WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Inception" Dominates Box Office with $60 Million

Posted: July 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Inception" Dominates Box Office with $60 MillionSubmit Comment
Christopher Nolan's "Inception" grossed an estimated $60 million during the domestic box office weekend. The film is on track to make back its $160 million budget, without even counting the international grosses.

"Chris Nolan is a brand unto himself now," said Warner Bros. "Leonardo DiCaprio is also to be credited, and the picture is unique in a summer of sequels. With all of the so-called popcorn films out of the way, I think things are really set up for us to continue to play for a long, long time."

Meanwhile, Disney's "The Sorcerer's Apprentice," starring Nicolas cage, took in a lousy $24 million since its Wednesday opening. During the weekend, "Apprentice" grossed only $17 million, but the movie cost a whopping $150 million to make.

This is a rare losing streak for mega-producer Jerry Bruckheimer, whose "Prince of Persia," and "Confessions of a Shopaholic" underperformed in theaters.

Click here to read our "Inception" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnthemon writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 5:43:48 PM

a little disappointed in Inception's returns, but it will definitely play strongly for the next few weeks. It won't be a one-weekend wonder.
SofaKing writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 5:51:18 PM

Can't wait to see this in a few weeks when I am back in the States!

I hope Nick Cage got paid up front...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 5:56:37 PM

I contributed to that 60 mil!
Ranger writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 6:06:56 PM

I'd f*ck a belt sander before going to see: "The Sorcerer's Apprentice"
trailertrash writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 6:14:07 PM

Businees News Update:

Belt Sanders sales up 5000% this past weekend !!
KallousTom writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 6:29:31 PM

Given that in three days they've made back a third of their budget and that this isn't part of an already existing franchise; I'd say they're about set to make back their budget.

To all US WP users, is it out in the states yet?
encoreyourface writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 6:39:06 PM

^^
i think it's out where i'm at(Oregon) but i haven't been to the theaters since i saw predators so not sure.

ranger-both comments-lol, nice.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 6:53:45 PM

Chris Nolan: Congrats on another successful movie. Can't wait to see Batman 3.

I'm not going to pay good money to see the new Nic Cage flick in the theater. I will probably rent it from Redbox.
Ted Mosby writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 7:14:56 PM

@Spooky
AS did I haha i think a lot of us did here right?

and word of mouth will definitely keep this movie going onto next week at #1 too... also considering the fact that NOTHING comes out worth worrying about next week lol

Cheers Nolan
trailertrash writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 7:17:21 PM

This will have a strong 2nd weekend i'm sure, it's got a very good word of mouth and apart from salt (which doesn't look that good) there's nothing really out until the Expendables in just over 3 weeks !!
trailertrash writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 7:20:38 PM

ted- wasn't copying honest LOL
Ranger writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 7:41:16 PM

Redbox?

Lohan is renting movies now to subsidize her legal fees?!
Barney Stinson writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 8:09:23 PM

It will be #1 again next week. f*ck the world if it's not. There will be strong word of mouth and people will want repeat viewings. I'm gonna go see it again next Friday and this is the first time in years that I'll be seeing a movie in theaters twice. Yeah that's right, I didn't go see Avatar 27 times like those f*cking retard fanboys lol
Ted Mosby writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 8:13:44 PM

@trailer
haha all good

@Barney
Same f*ck anyone who saw Avatar twice in theaters... or plans on seeing it AGAIN when they put it back into theaters again -_- I did see Watchmen twice in theaters as well...
Fixxer35 writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 8:30:07 PM

This movie is probably a bigger hit than the Scantron in most Asian countries.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 8:42:40 PM

If Sorcerer's Apprentice wasn't the final nail in Nic's career coffin, then he truly is GHOST RIDER.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 8:46:30 PM

johnthemon writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 5:43:48 PM

a little disappointed in Inception's returns, but it will definitely play strongly for the next few weeks. It won't be a one-weekend wonder.


@johnthemon

To be fair, Chris Nolan spent 10 years on this ... how many of those sh*tty remakes and movies that came out this summer had that much time and thought put into them ?

Inception's conception made the reception spectacular and showed that much of 2010's summer blockbusters were nothing more than deception.


Bob Uecker, eat your heart out.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 8:48:04 PM

This is a rare losing streak for mega-producer Jerry Bruckheimer, whose "Prince of Persia," and "Confessions of a Shopaholic" underperformed in theaters.

... yeah, I bet his ol' partner, the late Don Simpson, is laughing it up and enjoyin' margaritas by the jacuzzi in Hell.
CCBlev writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 10:47:51 PM

#1 as it should be, Hope it stay #1 till The Expendable comes out :).
buttabean writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 11:06:24 PM

One should think it doesn't matter if it drops because we never see it spin longer than the last scene. He always stopped it quick.
GIST writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 12:05:41 AM

@Max Rockatansky Junior

NICE! I think you should spit a four-bar rhyme for every one of your film reviews.

"Inception's conception made the reception spectacular and showed that much of 2010's summer blockbusters were nothing more than deception."
Rambo writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 2:57:50 AM

I thought it would bomb after everyone read Dustin Putman's review...
jdl107 writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 3:01:54 AM

Not bad, Max Rockatansky.

I still need to see this f*cking movie
happyguy815 writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 4:23:33 AM

Word of mouth will spread like wildfire (or Lohags herpes) for this movie
johnny_boy writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 5:02:51 AM

So I take it this is a good movie and crazy for being the only WP user who hasn't seen it yet.
trailertrash writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 5:10:41 AM

johnny - Yes and yes !!
telur writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 5:15:39 AM

movie like this sh*t can dominates box office.... sigh....
Time traveller writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 5:41:08 AM

''The film is on track to make back its $160 million budget, without even counting the international grosses.' - It seems the writer of this article isn't aware that every studio gets about 50-55% of it's movies gross back(and that's for the BIG movies like this one),the rest never sees the pockets of the studio that produced it. In order to BREAK even,this movie would have to make around 320million + 100million at least(marketing costs,and I think it's higher than that,because it was advertised well over 6 months ahead of the premiere already).So in order ot break EVEN, this movie needs to make 2 times it's budget + marketing costs of at least 100 million. That's 420 million worldwide.(Which it will I believe).But simply breaking even is always consdiered a dissapointment if not a flop for the studio,because they didn't invest all that cash to not get any profits at all.They did it for the profits. usually the industry counts it either: make back 3 times it's budget(or 2.5 if the studio is also distributing the movie) or an alternative of twice the budget + marketing costs,which usually is proportionate to half the budget or more,so that makes the same 2.5 times it's budget ratio.

As for Warner Bros, the studio became a laughing stock after it came out with it's numbers how Harry Potter 5 LOST money for the studio,and that movie made 940 million lol.
The studios have since the beginning of hollywood always made their accounting trickeries,namely what Warner Bros did is they covered all the money lost from all other 2007 releases to break even on all of those,and that's how they ended up with 167 million in the RED for Harry Potter. Studios do that regularly in order to not pay net profit % to any actors/directors etc who had that clause in their contract IF the movie makes a profit(which it did,but since they used their accounting tactics within the accounting sector of Warner Bros, there supposedly was NO profit)

This tactic is actually studied in film school usually,the business side of it. What the studio must do in order to make it seem as if the movie didn't make any profit and so no % points of it will end up in some actors hands etc. They also teach how to not get USED and tricked liek that by the studio,so one must always make a contract with the studio,where there is a special clause added,where it forbids studios to cover other movies' budgets and give out official numbers that the movie lsot money. What Warner Bros did every studio has doen before,but saing Potter lost 167 million,with an intake of almsot 1 billion and a budget of 150 million is pathetic. Who did they try to fool? Ever industry worker knows these weak tactics, which unfortunately are legal for the studios to do.Many actors and writers etc don't know this,so they get fooled out of the % points many times.
Time traveller writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 5:47:13 AM

@happyguy815

Unfortunately I'm afraid it won't spread liek wildfire,namely because at least half of the viewers didn't understand the movie,it was way over their heads(yeah,that's how low humanity has sunk these days), I hope I'm wrong,but statistics of past mindbender movies have always shown this. I bet many people were irritated and thought this movie was just ''badly executed and confusing'', to cover the lack of their own incompetence to comprehend the plot.

I HOPE I'm wrong and Inception is the esception, but I'm pretty sure many movie-goers will be thinknig exactly the quote I stated above and will be angry at them not understanding,and so blaming it on the movie.
I think this movie will fall 50% by next weekend, those "dumber" ,pardon the pun, will rather go see SALT,where there's less plot and more shooting and Angelina Jolie.
Time traveller writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 5:51:19 AM

@Ted Mosby

I'm pretty sure that SALT will take numebr oen spot,that's almost a givne seeing as Angelian Jolie is always very popular and big bucks when she's in action movies. And many people didn't understand Inception,so they will suggest going to Salt,where there's less thinking involved.I'm afraid you're too optimsitic as far as peoples intellect levels go.But I hope I'm wrong.
trailertrash writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 5:52:26 AM

Telur -

I take it your talking about Twilight and i agree that is a load of f*cking cow spunk !!
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 6:25:02 AM

my original comment got deleted, so I will repeat it:

putman's review of inceptions performance: "inception under performs due to too complex of a story and poor acting and sh*tty visuals"

eff you sir, eff you

and I repeat...eff you sir...eff you in your stupid ass
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 7:15:44 AM

@trailer- with you on that one.

Let's hope it has the staying power of Avatar and in turn gets as close to breaking a bllion as it can.
trailertrash writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 8:59:00 AM

dave- Fingers crossed my friend , When is it out in your part of the world ?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 9:09:18 AM

well trailer it say it came out 17th of July so going to check the big city cinema to see if they have it, it's not on local.

Imagine if it beat Avaturd??? Now that would be j*zz worthy.
trailertrash writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 9:32:49 AM

That would be j*zz-tastic :)
SACdaddy writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 9:46:12 AM

Loved the film, but BOmojo has the film only at $76mill worldwide right now. I'm not sure of the extent off the international release but its only tracking $15mill so far overseas. I don't see why everyone is so confident this film will break even or why breaking even would be exceptible for a Nolan film after TDK. I frankly am disappointed with the returns. If Inception doesn't do better studios might frown upon heady thrillers like it in the future. Twatlight made Inception's returns look like arthouse numbers, and that's all studio execs need to justify more nutless teen vampire/monster dramas and less thought provoking entertainment.
trailertrash writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 10:13:46 AM

SAC-

It didn't open across the world the same as twilight did all at the same time. Most of the major territories dont see Inception until next week or even the week after.

Dont know why warners didn't go for a big worldwide opening, i still think it would have done big money.

2nd weekend is key a small drop in takings and all is good a 50% drop and it would be classed a disappointment.

trailertrash writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 10:30:09 AM

Dont forget TDK was a lot stronger in the US than it was around the world.

Only (i say only) $470mil international take, and when you see films like 2010 $600mil or harry potter and POTC all going by the $600mil.

Maybe that was on Warners mind when they chose to release it the way they have , hopping for a good word of mouth from the US and UK and maybe that could carry the movie further. Who knows ?
darkraven28 writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 11:34:05 AM

Bruckheimer is currently paging Michael Bay. STAT!!!!
Austin VBA writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 1:35:36 PM

Bruckheimer will see success again next year.
I don't think he's worried!

Inception... I'm glad it's doing well. Brings up more chances for a sequel, even if I do feel a little mixed on that, but Nolan is always going to be a success now!
telur writes:
on July 20th, 2010 at 2:20:40 AM

@Time traveller

good point, maybe because you from the future

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved