WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Pet Sematary" and "It" Movies are Moving Forward

Posted: July 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Pet Sematary" and "It" Movies are Moving ForwardSubmit Comment
Screenwriter David Kajganich (Blood Creek, Invasion) spoke to a Stephen King's fan site about the upcoming "Pet Sematary" and "It" movies, which are based on King's novels.

Regarding "Pet Sematary": "After I turned in my first draft, Paramount went through a top-down regime change and I was given a new executive who had creative ideas I just couldn't stand behind. They wanted to appeal to younger audiences, so there was talk of making a teenaged Ellie the main character, and etc. It was really heartbreaking, but that's how the process works sometimes. The studio was gracious enough to let me out of my contract and the project was dormant at the studio until very recently. The current news is that Paramount has restarted the process with a new producer (Lorenzo Di Bonaventura) and writer (Matt Greenberg (Reign of Fire, 1408))."

Regarding "It": "There's not a lot I can tell you at this point about the specifics, since we're still very much in development on it. I'll just say for now that we're really swinging for the fences."

Source: Liljas-Library


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 6:14:43 AM

You can't remake these films without having the same aspects of the original. It's just gonna be another nightmare in elm street remake
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 6:28:35 AM

Once again, no need to remake either. Between that creepy little sh*t that played Gage and Tim Curry's performance as Pennywise, these two are untouchable. If this guy has such a hard-on for f*cking up a Stephen King story, how about one we haven't seen before? I'd love to see a "Cell" movie if there were actually creative people involved with it.
Andrassy writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 6:30:15 AM

Can't wait for Pet Sematary. the original is classic
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 6:44:10 AM

King, why don't you take a page out of The Dark Half and cut your balls and shaft off. TURN IN YOUR OUTLAW CARD. YOU HAVE BEEN OFFICIALLY LABELED A SELLOUT.

I mean really. If you want to remake a movie .... MAXIMUM f*ckING OVERDRIVE WOULD BE PERFECT. REMAKE A MOVIE THAT MADE ESTEVEZ LOOK LIKE A TOOL.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 6:45:54 AM

Regarding "It": "There's not a lot I can tell you at this point about the specifics, since we're still very much in development on it. I'll just say for now that we're really swinging for the fences."


Yeah, you're swinging something alright. But since this is Stephen King territory, we're hoping it gets cut off in a bad corn tiller accident.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 7:43:03 AM

heard It was sh*t (look mommy i can rhyme!)

although Pet Sematary was good. don't know about the second however ...
encoreyourface writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 7:43:31 AM

looks like It needs to take a laxative in that pic ...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 9:12:26 AM

"Pet Sematary" and "It" Movies are Moving Forward

Why? and why?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 9:14:41 AM

At least he didn't fell for the "appeal of a younger audience"-trick. There a tons of unfilmed King-material out there, some which could work better than these. As Johnny said, you can't really remake them without turning them into completely different movies. To make Ellie the main protagonist would totally miss the point of the whole story. And if they try to make "It" more hip, and cast a bunch of young actors (which I can totally see them do), would also indicate that the execs don't know what the story is about.
velocityknown writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 9:58:36 AM

Jesus Christ, Hollywood have an original f*cking idea.

"We're really swinging for the fences."

Really?

Swinging to do what? Repeat the same film that's already been done with better special effects and hotter women? Does this two-bit screenwriter really think his art was being stolen from him when they wanted to "go younger". Newsflash moron, this isn't even your idea. You just took words from a novel and put them onto a script. You're not f*cking Tarantino.

trailertrash writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 10:10:57 AM

"Pet Sematary" Why bother, come on really. king was involved in the movie doing the screenplay to his story , So is someone 20 years later going to make the movie any better now ? NO !!

As you said freud on IT they will most likely fill the movie full of young teenagers (or 25's acting as 18 years olds) and it will turn out like the Fog did a few years ago which was a big pile of steaming sh*t !!

They will want the running time to be about 100 minutes, thats alot to try and fit in to that time frame and for it all to make sense .....
SACdaddy writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 10:11:54 AM

Sorry, I can't agree with any of you on this one. Pet Sematary was an OK film but the book may be one of the creepiest novels I've ever read and is by far one of King's best. I'd love a remake if it were more true to the source material.

As for It, remaking a TV movie is fine in my book. The original was still pretty creep and Tim Curry was awesome, but a good R rated film could deliver much more. Making movies based on King novels/short stories is always hit or miss, but at least a remake could be a good chance for someone to improve on the shortcomings of the original films which aren't perfect. Lately Hollywood has been a little more successful with adapting his work than in the past. 1408 and especially The Mist are great examples of how good a King conversion can be.

I also wouldn't mind seeing Silver Bullet remade.
CCBlev writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 10:43:09 AM

@Trailer spot on!
Bunny X writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 11:35:15 AM

@SAC, yep. A remake of It for the big screen would be great. I would truly miss Curry's performance as it was the basis for my current fear of clowns. But hard R content would push this story to levels unable to attain on TV.
trailertrash writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 11:40:24 AM

SAC-

The Mist is the best movie from a king story i've seen so far, i love that movie and the ending breaks my heart every time i see it. 1408 i would have to watch again i fell asleep through that.

Never read the book Pet Sematary so if you say there's more to add to that story then i will take your word on it, I just liked the original seemed like an old school horror film which made a change from the Elm st and friday 13th slasher films of that time.

Like the Shining, King has always said he didn't like Jack Nicholson or shelley duvall as Jack and Wendy, When i read the book after i had seen the movie they were who i had in my mind as the characters, but the book was better, same as Jurassic park the book is 10x better than the film.

Sometimes Great books can only make good Movies.

Silver Bullet not seen that for years ...

CC- cheers mate..
trailertrash writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 11:46:16 AM

@bunny- Curry as pennywise was great and is that really the same guy who's in Clue , Home alone 2 and congo and many more like those ....
Whitta writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 12:42:37 PM

@trailer most certainly is!!

i would LOVE a remake to IT, hoping it doesnt turn out like the pg13 bullsh*t out and about, but by the sounds of what was said about Pet Sematary (cutting it down for a teen audience) im abit disappointed.

What im mainly asking for is more clown movies where theres alot more killing and terrorizing. Something to really make you uncomfortably
Whitta writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 12:42:41 PM

@trailer most certainly is!!

i would LOVE a remake to IT, hoping it doesnt turn out like the pg13 bullsh*t out and about, but by the sounds of what was said about Pet Sematary (cutting it down for a teen audience) im abit disappointed.

What im mainly asking for is more clown movies where theres alot more killing and terrorizing. Something to really make you uncomfortably
Whitta writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 12:42:47 PM

@trailer most certainly is!!

i would LOVE a remake to IT, hoping it doesnt turn out like the pg13 bullsh*t out and about, but by the sounds of what was said about Pet Sematary (cutting it down for a teen audience) im abit disappointed.

What im mainly asking for is more clown movies where theres alot more killing and terrorizing. Something to really make you uncomfortably
koul writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 1:38:05 PM

they could definitely remake Pet Sematary. that is like one of the greatest horror movies that came out back then. but for It they should not remake it.
darkraven28 writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 3:43:19 PM

It's gonna be like the N O E S remake? So, it's gonna suck? Thanks for clearing that up.
Man in Black writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 5:13:39 PM

i second the motion for remaking maximum overdrive f*ck ya ! with todays tech and FX it could be damn good
trailertrash writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 5:50:05 PM

Whitta -

I'm not that against a movie being made from the Tv show IT, Just will they get it right on the big screen , it's a good horror story and like what has been said already by yourself and others it has to be bloody scary and not some half arsed horror wanna be movie for the 14 year Twilight fans...

MiB-

Maximum Overdrive , I like that movie and i thought King did a good job directing it too.

I would watch a updated version of this if they ever made it.
Whitta writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 11:36:10 PM

holy sh*t yes!! i forgot about Maximum Overdrive for a minute there!!! REMAKE THAT, there is no way ya can f*ck that up, just get ACDC back for the soundtrack and ya laughin'!!
Adsamalam123 writes:
on July 4th, 2010 at 11:46:36 AM

If you're going to remake IT, then get someone who knows how to make great King adaptations: Frank Darabont
SamND1967 writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 3:24:51 AM

oh god, no Pet Sematary! That was a great horror movie! Leave it alone!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved