WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Why Did "Predators" Cut Out Popular Trailer Scene?

Posted: July 13th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Why Did "Predators" Cut Out Popular Trailer Scene?Submit Comment
Sometimes scenes that appear in the trailers don't show up in the theatrical release. The reason is because the trailers are cut before the director/editor decides on the final cut.

A similar situation happened with the "Predators" reboot, which decided to leave out the best scene from the trailers which shows Royce (Adrien Brody) being covered with many Predator gun-sights. In the movie, however, Royce is seen with just one gun-sight on him.

MTV News caught up with Robert Rodriguez, who revealed that he shot that scene specifically for the trailer. "You don't want people to always know," he said. "A lot of my movies have trailer shots that I shoot just for the trailer, so that people haven't seen the movie already but they get the feeling of what it's supposed to represent."

Rodriguez added that the idea was to include a similar scene later one. "It's kind of a good twist to do that," he added. "If you go and you think that's what it's going to be, and then it's not that and it ends up happening in another place in the movie."

Click here to read our "Predators" review.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 3:54:24 AM

Did wonder when i watched this last night what happened to that scene , that was the best bit of the trailer !!
trailertrash writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 3:58:44 AM

A lot of my movies have trailer shots that I shoot just for the trailer, It's kind of a good twist to do that," ?????

Really !!! thats like thinking your going to see Mila Kunis naked and you end up seeing Roseanne minge instead !!!
AYT BALL writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 4:12:07 AM

@ Trailer - LOL what you think of it then?

and personally i think its a cheap ploy and kinda false advertising doing this kinda thing, but there are only 4 predators in the movie so its not like it was ever a cut scene.
johnny_boy writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 5:08:50 AM

I remember seeing a short feature that had that part and did include the numerous dots
johnny_boy writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 5:20:14 AM

Speaking of dots, I'm surprised I haven't read any Hindu jokes yet regarding them.
Bunny X writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 8:54:55 AM

Personally, it would have been better if the trackers were on the foreheads of each human individually at the same time rather than all of them on Brody. still haven't seen this but I am dying to go.
I need to hurry up before Inception is released because there's no way I'm seeing Inception before I see Predators.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 8:55:27 AM

Who cares. The rest of the movie was sh*t anyway.
trailertrash writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 9:29:17 AM

AYT-

I liked it better than the AvP movies , It Had some nice references to the first movie (as you said it had) and i thought Brody was pretty good as the hero.

It was Pretty much what i was expecting !

It did Make me buy the blu ray of the Original today which is still the best by a mile.

@SAC - why didn't you like it ? Did you hate it as much as the Elm St movie !!
CCBlev writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 10:20:38 AM

@trailer
I though it was pretty good when I went and seen it Sunday. Wish Danny Trejo coulda been in it longer.
trailertrash writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 10:28:34 AM

CC- he didn't last to long did he , He most likely did it as a favor to Rodriguez to beef the cast up at the begining of the movie.

I Did buy (no freebies this time, dam) my Inception tickets for this saturday !!

Get in there , can't wait !!
CCBlev writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 10:56:48 AM

Trailer-
Nice, i'm seeing it Sunday, but I just downloaded the soundtrack off of Itunes! The music alone is ginving me a ragin boner.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 11:27:33 AM

Not going to lie, I was really disappointed with this movie
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 12:09:59 PM

If Rodriguez IS telling the truth, and he never intended that scene to be in the movie (and he's not back-peddling), then good for him. I think more (all) should put out trailers that do that... entice (which is their intent). But not so off-theme they don't represent anything in the movie (so where that line should be drawn, who is to say?).
BuuMonster writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 12:33:16 PM

Well that is better than Terminator: Salvation which showed gave the whole movie away in its trailer
Austin VBA writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 12:38:01 PM

ah f*ck... I always thought like the most brutal sh*t was going to happen every time I saw that scene in the trailer. I'm a little less compelled now. Still I give it to Rodriguez for that curiosity promoting!
rabid writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 12:43:43 PM

I liked Predators, but I was kind of pissed when this scene never happened. Putting it into the trailer is false advertising. If your film is good then you shouldn't have to trick people into seeing it, and Predators was good.
ChainsawX writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 12:53:04 PM

good twist my *** thats called bait and switch i know there have been plenty of movies that have cut out scenes i can live with that but...this is a little bit different this implies that there were more than 4 predators.....in the film when in fact there wasnt. how the hell does it create a surprise...a good one at least ...surprise there are less predators than you thought...which was one dissapointment in the film more 'predator 2 " had more Predators and was closer to the mythos....but i guess i wouldnt be bitching if it were the other way around they only show one predator dot...then have lots of others pop up...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 12:53:44 PM

They assemble the trailer with the dailies, so you can't blame Rob or Nimrod for that.
ChainsawX writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 12:58:49 PM

and yes the word predators is plural...but only 4 predators seriously...
Stuntastic writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 2:34:23 PM

I was just thinking about this today. That's what kinda ruined it for me IMO. I really thought there was gonna b a swarm of Predators then come to find out there's only one in that particular seen. Oh, Rodriguez and your shananigans. It's kinda like Lebron and his shananigans with his "Decision". Sorry, but I just couldn't resist. And the way the fans and owner reacted...priceless!!!
darthraige writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 2:43:38 PM

I'm still pissed that the f*cking opening shot to the Revenge of the Sith full trailer didn't appear in the movie. Revenge of the Fallen also had a couple shots not in the movie as well.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 4:55:38 PM

they didn't do it because there weren't that many predators in the film, only a total of four and one wasn't even combat ready through-out most of the film ....
trailertrash writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 5:21:05 PM

CC- LOL

9.6 on IMDB 2763 votes already , It's looking good !!
Orias writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 7:02:06 PM

Yeah, they have a name for that Rodriguez, it's called False Advertising.
Aingx writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 10:39:29 PM

False advertising anyone?
Mudders writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 3:14:14 AM

yeah i was a bit pissed when i noticed this...gave me the impression that he had walked into a settlement full of them and that was gonna be a turning point in the movie...but it was an awesome scene regardless of how many targets there were...i mean the spine n skull removal is always a predator trademark kill....loved that.

@ CC yeah danny trejo looked like he was goin places for a bit shame he exited earlier than i thought he would....

help me.....help me....that was an intense scene
supaflywill writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 11:48:29 AM

CANT BELIVE THIS FILM WAS sh*t !!! I VERY LET DOWN BY THIS MOVIE- THE TRAILER LOOKED MINT AS DOES THE MACHETE TRAILER I WONDER IF THAT IS sh*t TO ???
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 4:35:45 PM

f*ck off! I hate scenes that don't appear in the actually film. You know what? How about not giving away the whole movie Hollywood. Oh that's right you can't cause most of the movies coming out are unoriginal trash or remakes.
funseeker writes:
on July 17th, 2010 at 5:27:22 PM

sooo cool ... next rodriguez can put in trailers whatever he wants ... why a trailer for a musical should not have some grand explosion or a spaceship if that will bring the crowds in ...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved