WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Edward Norton Replaced as The Hulk in "The Avengers"

Posted: July 10th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Edward Norton Replaced as The Hulk in "The Avengers"Submit Comment
HitFix is reporting that Marvel Studios has decided to replace Edward Norton with an unknown actor to play Bruce Banner and The Hulk in the upcoming "Avengers" film.

Norton has been expressing interest in joining the film and has even kept his schedule empty to make room for "The Avengers." The actor then met with director Joss Whedon, returning to Marvel with enthusiasm for the project. And after all that, the studio still decided to go with an unknown.

Nobody is sure what happened, since Marvel is keeping Robert Downey Jr, Samuel L. Jackson, Chris Evans and Chris Hemsworth. So why replace Norton? If I were to take a guess, it's likely that Norton asked for too much money and we all know how the studio deals with that.

Click here to read more about "The Avengers."

Source: HitFix


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 53 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Lowryder writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 4:59:18 AM

Looks like hes tryin to take a massive sh*t in that pic lol
nuttie30xx writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 5:02:30 AM

simple joss weirdo must not like good actors
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 5:09:36 AM

I'm really starting to dislike Marvel. It's all about saving some pennies here and there. Norton did an ok Banner and should have fitted nicely next to RDJ.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 5:19:10 AM

Marvel - The House of Ideas ... that are retarded and remind us why we prefer DC ...

a. Fantastic Four

b. Fantastic Four part deux, with Silver Surfer

c. Daredevil

d. Wolverine : Origins

e. Elektra

f. Spiderman III

g. Punisher : War Zone

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 5:22:10 AM

^ It's not like they're having to pay for Stan " Freeloader " Lee's funeral yet.

Yet.

Hey Stan, did Kirby's c*ck taste like ink ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 5:25:27 AM

Stan Lee : Proof that Alan Moore was right all along.

Three writers who could outf*cking write Stan " TrashCan " Lee :

Alan Moore

Grant Morrison

Mark Millar or Warren Ellis
CornLord writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 5:27:13 AM

Good. I was never really happy with Norton for the role of Bruce Banner anyway. They did a much better job than Ang Lee did, but it still seemed weird watching him play that role. And I remember hearing that the Hulk makes more of an appearance than Bruce Banner does, so it might not even be a big deal.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 5:29:55 AM

nuttie30xx writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 5:02:30 AM

simple joss weirdo must not like good actors


@nuttie30xx

It's more like Joe Quesada and Avi Arad ...


Oh! Almost forgot ... Ghost Rider!

Thanks for f*cking our childhoods up, Marvel,
you f*ckin' mooks.
wonderBOY writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 5:45:37 AM

since joss whedon is directing were going to see nathan fillon as bruce banner
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 6:08:30 AM

Why?
lokopr writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 6:10:17 AM

@ Max Rockatansky Junior

mmm all those movies were not made by Marvel =/
johnny_boy writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 6:23:24 AM

Marvel you're just digging yourself a bigger hole here. Norton was the main reason TIH was actually good.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 6:34:53 AM

lokopr writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 6:10:17 AM

@ Max Rockatansky Junior

mmm all those movies were not made by Marvel =/


@lokopr

MARVEL CHARACTERS ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 6:36:19 AM

lokopr writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 6:10:17 AM

@ Max Rockatansky Junior

mmm all those movies were not made by Marvel =/


@lokopr

MARVEL CHARACTERS ...
charmed23 writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 7:59:11 AM

I like Chris Evans but he is unlikely to do a good job WHILE Norton has established himself to be a good actor and a decent Bruce Banner.
oh Marvel Marvel
darkraven28 writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 8:02:03 AM

Next thing you know they'll try to do a remake of Fight Club with Jay Baruchel and have it as a PG-13 thrill ride akin to Fast and Furious.

f*ck. Gave Hollywood another idea. God f*cking damn it, Brain!
Ranma-Irias writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 8:07:34 AM

yeah I'm starting to dislike Marvel as well what the f*ck? Norton even saved the movie from being sh*t by re-writing it!
FpJGarcia writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 8:09:58 AM

Well that really sucks....
CCBlev writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 9:36:22 AM

Well sh*t, The Hulk Reboot pt:2 is coming up soon after I bet.
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 9:40:12 AM

He looks like Rob Schneider in that pic
Inception writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 9:42:46 AM

The only actor that knows how to act got replaced (yep, better than Down in cocaine on your backyard Jr.) what a funny business. Next candidate, for Hulk, mmm.. another worthless actor like the assemble cast of the Avengers.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 9:44:28 AM

What Garcia said
Rogue17 writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 10:28:21 AM

It's because Disney owns them now that all these bad decisions are being made.
Rogue17 writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 10:28:26 AM

It's because Disney owns them now that all these bad decisions are being made.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 10:37:48 AM

"it's likely that Norton asked for too much money and we all know how the studio deals with that."

good one Alex!

Freudian is right, they seem to more concerned with how much money they're spending then on how good the film is, and Norton was a good actor.

Max-where you making fun of Stan Lee?!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 10:56:40 AM

f*ck you Marvel, Norton was one of the few good things you had left in your movies, now you get rid of him?

HAHAHAHA Your Avengers movie is going to suck d*ck!
SACdaddy writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 10:59:35 AM

Two words: So what

anybody can play Banner for the 10 minutes he's on screen. Its it me, or is this guy's career going down the drain?
SaulSilver writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 11:24:11 AM

If there not gonna get Norton, they might as well not even use Banner at all. Just have Hulk for the opening scene where they have to join up and try and contain one of his rampages, and then they are forced to lock him up until the final battle?
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 12:07:15 PM

Tough Break, f*cker. There's always "Fight Club 2: I am Jack's Paycheck"
Austin VBA writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 12:10:55 PM

I have a feeling marvel is f*cking this whole operation up. Norton was a damn good Banner in my opinion, hell of a lot better than Bana or what ever his name is. And Norton would have just added to this powerhouse of a movie cast, now we're stuck with that flaming Chris Evans.... he's the downfall of this movie!
rabid writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 12:27:49 PM

That's fine with me. Norton made a great Bruce Banner, but Hulk is the real star. Banner is a completely replaceable role.
disturbed01 writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 12:54:41 PM

typical marvel...
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 12:55:30 PM

Didnt really like the Hulk films

This guy and Liv Toddler just didnt keep me attuned in the film

I did think the second was better than the first though
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 1:48:42 PM

so there are 3 hulks now... (sigh)
Ranger writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 1:58:54 PM

I really do see the benefit of going with lesser-known actors. The obvious benefit is not having any pre-conceived opinions or expectations with a bigger named actor.

But if they're doing it to save $'s = bad choice.

If they want to go with lesser-known actors, why didn't they start out that way and stick with it?

@Rogue - it's easy to point fingers, but I (for some reason) this is a Marvel decision, and Disney (their Owner) is staying out of it. I could be wrong... but I'm pointing a finger to Marvel, either for not asking Disney to butt-out, or for just being cheap bastards themselves.
Ranger writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 2:00:39 PM

Plus I know there are Hulk fans out there (and on here). I have never believed personally he was enough to support a movie on his own.

As part of The Avengers... sure, kick-ass. But 'HULK SMASH!!!' for 90 minutes is crap!

Looks like they had to strap poor Ed down before giving him the news in that picture.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 3:07:17 PM

I dont think ill get my knickers in a twist over a 'report'. Ill wait for confirmation.

Banner is replaceable. The main star is the Hulk so going with a lesser known actor is fine by me. Even if Ed did re-write the script of Hulk, noone knows how the original may have turned out. We all know how much trouble Norton to directors sometimes.

I just look forward to the day Marvel get back all their characters and properties from the many movie studios that seem to have tarnished the big screen representations.

Ill save my judgement of this film for when I see the movie. I fondly remember a certain someone bashing Avatar saying it would not make the money back. Cant remember who but damn that is funny to look back on now.
darkraven28 writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 3:47:23 PM

Prepare for Hulk, portrayed by Taylor Lautner!!


God f*cking damn it, brain. Words just fail me now.
buttabean writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 5:01:15 PM

I thought Edward Norton got into a big fight with the studio near the closing of the movie... Since he rewrote it, he didn't receive compensation or credit or something like that? I can't remember completely...
koul writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 5:39:01 PM

what the f*ck? marvel is stupid to let him go. this movie won't be avengers without him
spider-man writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 8:03:54 PM

@max
yes they are marvel characters.....but the movie rights are not in the house of marvel....THEY WERE DONE BY Sony, and Fox. so your comment doesnt hold water my friend. you cant hold Marvel responsible for films that they didnt produce
Broken_English writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 8:20:56 PM

I say the fans send a message to marvel and ban this movie unless norton is in it. I'm sick and tired of them switching actors to save a few bucks why don't you replace downey jr and sam jackson while you're at it? Just stick with norton whendon!
FBO writes:
on July 10th, 2010 at 10:30:42 PM

i am with RBG on this, i don't think this is news, just a rumor.
BrandoFresh writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 1:42:20 AM

I don't care. I liked him as Hulk, but it won't bother me too much to see him get replaced. I just hope they replace him with someone who rightfully play Banner.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 2:00:43 AM

rabid-he's replaceable if it they don't give a f*ck if it's in-sync with The Hulk film, and audience is gonna be like "hey wasn't Banner played by ..."
rabid writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 3:54:39 AM

It worked last time. I don't think there was anyone going "hey, that's not Eric Bana"

Banner doesn't even have to be in the script. He never shows up in the Avengers origin issue, only Hulk.
HOCK writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 4:49:10 AM

LAME.
Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 11:29:33 AM

Get Mel Gibson to play The Hulk!
encoreyourface writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 1:03:01 PM

rabid-yes well Green Goblin wasn't in the first Spider-Man issue but ...
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 4:38:13 PM

I liked Norton as Banner; but if he's to be replaced I can deal with it. I wouldn't mind seeing Sharlto Copley take over.
Bullshit Artist 99 writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 8:08:19 PM

I call Shenanagins! Why the hell did Marvel choose another actor when Ed Norton has been the best Bruce Banner to date! I hate you Marvel, first you change the Mary Jane/Parker story in the comics, now you ruin good movies. Find your brains by pulling your heads out of your asses, ass-clowns!
encoreyourface writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 9:58:37 PM

ranger-Mel Gibson is Hulk in real life!
Man in Black writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 11:55:19 PM

they must have to asked to borrow the gun that sony has been using to shoot themselves in the foot with on this decision .... you dumb sh*ts

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved