WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"BioShock" Movie Still in the Works

Posted: July 4th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"BioShock" Movie Still in the WorksSubmit Comment
IGN caught up with director Gore Verbinski (Pirates of the Caribbean) and asked about the big screen adaptation of the popular "BioShock" video game, which stalled in recent months due budget concerns.

"We're working trying to make it," he explained. "The problem with BioShock was: R-rated movie, underwater, horror. It's a really expensive R-rated movie. So we're trying to figure out a way working with [director] Juan Carlos Fresnadillo (28 Weeks Later) to get the budget down and still keep so it's true to the core audience. The thing is it has to be R, a hard R."

The fact that "Prince of Persia" (another movie based on a video game) underperformed domestically doesn't discourage Verbinski from making "BioShock." He said: "I think BioShock's a rare one because it's actually a great story. Me? I don't want to make movies based on video games, but BioShock's the one Oedipal, crazy kind of -- it's just got really good bones, and we're really trying to figure out a way to make it work."

He added: "We don't want to dumb it down, we don't want to make it PG-13. We want to keep it really edgy, and it's a huge bill."

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 7:33:01 PM

I don't play any of the games that they seem to be turning into movies so I don't know about the back round story for this.

As long as they make it an interested movie, I'll watch it.
SaulSilver writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 7:40:11 PM

From the little I know about the game it's definitely the type of game that would translate to film..Hell it seems like it could be better as a movie, actually.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 8:13:13 PM

This game was awesome, I never played the 2nd one thou. if they could stay true to the story from the game then it would be a great film. But staying true to the story is a lot to ask of Hollywood
wonderBOY writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 8:30:52 PM

system shock was better
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 8:40:57 PM

f*ck this sh*t, Gore!

I'd rather see either Halo or Grand Theft Auto ... the movie!
Monash writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 8:57:12 PM

You never see the title character, how would they make it a movie?
masht7 writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 9:21:57 PM

A Hard R, that's all I want from this.
CCBlev writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 10:16:37 PM

@max
Grand Theft Auto would be awesome, that I would love to see. But chances are Sony would get ahold of it and f*ck it all up.
Blank x2 writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 11:06:27 PM

How about Super Mario Brothers?

Wait.....nevermind.
masht7 writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 12:03:14 AM

I would like to see Tom Clancy's Rainbox Six: Vegas, now that would be awesome.
coldplayesence writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 12:17:29 AM

Dead Space (the game, not anime prequel) deserves to be a movie. To bad hollywood and EA are a bunch of pussies.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 12:30:05 AM

i've never played the game but it looks great, my bros say it's good. i'd watch it ... based on what i know.
Eben1277 writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 1:08:35 AM

I don't know what it's about, that picture looks pretty awesome
JohnZee writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 1:19:28 AM

Movies based on video games, the Blackploitation films of this decade. If I had a half-penny for every video game that's made the claim that it was the extremely rare exception and actually had a good story to it, then I would have a couple of rooms full of half-pennies.

Their the type of films that guys get to make or work on after they've kissed enough Hollywood executive's ass to the point where they are thoroughly satisfied. And then it's:

"Damn, you did such a good job sucking my ass, here's some video game that were making a movie about. No one really gives a damn about the quality of the movie, and the truth is that we could show 90 minutes of footage of two hippos f*cking, and some video games fans would still show up even if the similarity between the actual game and movie ended once you got past the opening credits."

RickyGabrielBird writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 3:13:14 AM

Grand Theft Auto

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0076100/

...well not quite. This film was the inspiration to the game so well done Ron Howard!

Bioshock is a great game. With the right director this should turn out some sh*t scary film. Although I would love to see a Mass Effect film more.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 3:47:39 AM

Thank you Gore, thank for making believe in this world. I've always said that Bioshock would make a great movie in the right hands. It seems like it is. I love how he says that it must be in hard R, because the violence isn't the core in the game and it probably could be done without too much gore, but he chooses not to. That, I've too give him credit for.

I'm starting to get somewhat tired on the whole "games sucks and there can never be a good movie based on a game"-debate. Games can make a very good foundation for a movie if you pick the right games and actually have people with knowledge about them. Super Mario Bros never had a chance of becoming a good movie, because Super Mario is f*cking retarded. Uwe Boll never had a chance at all. Those who made Prince of Persia had a great opportunity, however, they choose to f*ck things up. They could've followed the storyline from the game more closely, making some changes to fit the new forum, but I'm guessing the writers never played the game, just read the plot.

Videogames are the comic-books of today. It the audience some time to accept that good movies could be made from comic-books and now it's the biggest thing in Hollywood.
Peter Parker writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 4:15:49 AM

@ Ari:

Done.

On topic:

"BioShock"... This wouldn't have anything to do with BP, would it?

"it's just got really good bones"

- COC's dead and rotting mother has really good bones as well. Someone should make her movie.

On a totally unrelated story:

- f*ck Mondays.

masht7 writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 4:30:17 AM

Off Topic: Its Armond White we should be aware of, not Putman.
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 4:45:57 AM

@ freud

agreed, they just pick horrible games to make movies off of, or just do it poorly. Bioshock has a rich story and a great plot.

@max

halo sucks, and all GTA is about is selling drugs and killing hookers...give that to Uwe Boll or something

And I think Red Dead Redemption could make a good movie, its about time for an actual GOOD western movie.
trailertrash writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 6:35:30 AM

ari-

Nothing wrong with a shameless plug , done.

What ever game is made in to a movie, just try and keep Paul W.S. Anderson away from it and that will be a good start...
encoreyourface writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 7:19:37 AM

squirrel-are you saying killing hookers is a bad thing!?!?!
CCBlev writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 7:34:25 AM

Theres nothing wrong about killing hookers. Speaking of which, I'll be back in a bit gotta go clean the trunk of my car and basement.
Kill-the-director writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 7:38:16 AM

i wont get my hopes up on them not ruining this
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 9:22:14 AM

i've played the game, very good, very fun. although i do not agree with everyone saying that you can make a good movie from a video game. it just doesn't happen that way.

case in point: doom (first person shooter game, same as bioshock)

enough said
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 9:27:35 AM

@Vlad: You really can't compare Bioshock and Doom so narrowly. Yes, they both are FPS, but Doom was made in a time where you didn't need any explanation at why shoot at things other than they look like monsters. Bioshock have a story, a quite as well, nothing ground-breaking, but still good. And Doom the movie has nothing to do with the game other than the name.
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 9:54:53 AM

freudian:
im quick to judge sometimes, so i sat back and pondered your words. its true what you said about doom, the movie did deviate from the game quite a bit.
as for bioshock as a movie, i just can't imagine it being made as a 2 hr movie that is as exciting, smart, and unpredictable as the game itself was.
if its made, i hope they find a way to make it great and i wish them the best of luck. i just dont see it happening that way, but either way ill still see it.
my major issue is things that make sense when playing a game dont usually make sense when seen in a film.

Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 10:53:48 AM

@Vlad: Yes, they will have a hard time making the plasmids to seem not stupid on the screen. Also, they need to include more characters. To watch one guy collecting a bunch of tapes could be boring. But Verbinski seems to have done his homework, so I have faith in this.
rabid writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 11:59:10 AM

It would make an excellent film, but would be useless, unprofitable and embarasing without a massive budget.
drshakalou writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 12:31:40 PM

please please do
The-BRAD writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 3:07:07 PM

Snowman voted for!

I would LOVE to see this as a movie
Fixxer35 writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 3:37:00 PM

This is one movie I've been waiting for, considering the Bioshock franchise is one of my favorites in the gaming community. I love the setting, characters, and pretty much everything about it.

I pretty much agree that with a massive budget and some actually time to look at the game, this could turn out really well. And even though it is a first person game where it does not show the protagonist's face, it does show glimpses of him ... and in either case, that leaves you with more room to cast actors for the role. They just need to get the signature chain tattoos on his wrists.

Being a die hard fan, I would see this regardless of it bombing in the B.O. or terrible reviews. If not for this, what else would I like? Twilight or crappy comedies?
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 11:54:17 AM

I like what I'm hearing.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved