WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Despicable Me" Beats "Predators" This Weekend

Posted: July 11th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Despicable Me" Beats "Predators" This WeekendSubmit Comment
Steve Carell's animated "Despicable Me" took in a whopping $60 million at the domestic box office this weekend, beating "The Twilight Saga: Eclipse" and almost making back the film's $69 million budget.

"Eclipse" had to settle for second place by adding another $33 million to its domestic take of $237 million. Worldwide, the third installment already grossed $456 million and it only cost $68 million to make.

Coming in third is Robert Rodriguez's $40 million "Predators" reboot, which earned $25.3 million at home and another $18 million overseas. The movie made far less than "Aliens vs Predator," which grossed $38 million during its opening weekend back 2004.

Click here to read our "Despicable Me" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masKritic writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 3:29:33 PM

Predators has a bad name for itself now because of the sh*tty AVP movies. Thats why the first AVP movie made way more people were actually excited about it.
Preditorian writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 4:00:57 PM

"Despicable Me" and "Predators" are both good movies as i see it, just wish that Predators could have been a better turnout for the opening weekend. Sad that the Pieces of sh*t that is AVP1,2 tarnished the image of the Predators so badly. Although word of mouth will work here me think, and Predators will have legs.
johnthemon writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 4:26:26 PM

Predators actually did better than I expected. There wasn't much marketing, and the AVP films were near universally derided. It will make its money back.
snake eater writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 4:34:53 PM

despicable me is acceptable to be no.1 but predators was suppose to be on the second place and takes more money than avp.this is all because of that bloody twilight movie i hate twilight, i hate kristen stewart who doesn't even know how to act they don`t deserve to have any award or highest gross film twilight is nothing but a screw up faggots love story
Mudders writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 5:44:52 PM

here in new zealand predators was low on marketing but i think people who turned out to watch it were REAL fans not just "oh,ill go have a look" i.e. my wife(who thought predators was actually pretty good)but karate kid,twilight an toy story3 turned out bigger crowds due to all the kids being on holiday from school.

predators never really had a chance as the parents or guardians who wanted to see preds probably had to take their little runts to the other flicks.
despicable me hasnt even been mentioned here...maybe at mcd's or burger king but not on tv/radio
Jigsaws_apprentice writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 6:05:33 PM

People say that Predator has a bad name for itself because of AVP but one thing is for sure - the Alien Prequel will NOT be affected! Alien will rape the Box Office! Can not wait, its long overdue.

velocityknown writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 6:45:06 PM

Regardless of AVP tarnishing the Predator name it still made back its budget and then some. I think we'll be seeing Predators 2 eventually.

Another big opening for Steve Carell, no wonder he's leaving The Office.

But the big news comes next week when the biggest (and from what I'm hearing the best) movie of the summer opens.

Ready for Inception.
Bullshit Artist 99 writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 8:02:38 PM

Predators was a great action flick. If you are going to the movies, you are going to choose comedy over serious almost most of the time especially during these hard times. Plus I watched throngs of little minions, I mean children run to see "Despicable Me" when I waited in line for "Predators." "Predators" turned out to be better than "Transformers 2" and probably "Transformers 3" combined. Adrien Brody just needs to stop being deep throat and get some losengers. While Alice Braga shoud star the second movie since she was hot and incredible in this movie.
Austin VBA writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 8:07:20 PM

Despicable Me did have a lot of marketing. Advertisements to every film I saw at the theatre for at least 2 months. It got me interested and from what I here its not an utter let down like every other movie lately.
Vin12 writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 8:53:06 PM

Alex o'loughlin for Bruce banner.
Barney Stinson writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 9:33:37 PM

I finally went to see Toy Story 3. Just f*cking amazing.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 9:54:53 PM

^^^

isn't it? one of the best f*cking movies i have EVER seen.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 9:55:39 PM

predators was a great flick, i really hope they do a second one. and a great plot-twist ...
Rambo writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 10:23:54 PM

predators would have been doing better with better casting.
Barney Stinson writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 11:23:42 PM

@Encore - It really was. I teared up like a "little bitch" (as others might say) at the end, but f*ck what anyone else says. Any movie that has that kind of an impact on people is f*cking awesome (unless a movie makes people cry b/c it's f*cking terrible that is.)

This is by far my favorite movie of the past couple of years. Can't wait for Inception, which looks to rival Toy Story 3 at awesomeness.
jdl107 writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 1:04:37 AM

That sh*t was hardly advertised but still managed to make 25 mil. Thats cool.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 3:23:55 AM

barney-i'm not afraid to admit the end got to me too. when i heard about all the people who cried i was like "pussies" but then i watched it and now i know where they're coming from.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 9:52:10 AM

I still can't believe how many of yall like Predators. I can understand people liking it more than those AVP pieces of sh*t, but it still wasn't much of a movie. As far as I'm concerned this film proved that the Predator brand is dead (much like any series that tries to move on without Arnold). Lets face it, the mystery and bravado of the original made the film. Most of the film you didn't know what the hell those guys were fighting let own how to kill it. The fact that only one of the creatures was bad enough to take out several platoons of special forces/mercenaries gave the antagonist a since of invincibility that these new Predators just don't have. I nearly choked on my popcorn watching that lame fight between the creature and the Yakuza. That bullsh*t just wouldn't fly in the original. Neither would the stupid serial killer angle or the Fishburne comic relief. The original also benefited from the fact that it took the baddest human on the planet and pitted him againt a creature that frankly made him look like a huge Austrian p*ssy. Not only did that thing outsmart Arnie and his whole crew of badasses but it also slapped him around like 10 yo school girl. This film has NONE of that.

One question, if you think this film is "great", then how do you rate the original? It must be the greatest film ever made right? Its lightyears better than this crap in ever aspect. This is just one fan's opinion, but I believe that we've been so watered down with mediocrity lately that we can barely tell what a good action movie looks like anymore. The proof is in the pudding. Real action films like Book of Eli and the A-team struggle to make a splash at the BO while bullsh*t like Clash of the Titans and Predators make their budgets back opening weekend. People praise Predators as if it added something new and interesting to the genre, when in reality it added nothing but copied scenes from the original and a bunch of completely useless characters. I'm sorry people, this film is not the savior of the frachise or the action genre. My money is on Sly and The Expendables to remind us all of what real action look like.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 9:59:22 AM

LOL! let "alone" how to kill it.

BTW anyone who got emotional at the end of Predators needs to turn in their man card immediately and proceed directly to the next screening of Twatlight. p*ssy doesn't even come close to describing how gay that is.
MickDigital writes:
on July 12th, 2010 at 5:35:38 PM

Steve Carell is on fire! His movies are making money and are consistently good. Is there any other comedy actor that can say that right now? Hit TV show, two major movies in July, and it keeps going and going.

Top 4 Steve Carell movies:
http://www.digitallizardproductions.com/daily-fournication-07.12.10--top-4-steve-carell-movies.html

How can you argue with his track record?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved