WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

It's Official: Andrew Garfield is New "Spider-Man"

Posted: July 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
ItSubmit Comment
Sony Pictures has now confirmed that Andrew Garfield has been chosen to play Peter Parker in the upcoming 3D "Spider-Man" reboot. The new film will begin production in early December directed by Marc Webb (500 Days of Summer).

On selecting Garfield, Webb said: "Though his name may be new to many, those who know this young actor's work understand his extraordinary talents. He has a rare combination of intelligence, wit, and humanity. Mark my words, you will love Andrew Garfield as Peter Parker."

Garfield most recently worked with director David Fincher on the upcoming film "The Social Network." He previously starred for Spike Jonze on his robot love story "I'm Here," which premiered at Sundance this year. He plays the lead male opposite Keira Knightley and Carey Mulligan in Mark Romanek's "Never Let Me Go," due for release later this year.

Other notable screen credits include Terry Gilliam's "The Imaginarium of Dr Parnassus" and Robert Redford's "Lions For Lambs."

Click here to read more about "Spider-Man."

Source: Sony Pictures


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 59 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
wonderBOY writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 9:34:26 PM

his no tobey. everyone is going to be saying this
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 9:39:20 PM

Good God, man! That is one ugly f*cking muppet!
TheHundreds writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 9:39:56 PM

well he was good enough in parnassus
JRprime writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 9:48:30 PM

no marc webb. i will not love anything about this movie.
BobMcBob writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 9:57:13 PM

if he's good enough for David Fincher, he's good enough for me
telur writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 10:07:09 PM

wait? Garfield is a cat not a spider!
Vin12 writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 10:09:30 PM

The only problem I have with this guy is that he's ten years too old.
JohnZee writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 10:10:53 PM

Yep this is the world we live in. The previous Spiderman movies were financial windfalls for Sony, so this kid gets $500,000 for his first Spiderman movie because the number crunchers are confident that it will at least be somewhat profitable.

But poor Chris Evans that has already proven himself in two Marvel movies can't get more then $300,000 out of them to play Captain America.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 10:18:09 PM

Never heard of him, never seen him in anything. But he's one ugly dude.

Even without this bit of uneventful casting news, I still don't have much hope for the Spider-Man reboot. Nothing against Marc Webb; I really enjoyed (500) Days of Summer. I just think maybe the Raimi/Maguire trilogy has deflated most of my interest in the character.

If they wanted to reboot it, they should have waited a while longer, IMO.
nope.com writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 10:21:56 PM

looks like Brandon Routh's brain damaged brother

.. meh, maybe he can be Spidey
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 10:29:35 PM

I have the same reaction as Patrick in this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch#!v=Q6sXaR1NAhg
BuuMonster writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 10:29:45 PM

I have s feeling the AWLM will have to pay a visit to Sony the day after this crapfest his the theaters.

Next thing you know Martin Scorsese will say he's the next Mark Wahlberg
Aingx writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 10:43:21 PM

Eh, he at least LOOKS like Peter Park....the new Amazing Spider-man series anyhow.
WV-Films writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 10:52:47 PM

See Tobey Mcguire was an established actor before Spider-man. This kids a no one and they're going to let him tent pole their multi million dollar franchise? Are they crazy? You can't treat a Spider-man franchise like the Twilight series. Guys just don't care.
hunter207 writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 11:09:40 PM

I liked him in Parnassus, so I'll give him a chance
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 11:18:58 PM

I agree with Vin12. This dude is too old. Granted, I'm the same age as this motherf*cker but sh*t, why not use Tobey if your going to use this dude? What the f*ck is the point? I wouldn't say ten, but still. I actually could've bought the kid from the Percy Jackson movie as the new Peter Parker more than this dude. Lame choice and this has to be the final straw for most fans who were behind Spidey 1 & 2 for the chances of the new franchise. f*ck that noise.
rcazzy writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 11:19:55 PM

They're putting Peter in college for the new film it seems, so that fixes the age issue!

I'm excited about this.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 11:21:03 PM

I'm flipping excited. This is the first time my choice actor (given a list) for a part actually got picked. He was great in Dr. Parnassus and will do well as Peter Parker.
Lowryder writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 11:51:26 PM

thought they were goin with josh hutcherson?
Kooky SpunkCaked writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 11:53:04 PM

What the f*ck is up with his face ? It's like God slapped him silly from conception on.

Or he got hit by one of those Ice Truckers, who thought he was DJ Smalls and said, "Well, f*ck his wanderin' ass ..."

Andrew Garfield ? Wasn't he a President ? Oh. I'm thinkin' James Garfield.

He might wanna keep that mask on throughout the whole f*cking movie.
ian_918 writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 11:55:26 PM

Really? this goofy looking motherf*cker?
Lowryder writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 11:59:05 PM

way to go sony! good job choosing a old british f*ck head to bring back to high school!!!! im sure he will be waay better than tobey..(sarcasm intended)
koul writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 12:13:06 AM

you got to be f*cking kidding me. who the f*ck is this *sshole. this movie is definitely ruined now. ain't nobody gonna watch this homo or this sh*tty movie you called Spider-Man. they should just cancel this sh*t right now. the first three Spider-Man movies are already good.
SaulSilver writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 12:18:59 AM

Josh Hutcherson would have been way better.
Ranger writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 12:51:17 AM

Tobey and Sam gone because of politics.

Sony... suck it!

Don't care about this franchise. Will wait 'til it shows up on the movie channel I'm paying for anyway. But you won't get theater $'s from me, f*ckers!
Peter Parker writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 12:59:55 AM

Andrew Garfield, uh?

... hum...










... I wonder how this f*cker feels about lasagna!?
rabid writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 1:02:36 AM

I couldn't care less about this. It's never going to capture the essence of the comic the way Raimi did.
Peter Parker writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 1:08:00 AM

Also, they should cast Bill Oddie as Uncle Ben and John Travolta as Dr. Connors.
That way, we could say that Garfield, Oddie and John will be in the new Spider-Man movie.
Ain't that something?

(And just in case any spelling bee has a problem with that, yes, I am aware it's "Odie" and "Jon)
SaulSilver writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 1:25:25 AM

John C. McGinley for J.Jonah Jameson
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 1:30:36 AM

Hey, it could've been Zac Efron. LOL, no pleasing you guys. Just kidding. Kind of ironic that this guy's 27 playing a teenager. Just like Tobey Maguire when the first franchise began.
Matiax writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 1:34:53 AM

Too old. And ugly as sh*t.

"Kooky SpunkCaked"??? WTF??

LOL @ PP
I bet somebody is making a Garfield cat in Spider-suit picture right now.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 1:58:18 AM

he's not that ugly ... might just be be a bad pic ... please God for his sake let it be a bad picture,lol.


well we sort of dodged a bullet, this guy doesn't look gay. or like he could be in a Twatlight film.
trailertrash writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 2:40:36 AM

Is That Andrew Murray ??
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 2:41:30 AM

He looks like a finger with hair and eyes.
popcorn writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 2:46:16 AM

i think its nice that Hollywood gives retarts a go
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 5:19:34 AM

He's not a bad actor, in the movies I've seen him in he's been good. But I don't consider it that much of a reboot. Weren't Peter supposed to be in high-school now? Garfield looks young, but not that young.
DRzFiNe$T writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 5:42:11 AM

i cant wait to see who they cast as Mary Jane..Thats what im waiting for!

Perhaps they might cast a better known actor for Harry Osbourn..who knows?
Sonic writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 6:19:08 AM

GOD NOOOO!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 6:40:32 AM

At this rate, I wouldn't be surprised if they cast Beyonce as MJ and Jonah Hill as Harry! Maybe Danny Glover for Uncle Ben?
DRzFiNe$T writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 6:45:58 AM

@ eViL.kEv2

while we're at it how about going a little D-list and cast Gilbert Gotfried as JJ Jameson
sc_kg writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 6:46:09 AM

@wonderBOY of course he's not Toby.
He's Andrew Garfield.
FpJGarcia writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 7:07:29 AM

Great...
CCBlev writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 7:17:33 AM

Wow, way to go you f*cktards. They wanted to go younger but instead they chose a guy who was older than Tobey Maguire when he first signed on as Spiderman. What the f*ck is in the Kool-Aid you f*ckholes are drinking?
xzbeat writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 7:21:35 AM

holy sh*tooo..........spider-man is a comic book , not a thriller , they ruined the movie , everybody wants the "fourth part" with tobey maguire.........!!!!!!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 8:38:31 AM

The guy is the same age as Tobey when the original came out. Apparently 27 seems to be the sweet spot for the role as far as Hwood is concerned. Its a little strange to see him in high school after seeing him in college in Lions for Lambs, but he was pretty good in that film so I'll give him a chance. This is also a pretty bad pic of him, he looked nothing like this in LFL.
Crazyhorse writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 8:42:41 AM

This will be on Lifetime when I see it while I am waiting to get my hair cut.
i3u7n5 writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 8:46:58 AM

From the looks of that photo he should be starring as "Eddie Munster"
nefilim writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 9:13:36 AM

how fu***ing stupid people come to this board ?

a) they complain if someone is too pretty
B) they do it if some is (supposed ugly)

see this picture and tell me that you are more handsome than he is :

http://fametastic.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/splash//200904-baftas/andrew_garfield_spl95778_019.jpg

and you have not seen "red riding" trilogy - and boast it here ! you sure are a moron, sir !
Goober3000 writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 9:19:36 AM

but this guy is white? spiderman was a BALACK MAN!! This upsets me :P
rabid writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 10:45:15 AM

If they were going to cast old adult spidey, then they should have just stuck with Tobey. They're trying to save money by casting the cheapest film they can and hoping people watch it out of fandom. Isn't going to work out that way.
billofill writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 12:47:36 PM

He's No Tobey sure but Tobey was berely a decent Spiderman he had what one good outing in Spiderman 2 and a decent to sh*t in 1 and 3.
TRUEMAN writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 12:50:02 PM

f*ck one fagget wins the role what a good news!
nicholas56 writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 1:24:02 PM

he has one f*cked up nose
pomme writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 3:09:05 PM

????
Man in Black writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 6:04:34 PM

who ?
popcorn writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 2:16:20 AM

nefilim writes:
how fu***ing stupid people come to this board?

should you really be making fun of stupid people?


bloodgear writes:
on July 3rd, 2010 at 7:39:15 AM

Watch Red Riding. He w I think he'll be decent in it. From that picture he doesn't look like Parker but I might just have faith in it.
Rick Taps writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 6:03:50 PM

He looks the part moreso than the other actors they wanted for PP. Peter is supposed to be a freak of nature anyway. Who wants a Peter Parker that looks like a teen heartthrob? Kudos for hiring a guy who looks like he could be in a Revenge of the Nerds remake.
seveltoto writes:
on November 9th, 2017 at 9:01:29 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved