WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Matt Damon Wants to Star in Another "Jason Bourne" Movie

Posted: July 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Matt Damon Wants to Star in Another "Jason Bourne" MovieSubmit Comment
It was recently announced that Universal Pictures is moving forward with "The Bourne Legacy," but it was unclear whether Matt Damon or director Paul Greengrass are involved.

Now comes word from Damon that Greengrass is not directing "Legacy," which also means that the actor will not be starring. He would however reprise the Jason Bourne role if Greengrass were to change his mind.

"Absolutely yes," Damon replied to whether he would return for another Bourne installment. "I love the character. I love the stories. But only if Paul Greengrass says he will direct again. So far, though, he's decided not to. I'd definitely say yes if he went for it. I know he would have a great story, and it would protect the legacy of what we created."

Regarding "Legacy," there have been rumors that the film may be a prequel, which means a new actor to play Bourne.

Source: Las Vegas Weekly


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
avaela writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 5:14:38 AM

It'll be sh*t without Damon and Greengrass, actually even with them it would probably be sh*t since they wouldn't be able to base a new movie on a Ludlum book. Eric Van Lustbader has ruined the series, changing the style to supervillain/ridiculous world domination bullsh*t in his continuation.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 6:20:57 AM

eh ... i don't know.
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 8:11:09 AM

Stop

Either do it or shut up

This is what the 10th time that this crap has been posted on here.

No Damon no Bourne so Universal pay the money for Greengrass or watch yourself loose money for some wannabe crap
CCBlev writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 8:35:53 AM

Great if he does, and oh well if he doesn't.
FpJGarcia writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 8:37:05 AM

If Damon isn't going to be in this...THEN DON'T DO IT! Jeeze...all they want to do is make money and with out Matt they wont make anything...just stop...
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 9:58:39 AM

f*ck a prequel. Although I have the Boxset of Bourne on Blue I'd like to see a bye bye from Damon with one more Bourne... Why not? All we have now is the unofficial prequel called Green Zone.
Broken_English writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 10:12:26 AM

This story broke like 5 months ago why are you running this now? Greengrass already said he's not doing another Bourne movie.
Lizardking515 writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 10:24:22 AM

Is it just me or does it seem as if Matt Damon is type casting himself in hollywood?
The-BRAD writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 11:38:08 AM

How can you do a prequel??
Isn't it the whole point about Bourne having amnesia?
Ranger writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 12:34:23 PM

Yeah... this is really old news (or new news rehashed).
Ranger writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 12:44:15 PM

And let it die with the trilogy as it is. It ended perfectly and intensely. No need for more Matt. You're sharp enough to develop a new foil with which to entertain.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 12:55:12 PM

Matt Damon Wants to Star in Another "Jason Bourne" Movie

Okay. It's pretty apparent he loves the character and the story.

Question : Do we want to see another Bourne movie ? Or is the movie-watching audience played out of this type of spy genre ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 12:56:40 PM

@Ranger

I agree. I only keep thinking about those next three Star Wars prequels when they bring this up. And Jar Jar Binks.


And I weep.
Ranger writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 1:12:30 PM

@Max - you and I are old(er) school Bro. The '77 Star Wars is still magic to me. The 3 prequels... are sh*t.

Same as (to me) the first:

The Matrix.
RoboCop.
Lethal Weapon.
Die Hard.
f*ck... the list is endless.

Some of the sequels were 'ok'... but didn't hold the magic the first one in the series did.

You mentioned Sturgis. I had to look that up. You know the Black Hills my good man?
Man in Black writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 2:15:02 PM

see you dont mess with this formula it works and you make bank and quality is good ... hey WP good story catch
Man in Black writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 2:19:16 PM

@ max .... you speak of next 3 star wars ? EP 7-9 or 1-3 ?
nope.com writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 3:53:42 PM

Bourne's not important enough to recast and make it successful. Either get Damon and Greengrass or just can the damn thing
Ranger writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 4:01:39 PM

@MiB - I shouldn't speak for Max (but apparently will)... I think he was referring to the latest trilogy of Star Wars (1-3).
c-prime writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 4:25:45 PM

Damon's loyalty in this situation has always puzzled me. He shows such unshakable commitment to Paul Greengrass, but where was that devotion when Doug Liman opted not to direct sequels to the first movie (which, in my opinion, was the best of all the movies)? I dunno, maybe those two didn't strike up as good of a rapport or something. Still, he needs to come out of this delusion that the Bourne franchise is inextricably dependent upon Greengrass and be open to the possibility of moving forward with a different helmer. I mean, it's already happened once before. Greengrass delivered stellar work in the last two films, truly, but the Bourne series was certainly off to a fine start without him and, I believe in the right director's hands, could have some comparably excellent sequels in the future (i.e., if Damon stops holding things up and accepts the next film).
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 6:04:27 PM

@Ranger

Thanks for confirming my intent. Yep. You're right. I was referring to the sh*tquels, not the magical three from 79-83.

I just figured Jar " f*cking Jigaboo lips " Jar Binks would've just given it away, but alas ... the questioner does like I do. They don't read the response.

But to be fair, I only had 15 minutes to jot my response, eat my bacon and steak sandwich and ogle women in the breakroom.



@cprime

Damon is unshakable on Greengrass' shakey cam method. Must be the only one that makes him look flawless to those movie-goers who go to Bourne toked and craving the munchies ... or on LSD.

If this series was supposed to be the ' American Bond ', then you're on point. Different directors are needed, just like different stories. It's not like this is the Lord of the Rings trilogy and Jackson did back to back movies to not only (a) save money and (b) allow the movies ample time to open close to each other in a couple of months. Why wouldn't they want to try other action directors to use their style on Jason Bourne ? I know I may get a bunch of sh*t for saying this, but why not Tony Scott ? He did a crackerjack job with Spy Game (yeah, yeah, I know ... it was younger Brad Pitt meeting his older self, Robert Redford) and brought not only the tight action, but also has the balls to experiment with color and location (also bringing a sense of time) and also allowed for non-action scenes to tightly knit those action scenes to a constant timeline ... or Jerry Bruckheimer .... or Luc Besson .... they would be so cool because there are different flavours to Bourne that could be explored ...

Remember, the character's name is Jason Bourne. Not Matt Damon.

Crazyhorse writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 6:36:15 PM

Max

Totally agree about the recent 3 definitely the 1st two

If Qui Gon and Darth Maul would not have been in the first one I would have left the theater the minute Blab bar Stinks opened his mouth

I think had Lucas put more of Maul in the movie it would have been much better.
Ari Gold writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 7:06:36 PM

I remember when Damon was like, "narr Id rather not do a second movie.." And then the second one comes out and he's like, "narr no more."

Now that Green Zone flopped he's all like "Hells Yeah Bourne"
DustinPutmansucksDick writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 7:19:46 PM

I thought the sequal was called Greenzone
DustinPutmansucksDick writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 7:20:21 PM

Green Zone
ilovemovies82 writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 10:00:55 PM

Why is Damon so adament about Greengrass directing. "Protect the legacy of what WE created"? Greengrass didn't even direct the first movie. Doug Limen did.
c-prime writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 2:47:26 AM

@ Max: Tony Scott seems like a fair choice. I would also nominate (and it's quite a coincidence that you make James Bond reference) Martin Campbell. He's shown an abundant knack for films like these. The man not only made the best 007 film starring Pierce Brosnan but also the best 007 film starring Daniel Craig to boot (although, with only two films to Craig's credit as Bond so far, the second of which was egregiously awful, choosing the pick of the litter isn't really a challenging contest). And "Edge of Darkness" wasn't too shabby, either. I don't think the future of Jason Bourne would stumble under his direction.
darkraven28 writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 12:54:10 PM

There's no more ground left to cover with Bourne. The trilogy bought things full circle. And I say this as a fan. Let it go. Do something else.

Just, for the love of God, DON'T LET FRIEDBERG AND SELTZER DO IT!!!
HOCK writes:
on July 8th, 2010 at 6:51:13 PM

You have to get Greengrass and Damon back. Especially Damon. I liked Identity, just not quite as much as the others.
strobemandixon writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 12:01:38 AM

Thank god, there will not be anymore jason bourne films. Matt Damon is a joke compared to real action stars. I dont know why they would cast him in the first film anyway. That f*cking d*ck

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved