WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Is "James Bond" Franchise Dead?

Posted: July 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Is "James Bond" Franchise Dead?Submit Comment
AICN is reporting that MGM is doing so poorly that the company has been forced to kill the new James Bond installment. A company could still come in to take over MGM and bring Bond to the big screen, but at this point, no development is being done and no plans are being made.

Meanwhile, EON Productions is claiming that the project is not dead but is simply on hold. "We do not know when development will resume and cannot comment further at this stage," the production company told Daily Mirror.

Sam Mendes (American Beauty, Road to Perdition) was on board to direct the new installment from a script by Peter Morgan (Frost/Nixon). Mendes has now abandoned the project and moved on to other things.

Source: AICN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 8:13:19 PM

Q. Is "James Bond" Franchise Dead?

A. Yes. As dead as every Bond villian. And every Bond girl that dies.

My favorite death ? The Bond girl painted gold of course. Classy AND sexy.

C'mon. You guys must be twiddling your thumbs in the office. Let me ask you :

Is the sky blue ?
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 8:13:59 PM

f*ck MGM and the rest of Hollywood, it's probably dead
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 8:14:30 PM

^ By twiddling, I mean jerkin ... by thumbs, I mean your yerkin ...

pervs.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 8:17:37 PM

What the hell? I don't get it, Bond is easily one of the greatest film franchise ever made(second highest grossing). I'd sweep up MGM just to get my paws on it.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 8:22:37 PM

should have ended after Connery stopped being in the films. Good f*cking riddance, the franchise was turned into a joke looooong ago.
WV-Films writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 8:28:57 PM

Seeing as the last 6 movies pulled in over 3 Billion dollars (without DVD sales), I'd say the franchise is far from dead.
AYT BALL writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 8:49:19 PM

Didnt even read the story, the answer is NO, next question
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 9:05:04 PM

I will admit Im guilty, I know some on here dont like the films but I did.

I enjoyed the last 2 bonds with Craig as they seemed a little more realistic and that Russian chick smokin

Oh well I sent a 10cent donation in the mail to help MGM recover
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 9:06:42 PM

No! Bond will die another day
coldplayesence writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 9:31:34 PM

Bond will be back.
darkraven28 writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 9:45:01 PM

It's all "Die Another Day"'s fault. f*ckin' CGI bullsh*t. Yeah, they had two successful films since then, but that film was the beginning of the end. Plus, it always seemed like all of MGM's other films that weren't Bond movies all bombed anyway. MGM was asking for it. I mean they didn't even pursue any comic book properties or anything. That wouldn't have necessarily resulted in better films but better profits would likely have been in order.
CCBlev writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 9:46:12 PM

I agree with Crazyhorse, I admit too I liked the last 2, it is a guitly pleasure of mine. Bond will be back the question is when?
Ranger writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 9:53:53 PM

Same... I liked both Craig's Bond movies. The only reason (or a reason) I can see why people didn't like QoS was that Bond was on a personal vendetta, and sort of 'off mission' from Her Majesty's Secret Service. So what... people are allowed to revenge, aren't they O.J.... O.J... you there?

MGM is so far in debt... can't imagine the price they'd ask to sell off the Bond rights. Then they'd be left with f*ck-all. As for MGM's selling (asking) price in the billions of $'s (for a company billions of $'s in debt)... lol. They're so Lohan in their reality, it isn't even funny. And we lose the greatest Bond since Connery.

f*ck you MGM!
blinkbomber writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 9:55:41 PM

they should remake the Connery movies return of the jedi style, switching Connery for Craig! cuz my god i'm so damn tired of hearing people jerk off to connery's bonds films. yeah, he was bond, we get it.

bond will live longer then connery too, btw.
Rambo writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 10:26:20 PM

Mendes has now abandoned the project and moved on to other things.

at least one good thing came out of this...

Ranger writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 10:41:14 PM

Daniel Craig looks like he just heard this news and is looking to f*ck somebody up good!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 10:43:25 PM

blinkbomber writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 9:55:41 PM

they should remake the Connery movies return of the jedi style, switching Connery for Craig! cuz my god i'm so damn tired of hearing people jerk off to connery's bonds films. yeah, he was bond, we get it.

bond will live longer then connery too, btw.

@blinkbomber

Or Roger Moore.

I mean, when he was James Bond ...

it was like watching an older uncle hitting on the young teenage daughters in an Aryan family reunion.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 10:45:46 PM

Q : " Here, Bond. Our newest technological advancement. "

Bond : " What is this, Q ? A lazer guided trail beam ? A heat seeking missile dart launcher ? "

Q : " No, Bond. Thanks to MGM financial problems ... this is a pack of Mentos. Wintergreen flavor. "
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 11:01:17 PM

More Bond films and less of this c*nty Twilight crap!
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 11:18:22 PM

Based on the fact that the Bond films have made billions of dollars, I highly doubt the series is dead. I really hope that something gets moving on the film in the next year or two, as I'd like to see Craig in at least 1 or 2 more films. While I believe that Quantum of Solace was highly flawed, especially compared to the masterful Casino Royale, it was still entertaining, and I would like to see Craig given the opportunity to continue his work as 007.
rabid writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 11:21:35 PM

All for the best. I didn't care much for the gritty new formula. It felt like a backlash to the Austin Powers movies.
I think the best way to reboot the Bond films would be to set them in the 1950s and 60s. Then you can establish Bond as a historical hero like Indiana Jones. And they wouldn't have to be so culturally sensitive with the villains and with his love interests. Bond just doesn't make sense in the modern world.
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 11:25:12 PM

Bond will be back... only on DVD and Bluray.

He had some struggle with Jason Bourne and he ended up losing the head.
Man in Black writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 12:20:13 AM

no someone with a butt load of money will pick this up on the cheap and make it great again ... but do spend the money and get craig to come back
Grumblestyle writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 12:47:19 AM

They probably will sell the rights to disney... jonny depp as bond and directed by gore verbinski. Awesome..
Ranger writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 1:23:51 AM

lol.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 3:13:16 AM

should have ended a long time go. when you the exceed the 20 film limit it's over ... after that it gets kind of gets ridiculous ...

encoreyourface writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 3:13:52 AM

sorry, i meant

"after that it gets kind of ridiculous."
VDODSON writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 3:53:55 AM

Bullsh*t, Craig is the best Bond since Connery. Im glad they ditched the dumb ass gadgets, and made Bond the way he should have always been. He is a stone cold killer, not some c*nt with a remote controlled car. I wont watch if they dont bring my man Craig back.
Mudders writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 5:30:12 AM

casino royale rejuvinated a dead franchise ans quantum of solace tore that up a bit...but it wont die...
rabid writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 8:53:40 AM

RIP
BondMcClane007 writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 9:34:42 AM

how do you guys dislike Bond? whether you like old school or new school bond, there is something there for everybody
Dre-EL writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 10:50:20 AM

No way Bond is dead.
DeVries writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 11:40:44 AM

f*ck I hate MGM more and more every day...
VDODSON writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 12:07:05 PM

Daniel Craig was the best part about Munich, the most underrated movie of 2008. Spielberg should of won a oscar that year.
Salvador writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 12:29:43 PM

@Jerry Garcia87: Well said.

@ElizabethMitchellsBoobs: Absolutely!

I really HATE MGM for this CRAP. Somebody deserves to get fired.
drshakalou writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 8:35:40 PM

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved