WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Zachary Levi has Auditioned for "Superman" Reboot?

Posted: July 13th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Zachary Levi has Auditioned for "Superman" Reboot?Submit Comment
GeekTyrant is claiming that Warner Bros not only has a director for its upcoming "Superman" reboot, but also a contender to star in the film. The site doesn't name its sources, which is why this should be considered a rumor.

We previously heard that Christopher Nolan (The Dark Knight) had agreed to godfather the project by not only coming up with the story, but also supervising the entire filmmaking process. While he wouldn't direct the movie himself, he requested that his brother, Jonathan Nolan, would be given the job. The site claims that this is pretty much a done deal, making "Superman" Jonathan's directorial debut.

The site has also learned that Warner Bros is now auditioning actors for the lead role and that Zachary Levi has already tested. Some of you may know Levi from NBC's "Chuck," but the actor was previously in talks for "Thor," until his schedule made him unavailable. He also pushed to be cast in "Captain America," so it's obvious that he's a huge comic book fan.

Source: GeekTyrant


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:07:19 PM

Stick with Routh.
FpJGarcia writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:17:22 PM

Does the directing ability run in their family or is his brother just wanting to be like him?
Austin VBA writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:18:56 PM

I don't know about Routh. I wouldn't mind seeing a newer face to become Superman.
Barney Stinson writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:20:50 PM

lol Routh actually guest starred on "Chuck". I love the show. I don't know how Zachary would fit in as Superman. I just can't see him as Superman.
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:23:36 PM

@Austin - I thought Routh was great... but the story was lame.
trailertrash writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:28:10 PM

i just Auditioned for the man of steel on the fan made expendables trailer story !! lol

I agree Ranger Stick with Routh he did a good job.

Seems to be the norm now with these super hero casting stories , Chuck 20 or 30 names at the part then pick someone out of left field !!
Austin VBA writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:29:07 PM

@Ranger- Yes, I agree Routh was a wonderful Superman even as Kent he did well but I feel if people see him portraying Superman again they will be turned off by it due to Singers dreadful attempt. So I say start fresh with filmmakers whom have never been apart of Superman. Make it new again.
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:35:18 PM

Thx. trailer.

@Austin - I hear you. But if they keep re-casting Kal-El, it's going to be another Hulk sh*t-fest (I think). At least with Routh we know what we have.
pomme writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:39:00 PM

Jonah Nolan never directed nothing even a video for Kathy Perry and he could direct a big expensive franchise movie!!!
nope.com writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:44:11 PM

f*ck that stiff line delivering robot Routh

Hit that Gold's gym in Santa Monica Zachary Levi
Austin VBA writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:51:06 PM

@Ranger!
I know re-cast after re-cast can only end in a movies demise but I feel Superman is different, well as far as the Hulk goes its different. The Hulk was re-casted various times all within a small time span so it became confusing and in one movie you got this actor and in the next you got this guy and for the recent Hulk franchises it wasn't greatly enclosed to any extent regarding if its a sequel, prequel, you name it... As far as Superman goes the last actual Superman film was released in 06 and the one before that Superman IV released back in 87 and the story made it clear which film the most recent one succeeded and with that huge time gap between those two films Superman was forgotten in cinema and looked new again but it was a pile of sh*t and I never want to go back, so I'm saying with the talent behind this reboot (the likes of the Nolans) I'd say its in the best hands this franchise has seen and maybe they can bring something new out of Kal-El we haven't seen yet, thats where I'm done with Routh.... f*ck that was long...
Sinestro writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 8:00:37 PM

Jonathan works closely with his brother on most of Christopher's movies. I think he should be given a shot. Otherwise it may be someone like Tim Story, Mark Steven Johnson or Louis Leterrier. Hell, they could even let David Goyer direct, and while I like him as an ideas man, the movies he directed sucked ass.
Sinestro writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 8:03:01 PM

I don't know if I like Chuck as Supes. I think that Bomer guy, who had previously appeared on Chuck, would make a better Kal.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 8:13:23 PM

He's better off auditioning for Jimmy Olsen
Rambo writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 8:17:57 PM

or Lois lane
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 8:21:12 PM

Or Krypto - Superman's dog.
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 8:23:36 PM

@Austin - good post.

I think what Supes is missing in the movies is realism, actually.

Go save a planet... or contain a sun going Nova from wiping out a populated planet. Fight (and nearly die) Solomon Grundy. Do some 'super stuff' instead of wet-spotting over Lois and getting cats out of a tree.
velocityknown writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 8:31:52 PM

Chuck is one of my favorite shows on TV, but I can't see him as Superman. Though he could always be auditioning for another role in the movie.
Austin VBA writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 8:46:15 PM

I'm very excited to see what Jonathan can do with this. Given he certainty gave Nolan his input on Batman, I see him with just as a creative mind like Chris. This will be good.

DC continues the winning streak, Marvel is losing it!
Rick Taps writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 9:01:22 PM

Shouldn't Superman look like a man? What is Jim "Christ" Caviezel doing these days?
rabid writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 9:09:21 PM

Great choice. Routh sucked balls. He's a mannequin.
Levi has some humanity.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 9:31:12 PM

I hope this is more than just a rumor. I've been saying for a couple of years now that Levi would make an awesome Clark Kent, and more than likely a great Superman. I feel like he would bring something original to the role instead of just copying Christopher Reeve. I liked Routh in the role, but it was a little creepy at times seeing him playing the actor who played Superman instead of actually playing Superman. I still think the chick that plays Ellie on "Chuck" would make a great Wonder Woman and Yvonne Strahovsky would perfect for Catwoman.
CCBlev writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 9:37:39 PM

I agree I like Routh myself, bring him back. They have got to go epic with the story though, no more Lex Luthor bullsh*t.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 10:15:05 PM

"Superman Returns" was a mess: Kate Bosworth was dreadful, Kevin Spacey was hammy, the Super-kid plotline was ridiculous, and there was very little excitement or fun to the story. Routh's performance was the best thing about the film. I thought his Superman was very good, while his Clark Kent borrowed a little too heavily from the late Christopher Reeve.

Anyway, I think Routh should get a second chance; especially with an excellent filmmaker like Nolan "godfathering" the project.
johnny_boy writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 10:47:43 PM

With Nolan behind this project, it doesn't really matter who plays supes. its gonna be f*ckin epic
gunfighterii writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 11:19:19 PM

I say bring on Tom Welling!!!
the past 3 seaons of smallville has been excellent! the fans know him, hes passionate about the role (10 years playing it) and it'll work well with the whole last season of smallville. It'll be stupid for them to not realise this..
Only problem is i think sources say hes got a problem about wearing tights :S dont worry Tom you can always put a few socks or a banana down there!!

joking out of the way :P i think Tom Welling is best option (For Now) :)
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 11:24:32 PM

Routh was great, gave off a big Reeves vibe. I could buy him as both Superman and Clark. No need to recast, but at least in that image Zach looks like he could potentially look the part.
Ranger writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 2:37:20 AM

@PhantomClone - couldn't have expressed that better myself.

@gunfighterii - I DID think Smallville was on track with that 2-hour (directed by 2 directors for each hour - one being Welling) episode where Clark and the JLA met with the old superheros. So I thought there was a chance they were FINALLY going to get into his Fortress training with Jor-El, move ahead with Lois, etc. etc. etc. Then... THEN Smallville fell into their OLD formula (which has been great for making the show run for this many years) of making ONE show relevant to his destiny followed by 2 (min.), usually 3 episodes that have f*ck-all to do with said destiny. So they have lost this viewer yet AGAIN! I've fallen for that trick of theirs for too many years thinking they'd get the pickle out of their ass and on with Supes destiny.

It'll make a GREAT 10 season boxset when the show is done it's run. And I may track down that one episode I speak of (akin to: 'City on the Edge of Forever' in Star Trek, or 'The Inner Light' on Star Trek Next Generation or 'Trials and Tribble-actions' for (ugh!) DS9).

So to ALL Smallville writers...

You should just smile and BLOW ME!!!
rabid writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 3:34:51 AM

I agre that Tom Welling is the perfect actor for the role, but WB probably thinks it's too risky. And that's a shame. Welling is more familiar with the character than most comic nerds, and he's got the homegrown alien look down.
popcorn writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 3:38:48 AM

WTF is wrong with them, f*ck up Spider-man now Superman, thank god they dont make porn or itll all be guy
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 8:54:59 AM

Routh or Tom Welling yes

This guy doesnt even look like Superman a Jimmy Olsen yes but not Superman
moreHOLLYWOODvomit writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 9:08:42 AM

i agree with all of you that say tom welling, yeah smallville has been putting out sh*t but this kid is the best person on the planet to play superman hands down like 6:30
gunfighterii writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 9:57:53 AM

@Ranger - yeh i agree i have also fallen for that same trick every season haha.

Lets hope they do this last season right!

Lets not forget that Tom has also got film experience aswell with The Fog, and cheaper by the dozen (but lets for get that he was youngish) :P
Bunny X writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 11:09:15 AM

Routh was such a worthy owner of the cape. They really need to find a way to get him back. He did a great job as both Supes AND Kent. Not that I'll ever forget Reeves, Roth sure as hell was a great 2nd.
Not sure about Levi. In this pic he looks like he could pull it off. He's been pretty physical on chuck as of late. I just see him doing a better job as Clark Kent than as Superman, whereas Roth excelled in both roles.
makingcircles writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 11:47:17 AM

Hey nice thread everyone! Refreshing! I do think Routh got tossed a bad story and a director with a warped vision of the supes universe so I would be okay with Brandon getting another shot. Tom Welling would be my top choice though. WB probably won't let that happen because it would effect the continuity of the tv show...but I think they should do it anyway. One thing is for sure, Nolan will probably cast Michael Caine as Jor-el...haha.
Anthonypilone01 writes:
on August 1st, 2010 at 12:09:24 AM

Zachary Levi? uuuh....no.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved