WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Avatar" Returning to 3D Theaters on August 27th

Posted: July 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Avatar" Returning to 3D Theaters on August 27thSubmit Comment
20th Century Fox has announced that James Cameron's "Avatar" will be re-released in Digital 3D and IMAX 3D theaters on August 27th with over eight minutes of never before seen footage.

"Since - and largely as of result of - Avatar's release last December, the number of available digital 3D screens has exploded, and moviegoers who missed experiencing the film in 3D, as well as fans that want to return to Pandora again, will now have that opportunity," the studio said in a statement.

"Avatar" is the highest grossing film of all time with $2.7 billion in worldwide ticket sales. It is also the top-selling Blu-ray disc of all time. In addition to the theatrical re-release, Cameron is also planning to release a 3D version of the DVD/Blu-ray.

For international release dates, click here.

Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Source: 20th Century Fox


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
HannibalK1ng writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 5:37:56 AM

woohoo cant wait definetly gonna watch it !!!

and if anyone has a problem with it being rerelease dont go watch it. Avatar was still making serious money when it was pushed out of cinemas. The demand was still there and im betting my left nut it goes to number 1 at least 40 mil weekend
Rambo writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 6:14:27 AM

avatar sucked.and I don't care everyone else think its great.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 6:15:09 AM

f*ck Avatar, the fans have seen enough and they really think that many people missed it the first time when it made 2.5 billion? i think the people that missed it didn't want to see it in the first place and don't want to still.
Mudders writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 6:40:11 AM

for those who dont give a sh*t about avatar...

"predators" was awesome,just got back from the cinema this minute....similiar to the first one and some bits were used again but im gonna give it a solid 8/10.
Fixxer35 writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 6:43:12 AM

I don't mind Avatar, because it wasn't the worst movie I had ever seen, but I dislike James Cameron and his obvious money-making schemes. Not worth my time and money (again) for an extra 8 minutes.

johnny_boy writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 6:52:49 AM

Avatar sucks. And anyone watching it again has way too much time they don't value to waste
AYT BALL writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 7:14:27 AM

@ Mudders - cheers! going to see it this weekend, so thats what i wanted to hear!

as for Avatar, technology wise, yeah ground breaking!! Story wise....meh! wont be getting any more money out of me.

Kick ass is coming out on as a 3 disc version, Blu Ray, DVD and digital copy plus extras, think avatar should learn from them and stop trying to get more money with rereleases and multiple version of the movie on multiple formats!
Ranma-Irias writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 7:46:16 AM

how many f*cking times does this movie need to be re-released! this is the third time the movie goes to theaters!
FpJGarcia writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 8:39:17 AM

I'm getting really sick of hearing about Avatar. Ok James....take your extra 100 million dollars that you're going to make off of this re-release...because you haven't made enough money off of this movie...
encoreyourface writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 8:52:52 AM

^^^

agreed

mudders-glad to hear it. got to see it myself ...
Mudders writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 9:17:27 AM

@ayt
@encore

it starts off pretty slow but once its into it its pretty good...some stuff from the trailer doesnt match the final edit as you will see im sure.

i dont honestly know what to make of it because of its constant familiarity with the original...but thats what makes a good "pred" movie,i just wish there were a few more original scenarios but at least its 100x better than the avp series.
definately needs to be a sequal/prequel to find out how fishburne and the others they "find" came to be....the movie leaves the gates open for either to be fair.
like a said a decent 8/10...couldve been better but awesome none the less!
trailertrash writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 9:19:07 AM

mudders- Good news...

On Avatar, I do't really care, We live in a free country if you want to give big jim more of your cash good luck to you ...
trailertrash writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 9:53:58 AM

We never get cool stuff like this in England

Inception !!

http://filmdrunk.uproxx.com/2010/07/building-sized-3d-inception-posters-are-pretty-cool
dbreuning writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 9:55:57 AM

But will those 8 minutes contain that sex scene? :D I'm going back to see it one more time regardless. Great movie!
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 10:02:07 AM

I did not see this movie,

Those costumes and the previews did not lure me in.

Tell me was this movie that good, was it the action
CCBlev writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 10:05:43 AM

Well to be honest I'm looking forward to my dong burning when I piss here in a few mins than care about this.
Mudders-thanks for the 411, I hope I get to see it this weekend.
Ranger writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 11:14:18 AM

I saw Avatar once, in 3D, Imax. I liked it. Not, Navi'BLEW, or missing Pandora whiny bitch liked it. It was, was it was. Great effects... and a story we've seen 100x's before. It was an enjoyable experience though. And my friend's 2D version on his big screen was better than I was expecting it was going to be (as when compared to the 3D Imax experience). Don't know if I'd pay to see it again though. I thought it was worth the money... at least once.
rocketman writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 11:32:49 AM

Avatar...f*ck off and die

Cheers
Rocketman.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 11:32:53 AM

That's the equivalent of saying that they found a cure for the clap, so everyone should line up for f*cking in a Filipino whorehouse AGAIN.

f*ck this. f*ck James Cameron. f*ck those blue, Smurf wannabe avatar Na'vi, or whatever the f*ck they are and f*ck Sam Worthlessington with a Louisville Slugger with splinters.
Ranger writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 11:48:01 AM

@Max - lol.

Not sure which thread I asked you if you were familiar with The Black Hills. As you mentioned 'Sturgis' (and I Googled it)... shall I assume yes?
encoreyourface writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 12:17:43 PM

mudders-sounds good to me I'm gonna watch it, thanks for the info. and if it's 100x better then avp it must be fantastic because avp:requiem was f*cking stupid ....
Stuntastic writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 12:18:18 PM

Damn man again. I was just about to buy the Blu-Ray since BB had it for $19.99. Just release this sh*t in 3D Blu-Ray already. I need to see how this looks at the house. I can't really blame him though I'd milk the hell outa this cash cow like Lucas does Star Wars.
Ranger writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 12:33:20 PM

@Stunt - exactly what I've said on here before (about milking this movie for all it's worth). There isn't ONE person on here that wouldn't do the same. If one went through the years and million headaches to make this flick, and people want to drop another 1 or 2 billion $'s to re-release it, and all you had to do was add another 8 minutes of film already shot. It's a no-brainer.

The movie is 'average' yes. But Cameron is, continues to be a marketing genius (and don't forget folks he made Aliens AND True Lies).
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 1:10:12 PM

Ranger, True Lies sucked d*ck, I don't know why everyone is so "ASGFJWEOFRE" over it. It was a cliched action movie that poked fun at itself, COOL. WHO CARES.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 1:20:11 PM

i thought true lies was alright.
Stuntastic writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 1:32:04 PM

@Ranger: And from what WP had up yesterday about studios projecting a movies income to be lower than it actually is so they don't have to pay anybody I say get all the money u can cuz apparently u can only look after urself in this business.
rabid writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 2:01:42 PM

This is a great idea. I had some friends who have seen it on blueray now and regret having missed it in the theater. I'm sure I'll go see it again.
rabid writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 2:03:23 PM

True Lies was excellent. Everything Cameron's ever done has been top notch. He's probably the most consistent talented director in the business.
Fixxer35 writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 2:33:25 PM

Piranha pt. 2: The Spawning was being consistently good?
AYT BALL writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 2:44:49 PM

True lies was good for the time, although it was cut to sh*t over here (UK) to get a 15 certificate, thank god for import DVDs....

But Aliens, Terminator, the Abyss.....the guy knows his sh*t, to be honest though i think T2 kinda ruined him a little, well you could trace it back to the Abyss i guess but T2 is the movie that he kinda revealed all these amazing new CGi effects to the world, it made a packet, then along came Titanic, bigger, more effects.....then along comes Avatar, it seems his movies are becoming more about the spectical than the story, which in my opinion is a huge shame, Ed Harris in the Abyss turned in some f*cking quality acting! but after T2 he seemed to get more and more hollywood, less care in the scripts and the acting. Not knocking his movies, still up there in my faves list as a director, would just like to see him cut his budget and take on another Aliens or terminator 1, something with heart in the story rather than passion in the film making process.
AYT BALL writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 2:45:55 PM

oh and Piranha part 2 was his first effort more or less, not gonna hold that against him, everyone starts somewhere
coldplayesence writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 3:09:56 PM

@rabid: Christopher Nolan is the most consistent director, name one of his bad movies. Cameron keeps bringing in sh*t loads of money, though.

@mudder: Man, I really want to trust you, I'll go with my mind open. Thing that I supouse Putman will forget at home and is already writing his 2/10 review.
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 3:21:55 PM

Paging Dr. Faggot...
Man in Black writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 4:40:08 PM

is it because it lost money the first time and they have to try to break even ?
rabid writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 4:45:34 PM

Nolan might be the next generation's James Cameron. Give it a couple more films and I bet his reputation is still holding. Rob Reiner is up there too. Most everything he makes is good, if only a bit too sentimental.
Barney Stinson writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 5:05:39 PM

Saw this once at midnight, opening night. Ok story, awesome effects and 3D. I saw it in RealD 3D and as I've never been to an IMAX, I would be interested in watching this a second time in IMAX 3D
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 5:29:18 PM

SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 1:10:12 PM

Ranger, "True Lies" sucked d*ck. I don't know why everyone is so "ASGFJWEOFRE" over it.

It was a cliched action movie that poked fun at itself. Cool. Who cares ?


@SpookyCupcakes

My three reasons I loved "True Lies" :

1. It's the one Cameron film I can masterbate to. Jamie Lee Curtis proved she is 100,000,000% times
more sexy than Kristen Stewart or whatever Gaga wannabe they'll bring down the pike.

And THIS was still true after "Trading Places".

2. It allowed Tom Arnold to be cool AND funny again. And not just because he was having to f*ck Roseanne Arnold before the divorce.

True, he's not reeallllly a funny guy. But that sh*t where he shoots at Bill Paxton's feet after they reveal
themselves to him and tell him not to go after Helen again ... Classic.

" Beat it, sh*thead. "

3. Tia Carrera, not quite sagging after " Wayne's World 1 and 2 " and " High School High " .


Ranger writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 11:48:01 AM

@Max - lol.

Not sure which thread I asked you if you were familiar with The Black Hills.

As you mentioned 'Sturgis' (and I Googled it)... shall I assume yes?



@Ranger

Yep. I loooooove biker chicks and fat hogs!

I'm pretty familiar with Sturgis, but have never been to it yet.

I have been to a vet biker rally in Colorado. I tell ya, ... jarheads sure know how to do a wet t-shirt contests!!!!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 5:41:26 PM

HannibalK1ng writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 5:37:56 AM

" Woohoo! Can't wait! (I'm) definitely gonna watch it !!!

And if anyone has a problem with it being rerelease(d), don't go watch it. Avatar was still making serious money when it was pushed out of cinemas. The demand was still there and I'm betting my left nut it goes to number 1, (with) at least $ 40 million that weekend ... "


@HannibalK1ng *head in hands realizing this one-nutter actually spelled his handle with a number*

First and foremost, GET A f*ckING SPELLCHECK, YOU LAZY SACK OF WEEK-OLD MONKEY sh*t. What the f*ck ? Are you f*cking five ? Or did you flunk basic grammar ?

Second, I won't go see that sack of sh*t. I've got "The Expendables", "Tron : Legacy", "Predators" and countless other NEW f*ckING MOVIES to look forward to. I didn't watch "Avatar" (or as I call it "Albatross!" *inside Python joke*) the first f*cking time and won't spend the rest of my life going, " Well, my only regret was I didn't see Avatar and understand what HannibleKOneng was so Twatlit, p*ssywet gaga over. "

Third, I hope you lose your betted left nut to a herpes infected, North Korean tranny named " Mi Luv Sum Long Dong " ... then you can be a judge on America's Got Talent, you f*cking twat.
trailertrash writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 5:51:13 PM

AYT-

I liked True Lies as well ,I thought it dragged slightly in the middle, but it was a good action spy movie and as we hadn't seen a Bond movie since 1989 filled the void well i thought.

Didn't really like the Abyss that much but Ed Harris was very good in that.

And T2 is the only movie i have ever been to at the cinema in the UK and the audience were standing and cheering at the end (you know us brits would never normally do that LOL). Thats a great movie ...

You want to see him make something with heart in the story rather than passion in the film making process !

That will be the Black Eyed Peas concert then !! LOL


AYT BALL writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 7:21:57 PM

@ Trailer - hahahaha my point exactly! think hes forgotten his roots a little, to caught up in whats possible next rather than what would make a great movie next.

And yeah, never got all the whooping and cheering at the screen when i was in america.....its a screen, they cant hear you! lol
HannibalK1ng writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 7:57:48 PM

@ Max

No one is forcing you to go watch avatar again so relax.
Yes there are great movies coming out and i intend to see all the ones you mentioned, but if i want to watch avatar and be immersed again then thatís my business.
Also please donít assume because you think avatar is crap that your better then everyone else or know more about movies.
And i hope you forgot to mention Inception? and even on another level Resident Evil Afterlife? (as i assume you realise both Tron and RE were shot using the james cameron/ vincent pace camera system?)
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 10:06:16 PM

HannibalK1ng writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 7:57:48 PM

@ Max

No one is forcing you to go watch Avatar again, so relax.

Yes, there are great movies coming out and I intend to see all the ones you mentioned, but if I want to watch Avatar and be immersed again then thatís my business.

Also please donít assume (that just) because you think Avatar is crap that your better then everyone else or know more about movies.

And I hope you forgot to mention " Inception ". Or even on another level, " Resident Evil : Afterlife? " (as I assume you realise both Tron and RE were shot using the James Cameron/ Vincent Pace camera system?)



@HannibalK1ng

Okay.

First, I didn't watch it ever. Ever. So how can I watch it again if I didn't see it the first time ?

Second, I am relaxed. Trust me. You couldn't get under my skin if you were Buffalo Bill and were wearing it, play-acting you were a tran hooker in the Midwest that got off on holding up farmboys in your basement and teaching them that sheepf*cking is so 'one-dimensional'.

Third, I don't give f*cked up monkey nuts if you want to go see it. Just because it's coming out again to rake in more money (since it is already on DVD, Blu-Ray and had been world-wide once) doesn't mean I care if you see it or not. It's just not going to get my money. If I want to see Sam Worthington jerk off the
audience, I'll just wait till that Clash of the Titans remake/trainwreck is released in stores.

This was ThunderCats on Viagra.

Fourth, it's not that I know better. I just know quality. And since I f*cking work for a living, I'm not going to spend my money on sh*t. f*ck. I'm surprised Avatar didn't have a f*ckin' Happy-Meal tie-in.

Fifth, I didn't forget Inception. That's what etc. stands for, Einstein. It looks mildly interesting and makes
a number of the summer movies look like a f*cking joke. Oh, and as far as " Resident Evil : Afterlife ...
if I want to waste money on Paul Weak sh*t Anderson, I'll wait till I can buy the sex tape of him and
Milla Jovovich in some Parisian hotel, coked to the heels and waiving 9mms at each other, playing
Russian Roulette for fun with the cleaning lady.

Tron : Legacy was done with 8 new special effects never done before and it has one of the most hardcore motherf*cking characters ever created : Kevin Flynn.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 10:08:40 PM

^

" f*ck with the best, die like the rest. "

Dade "Zero Cool" Murphy
Ranger writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 10:29:11 PM

@Stunt - exactly.

@Max - well Mt. Rushmore is a sight alright... amazing. There's a lake behind there (Horse Thief Lake) I visited family there and fished as a child. Beautiful area. Was back only a few years ago... nothings changed (and that's nice... for a change).
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 10:45:49 PM

Ranger writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 10:29:11 PM

@Stunt - exactly.

@Max - well Mt. Rushmore is a sight alright... amazing. There's a lake behind there (Horse Thief Lake) I visited family there and fished as a child. Beautiful area. Was back only a few years ago... nothings changed (and that's nice... for a change).


@Ranger

Exactly.

Classic is always the best.

I'll be there someday. Hope to get a Harley Indian, fixed up. But I'll take a soft-tail, if the lady (my future Mrs. Rockatansky) wants it.

God.

Whatever happened to good ol' blood and guts biker movies ?

Hell Ride had tits and some wit, but it's just not the same.

Man in Black writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 12:32:48 AM

@ max ...... uhhhhhh got some bad news for you http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1WaiMdNGGp4&feature=related dont shoot the messenger
TRUEMAN writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 9:22:54 AM

And the crap fest continues f*ck GAYTAR AND SAM W. eat my sh*t no more craaaaaap fuuuuuuuck
lick this Sam W. 8=============================================D

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved