WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Inception" Cast on Final Scene and Possible Sequel

Posted: July 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Inception" Cast on Final Scene and Possible SequelSubmit Comment
Those who had the chance to see "Inception" over the weekend, know that the film ended with room for a possible sequel. MTV News caught up with the cast to get their thoughts on the ending and whether director Christopher Nolan (The Dark Knight) is planning a second installment.

"I have my own specific take on that final scene," said Leonardo DiCaprio. "This is an interesting movie, because I really believe people can extract what they want from this film and interpret that in a lot of different ways."

Cillian Murphy remained neutral about the last scene. "Oh, I wouldn't want to give an opinion on that," he said. And regarding the possibility of a sequel, he added: "I don't have the authority to speak on that."

Lucas Haas proved to be far more forthcoming. "My take? I think it's real," he said of the final scene. And is there room for a sequel? "Of course," he replied. "I think definitely."

Dileep Rao offered further insight, advising viewers to pay attention to the scene in an unusual way. "You know what, I'll just say this: Use your ears not your eyes." And regarding the sequel? "That's up to Chris," he said. "If we're talking about dreams, couldn't anything happen?"

Click here to read our "Inception" review.

Source: >MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AshTrey writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 5:46:35 PM

use your ears and not your eyes?!?! now I gotta see it again. I think its still a dream.
BobMcBob writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 5:52:41 PM

the totem obviously is about to stop spinning if you listen carefully (if you watch it you can see that as well); the scene has to be real if not for that reason, then because the film would arrive at that scene illogically and it would be a cop-out by the director, and Nolan wouldn't do that
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 5:55:57 PM

Ash and Bob, it's meant to be debated, and it will even if we hear the top fall
trailertrash writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 6:36:03 PM

I hope this remains a stand alone film, It would be nice if Hollywood didn't milk the life out of a good movie for once.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 6:39:19 PM

Nolan actually has no plans to make a sequel to it...
His next 2 films his interested in are,

The last Batman and Bond
encoreyourface writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 6:39:58 PM

i need to see this f*cking movie asap.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 6:40:54 PM

Apparently people are reporting that on the cut you can hear it drop. Even with 12K watts of sound at IMAX, I didn't hear that, so IDK.
trailertrash writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 6:57:02 PM

encore - Yes you should and quickly !!
trailertrash writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 6:59:42 PM

J.A- Nolan to make a bond movie would be awesome if that came about !!

The last 40 minutes had a bit of a bond feel about it i thought !!
Ted Mosby writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 7:20:28 PM

@encore
RIGHT NOW DUDE haha asap! Gooooooooo

@Trailer
agree but i love that... the last 40 minutes were just nuts and solid action and intensity

and god damn you Dileep Rao! Your quote really f*cked with my head considering the ending shot... it really is debatable and a perfect ending for the film IMO.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 7:37:04 PM

i'll be getting right on it! .... right after some nachos and i score uh huh huh huh ...
ChainsawX writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 8:33:19 PM

the beauty of the scene is it works either way I say its real but it works either way!
KalVicious writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 8:53:15 PM

You can hear it fall.
BDeck writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 9:51:07 PM

dudes always wearing his wedding ring in his dreams,but in the real world he is not.

the final scene he is no longer wearing his wedding ring.
Ranger writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 10:17:46 PM

I think he's on his dad's c*ck.
takai writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 10:39:43 PM

Whether it falls or not has no relevance to the movie. Nolan obviously wanted to add a little extra edge to the ending to keep people talking.

As far as a sequel goes, it's completely unnecessary. There is nothing else to be told, and the 'magic' and creativity will be meaningless. There was no follow up to Memento, there should be no follow up to Inception.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 10:49:20 PM

Fantastic stand-alone movie; doesn't need a sequel. Also, I loved the ambiguity of the ending. Personally, I don't think the ending was a dream, but it's awesome that Nolan doesn't give a definite answer.
CCBlev writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 10:52:11 PM

Ok I'm off to go see it again dammit lol. I'm still thinking on that last scene almost 12 hours later. Now thats a damn good movie to still have you contemplating over it almost a day later!!
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 11:04:00 PM

I was thinking it was real but then I after discussing it was remembered that Cobb was still under water with an injured Saito. So even if they climbed through all the layers they will end up dead, no?

I tried phrasing this as best I could without giving anything away and I think this is fine ruining nothing.
Ted Mosby writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 11:08:59 PM

@CCBlev
I'm right there with you haha been non stop thinking about it since i saw it thursday night and STILL amazed by it all.
BDeck writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 11:34:37 PM

alex,

you never answered what you thought about the movie.how how you feel about dps reviews.

you never gave us a decision on what you were going to do with your site reviews ether.

all we got was the user reviews,and you didnt even tell us they were there.
CCBlev writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 11:35:14 PM

@Ted
Yes it is amazing lol Makes me wonder about my own dreams tonight lol

Buttabean on the next thread posted a valid point when he said
"One should think it doesn't matter if it drops because we never see it spin longer than the last scene. He always stopped it quick."
He did stop it everytime, so was it just a long spin on its top or was it a dream???
I love this type of movie. I wish we could have a WP memebers, f*ck you lurkers, watching of Inception with all of us together and have a huge group discussion about it after. If only we were connected by facebook lol


bspence writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 12:10:04 AM

i loved this movie. best movie in so so long! i saw it friday and havent stopped thinking of the ending.
i think i heard it drop but didnt think anything of it. so if thats what i heard itd be real. and whoever said the thing about his ring...way to catch that cause i sure didnt and was looking for stuff like that.
but at the same time. when he was in limbo before this story takes place, just him and his wife, they only died once so that only takes them one level back...they would have another 2 levels to go. so is it possible this whole entire movie was all a dream he was in, and he never actually left level 3?
bspence writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 12:13:05 AM

spoiler: if so that means he was the dilusional one and not his wife. and instead after she dies she just went back to limbo. and hes in level 3. neither are awake or dead. theyre just in different levels of the dream.
takai writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 12:27:36 AM

*****MAYBE SPOILER?*****


@Johnny Neat - He was underwater in the first level of the dream remember? I don't know what 'kicked' them out of the first level, but reality was on the 747, not in the water.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 12:40:25 AM

Possible spoiler?*

Every time Leo sees his kids, he sees them turning to go meet somebody inside the house. At the end, its Leo that they're turning to run to in the house. I dunno what that says, but sheeit. Also, the totem started wobbling but didn't fall. Whether it was going to fall is the question... I bet Nolan doesn't even know if it fell or not.
takai writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 12:47:01 AM

@Money - No, the kids never turn around in his dream, they go running to the left, like when he had to look at the flight tickets. So in "real life", it's the first time he sees their face. Then again, they ARE wearing the same clothes. Hmm.
takai writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 12:50:22 AM

To the right, my bad
bspence writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 1:08:45 AM

i believe it was a dream now. the kids were n the same clothes like just said. the totem was never SEEN falling over. and with what i said before about the whole movie being a level 3 dream... ive come to the conclusion i believe he was still dreaming.
takai writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 2:28:26 AM

If the movie started in a level 3 dream, then the arctic base was a level 7 dream. I don't get that argument, considering that a level 3 dream was initially deemed impossible.
takai writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 2:30:03 AM

I just need to see this damn movie again, and pay attention to all these new details.
Agent Calavera writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 9:23:14 AM

i believed it to be a dream.. everything cobb did was rather convenient no? he finds the perfect team and a guy who can get him back into the US with a phone call?

film needs to be seen again.
Kill-the-director writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 9:39:44 AM

From what i hear at the end its sounds like totem starts to slow. I really dont want to see a sequel to this. I think this would be far better as a standalone.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 10:12:26 AM

@encoreyourface-you're still typing, then you are wrong!! Go see this now, my friend. It is well crafted on a Kubrick scale and emotionally charged. Nolan's best since "Momento" Note: I love all of Nolan's movies to date but as far as his masterworks go, these two movies are at the top.
bspence writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 1:27:01 PM

@takai. not necessarily. if he was still dreaming then maybe he never changed dream levels a single time. maybe he only thought he did but its a dream so anything can be real or fake. im seeing it again today and will keep all this in mind to see if it works or not.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 1:32:03 PM

@Takai- Yeah the odd thing is that the kids haven't aged or anything since he left. They're still playing in the yard together.

When Leo is leaving, he sees his kids from behind turn to the right and run off, presumably being called by somebody. When he finally returns home, he sees them from the right and they turn to meet him as they are called by his father (who for some reason has followed him back to America... even though grandma, who refuses to talk on the phone and is never seen, has been watching them). I personally think it has something to do with the 'prison of memories' he's trying to change, but theres so much going on I dunno what to really think. Gotta see it again.
Austin VBA writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 1:32:06 PM

I don't know... A part of me doesn't want the sequel to ever happen so this can just be a classic masterpiece! And the other part of me really wants the sequel to happen... I mean literally anything is possible in this movies universe.

But of course everyone would have to return.
Voicedude writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 3:44:37 PM

Yeah.....well, even during the movie I kept thinking that it wouldn't be that big of a stretch to somehow come up with a way to 'fake' the totem. Seems they can fake everything else, so I kept waiting for that shoe to drop...
Voicedude writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 3:57:06 PM

.....of course, he COULD have just awakened as Bobby Ewing!!
kareoke444 writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 4:22:49 PM

okay the end of film totem thing. what you hear is it wobbling, not falling. and another thing, Ellen Pages character never used her totem to determine her place in all of this and she was the newbie. We could talk for years on this. a great great film
Man in Black writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 12:38:56 AM

did it fall , no but just cause we didnt see it fall doesnt mean it didnt this is why he did it to stir discussion , part of me wants him to find peice and just get back to his life and kids but the other half thinks that liveing in the dream is a cop out ... but he finally came to terms with his wifes death , but i like the fact she never left ... nolan as of now has not made a bad film not even a mediocre film picking this one up on blu ray
Drafthouse MG writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 1:27:37 AM

When Cobb is his hotel/apartment at the beginning, he calls his kids on the phone. They are talking and making sentences and they obviously sound older. Cut to final, they are 2-2 1/2 years old and just screaming. No way it's real time. Hmmm?
jaz_mayor writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 10:42:12 AM

Forget it, the totem fell end of movie. Watching it again it wouldn't make any sense otherwise. Because it would contradict the rest of the movies laws if it didn't.
hoohoo3000 writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 3:40:52 AM

Here's the thing: everytime we see the totem spinning nonstop in the movie, its perfectly straight up. It doesn't wobble at all. Even if we don't see or hear it fall, we definitely hear it wobble and that should be enough to make it reality
vwkombi writes:
on July 23rd, 2010 at 11:06:43 PM

Everyone who has not seen this movie, get the f*ck off the computer and see it now!
QuentinSlash writes:
on July 25th, 2010 at 6:26:08 PM

all through the film the 'real world' is almost dreamlike too. its only when they consciously go into another level of the dream that they recognise strange things, because they know they're in a dream. they just don't know how deep. its convenient that not one bullet gets near cobb when he runs through mombasa, also how direct all the dialogue is - getting to the point, focusing in the essence, just like in a dream. as ariadne says, if you construct a dream from memories you lose track of what's reality. all cobb's dreams are memories, and therefore has long been lost in his own dream, but he doesn't know it because he thinks he's in reality. hence it doesn't matter if the totem drops or not, because his mind doesn't care if it does. its purpose is lost by the end because cobb thinks he's in the real world, and therefore doesn't notice anything strange. its his mind, his dream, his creation. all the talk of getting back home, however, with michael caine's charcter etc, smacks of a subtly, brilliantly, signposted fork in the road. it could mean literally that he wants to go home to his kids, or it could mean that he subconsciously knows that something is not quite right and he needs to get out of this level of the dream into the previous one - therefore closer to reality and closer to his kids - but the crux is in his inability to let go of the memory of his wife, and he is stuck in the middle. cobb may actually know he is in the dream, and just wants to get to the one with his kids in. this is most likely: the characters (michael caine included - as is suggested by the dialogue in the scene in the university) are all dreamers. they are addicted to dream plunging (a very real thing) and have created each other in their dreams so as to share their dream with others like them. other dreamers. in their dream they have creatted (considering that anything can happen in a dream) a portal into other dreams and levels of dreams, and also other people's dreams - however, if the whole thing is their dream then the ideas and dreams of 'others' within the dream are actually their own, therefore making the concept of both inception and extraction entirely possible within a dream. the philosophical aspect comes in whether the dream ever ends. personally, i believe cobb (and the others) have plunged so deep into their dreams that they can never wake up. this is because memories get in the way of their path home. this is the tragedy and encompassing genius of the film.
tharrison61 writes:
on July 30th, 2010 at 8:16:28 AM

My ears told me the usher was starting cleaning the room as the credits rolled. Or did I dream that?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved