WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Chris Columbus to Direct "Superman" Reboot?

Posted: July 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Chris Columbus to Direct "Superman" Reboot?Submit Comment
When Christopher Nolan started talking about the "Superman" reboot, he mentioned that he would godfather the project and his brother Jonathan would write the script with David Goyer. Jonathan was also rumored to direct the new film.

Now comes word from Superman Homepage that an offer has been sent out to Chris Columbus to direct the reboot, which is scheduled to hit theaters in December of 2012.

Columbus is the helmer behind the first two "Harry Potter" films and more recently "Percy Jackson and the Olympians." For now, this should be treated as rumor.

Click here to read more about "Superman."

Source: Superman Homepage


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 6:39:08 PM

dont let Goyer direct
the man should stick to penning scripts, not behind the camera
jay-c writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 6:40:45 PM

Here's what gets me. If "stories" like this are to be treated at rumors, what is the point in reporting them? just to spread the rumor??

Great movie news! Real fact-based reporting!
BobMcBob writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 6:43:03 PM

Noooooooooooooooooooooo!
JRprime writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 6:54:18 PM

i'd like to see what jonathan nolan can do behind the camera
James Lipton T-Bag writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 7:07:29 PM

No! This is a blasphemy to cinema and all that is celluloid!

I, jury, present you two ... Nay! ... four! Yes! Four examples of this ... this ... this ... Butchers! ... work ...

1. Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer

2. Fantastic Four

3. Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief

and

4. Christmas with the Kranks

Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 7:33:30 PM

@ James Lipton T-Bag
Whoa whoa man. Out of those four you mentioned he only directed Percy Jackson. The others were just produced by his production company which he isn't 100% responsible of all the movies that are chosen to produced.

@Everyone
And another thing. Why the frik did Superman have to be reboot again?! I mean it was all over money but what did they expect. Superman Returns was over 20 YEARS after the last one which ended on a bad note with Superman IV. Batman, on the other hand, had a new movie with Batman Begins only 8 years after Batman & Robin. I am so tired of everyone complaining about the stories of the Superman films to begin with. You people just wanted more action and less drama, which, hate to tell you guys, drama is what makes Superman at all relatable. If not, all we would have is E.T. in tights. Superman is not meant to be perceived like Batman! They are opposites of each other. Batman is about the worst of people and Superman represents the best of people. That's why they clash so much when they meet up in comics. Now I totally understand a few more fight scenes here and there (Although Superman II: The Richard Donnor Cut had a good alternate fight between Superman and the three Kryptonians for a time when special effects weren't so hot), but you guys need to stop thinking Superman needs improvement so much. It's meant to be inspirational and hardcore American values. Superman is as much a symbol of doing good as he is a god that stops evil. I hear so much complaining about the drama of the movies and all but if we didn't have drama we would just have a bunch of Bay-ish action movies, which would get boring after one movie now that big budget action movies are so common. Stop thinking that Batman needs to be like Superman and let Chris Columbus have his shot. He has always been an optimistic director, which he even quotes and has been put on his Wikipedia page, and Superman is all about optimism (Unlike another certain crime-drama superhero that Nolan directed). Nolan created an amazing world with his Batman story, but Superman isn't that. He is someone who's biggest challenges are fighting the desire to live normally and the pain knowing he can't be like everyone else. Yet, he fights for the world and keeps it at peace without interfering with man's path through time. So, and I realize I have drawn this out, I fully support someone like Columbus to direct this movie and keep the image of Superman alive. I swear if this turns into a dark film, I will hunt the Nolan's down. They did right by Batman...so they better do right by Superman!
Dr. Strangelove Huberis writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 7:33:41 PM

f*ck Superman.

I mean, what kind of superheroic faggot keeps wearing his red BVDs outside his f*cking costume.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 7:34:59 PM

*Correction: Stop thinking that SUPERMAN needs to be like BATMAN.

-Sorry for the confusion.

Dr. Strangelove Huberis writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 7:35:06 PM

Superman!

Come over and give me a blowjob before I burn this fortress of solitude down!

~ Mel Gibson, the REAL Lex Luthor
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 7:38:11 PM

@James Lipton T-Bag
My bad. He did write Christmas with the kranks, but still the director could have fixed it. I personally didn't think it was the worst. It was really just too rushed of a film in terms of story.
koul writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 7:46:41 PM

i just hope this reboot will be good
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 7:56:34 PM

Superman does not need to be like the last 2

It does need more action than the previous one and spare me the Brady Bunch feeling I got from the last one with the kid

I dont mind drama some, especially Lois being played by Penelope Cruz or Scarlett Johanson, oops did it again, anyway we had to much drama in the last one.
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 7:57:35 PM

Oh and please dont screw this up director whoever
elrei writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 7:57:45 PM

I have no problem with Superman when it's an animation or a comic... but in a live action film.. It's just weird.
CCBlev writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 9:30:56 PM

f*ck you Chris Columbus, stay away, oir i'll take a burning piss on you!! Believe me it really burns when I pee right now.
Rambo writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 10:23:49 PM

Jaden smith for superman?
trailertrash writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 2:36:03 AM

CC- lol
Trip Maverick writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 7:15:11 AM

I Like him. Not sure about him directing this though. In the 80s he could do know wrong. He wrote Gremlins and The Goonies so nuff said. He also Directed Home alone 1 & 2 plus Mrs Doubtfire all long before Harry Potter. i dont care what any one says you loved those movies when you were 12 and that was the target audience!
Eben1277 writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 1:35:03 PM

Well said Trip. Columbus does a void job of pleasing his target audience. Potter 1 and 2 weren't bad movies, and if you were a 10 year old they were great. Even Percy Jackson was entertaining. I think he can do it. And if the target audience for Superman is adults I'm sure it will develop in a more adult direction than his family films.
hobbes3000 writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 1:50:26 PM

Noo it'd become another stupid kiddie film like Fantastic Four
James Lipton T-Bag writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 6:54:18 PM

Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 7:33:30 PM
@ James Lipton T-Bag

Whoa, whoa man. Out of those four you mentioned, he only directed Percy Jackson. The others were just produced by his production company, which he isn't 100% responsible of all the movies that are chosen to produced.

@Sleuth1989

Good sir, thank you first and foremost for pointing out his contribution to those movies. But based that his name is tied directly to those movies, I DO find him responsible for those abhorrations ....

That is like I cannot hold the creator of a hamburger stand responsible for a bland burger, just because he may own the franchise, but not run the day-by-day business.

Out damn spot! Out damn you!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved