WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kevin Bacon is Sebastian Shaw in "X-Men: First Class"?

Posted: July 17th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kevin Bacon is Sebastian Shaw in "X-Men: First Class"?Submit Comment
Kevin Bacon recently signed on to star in "X-Men: First Class," but 20th Century Fox is keeping his role a secret, besides that he will play a villain. ForcesOfGeek claims that they know Bacon's role and it is not Mister Sinister or Egyptian crime lord Amahl Farouk.

The site says that the actor will play Sebastian Shaw, a mutant who possesses the ability to absorb kinetic energy and transform it into raw strength. He is the leader of the New York branch of the Hellfire Club, an exclusive secret society bent on world domination, although to the public, he is a legitimate businessman and ordinary human. He once funded the mutant-hunting Sentinel program to keep it under his thumb.

Director Matthew Vaughn (Kick-Ass) will begin filming "X-Men: First Class" in London next month. The film is scheduled to hit theaters on July 3rd, 2011.

Source: ForcesOfGeek


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Monash writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 5:33:12 AM

Good call Max Jr
johnny_boy writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 7:05:36 AM

Think that's great. Give'em hell Kevin bacon
Longinus writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 7:14:26 AM

Solid, Bacon.
masht7 writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 7:32:10 AM

Nice pick, Fox.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 8:25:58 AM

20th Century Fox will stop at NOTHING to get some f*cking muttonchops in this movie! Why not make him Apocalypse since Cable is rumored to be in this?
xtlhogciao writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 9:48:21 AM

I have no complaints.
Austin VBA writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 10:14:50 AM

This is going to be better than all the other X-Men films and Wolverine. Finally a film this franchise deserves
rabid writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 10:16:20 AM

That makes sense. Hellfire Club versus Xavier's school. Let the recruitment begin, eh?
SACdaddy writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 10:55:51 AM

Just a few more degrees of Kevin Bacon to add to the game :)
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 11:15:40 AM

Monash writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 5:33:12 AM

Good call Max Jr


@ Monash

Thank you, sir.

But let's not count our chicks just yet ... if I'm right, then I'll be the only " outsider " that I know of who isn't in the biz that nailed it based on instinct.

Bacon can play subtle. A good example is when he was the lawyer in the movie adaptation of A Few Good Men. Or when he was the convict in Murder in the First. He has a way to be able to shift gears from being super-intense (ex : Death Sentence) or superbly undertoned (ex: JFK), so seeing him pull of Sebastian Shaw is more or less a walk in the park for him.
Time traveller writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 12:15:48 PM

You shoudl correct the date.it's JUNE 3rd,not July 3rd.
Janus writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 12:37:00 PM

Bad idea. As long as they want to do X4 afterwards, they'll break their entire continuity. They worked so long to build it. Trask was introduced in X3 so the Sentinels are a future task. Mutants weren't deteced until X1. Sentinels wouldn't make any sense in a prequel. Shaw could only be introduced in the prequel just as Trask was in X3. Shaw is also involved with Dark Phoenix. Sebastian doesn't make any sense at all.
rabid writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 12:42:49 PM

It does in that the Shaw family and the Grey family were running the Hellfire Club when Nathaniel Essex began Apocalypse's genetic experiments that later caused the birth of mutants.
Shaw will be the face of the Hellfire Club, a foil for Emma Frost, and a tie to Sinister when they finally get around to introducing him. There has to be some element of Mr. Sinister in this film, just for the fact that they've cast someone to play Havok.
bspence writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 12:53:37 PM

im actually looking forward to this one. hellfire club would be a good choice i think to begin it with. along with magneto and mystique first meeting each other and are the first 2 members of the brotherhood.
then in the 2nd i wouldnt mind the sentinels because yes trask was introduced in X3 but in the opening scene in the danger room that was also suppose to be a sentinel. so in the movie version of the story its possible they could go with something where sentinels were made then shutdown then trask reopened it and made them bigger and badder or something. i wouldnt mind that to be honest as long as we can get a 3part good first class series and a good part 4. oh and deadpool.
but also for a part2 id use the sentinels maybe and another villain like mojo or shadow king along with adding in quicksilver and scarlet witch to the brotherhood.
and finally part3 id like to see mr. sinister as the villain, the island of genosha, brotherhood being magneto mystique quicksilver scarlet witch avalanche toad and sabertooth would be introduced. and after a huge final battle at genosha your left with mr sinister defeated, the sentinels shutdown, brotherhood being magneto mystique toad and sabertooth. and the xmen from the the other 3 films.
ps. no wolverine in these. love the character but only hugh can play him and he doesnt come into the series until xmen1 as part of the team.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 1:09:05 PM

Sebastian? Wasn't that his name in Hollow Man? Am I still the only person who thought that film was awesome? BTW, Kevin Bacon is an awesome actor that doesn't get recognized enough for his outstanding contributions to film. The X-Men franchise should be kissing his ass for lending his talent to this film.
CCBlev writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 3:07:26 PM

Who gives a sh*t the Xmen series is f*cked! Let em do whatever the f*ck they want.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 3:53:20 PM

really hope they get sinister in there somehow ....
manichispanic writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 4:45:12 PM

i bet they can't have emma frost because she was in the wolverine movie, so that continuity is messed up.

so i don't think this will have anything about the white/black queen.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 7:46:30 PM

@Janus - since when does continuity matter in the X-men movie universe? I don't think anyone involved in the past 4 Wolverine movies even knew what a comic book was, except Patrick Stewart, but he was admittedly not a fan anyway.

@SAC - I'm right there with ya buddy. "Hollow Man" rocked! I love how as the movie goes on it just seperatesd itself further and further from reality. Like when Bacon develops superhuman strength and can't be harmed by fire!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 11:23:24 PM

@eViL.kEv2 & cc- with you on that one "Hallow Man" was f*ckin awsome...saw it on a staff show and loved the new take on "The Invisible Man" story...and yes Kevin Bacon does'nt get the credit he deserves and was fantastic in "Death Sentance"..rarely gives a bad performance.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 11:26:16 PM

sorry sac-the cc part is mant to be you...guess I was overcome with th awesomesness of Kevin Bacon I made a little mistake.
Man in Black writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 11:50:28 PM

wow really like the direction they are takeing for this one instead of the tired magneto vs xavier bull sh*t .... and putman is a donkey raping sh*t eater 5 out of 10 are you f*cking kidding me ?
encoreyourface writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 1:10:16 AM

hollow man was f*cking awesome. i hear they made a sequel but it looked retarded ...
rabid writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 1:37:13 AM

oh, it was.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 8:08:48 AM

never saw the sequel...read the back cover and thought "Oh No!"
Janus writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 8:24:01 AM

@rabid: Thanks. Somebody with knowledge and sense for a broader task. With your explanation the planned X4 has a connection to every other film from the franchise. Originally, as actors sign 3 movie contracts nowadays, I thought of Mister Sinister, the Living Monolith and Apocalypse as a nice trilogy way but with your comic knowledge Shaw fits perfectly into that too. Like the idea of Shaw now. I'm convinced. Thanks again.
Time traveller writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 9:02:33 AM

bspence - I see you and others keep talknig about soem mistycal part 4 - There won't be X-Men 4 with the origina lcast,trust me.That is done. X3 is being ignored by all the producers,directors and viewers alike,because X3 screwed up all the continuity and plot points,killing off most of the main characters such as Jean Grey,Scott Summers,Charles Xavier,Juggernaut(logically) and Mistique, Eric Lensherr(Magneto) and Rogue all lost their powers. I don't know but it seems like Brett Ratner was trying to END X-men once and for all for the foreseeable future. Singers X-men and X2 were good,and Superman Returns was good in it's own right.Valkyrie was good too,so I have faith in Singer as the producer behind this.He will keep the first 2 movies in tact, but since he had Iceman be a kid in those,then he won't be using him as an original first class member in Xaviers school in the 80s or whenever the story is set.
rabid writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 11:27:21 AM

LOL. There will definitely be an X4. Singer mentioned it in an interview recently. And btw, none of those people you mention die in X3. Its what is called in the comics "a cliffhanger ending". And I could think of about 20 good ways to write part 4.
James Marsden definitely won't be appearing, but FOX studios wouldn't touch him with a ten foot pole. He's on their black list. But I don't think anyone would give two sh*ts if the recast everyone but Wolverine.
rabid writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 12:28:25 PM

If I were to sew up the losse ends from part 3:
- Cyclops would have been rescued by Mr. Sinister's marauder Tempo, hence the stuff frozen in time in the air. Alternatively, the Phoenix could have just put him somewhere safe.
- Give Xavier a new cloned body. In the comics, he's already on his 3rd or 4th cloned body. And Patrick Stewart is a few decades too old to play him anyway. The new body could be an offer from Sinister or the Shi'ar, since both make clones.
- Bring in Havok and reveal that Sinister seperated him from Scott and raised him in an orphanage with Gambit.
- Rogue, Logan, and Angel would wander into the clutches of Sinister and Apocalypse trying to restore her powers and all would be turned into Horsemen.
- It would be revealed that Sinister was experimenting on mutants trying to restore vitality to his master Apocalypse.
- Sinister creates a clone of Jean Grey which Alex and Scott fight over. By the end of the film, Apoc wants the baby and has infected it with the TO virus, then an ancient Phoenix shows up to take the child into the future.
rabid writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 12:30:37 PM

^Scott and Jean-clone's baby.
Janus writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 6:09:09 PM

rabid, my new hero! I love how your brain works. :) And you actually _watch_ movies while others, Time traveller, sorry, don't. Yes, Donner and Singer had an interview and were talking about the work for X4 and that she wanted him as director and Singer saying he really wants to do it. A huge stor arc between the First Class trilogy and X4 would be huge.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 12:14:33 PM

Sinister creates a clone of Jean Grey which Alex and Scott fight over. By the end of the film, Apoc wants the baby and has infected it with the TO virus, then an ancient Phoenix shows up to take the child into the future.


@rabid

It's been a loooooong while since I've read in the XMen universe, but I believe the cloning of Jean Grey (80s) and Xavier (late 90s or 2000+) had been a storyline they did, so that would be congruent with Marvel's manipulation of that universe.

Not many people remember the Horsemen either, but that also would make sense.

Or perhaps the Apocalypse universe. That had so many possibilites.

Or maybe ... and this is a BIG stretch ... the MOJO Universe ? He had the power of mind manipulation, so that would put an interesting spin on it (ala Alice in Wonderland to the XUniverse, so to speak).

I would even enjoy seeing a movie of the XMen vs The Brood.
DOLAN writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 5:28:48 PM

It's a double-edged sword trying to preserve the contiuity. As a Claremont/Byrne fan and typical defender of the sacrosanct Uncanny timeline, I would like to see the two series correspond with each other.

On the other atypical hand, the X-comics have used everything from the M'Kraan Crystal to both ages of Apocalypse to splinter the narrative and show another face of Ellis' "snowflake". (ATTN: Studios, please make PLANETARY trilogy of films and I'll collect my melted face gratefully from the floor, kthxbye)

Bacon is a great choice, what with his fangy little teeth, and anyone who saw "Sleepers" knows how unbelievable cruel he can be. But if he's going to play Shaw, he needs to hit the gym. Like now. Get big, Bacon.

The Taylor Lautner business, however, would be too Ultimate X-Men for me; a book that, no matter how much I respect the creators and artists, could never fully accept or get into.

The real trick has to come from Vaughn. He's too slick (in the best way possible), but a studio pushing for a kid-friendly X-Men movie could polish it to too fine a shine. He has to learn from "Layer Cake" as much as he did from "Kick-Ass" and give us substance. If we get "Gossip Girl" meets "Twilight", I'm gonna get violent.


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved