WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Blockbuster May Disappear by 2011

Posted: July 13th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Blockbuster May Disappear by 2011Submit Comment
According to a report by 24/7 Wall St, ten companies are likely to no longer be around in 2011. Some brands on the list include RadioShack, Kia, T-Mobile and Blockbuster.

Blockbuster was the national leader in the video rental business for nearly two decades. But after losing another $65 million last quarter, the company is now considering bankruptcy. Meanwhile, Redbox and Netflix continue to perform well.

The report states that it's unlikely that Blockbuster will close all of its 6,000 stores before the end of 2011, but many locations will definitely disappear. And while it's brick-and-mortar business is dead, the company may continue to stick around with its movie kiosks and small DVD-by-mail business.

Source: Yahoo


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
realgirl76 writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 6:55:55 PM

That was a given....Netflix and Redbox dominate now...
Fixxer35 writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:03:17 PM

Now where will the socially awkward work? The military?

I do feel slightly responsible, though, for all the movies I watched online rather than renting.
FpJGarcia writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:09:47 PM

That kinda sucks...I'd prefer to have my movie now then a week from now...I suppose it's the same thing though.
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:09:58 PM

I c*nt believe they lasted thing long.

And Redbox is doing fine despite the studios f*cking them over by withholding titles whilst the likes of BlockBuster get the earlier release.

(did I really spell 'c*nt' above?! I'm a silly-nilly).
SofaKing writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:16:24 PM

It was bound to happen. It is way to convenient to stream movies online, you can watch as many as you want and its like $9 a month. Sorry B-Buster you had a good run.
trailertrash writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:20:49 PM

One of the best stores to buy films in the Uk now !!

But I've not rented a movie from there in years !!

ian_918 writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:21:43 PM

This sh*t is just annoying. Just 3 years ago i enjoyed the normal friday night which included going to a busy blockbuster to try to get that movie that everyone was going to rent. f*ckin' economy..
Austin VBA writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:23:52 PM

Like I f*cking care! Netflix is my sh*t, and I can't even remember the last time I even walked into a Blockbuster.
ShizPaf writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:50:59 PM

Our's is closing and selling all its movies for $4.99. It'll be there a few more days at the most.
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:54:50 PM

Bet Mel Gibson's career will go full Lohan before BlockBuster goes tits-up!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 8:03:27 PM

... so be sure to stock up on those 4 for $ 20 and 3 for $20 used DVDs they sell. So when they go out of business, you own the DVDs.
Rambo writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 8:16:54 PM

call the police?you're in my house you f*cking bitch!!!
redbluedevil writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 8:19:20 PM

I actually prefer Blockbuster by mail over Netflix, as they don't charge extra for blurays (unlike Netflix).
Frank4969 writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 8:24:59 PM

Thank the lord. With their overpriced game and DVD rentals along with bullsh*t late fees, I'm glad they are going out. Good riddance to a bullsh*t company. Now if we can just get some of those banks WE bailed out with our money to go under and the ceo's to get SHOT!
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 8:29:09 PM

lol...

Just logged onto their site (to look up the availability of a movie) and got this:

"A problem has occurred which prevents the display of this page. The site administrator has been notified. Please try again later."

Please try again later?! f*ck you BlockBuster... you don't have 'til later' for me to get back to you. Time is up... let's go behind the wood shed together and I'll put you out of your misery!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 8:59:47 PM

If Mel owned it, they could rename it BALLBUSTER VIDEO ...
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 9:02:14 PM

Or:

'YOU f*ckING GOLD-DIGGING c*nt, YOU USELESS f*ckING WHORE, I f*ckING OWN YOU BITCH - Video'
rabid writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 9:11:13 PM

video stores are as obsolete as libraries. ya gotta roll with the times. Had they any foresight, Blockbuster could have been where Netflix is at now.
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 9:17:56 PM

What about 2 physical objects can't occupy the same space in the same dimension theory then?
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 10:17:23 PM

This is kind of sad. Not too surprising though. I remember being so excited as a kid to go to Blockbuster with my parents to rent videos.
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 10:21:48 PM

I'll give everyone the insight as I am a current, disgruntled bbv employee and I'll give you all the real deal about the company. They are definitely in biiiiiig trouble. Obviously, no one comes into the store much anymore. I see many customers everyday but it has dwindled in the past two years. If you have been going to a blockbuster recently you probably have been harassed by our "Rewards" program or buying a bundle including popcorn, candy and a 20 oz. soda. Supposedly from what I've heard is that it was a test to show possible buyers that we can sell products. One such buyer being mentioned is AT&T. I agree with this article though, fully. I've been saying it all year. The kiosk I'm sure will stay, its a better deal I think than Redbox as we'll have slated movies exclusive to bb. But yeah, it's going to be over verrrrry soon.
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 10:35:29 PM

@Rabid. They thought they had foresight. The began an online rental program about a year after Netflix started. It was competitive but because they had low numbers, they thought the better way to market it was raise the prices and add coupons for in-store rentals. Blockbuster's biggest mistake was negating late-fees as it gave customers spoiled child syndrome: "Wahwahwah, my movies are late but I don't wanna pay!!!" I get people bitching all the time about the new fees (better than the old days, just a dollar a day past the 5 day window, reasonable to me as well as Redbox customers who pay the same thing). Unfortunately this is the biggest problem: customers renting movies are STUPID! You come into a store on a Friday night after movies are released on DVD on Tuesdays expecting to get all the big named movies, then you want to bitch and moan that you can't get what you want, then they give you "raincheck" for it. Then when you return sh*t late, you bitch and moan again and they wave your fee. Customers ruined BBV as much as the company. I've worked for the hell-hole for 5 years now. It's bullsh*t but its the truth. Just like Randal Graves said in Clerks; "This place would be great if it weren't for the f*cking customers."
johnny_boy writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 10:37:42 PM

whats a blockbuster and radioshack?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 11:54:03 PM

Blockbuster Videos new slogan ... " A Wal-Mart coming to your neighborhood REAL soon. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 11:55:18 PM

Kia's going to be gone ? What the f*ck will all those stranded motorist do then ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 11:56:07 PM

They could relabel it T-Bag Mobil and try to counterculture the thing as porno mobile ...
roxybeauty writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 1:50:42 AM

no shock there my local NEVER has any movies lol
Ranger writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 2:20:39 AM

@fadeddragon - I'm happy with the service at BlockBuster. One of your teen-aged cuties gave me a blow-job in the storage room. Cindy... Samantha something or f*cking other.

So I bought a DVD.

Mudders writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 3:28:22 AM

blockbuster was here in new zealand for awhile but all the stores closed down about 4-5 yrs ago...think cause they didnt have a porn section it had no value to anyone...not to me anyway...
KindredMac writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 9:14:35 AM

I wouldn't believe anything these yahoos say. They have Kia on the list. Kia is poised to bop into the top three in auto sales.
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 11:17:28 AM

@Ranger. I top that. I f*cked a milf in the back office after I closed the store and turned off the cameras. Oh, and who knew ps3's were so easy to take home. I think I single handedly bankrupt blockbuster.
Ranger writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 12:01:20 PM

lol.

Nice!
Bunny X writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 1:40:01 PM

Get in there early with NetFlix and Redbox before more start popping up.

Wow, I remember it wasn't too long ago that it was them and West Coast Video then Hollywood Video and they all just ruled. Now years later in-store rentals seems like such an outdated premise.
rabid writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 1:55:48 PM

LOL! Nobody pays money to see movies anymore. That's so 1990's.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 2:01:23 PM

that's because blockbuster just isn't what it used to be, used up just like Mel Gibson ....
Ranger writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 5:37:00 PM

... like Lohan's twat and life.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved