WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Fires and Insults Edward Norton, Agent Fights Back

Posted: July 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Fires and Insults Edward Norton, Agent Fights BackSubmit Comment
We recently reported that Edward Norton has been replaced as Bruce Banner/The Hulk in "The Avengers" movie for being a troublemaker and an actor who does not work well with others. Marvel Studios President of Production Kevin Feige confirmed the news by saying:

"We have made the decision to not bring Ed Norton back to portray the title role of Bruce Banner in 'The Avengers.' Our decision is definitely not one based on monetary factors, but instead rooted in the need for an actor who embodies the creativity and collaborative spirit of our other talented cast members. 'The Avengers' demands players who thrive working as part of an ensemble, as evidenced by Robert [Downey Jr], Chris [Hemsworth], Chris [Evans], Sam [Jackson], Scarlett [Johansson], and all of our talented casts. We are looking to announce a name actor who fulfills these requirements, and is passionate about the iconic role in the coming weeks."

Norton's talent agent Brian Swardstrom just responded to the harsh words by stating:

"This offensive statement from Kevin Feige at Marvel is a purposefully misleading, inappropriate attempt to paint our client in a negative light. Here are the facts: two months ago, Kevin called me and said he wanted Edward to reprise the role of Bruce Banner in 'The Avengers.' He told me it would be his fantasy to bring Edward on stage with the rest of the cast at Comic-Con and make it the event of the convention. When I said that Edward was definitely open to this idea, Kevin was very excited and we agreed that Edward should meet with ['The Avengers' director] Joss Whedon to discuss the project. Edward and Joss had a very good meeting at which Edward said he was enthusiastic at the prospect of being a part of the ensemble cast. Marvel subsequently made him a financial offer to be in the film and both sides started negotiating in good faith. This past Wednesday, after several weeks of civil, uncontentious discussions, but before we had come to terms on a deal, a representative from Marvel called to say they had decided to go in another direction with the part. This seemed to us to be a financial decision but, whatever the case, it is completely their prerogative, and we accepted their decision with no hard feelings.

We know a lot of fans have voiced their public disappointment with this result, but this is no excuse for Feige's mean spirited, accusatory comments. Counter to what Kevin implies here, Edward was looking forward to the opportunity to work with Joss and the other actors in 'The Avengers' cast, many of whom are personal friends of his. Feige's statement is unprofessional, disingenuous and clearly defamatory. Mr. Norton's talent, tireless work ethic and professional integrity deserve more respect, and so do Marvel's fans.
"

Click here to read more about "The Avengers."

Source: HitFix


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 50 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 4:49:18 AM

Marvel, its very well known that you're cheap. don't front like its a monetary issue. you're only lying to yourselves. plus Norton helped essemble the avengers project. was it not him who added the whole soldier serum in the incredible hulk. plus his rewrites helped make it a solid film cuz god knows that zak penn can't write good sh*t on his own, not to mention not giving Norton writer credits. I had such high hopes for you Marvel but you're really blowing it. IF i weren't such a big fan of the characters, i would say i hope you loose money cuz you pissed off fans by firing Norton. Eat a d*ck, Marvel.
johnny_boy writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 4:51:03 AM

its a monetary= its not a monetary
sc_kg writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 5:21:32 AM

I know, who should play Bruce Banner... Terrence Howard.
masht7 writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 5:29:52 AM

@sc

What about Chris Evans?
Whitta writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 5:42:41 AM

Next week, Marvel will tell us they're too cheap to afford all the current hard working actors, and instead, Eddie Murphy will play everyone
avaela writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 5:50:22 AM

Robert Pattinson should play Bruce Banner!
dbreuning writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 5:52:38 AM

This is f*cked up. Anyway the Avengers will still rock. Too bad Ed can't be in it :(
encoreyourface writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 5:59:54 AM

whitta-loL!

Johnny-Yes. Marvel, for our sake, eat a big sweaty herpes covered d*ck .... preferably Lady Gaga's.
SofaKing writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 6:05:14 AM

Kevin Feige is about to get curb stomped!
Didn't he see American History X?

I can't believe they would say Norton wouldn't "thrive working as a part of an ensemble" He has worked with a ton of celebrities. Thier (and our) loss.
FBO writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 6:20:14 AM

come on marvel, even Fox isn't this retarded. Actually I am now starting to believe that Hollywood is just one giant tard farm.
AYT BALL writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 6:24:06 AM

Nortons the man, better off doing his own thing anyway! f*ck marvel
DRzFiNe$T writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 6:29:10 AM

Marvel sure knows how to kill some fun as good as they can create it.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 6:47:14 AM

After all the money issues that have surrounded all their other projects, do they really believe that we should swallow this?

Marvel, you are standing on a mountain right now. The reasons you.'re in that position is because of the love of the fans and that you took some gambling with RDJ. So at this point, no matter what, you're biggest project are almost sure fire hits, there's no need for this greedy-ass sh*t. You're about to loose all goodwill you've earned so far.
moreHOLLYWOODvomit writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 9:51:02 AM

SO THEY FIRE THE BEST ACTOR IN THE PROJECT? BECAUSE HE IS SO GOOD THAT THEY DONT WANT HIM ON SCREEN MAKING EVERYONE ELSE LOOK LIKE CRAP? YEAH ROBERT IS GOOD BUT COULD NEVER PULL OFF THE ROLES ED HAS. AND PROPS TO JOHNNY_BOY FOR SAYING HOW ED CO-WROTE HULK, I MEAN NOT ONLY IS THIS GUY A GREAT ACTOR BUT CAN ALSO HELP THEM SCRIPT THE MOVIE AND THEY FIRE HIM!?!? WTF MARVEL
OneTime writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 10:05:03 AM

lindsay lohan..mel gibson...meet edward norton. too soon?
The Ripper writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 10:32:25 AM

20 bucks says one of the Phoenix brothers does it. Wait, they're both dead these days. Edward is such a high caliber actor too. What the f*ck Marvel?!
WV-Films writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 10:43:02 AM

That's too bad. Seeing Norton and Downey on screen together would have been amazing. They totally would have rocked together. Now Marvel will go 2nd or 3rd tier to save money, and RDJ will have to carry the whole movie on his back. *This Sucks*
SACdaddy writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 10:43:31 AM

Yawn. I love how you guys seem to be completely ignoring Norton wellknown reputation for being a huge problem on set and after production just to add some legitmacy to these stupid Marvel ventures. Don't get me wrong, the guy is usually right with all the chages he's famous for making, but that doesn't get passed the fact that those spontaneous revisions and mood swings are hell on a production (and its budget). His career is already suffering from this. The last 10 yr or so have been littered with BO flops and little critical acclaim, and now we're seeing him in less and less films. He better chill the f*ck out before he ends up like Val Kilmer on the Hollywood blacklist. The guy is a great actor, but his ego is getting in the way of his talent.

This is the smartest thing Marvel has done since hiring RDJ. Joaquin Phoenix is a fine choice to replace him for the 10 minutes of screentime Banner will appear.
scarface85 writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 10:44:25 AM

that gotta hurt marvel
Lizardking515 writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 10:46:26 AM

Norton should retailiate and try n get into the DC movie franchise now which is starting to bloom for the JLA movie. Idk who he could play, but wut do u guys think?
Rambo writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 11:19:13 AM

Norton is a gifted actor but he doesn't fit to be Bruce Banner,he is too skinny.
FBO writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 11:20:04 AM

@SAC - i ve always heard that joquin was the hard one to work with. One producer said he was as crazy as a cat lady
koul writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 11:45:05 AM

Marvel must be out of their damn mind. they can't replace Norton
rabid writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 11:52:11 AM

It sucks a little, but it's not a showstopper or anything. They probably didn't want to pay hi million dollar asking price for a minute's worth of scenes. I can't imagine that the script calls for very much Bruce Banner. If Marvel could have used this actor, they would have just for added star power, so there is probably a good reason. It's also been said, especially during Incredible Hulk, that Norton is very difficult to work with and likes to have creative control.
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 12:11:19 PM

They could have just not brought Norton back without the personal slam attached to it.

Marvel, you're cheap and now you also suck.

Phoenix (if he's the pick) is amazing in anything he does. So, I'm OK with that.

But really Marvel... RDJ won't save you if CA and Thor end up sucking worse than a Twilight Vampires.

@Whitta - lol.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 1:04:47 PM

Aren't they paying RDJ a fortune to be in the Iron Man movies? So this can't be over money.

I enjoyed Norton's Hulk and was hoping they will bring him back for another movie.
VN1X writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 2:21:50 PM

Who cares for this stupid sh*t anyway. Oh wait, all of you above. :(
kiba0417 writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 2:38:38 PM

wow marvel
just wow
you suck now
trailertrash writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 2:51:27 PM

VN1X -

Thanks for the input, it's been an invaluable contribution to the discussion and i can't wait for your next world stopping post.

Thanks again , Your no 1 fan TT
Time traveller writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 3:04:15 PM

"I love how you guys seem to be completely ignoring Norton wellknown reputation for being a huge problem on set and after production just to add some legitmacy to these stupid Marvel ventures. Don't get me wrong, the guy is usually right with all the chages he's famous for making, but that doesn't get passed the fact that those spontaneous revisions and mood swings are hell on a production (and its budget). His career is already suffering from this. The last 10 yr or so have been littered with BO flops and little critical acclaim, and now we're seeing him in less and less films. He better chill the f*ck out before he ends up like Val Kilmer on the Hollywood blacklist. The guy is a great actor, but his ego is getting in the way of his talent. "

This is the smartest thing Marvel has done since hiring RDJ. Joaquin Phoenix is a fine choice to replace him for the 10 minutes of screentime Banner will appear."

SACDaddy is correct I believe, this is the smartest thing Marvel has done recently.
Norton's career is lready suffering from his spontaneous revisions and mood swings, it's indeed hell on a production. He better keep his talent above his ego.
I'm not the biggest Hulk fan,and while Norton ket me entertained throughout the film,being a stellar actor as he is, I will not miss him, probably because I will not miss this character at all.Although the whole moral dilemma of Bruce Banner was intriguing(it's funny how almsot all characters have the same name initials, pETER pARKER, bRUCE bANNER, rEED rICHARDS etc)
I just want Iron Man,Cap and Thor to stay the same,Sam Jackson is cool too,playing Sam Jac..I mean Nick Fury.
trailertrash writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 3:16:51 PM

Time Traveller- I think the reason he named the characters like that (peter parker etc) was so he could remember their names easier.

I might be wrong and if i am i'm sure someone will correct me.
trailertrash writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 3:18:21 PM

Hope it's VN1X he's my hero !! ;)
dawnstryker writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 3:18:22 PM

good for Marvel...Ed needs to learn how to work with others and do his job as the actor not the director.Even though i thought he did a great job in the role you just don't need to be a d*ck Ed
LastActionHero writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 3:28:42 PM

I like how the rip a real actor like Norton, but put these clowns like Chris Evans up as an example of what they want. What a joke.
darkraven28 writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 3:45:30 PM

f*ck Marvel and f*ck Kevin Fiege. How many goddamn do-overs do you need with regard to Hulk anyway, you prick?!?! If I were any of the set cast members of The Avengers, I would simply walk from the film right now and leave the whole thing in flux. This is such bullsh*t.
ian_918 writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 4:03:11 PM

Norton was a good Bruce but i think with the right director Eric Bana would be really good. The Hulk was obviously poorly done so i think they should give him another sh*t. Eric Bana is the sh*t.
Aingx writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 4:16:29 PM

Another reason why avengers will suck....
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 5:03:25 PM

Get anyone to play Banner. As others have posted... Banner won't get much screen time (I'll suspect) anyway.

The Hulk in a stand-alone movie sucks (apologies to The Hulk fans).

Just stick The Hulk in The Avengers and be done with this.

Still... to Marvel: your 'low-balling' the $'s to actors, really sucks farts outta dead cows. I hope you get what you pay for.
ShizPaf writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 5:26:58 PM

Im almost positive there are lots of dedicated , hardworking, non penny pinching, true fans working at Marvel but I'm not sure they are at the wheel of this crazy taxi. I find it difficult to hate on the whole organization, kinda like the government. Except I hate the whole government.
Austin VBA writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 5:29:31 PM

I don't know... after IM2 I lost some faith in Marvel. After every article I read about the Avengers I lose more and more faith and start to think Marvel sold out and is becoming more and more Hollywood, but then I'm always reminded how much I really do prefer DC. I'm not complaining... Green Lantern will arrive soon.
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 5:35:01 PM

GL will be the cat's ass!

Can't wait!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 7:19:42 PM

Norton really needs his agent to defend him against Marvel ?

IT'S f*ckING MARVEL.


They've had less than a handful of characters (if that) that did well at the box office or weren't shredded to freeze dried sh*tlogs by sh*tty screenwriters.


MARVEL NEEDS TO START TAKING THEIR FRANCHISE MOVIES SERIOUSLY OR PEOPLE WILL MORE INCLINED TO WATCH DC MOVIES.
jdl107 writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 8:14:15 PM

Holy f*ck, Marvel for sure better get a taste of this fan angst. This is for sure not the only site thats doing this.

What the f*ck man, now why should I even look forward to the Avengers? You just took out one of the core reasons it would be great, f*cking morons.
Austin VBA writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 8:56:48 PM

Dude, I've already converted to the path of DCism.
rabid writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 11:06:29 PM

Why does everyone care anyway? Bruce Banner has pretty much nothing to do with the Avengers. I'm actually surprised he's even in the film, so I can't imagine his scene being any more than a minute or two.
rabid writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 11:13:09 PM

Marvel shouldn't get all the blame. Norton is notoriously difficult to work with. He probably was not very anxious to take what amounts to a tiny role. He probably wanted to be the main character.
popcorn writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 12:14:05 AM

this from the same people that made fantastic four, do you really know what is good or not
Man in Black writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 1:08:27 AM

$5 says DC picks him up ... the flash anyone ? martin manhunter ?
rabid writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 3:33:54 AM

Not the same people that made Fantastic Four.
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2010 at 1:37:40 PM

@MiB - nice call on The Flash! I'd like to see that myself.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved