WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Last Airbender" - What Did You Think?

Posted: July 2nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Last Airbender" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
M Night Shyamalan's "The Last Airbender" is currently playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes the film has only a 10% fresh rating, one of the lowest of this year. Most critics agree that "The Last Airbender" boring, forgettable and is just a complete failure.

The new movie cost around $280 million to develop (production and marketing) and will likely gross around $50 million domestically over the Independence Day weekend. The film will also likely perform well internationally. Come back on Sunday to see how "Last Airbender" actually performed.

Click here to read our "The Last Airbender" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
FpJGarcia writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 7:08:25 AM

Damn you bad reviews...I want this to be good!!!!!!!!!
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 7:10:40 AM

I wanted this one to be good to and was very suprised it got completely sh*tty reviews. I expected it to be reviewed poorly but not that bad lol!!!

But made me change my mind about seeing it.
angelus5621 writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 7:14:23 AM

Was horrible.
Dr. Strangelove Huberis writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 7:15:15 AM

I thought the title was called The Last Assbender and it starred pedophile priests ...

really, if D(anish) P(rophylactic) rated 2 out of 10 on this, I guess I'll have to watch it, even though a young boy with a arrow on his head pointing to his mouth looks like an advertisement for NAMBLA WORLDWIDE.
CCBlev writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 7:27:05 AM

M Nights done now. He, Amanda Bynes and Megan Fox are gonna be co workers at the local Micky D's now. Maybe Megan and Amanda will both blow me in the bathroom, hey it happens I know for a fact.
trailertrash writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 8:23:22 AM


f*ck eating there then , they will never get your food order right !!

But i will take a side order BJ please...
CCBlev writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 8:28:31 AM

And top it with a Carmel Blow Frappe lol
trailertrash writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 8:39:44 AM

CC- with Fox you run the risk of getting a side order of gonorrhea from her Bacon Bit's ....
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 8:51:57 AM

The only review to my knowledge that matched what I thought was the Dark Knight (Good)

I really could care less what reviews think.

After having read so many of them I found myself not going to movies only to find out I missed so many good movies.

kasleari writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 8:58:24 AM

i was a huge fan of the tv show. however, the last airbender is by far one of the worst movies i have ever seen. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!
Zalmor29 writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 9:19:55 AM

Had my hopes to high, wish it would have been better. the fights where good, but the story was to rushed. the show is great but the movie falls short
SACdaddy writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 9:42:54 AM

Yikes! This is critically bombing worse than The Happening and Lady In the Water. I didn't think that was possible! Can someone stick a fork in this chalupa quick before he pisses on Bruce Willis and Sam Jackson's careers with a sequel to Unbreakable?
CCBlev writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 9:44:37 AM

She gives new meaing to the term "Special Sauce?
sizkebab writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 10:06:36 AM

f*ck reviews and critics, they are all douchebags. You be the judge.
trailertrash writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 10:09:27 AM


Can i Spit roast your sausage sir !!
rabid writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 10:18:51 AM

Terrible terrible movie.
This should be the nail in the coffin for old M Knight. Whatever value he once had as a director, it's gone.
CCBlev writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 10:23:07 AM

Well I definatly would love to eat her Egg McMiuffin for breakfast.
CCBlev writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 10:40:03 AM

Yea I remember when he first came out with The Sixth Sense, he was being touted as the "Next Speilberg".
sc_kg writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 11:08:19 AM

Seriously, is it that bad?
In what way? It's boring, stupid, what?
thegambit72 writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 11:18:23 AM

M.Night BENT my childhood over a table and raped it
trailertrash writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 11:56:45 AM


I think M. Night paid someone to say that you know.....

His last few movies have been truely terrible
(i may of understated that a bit)
Bunny X writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 12:12:19 PM

As a fan of the series, I purposely lowered my expectations knowing that rarely has a cartoon series ever been succesfully translated onto the big screen and it was in the hands of M. Night Sham(artist)alama-ding-dong.
But there was a glimmer of hope as the trailers looked pretty good.
All I can say is wow. I was pretty upset with how Transformers ruined my joy of a cartoon franchise coming to the big screen and was even more so pissed at the results of GI Joe.
Compared to those films, The Last Airbender makes them look like worthy big screen adaptations. It was bad. Granted nowhere near DOA bad, or Super Mario Bros bad but my God it was just put together like a room temperature sandwhich with soggy-ass bread.
And this is where I firmly believe that M. Night's career IS and SHOULD be over.
this movie was not an idea of his. this was not one of his original ideas that he wrote and developed. That was my hope that this was going to be ok. and for that matter, the movie itself had all the right (pardon the pun) elements but like I said, it was put together horribly. Parts that needed pace to develop were rushed and parts that didn't need to drag on did so for what seemed like eternity.
The story itself was pretty faithful to the series and in itself is a great story. That's where the director comes in. It's the director's job to take the material and craft it to the point where it makes sense to a newcomer and is faithful to the loyal followers. Night did a horrible job on this. As a fan of the series, I felt ripped off of what I knew to be a good story and how the crappy work done overwhelmed it. It took me being a fan to understand certain aspects of the sory that he did not take the time to develop or went and rushed. From the perspective of a newcomer, I would look at this and scratch my head because I would be oblivious to the story and would see this as just a mess. I would hope that "newcomer" wouldn't be put off by this movie and actually go see the series to get the horrible aftertaste that is this movie, out their mouths.
No studio should even deal with Night after this. From my understanding, he was given this film as a last chance to prove his worth by not burdening him with the duties of writing a story and directing but rather just focus on directing. Well he failed miserably and I truly hope his time in Hollywood is over.
I'll give him The Sixth Sense, yes it was a great film. Unbreakable was good but partly due to the honeymoon feeling from The Sixth Sense. Everything else afer them has been garbage and he's proven now to have taken a one time lucky shot and making a career out of it.
Enjoy your millions of dollars loser, you are hereby on my list as THE WORST DIRECTOR OF ALL TIME.
ChainsawX writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 12:14:36 PM

lets just say it was good enough and way better than the happening
rocketman writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 12:36:29 PM

I bent a few air biscuits out today
mmmac writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 1:04:40 PM

It takes a self righteous piece of sh*t like M Night to f*ck up a franchise the way he has. The fact that he even changes pronunciations of names and words shows that he sucks his own d*ck because he thinks he is God's brown gift to cinema. Instead of making a two and a half hour epic which could easily be done since there are many filler episodes in the series he chooses to throw in as many references back to the series and creates an incoherent clusterf*ck. M Night had a chance to prove he was humble enough to take another persons art and translate it to the screen. Nope. Instead he believes he knows better than the writers of the extremely successful series and changes Ang's entire story arc. The air ball doesn't even appear once which is Ang's go to move. Instead of the kid who ignores his responsibilities the reason he runs away in th series M Night changes it to him being a scared little boy. No no no no. Ang ran away because he just wanted to be normal not because he was afraid. I won't even talk about the ending which was the biggest f*ck you to fans of the series possible where he once again said I know better than your beloved series. The casting is also terrible. Not because of the race problem simply because once again he changes everything. Commander Zhou is a bad ass not a sinister, sly backstabber who can also provide comic relief. Commander Zhou earned his rank through smart military tactics and brute strength. The fact that I don't believe M Night's Zhou could kick Dakota Fanning's ass says a lot. The casting issues continue with other characters such as Iro and more but I won't go into that. Another f*ck up of M Night's is the fact that what made Firelord Ozai as terrifying as he is in the series is that for the first half of the series we only see him as an shadowed outline surrounded by flame which surged when he was angry. Instead he walks around simply because M Night needs him for more of the horrendously written expository dialogue. The fight sequences suck. In the series each bend went seamlessly with the characters movement. Instead they do exhaustingly tiresome tai chi or yoga move then something happens. Retarded. The fact that this movie was ever made is big f*ck you to the fans because as thegambit72 said M Night raped my childhood with this mess.
Cleric writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 1:09:27 PM

@kasleari, Nice avatar, that was an awesome short.

Looks like M. Night Shyamalan is losing his touch... Maybe he should just go back and Make an Unbreakable sequel before it's too late.
nicholas56 writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 1:27:18 PM

that movie looks like a pile of sh*t
eliteeagle writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 1:30:59 PM

Simply terrible. M. Night Shyamalan needs to stop making movies
vaodsi writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 1:44:05 PM

ZFirst off, I'd rather support a filmaker like shyamalan who has actually made a few great films on the 100 best films of all time list who has been nominated for multiple oscars... then some hack like michael bay who has never made a great film in his life. ( ok, some weren't terrible... just good... but none were great.)

i will see this movie eventually.
But why did everybody think this was going to be great?
the "ACTOR" in the lead should have been the stunt double. Even from the tailers his voice sounded terrible.
I love sixth sense, unbreakable, signs, village, and if you watch lady in the water as a fun fantasy movie it is fun... not scary... just hilarious. the dude only working out one half of his body. The obnoxious critic who gets EATEN by a GRASS WOLF MONSTER! That's cult worthy.
i thought the happening sucked... and i think the last airbender will. The problem is, M. NIght is now making studio safe movies. After making lady in the water... and after it totally flopped (it should never have been a wide release, it should have started limited) none of the studios would touch him cause of all the negative press from one movie. Ok, ok, the village didn't get great reviews... it also got nominated for an oscar so there. The problem is, he's not good at making movies that have action or gore. He has tried to do both but they have not turned out. Airbender and happening are by far his ABSOLUTE WORST!!! and ironically, they were big money. Airbender WILL be big money. Happening WAS good money. M. Night is selling out. I think he half asssed both these films to say to studios, "I can still make you money!"
and he will, then he can do another good movie from his own original script with willis! YES!!

and he raped your childhood?
how young are you?
johnthemon writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 1:44:30 PM

This could be 2010's Transformers 2. Horrifyingly bad reviews, but makes money none the less. Or not...I'm still gonna see it.
johnthemon writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 1:44:31 PM

This could be 2010's Transformers 2. Horrifyingly bad reviews, but makes money none the less. Or not...I'm still gonna see it.
vaodsi writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 1:44:39 PM

how how OLD were you still watching cheezy kiddie cartoons?
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 1:55:56 PM

Ok, so I didn't see the movie but that is because my neice watched the movie. She's 16 and a huge fan of the series and said it was a disgrace to every fan of the show. The show had the main character as a goofy, fun loving 12 yr old. This movie didn't use any of the humorous overtones of the show. They also misprounced the main characters name "Aang" as "Ong" and "Avatar" as "Ovotar". The f*cked up the entire lore of the show also and tried to rush too much of the first season of the show, book one, into an hour and a half movie. Oh, and the actors apparently never watched the show from my neice's description. I will not waste one dime and I think a petition should be started to stop this douche from making movies. Lower him down to Uwe Boll status.
Preditorian writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 2:31:36 PM

Heh, I was just about to make a comment about good ol director boll but you beat me to it :)
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 2:51:57 PM

Okay I aw the movie yesterday and unfortuantely it was awful. The fact is though that M Night Shyamalan took on an impossible task. Anyone ever seen the show? Pretty much every episode of each season was relevent and the mythology of the story is simply but very in depth at the same time. Trying to compact that into two hours would be impossible. I praise him for trying because nothing like this has ever been attempted, but I wouldn't recommend it to other directors. Some series just belong on television. The only thing I blame him for truly is that he pronounced half the characters names wrong! Seriously, they pronounced "Aang" as "Ung" and "Sokka" as "Soka". I assume that was because that is how they thought you are suppose to pronounce the names in reality but at this point the characters were way too popular to have their names changed. So anyway attempting to put all this stuff into a working film formula was too big a task so I hope the best for M. Night and that he finds his mojo again. Good luck to you M. Night Shyamalan...but NEVER EVER let this happen again!
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 4:23:59 PM

This Dude made two good movies (f*ck you all Unbreakable WAS good). The rest of his movies have been sh*t. Time to take a break and f*ck your fat wife. Say good night M. Night. Youre done.
drediablo writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 5:08:06 PM

it looks like M Night Shyamalan's career is over; what a twist!!!
Man in Black writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 6:18:54 PM

this movie has been sh*t on more then 2G1C
joninfinity writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 7:15:40 PM

Damn. Such high hopes, such a dissapointment. He missed the mark badly. They didn't even pronounce two of the names correctly. That's a slap in the face to true Avatar, Last Airbender fans. Grade - D
murphyslaw93 writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 8:34:33 PM

It is absolutely beyond me how a director who showed much more than a glimmer of talent with his debut 11 years ago can get progressively worse not only as a director, but as well as a writer and just an all around filmmaker with each new film. His masterful Sixth Sense does have a minor pacing issue, feeling much longer than it actually is, but solid performances, great direction, and a well thought out script made that film one of the best of '99. Unbreakable, though great as well, is where the issues begin to become apparent. From Signs onto this most recent atrocious excuse for a film, Shyamalan has just become one of the worst directors working in Hollywood. His once chilling thrillers have become laughable loads of horse sh*t and the one time he decides to deviate from his formulaic style and create a film based on someone else's material (and very solid material at that, the tv show is awesome) he somehow manages to royally f*ck it up. The set design and a few cool shots are the film's only saving grace...if you can even consider that a saving grace. Shyamalan decides to condense an entire show season into a mere 100 minutes and provides so much exposition that it turns out to be not enough by the film's end. Viewers not familiar with the source material will be completely lost and those who are familiar (like the friend I say it with) will find the film embarassing. The special effects are also very poor, the previews mislead you to believe that they will actually be pretty solid. But the majority of action sequences happen when Aang (who's name is mispronounced the entire film along with other characters) can only air bend, so he is just force pushing people and they roll around like rag dolls when they hit the ground. The best special effects are used for the water bending, and the previews have destroyed the thrill of them. The $150 million budget does the film no help and it will be lucky if it makes that much back because given Shyamalan's track record, not many people will be rushing to see his latest films and along with the poor reviews, it's not looking good for the sequels (which he ends the movie hoping to make). Plus all the money spent on advertising and ruining the movie's only good scenes are pretty much a nail in Shyamalan's coffin. He should really look into a new profession.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 8:37:40 PM

My friend made an excellent analogy for how Shyamalan is perceived in Hollywood. He's like that kid in the first grade who shows sign of being socially awkward and a societal loner at a very early age and just sits in the corner and makes weird animal sounds and eats paste so the teacher just decides to let him to whatever the f*ck he wants. Shyamalan is the director who seems to have the creative element within him and has been lucky enough to bring in some revenue despite his weird persona so Hollywood just lets him do whatever the f*ck he wants. Not exactly a good system, but it seems to be true. He probably also uses the excuse that he, at one very short time in his career, was an Oscar nominee and he did create one of the most widely acclaimed and adored thrillers of the 90s so Hollywood continues to give him chance after chance to redeem himself. Maybe they'll finally get the picture after The Last f*cking Airbender.
JonnyRich007 writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 9:22:53 AM

Uh, a lot of movies that ended up losing money did well over the holiday weekend. $50 Mill is a success? It has to recover the cost of the movie and then make another $300 Mill to be considered a success. Let's see how badly it starts to tank after this 4th July weekend OK?
JonnyRich007 writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 2:55:49 PM

What? Someone still actually thinks 'Signs' was a good movie? The primary problem with every single one of M Night's movies is that at the end, you say to yourself, "man, what a ridiculously retarded ending" then you realize that the entire premise for the movie was utterly pointless. Sixth Sense and Unbreakable were the only not too horrid of an ending movie; rest were pure sh*t. Just look at the ending and then look at the premise of Signs ok before you declare how ga ga you are still over it. It's some massive alien pre-invasion scout mission right? They are soooo powerful but a baseball bat and a cup of water spells their doom? Not to mention that we had to endure M Night's miserable acting in the subsequent movies. Rest of his movies weren't even fun much less a fun fantasy. They are all just ludicrous and retarded. And when a director is attempting so hard to be serious and you find it hilarious, it is a failure. That is epic fail. I wish we could pour a glass of water on M Night and beat him senseless with a Louisville Slugger.
Atemisk writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 7:51:21 PM

M Night Shyamalan should be beaten for making this. The movie is beyond awful. I had low expectations going into this and it didn't even come close to meeting those.

encoreyourface writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 2:59:17 PM

JohnnyRich-Signs was terrible. only seen it once and i regret it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved