WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

M. Night Shyamalan on "The Last Airbender" Sequel

Posted: July 9th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
M. Night Shyamalan on "The Last Airbender" SequelSubmit Comment
Paramount Pictures dumped around $280 million (production and marketing) into "The Last Airbender," but only grossed $40 million during the film's opening weekend. Plus, "Airbender" became one of the lowest-rated movies of this year. So why is director M. Night Shyamalan talking about sequels?

"I do," he told MTV News whether he has the second installment already mapped out. "The third is more ambiguous, but the second one, I've written a draft that I'm really happy with and is darker and richer, and it has a wonderful antagonist in it in Azula, who's kind of like our only real, pure antagonist in the series, so I'm excited about that."

His description of the story implies that Summer Bishil's character from the film currently in theaters has plenty left to do onscreen as Aang (Noah Ringer) continues his fight against the Fire Nation. And the elite female Kyoshi Warriors will likely play a larger role.

"I probably won't show the Kyoshi Warriors because I want to save them for the second movie, because I'm going to have to introduce them all over again," he said regarding deleted scenes on "The Last Airbender" DVD.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 4:47:14 AM

MNS,just give it a rest,everyone hated this movie.make 'unbreakable 2' and shut the f*ck up.
trailertrash writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 5:27:14 AM

After it's 2nd weekend , He will be talking about part 2 going straight to Blockbusters on a special release...
darkknight1985 writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 5:37:02 AM

Shut up Shyamalan! With the kind of crap you had been dishing out lately you were only good for direct to dvd movies. Now after seeing Airbender I'm not sure abt that either.
BobMcBob writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 6:02:10 AM

may God help us all
VDODSON writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 6:20:41 AM

This guy sucks, he cant take a hint.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 8:30:19 AM

for everyone who didn't read it already, The Evolution of an M. Night Shayamalan Fan!

http://www.cracked.com/funny-5806-the-last-airbender-movie/
CCBlev writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 8:59:19 AM

sh*t all he's gonna be directing is traffic here really soon.
Detrimental writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 9:24:50 AM

No Cabbage Man. No deal.
FpJGarcia writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 9:25:48 AM

This film doesn't need to be darker...it should be the complete opposite you fool.
typar91 writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 9:34:54 AM

wtf?.....Critics have hated all of M. Nights movies since "The Sixth Sense". In my opinion, he is a genius. The only director that is more innovative is Stephen Spielberg. "Unbreakable" was fantastic, "Signs" made alien movies watchable again, "The Village" shocked me, The "Lady in the Water" wasnt brilliant, but the idea was and i feel like i got my moneys worth, and "The Happening" was f*cking awesome, especially the scene in which the old lady goes insane and rams her head on the outside of the house over and over again. I am a huge fan of the "Avatar" animated series, and i am glad M. Night directed it. I seriously do not understand why people hate his movies so much.
rabid writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 10:00:55 AM

No way. Nickelodeon ain't going to pay for a sequel to that sh*tty boring film. He wants to make the movies darker? What a terrible idea.
johnthemon writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 10:27:31 AM

it made $40 million on the three-day, but it was a five day weekend and it earned $70 million from Thursday to Monday. A sequel is still possible, but will doubtlessly bomb. Hard. Needless to say, I didn't like this movie, and I'm a pretty big Shyamalan fan...
Fixxer35 writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 10:50:13 AM

This movie was all right, I don't think it was worse than crap I don't even want to waste my time seeing. There are worse movies for sure, just people had very high expectations for this one. As far as adaptations go, it wasn't that bad. It just had very inexperienced acting, among various other problems. Hopefully, if there are sequels, they can fix the problems of the first film ... but that is being optimistic!
rabid writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 11:43:19 AM

I liked most everything in the film. The only talent that was wrong here was the man behind the camera.
kiba0417 writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 3:13:51 PM

cant wait to see it lol
i wanna see if he fixes it up a bit
:]
Atemisk writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 6:22:59 PM

Dear M. Night Shyamalan,

Go and die screaming in a fire. Your movie sucks a big bag a diaherra through a straw. And that sh*t is nutty so we know you're sucking really hard.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 9:02:48 PM

f*ck you shyamalan.
Dre-EL writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 6:39:37 PM

Air Bender wasnt as bad as people said. I enjoyed it.
It may not have done the tv series complete justice but it was ok.
jigsaw23 writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 4:17:23 AM

gay just do unbreakable 2 *sshole

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved