WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Weird Al Yankovic Movie on the Big Screen?

Posted: July 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Weird Al Yankovic Movie on the Big Screen?Submit Comment
Weird Al Yankovic revealed on his blog that Cartoon Network has backed out of making his live-action TV movie. He just finished the fourth draft of the screenplay and is planning to shop it around to major film studios in order to bring the movie to the big screen.

He said: "Here's what happened. As I had previously reported, after years of negotiation, I was able to sign a major production deal with Cartoon Network to provide content for them. They were primarily interested in live action features, so I pitched them a movie idea. They loved it, and gave me the go-ahead to start working on the screenplay. I worked closely with them for several months, and after submitting my 4th draft, just when I was just about to get the official green light... Cartoon Network let me know that they were no longer in the feature film business."

"It was a major policy change that affected not only me, but also the dozen or so other movies of theirs that were in various stages of development. Everything just stopped. It's not entirely bad news - the script went into turnaround, which means I'm free to sell it somewhere else. (Come to think of it, that was pretty much the exact thing that happened when I was trying to get UHF made.)
"

Source: Al Yankovic


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 6:10:40 AM

interesting. i like Weird Al's music but a feature film ...
ZeusReit writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 6:28:28 AM

UHF was great! I hope this one is as good or better!
johnny_boy writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 7:01:42 AM

Yeah, he should just wait around for another Naked Gun film to come out and just cameo in that
SACdaddy writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 8:50:35 AM

UHF is a cult classic. Easily one of the weirdest comedies ever made. I love that movie!!!

Stupid!!! YOU'RE SO STUUUPIID!!!!
Forrest75 writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 9:07:36 AM

He is an underrated comic god. Sometimes his humor is sophomoric, but that's all part of his charm. Someone make this happen!
P_Dangerous writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 9:47:07 AM

what's a pic of Russel Brand doing with this article?
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 9:57:11 AM

I thought UHF was funny and would like to see something funny again from Weird Al

Hey Weird Al why dont you pitch it to MGM

They need the money and you could be the one who enables them to bring back the Bond series
CCBlev writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 10:14:07 AM

I thought this guy died.
otis writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 10:22:18 AM

ok stupid question but how did those parentheses get included in the interview? Is that supposed to be an aside?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 11:05:11 AM

I bet Cartoon Network was planning to do a live action biography of Frank Yankovic (no relation; polka king) and saw "Weird Al" on the contract and said " f*ck! WE GOT THE WRONG GUY!!!!! "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 11:06:09 AM

Weird Al is an acquired taste.

Like c*ck to COC.

Or Lindsay's vag to all those dikes in jail.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 11:07:22 AM

He should've pulled a " Ghandi II " and came out blazin' with the semi-automatics to the whole Cartoon Network corporate building.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 11:10:53 AM

otis writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 10:22:18 AM

ok stupid question but how did those parentheses get included in the interview? Is that supposed to be an aside?


@otis

They ripped it off the original source (because we know how SUPER Worst Previews is *sarcastic*),so the original source is obviously an english major *sarcastic reference to the source material*.

In other words, sh*t just keeps right on running down the sewer of the entertainment pipeline.
AbsoluteMuppet writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 12:49:55 PM

Sure didnt you post a trailer for the movie on here before

http://www.funnyordie.com/videos/3231da28bb/weird-the-al-yankovic-story
Man in Black writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 2:33:58 PM

THIS movie needs a scene where he beheads justin beaver .... cause that sh*t stain needs to go away
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 3:25:16 PM

Go hang a salami, I'm a lasagna hog!
Duffman writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 6:19:59 PM

"He should've pulled a " Ghandi II " and came out blazin' with the semi-automatics to the whole Cartoon Network corporate building."


Holy sh*t max I forgot about that bout died laughing when I read that lol. He could've done his john rambo thing too and explode all those f*ckers inside while saving the janitor, make it a two fer.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved