WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Donald Glover on Not Getting "Spider-Man" Role

Posted: July 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Donald Glover on Not Getting "Spider-Man" RoleSubmit Comment
A few months ago, an online campaign was started to get Donald Glover ("Community") to play the lead character in the upcoming "Spider-Man" reboot. Glover is a black actor, which separated fans on whether the character can ever be portrayed by a non-white actor.

Now, in an interview with NY Magazine, Glover spoke about his experience and how he feels about not getting the role. He first stated that Sony and director Marc Webb never contacted him or let him audition.

"No, it was never really a thing," he said. "I think they had heard about it, but it was never really one of those things. You don't want to get, like, forced into a position or anything like that. I was very flattered by everybody being behind me and everybody supporting me. That was really cool, but I never really wanted to force anybody's hands or anything like that. They're a big corporation. They can make their own decisions about what they want to do, and it's their money."

After so much online support for him to play a superhero, Glover added that maybe he should audition for other comic book roles. "It definitely got me thinking," he said. "If people want me to play a superhero, maybe I should try and get involved in a superhero thing."

Source: NY Magazine


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on July 16th, 2010 at 9:12:42 PM

Mel Gibson can explain why he didn't get it...
johnny_boy writes:
on July 16th, 2010 at 9:20:10 PM

If he really wanted it he should've fought for it, or at least make a call to audition.he acts likes it cool but its not. he just expected for affirmative action to help him get the role
Frank4969 writes:
on July 16th, 2010 at 9:57:38 PM

You know if a white person were up to play. Hmmm let me think Luke cage. I'm sure the entire black community would be up in arms. Jesse Jackson would Rally the troops for the next million man march. But turn it around and let's f*ck with characters that have been staples for over 40 years. Spider man is white! You got kingpin and nick fury. Leave this one alone.
nope.com writes:
on July 16th, 2010 at 9:58:56 PM

what a f*cking ego this c*nt has
koul writes:
on July 16th, 2010 at 10:13:46 PM

this dude looks stupid as hell. he can't be spider-man
telur writes:
on July 16th, 2010 at 10:42:06 PM

he play robin
FBO writes:
on July 16th, 2010 at 10:43:05 PM

Haha, I think you're assuming too much there johnnyboy
encoreyourface writes:
on July 16th, 2010 at 10:56:00 PM

"Glover is a black actor" .... no f*cking sh*t.


elizabeth-with lots of use of the word n*gger no less ....
rabid writes:
on July 16th, 2010 at 11:25:38 PM

No clue who this guy is.
Webslinger1187 writes:
on July 16th, 2010 at 11:53:46 PM

@Frank4969

Exactly, couldnt have said it better myself
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 12:06:07 AM

f*ck this black piece of sh*t for trying to upset standards.
Aingx writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 12:09:33 AM

Sure, he could play:

The Amazing-Man
Aqualad
The Atom
Big Thunder
Black Eagle
Black Lightning
Black Vulcan
Blackwing
Blindside
Gravedigger
Grover Baines
Jet
Joto
Kid Impala
Maximum
Molo
Mongrel
Samosa
Scrap
Skyrocket
The Solution
Sonik
Tempest

OR my personal fav. for him; LOBO!!!

Ranger writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 12:26:39 AM

'Glover is a black actor' --- in case you couldn't tell that from his picture.


'...If people want me to play a superhero, maybe I should try and get involved in a superhero thing.' --- hey buddy, I don't care if you get hit by a bus (no, doesn't have anything to do with him being black, so don't even f*cking go there!), but whatever floats yer boat.

Ranger writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 12:27:45 AM

PS: I loved 'The Atom' - had a MINT, MINT copy of #2 (he going down a sink drain) - back when comic covers were SPECTACULAR!!!
Aingx writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 12:34:23 AM

Hell yeah Ranger!
trailertrash writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 2:41:12 AM

"You don't want to get, like, forced into a position or anything like that. I was very flattered by everybody being behind me "

Is he talking about getting ass f*cked by crazed pack of crackers !!

velocityknown writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 9:30:28 AM

To make things clear:

He never said when all the Facebook/Twitter stuff was going on, "Give me the role as Spider-man". All he was aiming for was an audition.

Spider-man is a character who's race I think it's okay to change, only because his "character" is not grounded in any race.

If you were to read a novel about Spider-man you wouldn't automatically assign a race to him were there no physical description. The things that define his character are he's a smart, teenager, with a sort of social ineptness. The main reasons he's white is because there's no way Marvel was going to cater their biggest superhero to black audiences and alienate their white clientèle during the 1950s/60s.

Everyone keeps talking about a white person playing Luke Cage, the difference there is that Luke Cage's character IS grounded in race. He was born in Harlem, has kind of Blacksploation dialogue, etc. Were you to read about the character of Luke Cage with no picture you would automatically assume he was black.

By the way compared to some of the crappy ass non actors they had on their list this guy would have been a f*cking savior to you if you're familiar with his work.
JohnZee writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 9:31:47 AM

Wow this kid comes off like a complete dumbass. This is the black actor that the original black article writer claimed would make a super-duper black Spiderman?

I've seen more articulate quotes from the winners of the Special Olympics.

Glad to know the black community was being objective about the whole thing.

SACdaddy writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 9:51:46 AM

@velocity: well said. All this hate over a kid trying to get an audition? The racists are getting pretty desperate these days for an argument. For once someone uses Twitter for something halfway interesting and all the idiots could do is demonize him for his race. They should be kissing his ass for not posting the usual "at the grocery store on a Gummie Bear hunt" Twitter bullsh*t.
Frank4969 writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 11:04:50 AM

If you read any book with no pictures then any character could be any color. It's not about race. Were just going by how these characters were created. Yes unfortunately due to the times these figures were first introduced there would be no black superheros. All I am trying to say is since they are already implemented as being white , leave it alone.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 11:17:53 AM

Again, WAY TO GO CAPTAIN OBLIVIOUS.

Mel must be jumping on his bed for joy about this. That and buying Oksana in the rose garden this morning and hiding the shovel.
ghosttomost writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 11:22:26 AM

my god u guys are *ssholes. i can't even read these comments anymore.
JohnZee writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 11:35:07 AM

@velocityknown

"A f*cking Savior to you if you were familiar with his work?"

Okay enlighten me. According to IMDB this kid hasn't done sh*t. Some television appearances, and one movie that he pretty much got made himself, starring guess who...himself.

Minor and inconsequential roles, and probably all on the internet. So since all the racist white guys are completely wrong about Donald Glover and he really is the guy that is worthy of the word "savior". Just post links to several of his acting scenes and let the community on here decide.

And for the record you wouldn't assign a race to Spiderman when reading a novel about him, because you are putting forth the argument that Spiderman is a character where race is interchangeable and easily alterable.

You're wrong. And there has been decades more establishing that Spiderman is white, than there has been establishing that Luke Cage is black.

Even though a movie is going to go with the concept that it is the present day when Peter Parker initially becomes Spiderman, any movie is going to draw on the multiple decades of comic book stories and established canon.

Peter Parker is white.
Nerdy white kid.
They didn't even have the stereotype/cliche' of the nerdy black kid for many many decades later.

Your argument that a "Steve Urkel" type of character that gets bitten by a radioactive spider would be instantly recognized and accepted as Peter Parker/Spiderman is incredibly flawed.

Yeah just as much as Blackula would have been recognized and accepted as Dracula.

And here is a clear example of just how narrow minded you are. You actually think in an us versus them mentality. Incredibly sad.

"The main reasons he's white is because there's no way Marvel was going to cater their biggest superhero to black audiences and alienate their white clientèle during the 1950s/60s."

Wrong, completely wrong. There was no conspiracy with the "man" keeping the morally superior black folks down. No one even knew Spiderman was going to amount to anything when he was initially created. Amazing Fantasy #15 (First appearance of Spiderman) was published in August of 1962.

I hate to tell you this but the Civil Rights movement was still at the point where it was building up steam. But it was still at the point where it would have been controversial for Marvel to even have a black superhero, much less one that had his own title.


Black Panther, the first American created black super hero was introduced by Marvel in July 1966. In a supporting role.

Marvel didn't get around to having an African American as a superhero and stat of his own title until 1972 (Luke Cage)

Spiderman isn't black, because in the context of the time in history that he was created, he couldn't be black. Had nothing to do with a concerted effort on anyone's part. It just wasn't done.

1962 it would have just been way too controversial.

1962 when the last thing that Marvel wanted to be was to even give the hint of being controversial.

As far as Luke Cage I could care less, never cared for the character. Comic book creators back then had absolutely no concept about African Americans and the African American community. And I put him in my personal 30 second category...

In other words anyone with half a brain could figure out how to end his career, and make him a post-mortem superhero.

And SACdaddy, in case you didn't know the primary reason that people use Twitter is for self promotion. And Donald Glover using it for that very reason only means that he has the most basic understanding of what it is for.

But from your comment I would say you have horrible taste in the people you follow on Twitter. Heck, I even have a section of people I'm following labeled "Large breasted redheads".










velocityknown writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 12:45:18 PM

@JohnZee

Sorry for not making that clear enough, of course my point was that Marvel wouldn't allow a black superhero in the 60s. It was the 60s of course he couldn't be black, Marvel could create characters to cater to black audiences, like Luke Cage, but they weren't about to do that with Spider-man that early in the development of their country.

Now Donald Glover was not the best person for the role, but compared to some of Sonys other choices and if you were familiar with his work, it was my opinion that he was much better than at least 4 of the choices mentioned (barring Bell and eventual choice Garfield).

Your interpretation of what I wrote is: Donald Glover would have been the savior for the movie.
When you examine the whole comment you will notice my comment was that compared to some of Sony's Twilight-y/"cool emo" choices, he was top notch.

I'd be more than happy to post some clips of his work, but you'd be better off going to Hulu and watching episodes of the TV show he co-stars in, "Community", which airs on NBC. I highly recommend it. He works as a comedic actor, but a talented actor is a talented actor. Also check out indie-dark comedy "Mystery Team".

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a8kKbbdJTFA&feature=related

http://www.hulu.com/watch/147464/community-voicemail-vs-text#s-p2-sr-i1

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D-hUus42NTY

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HnG2zSxvZlc&feature=related

Don't call me narrow-minded for having a logical opinion by the way. Want a good example of narrow-mindedness? Saying that apparently nerdy black people can't exist in this world.

I don't think its an us versus them mentality but you said it yourself that Spider-man basically was forced into being white by the time period. We live in the 21st century now and in MY OPINION (which in your mind apparently opinion=fact) the CHARACTER (which you seem to take as physical appearance) is not grounded in whiteness.

But I do apologize for not making my point clearer, I did mean to say that Marvel obviously did not have a choice in creating a black superhero in the early 60s.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 12:45:44 PM

"But from your comment I would say you have horrible taste in the people you follow on Twitter. Heck, I even have a section of people I'm following labeled "Large breasted redheads"

Can't argue with you there :)
velocityknown writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 12:46:40 PM

*by the way, don't know quite why I put "country" where I meant to put "company".

I give anyone full rights to bust me on that one haha.
strobemandixon writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 10:52:31 PM

donald glover, nickname stupid ass, I really hope you are not surprised. Sony and director mark webb do not want a black spiderman period. They probably thoght that was the biggest joke they ever heard of wich is why they didint give you an audition *sshole
JohnZee writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 2:40:57 AM

@velocityknown

Fair enough, this topic is a heated one, and from your last post it's pretty obvious that you trying to meet me halfway even though we don't exactly see eye to eye.

But my perception of the pool of acting talent was never once just limited to the selection that Sony had stated. As I am sure for every name that was on the list there was many many more that were considered.

But in hindsight that is something that I probably should have pointed out.

And also understand that being successful and talented on the small screen doesn't always equate into being a capable actor on the big screen. They are similar mediums, but different enough for it to make a difference.

And I'm a little biased as far as television, as I haven't watched more than 20 minutes of any television show since early 2009.

And wasn't trying to say that nerdy black people can't exist in today's world. Especially since I have known so many of them over the years. But as far as a fictional context of a character that was created in the early 1960's (Spiderman), it would smack of a politically correct forced anachronism.

Personally I think that retroactively changing fictional white characters into fictional black characters is the wrong choice to make. Instead the concentration should be to create good characters, and if because of the story created the character is white, black, or any other ethnicity it should be because that was where the story was going from the very beginning.

Stan Lee and Steve Ditko intended Spiderman to be white. And perhaps the world itself was narrow minded back then and that's one of the reasons that Spiderman is white. But the character has been around for too many years, and now it's about as established of a fact as it gets.

My opinion is that they shouldn't make Spiderman black. They should actually give a black character that would be a great role model and example his own film, or at least a large role in a ensemble team movie.

Hell, I would go to see a Justice Society movie with Mister Terrific II as a major player so many times it would make your head spin.







JohnZee writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 2:44:44 AM

And I'll look at the clips sometime tomorrow. Somebody just woke up horny and ready for round four...
Ranger writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 5:10:48 AM

If it's Dustin Putman... double bag your junk!
rabid writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 11:32:10 AM

There will never be a black Spider-Man for one simple reason... Spider-Man is a white guy.
You can change the race of characters that nobody cares about or that few are familiar with (Nick Fury), but not Spider-Man. Only a racist would feel the need to arbitrarily change a character to meet their own race. Sounds like this Donald Glover nobody is that kind of racist.
Wrinklefighter writes:
on July 18th, 2010 at 8:14:03 PM

He can't be black, because if he's black then uncle Ben is most likely black. If that's the case then Sony has to pay a whole bunch of royalties to the guy who makes the rice.
Dre-EL writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 9:53:30 AM

he could play static shock
SuluNakamura writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 3:22:00 PM

laughing at all the retards who don't know who Donald Glover is. "Derp, I don't know who he is, so he must suck!"

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved