janet Pym should be in Playboy!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved