WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

M. Night Shyamalan on Negative "Last Airbender" Reviews

Posted: July 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
M. Night Shyamalan on Negative "Last Airbender" ReviewsSubmit Comment
NY Magazine caught up with director M Night Shyamalan to find out how he feels about all the negative reviews his "Last Airbender" movie is getting.

"I don't know what to say to that stuff. I bring as much integrity to the table as humanly possible," he said. "It must be a language thing, in terms of a particular accent, a storytelling accent. I can only see it this certain way and I don't know how to think in another language. I think these are exactly the visions that are in my head, so I don't know how to adjust it without being me. It would be like asking a painter to change to a completely different style. I don't know."

Despite the bad reviews, "Last Airbender" is performing well in theaters, which is why Shyamalan is already planning two more installments. "I wrote the first draft of the second movie, and I was really happy with it," he said. "That's as far as I've gone. I haven't really thought about how I would construct the third [movie] too much. In the next few months we'll be able to know whether we have that opportunity or not. It should be an awesome moment."

Click here to read our "The Last Airbender" review.

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 8:50:37 PM

Trying to pronounce his name leads me to believe this movie will be bad

Probably like watching one of those foreign films

I will say looking at the previews I thought this might be ok but it looks like its better just to watch the previews
murphyslaw93 writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 9:01:09 PM

He's happy with the second film's first draft? Jesus, I can only imagine how awful it must be...
encoreyourface writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 9:02:45 PM

what a dumb-ass, can't even admit his movie sucked balls and he blames it on language barrier, f*cking an asshat.
Aaron writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 9:18:59 PM

Don't think he meant a language barrier literally. I think he meant that it was the movie he wanted to make, and he can't help it if no one else likes it.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 9:24:45 PM

Hey, M. Night Shyamalan: f*ck You.
WV-Films writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 9:29:07 PM

Yeah they'll make Last Air bender 2 right after they get finished with Dragon Ball 2 and the Legend of Chun-Li 2.
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 9:31:50 PM

Why M Night Shyamalan? Why can't you be the harmless f*cking ghost we all once talked about in Sixth Sense and stop ruining my life? Because that'll be a lot of credit for you.

f*ck off.
Ted Mosby writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 9:52:12 PM

whose a bigger sell out ... Bay doing 3D or M. Night doing... well a PG movie... and being proud of it and planning on doing sequels even though this will CLEARLY bomb...
GIST writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 10:21:26 PM

This saga will be as awful as how he shamelessly plugs himself in into every cameo role he plays in his films. He kind of went overboard in "Lady in the Water", by actually giving himself adding more dialogue to an annoying character, to ease in as a supporting role.
Dude, you're not Clint Eastwood. How dare you think you have the chops to get on/off screen, to act & direct?! When people, critics, moviegoers, latte drinkers, window cleaners & hooker-renters think of M. Night Shyamalan. They only think of one thing, The Sixth Sense.
That's all you'll be known for buddy. Now make like Donnie Wahlberg in the beginning scene of your breakthrough film, and blow your brains out! (That's what he did right? Or did he make anal love to Bruce Willis before shooting him?)
disturbed01 writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 11:21:38 PM

the movie was so lame and i mean f*cking lame
johnny_boy writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 11:38:09 PM

He should do a 9/11 story. Talk about irony
Spedattack writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 12:01:43 AM

Not only has Night destroyed one of my favorite childhood shows. He's proud of it too!!!
abhisal writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 12:12:00 AM

@Johnny_boy.
Why? what the f*ck's ironical bout it you racist pigdumpling? He's an Indian hindu from tamil nadu, born in US, not a f*ckin terrorist!
CCBlev writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 12:14:07 AM

Jesus,
Your gonna be directing traffic here soon, get over it and accept it you suck balls.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 12:14:58 AM

Hey M. Night,

How many different translations of sh*t don't you understand ?

What ... you need a f*ckin' Miriam-Webster to get a definition of f*ckED UP ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 12:16:35 AM

M Night,

You might want to start to learn this soon : " You want fries with that ? "
velocityknown writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 12:30:59 AM

Even if this movie succeed financially, there's no way the studio's gonna let him anywhere near a sequel knowing what kind of damage it'll do at the box office.

RIP M. Night Shymalan's once promising career.
secondbest writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 12:32:38 AM

I love how he comes up with excuses AFTER his movies get bad reviews insttead of giving people a heads up. Hmmm... you're a crafty one M. Night Shyamalangadingdong.
johnny_boy writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 12:44:59 AM

@ abishal.... They're all the same to me buddy.
Sinestro writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 1:30:59 AM

I don't know what you guys want this dude to say. All he's saying is, hey, this is pretty much about as good as I'm gonna get.
Man in Black writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 1:36:39 AM

ya sooooooo who ya gonna get to fork over another 280 million for you to sh*t on ?
trailertrash writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 2:32:20 AM

This shmuck is happy the Negative "Last Airbender" Reviews is a step up from what they have said about his last few movies.

He's happy and is going to make more and have them talk in different accents by the sound of it !!

"I bring as much integrity to the table as humanly possible,"

f*cking big head, it's time to jog on for you now !!
SofaKing writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 5:19:14 AM

@johnny_boy

There are no terrorists in India! Just that guy from temple of doom that tears still beating hearts from chests.

"Um Dum Sha Ba! Um Dum Sha Ba!"
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 5:51:02 AM

Well, Night, if these are the visions in your head, then maybe you shouldn't do the movie? I have a lot visions for movies myself, but since I'm a hack, I won't act on them. I take my medicine and then call it a day.
JonnyRich007 writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 8:58:28 AM

M. Night has lost it. He is utterly delusional. How much did it cost to product this film? How much will he have to make in order to produce the level of "success" backers now demand? That is the only way it is determined whether the film is a flop or a success; monetary and financial success... not whether stupid snot nosed kids beg you to see it or not. OK? It cannot succeed when it is so universally trashed by critics... adult critics who pay the outrageous movie costs, again, not snot nosed kids or stupid teenage morons.
velocityknown writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 10:12:05 AM

He must have a different language because no one understands what the f*ck he's saying here.

Here's what I was able to translate:

Blah blah blah, I'm a pretentious ass who saw fit to change elements of the TV show that should have never been mine to change, blah blah blah, Sixth Sense.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 10:55:19 AM

@abishal-"He's an Indian hindu from tamil nadu, born in US, not a f*ckin terrorist!"

hmph, says the terrorist .... i know who you are .... M. Night.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 2:53:41 PM

I heard this was absolute sh*t
Atemisk writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 7:46:06 PM

^ What u heard is inaccurate.

The movie is a sin against life itself. It's so awful that it should be illegal to actually make a movie that blatantly wastes an hour and a half of the movie goers life span.

Absolute sh*t doesn't even come close to describing the abortion that was this movie
vaodsi writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 12:43:01 AM

no this will not bomb... it will decline 50 percent or more in it's second week, but it will make back it's money for sure. All the kids in the theater i saw it in loved it. it was the 16-19 year old crowd that thought it was lame. Parents and kids were clapping when it was over. I thought it was boring and ridiculous. i also thought the show was silly and boring. but this will make good money
vaodsi writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 12:44:13 AM

and internationally this will be huge! think golden compass if golden compass had a decent U.S. gross.
vaodsi writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 12:44:56 AM

which it didn't ;)
i thought this movie was about as bad as golden compass and eregon.
hunter207 writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 9:25:30 PM

I dont get why everyone disliked this movie. I for one enjoyed it. Sure, they mispronounced a name, but everyone acts as if its the end of the world! Sure, he changed a few things but it worked for me. For example, everyones complaining about how they didnt cast asian actors. Well, I saw a few in there, and if you actually watched the show, very few of the main characters looked asian! Also, I thought it clever how he did a different ethnicity for each nation: India for the fire nation, Asian for the Earth nation, white for the water nation, and a mix for the Wind nation... it just blows my mind how so many people can complain about the little things in a movie till their face turns blue
Rick Taps writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 4:58:35 PM

@hunter207, very few of the main actors looked Asian?

They sure weren't little white kids.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 4:21:43 PM

@atemisk hahahaha yeah I heard it was pretty awful. A few friends of mine went to see it and they said at least 5 people walked out before it even made it halfway thru the movie
Atemisk writes:
on July 6th, 2010 at 9:19:25 PM

@hunter207

No, they complained about the actors BEFORE the movie was out. No one gives a sh*t about that now, hell I didn't give a sh*t about it before the movie came out.

The reason it's a miserble abomination of a... well I wouldn't call it a movie so much as a random series of pictures. A random series of pictures with super sh*tty acting, terrible 3rd grade dialouge: which is actually almost funny cause those the sh*tty acting together with the 3rd grade script made it seem like a 3rd grade play.

Ignoring the actual names of an already established series, making The Fire Nation so incompetant that one has to struggle to imagine they ever "took over the world" (they put the EARTH benders in the middle of a mother f*cking canyon!), their "bending" turned into elaborate dances that don't make any sense because NO ONE WOULD WATCH THAT LONG ASS ROUTINE AND NOT DO ANYTHING TO STOP IT.

It bears almost no relation to the original show which not only was interesting but rather funny. And on top of this diaherra sundae is a thick layer of vomit called "3D", that makes everything so ugly and it's almost physically painful to look at. We could continue from here but hell this is good enough.

This isn't a personal attack on u but seriously: No one is saying it's a terrible movie because the "cast isn't asian".
jikae writes:
on July 11th, 2010 at 5:59:16 AM

I'm Asian, haven't seen the cartoon series (developed by Nickelodeon, by the way), and I thought this film was absolute garbage. The 15 minutes of Toy Story 3 I saw prior to watching this film was better than the 2hr sh*tstorm that was "The Last Airbender." I'm happy that James Cameron took the Avatar title before M Night Shyamamamamalalalalalalalnananana took it, and I HATED Avatar too. It was amazing how he got a pool of the worst actors that Hollywood has to offer (except the guy who played the uncle; who didn't look Indian).

I don't really care that the main cast wasn't Asian even though it was blatant. Everyone else in the 'water' tribe were Alaskan/Asian while the main guys were White. An all-Asian cast doesn't draw the crowds yet, look at the Dragonball movie.

I just wished that the whole movie was better and I won't even expand on how the entire movie WASN'T even in 3D.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved