WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joe Dante on Why He Didn't Direct "Batman"

Posted: July 4th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joe Dante on Why He DidnSubmit Comment
ContactMusic caught up with director Joe Dante, who spoke about turning down the chance to direct the 1989 "Batman" movie, which Tim Burton ended up helming. According to Dante, he first agree to direct the film, but eventually pulled out.

He said: "After Gremlins started making money, Warner Bros bosses came to me and asked 'Would you like to do our Batman?' So I signed on. It was a good project, I grew up with Batman - but the problem was, I didn't really believe in Batman.

I just couldn't swallow the idea of the guy living up on a Hill, dressing up as a bat... Robin and all that...I didn't feel right about it so I went in and told them that I didn't think I was the right guy for the movie.

They, of course, said 'You must be crazy!', but I seriously believed, and still do, that I wasn't the right choice for the movie. It wasn't the movie that Tim Burton did, it was much more period. I don't regret not taking it on.
"

Source: ContactMusic


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jgrantt18 writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 7:02:36 PM

That takes a lot for someone to own up to not believing in something enough to feel they can do it correctly even for a lot money, good on him.
JOR-EL writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 7:19:34 PM

So let me get this straight. He "couldn't swallow the idea of a guy living on a hill and dressing up like a bat..Robin and all that" but he had no problem with the whole Gremlins, don't get them wet, feed em after midnight,etc,etc concept. Sounds like a lame excuse. However, I am actually glad that he didn't direct the movie. Obviously he wasn't the right guy.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 7:35:11 PM

1989 was how many decades ago? And this is news now because....?
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 7:49:38 PM

Really

Im mean does the phrase "I dont give a crap" mean anything

The right director is finally directing Batman anyway so I guess we are suppose to be led to think he would have done it like Nolan
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 8:38:12 PM

He had a brain and friggin' common sense. That's pretty f*ckin' rate in Hollywood.
Man in Black writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 8:47:25 PM

@ crazy - yes the correct director today is helming the batman universe in film but tim burton was the correct path for those movies then .... 1& 2 were good and all in favor of tar and feathering joel " i put f*cking nipples on the bat suit " d*cksucker/ shulmaker say AYE !
WV-Films writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 8:56:33 PM

And now nobody knows who Joe Dante is.....moron.
sparbeque writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 9:09:39 PM

Nobody cares. Write real stories.
Man in Black writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 9:22:21 PM

its a sunday and the 4th of july ( in the states ) equals slow news day
telur writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 10:04:23 PM

Joe Dante who?
CCBlev writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 10:22:43 PM

Well, now that I know this little of worthless f*cking info my life is now complete.Thanks for completely desperate attempt at news.
buttabean writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 10:57:55 PM

I bet when he heard prince was doing the music he wanted to hang glide the f*ck out of that meeting.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 12:28:27 AM

don't believe in Batman!? f*ck off BITCH.

also here is Encore on why he doesn't care: i do not care.

JohnZee writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 1:28:22 AM

Another sad tale of wasted youth.

"I could have been a contender" the man said.

Poor Joe Dante, if he could have just believed in Batman, he could have been the one shagging Johnny Depp and having c*ckfights with Helena Bonham Carter...

Or was that shagging Helena Bonham Carter and having c*ckfights with Johnny Depp?

Sometimes I get the Wonder Twins mixed up.
trailertrash writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 2:32:59 AM

1989 is a mix year for joe. Didn't make Batman , but it was the last time he did make a good film in The Burbs.

Without Steven Spielberg in your corner your movies have been pretty crap Joe.

Well done ..
Peter Parker writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 4:22:57 AM

Interesting... Dante claims he refused making "Batman" since he doesn't believe in the character, and yet, he made a movie about a little talking and intelligent furry creature that reproduces at the touch of water and turns evil in case it eats past midnight.

I can only conclude he believes in Gremlins.

... either that, or he's a moron. One of the two. Or both.
Trip Maverick writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 8:19:41 AM

Joe Dante is a good director but not right for Batman. He makes fun family Movies with a dark tone. Takes a big man to admit hes not right for the job. Couldnt see Uwe boll or P W S Anderson turning it down.
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 9:10:39 AM

a little perspective from joe dante:
-batman = fairytale
-gremlins = believable/real life

and this kids, is a perfect example of how cocaine was so widely used in the 80's
Detrimental writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 8:33:13 PM

PP didn't read Jor-El's comment. Lol.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 11:53:24 PM

PP-i think both.
gatesoftanhauser writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 10:33:27 AM

You know, I wish Bay, Rattner and Paul WS Anderson would learn some humility like this guy.
gatesoftanhauser writes:
on July 7th, 2010 at 10:33:57 AM

You know, I wish Bay, Rattner and Paul WS Anderson would learn some humility like this guy.
seveltoto writes:
on November 9th, 2017 at 8:53:42 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved