WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Martin Scorsese Says Rupert Grint is the Next Leonardo DiCaprio

Posted: July 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Martin Scorsese Says Rupert Grint is the Next Leonardo DiCaprioSubmit Comment
Martin Scorsese revealed that he wants Rupert Grint (Ron Weasley in "Harry Potter") to play a gangster in one of his upcoming movies, insisting that the actor has the potential to be as successful as Leonardo DiCaprio.

Scorsese has advised Grint to take on a variety of villainous characters to show fans he won't be typecast, in the same way that DiCaprio - who has starred in several of the director's movies - managed to turn his back on playing romantic roles at the start of his career.

"I thought [Grint] was a great actor in the 'Harry Potter' movies. In a lot of scenes, the boy stole the show," said the director. "He will always have respect for the movies that gave him such a huge break, but at his age it's important he doesn't become typecast. He has to do something really out of his comfort zone in the next few years - play a gangster, play a dirty cop, play a kid with learning difficulties. I would be interested in working with him. I would have no issues in casting him as a gangster, he is a very talented young man."

Scorsese continued: "When Leo was in 'Titanic' and 'Romeo And Juliet,' nobody saw him becoming a bad ass in movies like 'The Departed.' But he has become one of the greatest actors of all time. The very same could be true of Rupert."

Source: WENN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 50 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 6:13:19 AM

#1 if he really is why didn't grint star in shutter island

#2 I thought shutter island was his last film
Bunny X writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 6:14:24 AM

Out of the main three, Rupert's the most talented. I can see him making a name outside of the HP movies. Hell everyone has potential but putting him on the mantle with Leo???? Slow down Marti.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 6:14:44 AM

there you go Scorsese keeping kissing Leo's ass. We all know you want to pack that fudge hole.
Kill-the-director writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 6:19:50 AM

a ginger gangster.....dont make me laugh XD
masht7 writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 6:26:08 AM

Well, to be frank, Scorsese did make Leo look like a bad-ass in his films so I don't have a problem with this.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 6:40:43 AM

Guess Leo's not tight enough anymore, huh?

Maybe Scorcese could direct and Grint could star in "Anal Destination"?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 6:49:19 AM

Martin Scorsese Says Rupert Grint is the Next Leonardo DiCaprio ....

f*ck. I look at his goofy ass and all I see is the bastard son of CarrotTop (before the 'roids) and Patrick Fugit (Almost Famous; Saved!; Wristcutters : A Love Story)

encoreyourface writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 7:46:42 AM

who the f*ck is Rupert Grint and why is his hideous face gaying up my computer screen more then COC's gay porn?
encoreyourface writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 7:47:29 AM

this guy would maybe make a gangsters bitch but that's about it ...
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 8:41:45 AM

Am not a big fan of Leonardo. I certainly wouldn't call him one of the greatest actors of all time unless we're crafting a mighty long list. He certainly teams up with the right directors (you know Martin Scorsese, Martin Scorsese and ummm Martin Scorsese), but I find him terribly unexciting in the acting department. His performances never feel organic, they always look crafted and sculpted to perfection. He certainly is very into acting and studies it hard, but he doesn't feel natural to me.

The two films he's made that haven't made me feel this way of him were "Shutter Island" and to a lesser extent "The Departed". I'm a little worried about INCEPTION in that regard as well, but I read a report somewhere that said JGL steals the show in INCEPTION...surpriseeeeee.
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 8:49:25 AM

I have nothing against Rupert but Scorsese is borderline washed up in my opinion. If anything Martin and Leo need to distance themselves from each other as both have sucked together, minus Shutter Island which was good despite miscasting Leo in the led.
trailertrash writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 9:21:22 AM

Sarah Jessica Parker is the new Meryl Streep
Trip Maverick writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 9:25:38 AM

Ok Mr Scorsese time to take your pills.

God damn old people. I dont care if he directed Taxi driver, thats straight up bullsh*t,
SACdaddy writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 9:35:10 AM

Being a big Leo and Marty fan of course I'll have to disagree with the last few posts. Actually Shutter Island is the pair's only mistep imo, and that really had nothing to do with Leo's performance (which was awesome as usually). The movie was just way too predictable. The Departed was the sh*t, Gangs of NY was entertaining (DDL delivers one of his best performances), and The Aviator may be hands down one of the best movies ever made (definitely Leo's best role of his career).

As for Grint, I like him as Weasley but I just can't see him outside of the role. This is still a HUGE endorsement for him so I'll try to keep an open mind about his future. Marty is hardly ever wrong.
freshfromthedeli writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 9:35:37 AM

He'll definitely end up having a better career than Daniel Radcliffe.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 9:43:37 AM

I wouldn't call Leo the greatest actor of all time, but he's one of best working right now. Rupert Grint is useless. The only thing he does in the Harry Potter-movies is squinting his face, thus making him look like a pig, and talking about snogging. He's just as useless as Radcliffe while Emma Watson is the only redeeming part, but that's only because I want to use her mouth as a tea-cup.
NunYoBusiness writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 9:54:32 AM

Leonardo DiCaprio Great actor are you kidding me, he always looks like he's got chewing tobacco stuck under his lip. As for Rupert what's his name, can't really judge him as I have never seen an entire Harry Potter movie. Can't seem to stay awake during them. I really think that whoever Scorsese owes money to should let him off the hook, we have had enough Leo to last a life time.
CCBlev writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 10:05:02 AM

@Trailer
SJP looks older than Meryl Streep does now. I dont wanna see what that c*nt looks like.
The next Leo the boy may be, but alot of surgery he does need, clouded his future is!
johnthemon writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 10:06:28 AM

yeah I can't see Grint as a gangster, but he could become a successful actor, he is pretty good. Just not a gangster...lol
trailertrash writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 10:21:33 AM

CC- Even at 10 she looked 35 !!!

http://images.mirror.co.uk/upl/m4/oct2008/3/9/E19F4504-EC6F-9F4E-6922ADFA92F8216A.jpg
CCBlev writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 10:44:21 AM

Trailer wow lol where did you get that at? lol
VDODSON writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 10:51:42 AM

Dicaprio was vastly underrated. All his performances including Romeo and Juliet have been on point. He still seems to catch slack for playing a pretty boy in his earlier movies, similar to Bradd Pitt. He should of won that damn oscar for his role in the Aviator.
VDODSON writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 10:53:38 AM

We want Dicaprio for a Blood Sport remake. Make it happen Hollywood!
TRUEMAN writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 11:10:28 AM

REALLY A f*ckING GINGER IS HE REPLACEMENT OF LEO D.
HAHAHAH
HAHAHA
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 11:31:41 AM

Scorsese, ever since you've been releasing shlock, you're not allowed to have an opinion on ANYTHING.
makingcircles writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 12:18:30 PM

Yeah I don't know about a "gangster" but I would be interested in seeing his range of acting skills. I'm not really into what Martin thinks...I've never thought DeNiro was anything special personally.
Ranger writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 12:23:25 PM

Apparently Marty really likes the way Rupert sucks his c*ck.
BuuMonster writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 12:41:55 PM

Dear Rupert

Phase one in operation Big Star is a go now don't forget those same tity whities with the slight blood stain to finish the agreement

Your Love
Martin
encoreyourface writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 12:45:49 PM

Ranger and Spooky-lol
WV-Films writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 12:48:59 PM

@ BuuMonster.....LOL.....clearly Marty is doped up, dyin' or somethin'.
JohnZee writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 1:08:00 PM

So Martin Scorcese developed a hankering for young redheaded boys. Wow that's just a bit creepy, and the thing is I could practically see Martin licking his lips in anticipation as he was being quoted on the subject of Grint and his supposedly incredible "acting" talents.

Bad enough the man can't seem to get his head out of DiCaprio's ass, now it seems that he's primed and ready to move on to an even less talented and more importantly younger piece of male ass.
BuuMonster writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 2:19:51 PM

@WV I'm thinking that Martin got a lil to krunked out when he did that shark tale movie
darkraven28 writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 3:41:43 PM

Sounds like bullsh*t to me.
trailertrash writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 3:47:09 PM

CC- LOL my naked sarah got deleted !!

That may have been for the best it was a bit Rank !!!
sc_kg writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 4:41:24 PM

Guys, check out new trailer for "Let The Right One In" remake.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qjavOLdPk1c&feature=player_embedded#!

Thank got, they made it. European movies are often based on great idea, but the storytelling is awfull.

Hope they fix some things, that didn't quite worked out in the original.
Man in Black writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 4:50:21 PM

how in f*cks sake did SJP ever make it big @ Trailer where ever you got that pic of her aged 30 years please rebury it... nasty and on topic leo is really starting to come around as an actor leaving the safe roles for d bags like channing tatum
SACdaddy writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 4:56:08 PM

Thanks SC. That looks exactly like the original! It better be rated R.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 5:16:11 PM

@Sc_kg: Are you kidding me?

"European movies are often based on great idea, but the storytelling is awfull."

How can you even say that? I know that some European movies tend to go the artsy-fartsy road, but that's just because some pretentious c*nts high up in the cinematic food-chain decided that Europe should concentrate on auteurs (which is utter bullsh*t BTW). But you can't generalize movies like that and if you are, going to generalize, look no further than old H-wood and their upcoming Monopoly- and Asteroidmovie. Awful storytelling based on a horrible idea.

"Hope they fix some things, that didn't quite worked out in the original."

Since when have an american remake ever fixed anything? If that's Elias Koteas in the trailer, that will be a big plus, but I wouldn't call it "fixed". And what didn't work in the original? Granted, they could've added some of the more twisted elements from the book, but do you really think that an US remake will bring forth the pedophilia? Since Jeffrey Jones ain't in it, I say "No".
Kurskij writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 5:43:03 PM

^ once more freudian is right.

Hollywood can remake the sh*t out of european movies, but some of them, like "let the right one in" can hardly be bettered. If only Jeffrey Jones could be in it...
sc_kg writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 6:16:01 PM

@Freudian_Nightmare First of all sorry, for my english, and for the leight of this message. :)

From a screenwriting point, Hollywood has one advantage- they understand that paradigmas were concived for a reason.

Making up idea for a movie it's not as easy as it sound. Of course it's a generalization, but most european moviemakers think it's all about kick-ass set up situation. They don't care about main character. There's no motivation, no growing up. Development of the character IS the topic of the movie, right?

Writing good story is about journey of the character. "Stuff happens to the character" is just bad storytelling.

The major flaw of weak screenwriting is not telling story by the actions of the main character. And the actions should be a result of the its psychology.

European moviemakers have lots of good ideas, for scenes, emotions, they care about visual side, etc. but it doesn't matter because if you don't care about character, you don't care about what's going on on screen.

Director's, here in Europe, have too much control over movies. They also are producers, screenwriters, so they don't have anyone to tell them, that direction they picked is wrong.
If they talk, they talk too much about ideology.

I'm not talking about FOX way of controlling the movie. This is the opposition of good work between director and producer.

Basic diference in conciving script for US, and European market is.
HUGE GENERALIZATION WARNING :)

European: My movie is about the power of family. It's about disfunctional people, who find love against all odds, and they win trough the differences.

Bulls**t- it's not idea for a movie at all.

Here's the US way to pitch.

US: It's about father, whose daughter got into a junior beauty contest. He pretends that he wants to get her to the spot, because it's the only way he could go to meet a publisher for the book he wrote. He fails, but he finds a new way to accomplish his life- helping his daughter to fullfill her dream.


Yep, both are Litle Miss Sunshine. But
There, are lots of movies in Europe that were told in the right way, gained internation applaud, and that carry much more ideology, than movies that were made only for ideology.

Here's bunch of them: f*cking Amal, Billy Elliot, The Secret Life of Words, The Beat That My Heart Skipped.

But they're just cherrys on top of a pile of well-intended, but ugly elephant. Every year I go to few european filmfestivals. Berlin, Camerimage, Venece. And the best movies in storytelling are almost always- American.

Of course, you can't expect that Transformers would be anything to compare with "Hours"- it's just wellcrafted enterteiment, with all the disadvantages you can find, if you look for it.

But just look at the Oscars- there are great categories- best original and adapted screenplay. Watch every piece that was nominated in the years when "Lars and The Real girl", "Little Miss Sunshine", attended.

Most of them are inteligent, smart, but also well told. Most people without any education will be interested in ""American Beauty"" as well, as 60 years old, PHD people. Beacause of the way it was written, ergo- told.

As I said before the whole thing I wrote- it's just generalization, I let myself, of experience as a moviemaker, and most of all- moviegoer.

It's not like I've been unfair for european creators like Jean Pierre Jeunett and bunch of others.

I just think, Europe is a huge movie-market. As huge as American. But most of the interesting movies is made in America every year. And I think that not because of the poor European distribution.

UFF... Guess, to be concluded, someday.
sc_kg writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 6:16:07 PM

@Freudian_Nightmare First of all sorry, for my english, and for the leight of this message. :)

From a screenwriting point, Hollywood has one advantage- they understand that paradigmas were concived for a reason.

Making up idea for a movie it's not as easy as it sound. Of course it's a generalization, but most european moviemakers think it's all about kick-ass set up situation. They don't care about main character. There's no motivation, no growing up. Development of the character IS the topic of the movie, right?

Writing good story is about journey of the character. "Stuff happens to the character" is just bad storytelling.

The major flaw of weak screenwriting is not telling story by the actions of the main character. And the actions should be a result of the its psychology.

European moviemakers have lots of good ideas, for scenes, emotions, they care about visual side, etc. but it doesn't matter because if you don't care about character, you don't care about what's going on on screen.

Director's, here in Europe, have too much control over movies. They also are producers, screenwriters, so they don't have anyone to tell them, that direction they picked is wrong.
If they talk, they talk too much about ideology.

I'm not talking about FOX way of controlling the movie. This is the opposition of good work between director and producer.

Basic diference in conciving script for US, and European market is.
HUGE GENERALIZATION WARNING :)

European: My movie is about the power of family. It's about disfunctional people, who find love against all odds, and they win trough the differences.

Bulls**t- it's not idea for a movie at all.

Here's the US way to pitch.

US: It's about father, whose daughter got into a junior beauty contest. He pretends that he wants to get her to the spot, because it's the only way he could go to meet a publisher for the book he wrote. He fails, but he finds a new way to accomplish his life- helping his daughter to fullfill her dream.


Yep, both are Litle Miss Sunshine. But
There, are lots of movies in Europe that were told in the right way, gained internation applaud, and that carry much more ideology, than movies that were made only for ideology.

Here's bunch of them: f*cking Amal, Billy Elliot, The Secret Life of Words, The Beat That My Heart Skipped.

But they're just cherrys on top of a pile of well-intended, but ugly elephant. Every year I go to few european filmfestivals. Berlin, Camerimage, Venece. And the best movies in storytelling are almost always- American.

Of course, you can't expect that Transformers would be anything to compare with "Hours"- it's just wellcrafted enterteiment, with all the disadvantages you can find, if you look for it.

But just look at the Oscars- there are great categories- best original and adapted screenplay. Watch every piece that was nominated in the years when "Lars and The Real girl", "Little Miss Sunshine", attended.

Most of them are inteligent, smart, but also well told. Most people without any education will be interested in ""American Beauty"" as well, as 60 years old, PHD people. Beacause of the way it was written, ergo- told.

As I said before the whole thing I wrote- it's just generalization, I let myself, of experience as a moviemaker, and most of all- moviegoer.

It's not like I've been unfair for european creators like Jean Pierre Jeunett and bunch of others.

I just think, Europe is a huge movie-market. As huge as American. But most of the interesting movies is made in America every year. And I think that not because of the poor European distribution.

UFF... Guess, to be concluded, someday.
sc_kg writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 6:17:18 PM

Where is the delete and edit option, for a christ sake?
KoJay90 writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 8:14:24 PM

@encoreyourface

umm it wasnt his fault that hes gaying up ur computer screen, u clicked on it, so I think ur gaying up ur own computer mate
Vin12 writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 8:32:40 PM

In other news:
Andrew Garfield is Spider Man.
This sucks worse than coc
Vin12 writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 8:32:52 PM

In other news:
Andrew Garfield is Spider Man.
This sucks worse than coc
shamusot00le writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 8:57:09 PM

OK... so Daniel Radcliff is Mark Hamill, Emma Watson is Cary Fisher and Grint is Harrison Ford. Radcliffe's face is now too well known as Harry Potter and so he'll try to do a couple of films, it won't work and he'll end up a successful voice over artist with plenty of work. Emma Watson will appear occasionally in small parts in many movies with people asking "Isn't she that girl that was in Harry Potter?'... although she is studying so may end up in business somewhere. Grint is the guy who will wnat to continue in acting, have a few small movies in the next 5-10 years, but then have a run of great films making him a star in his own right without harry potter. As long as he gets a haircut.
sc_kg writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 9:19:16 PM

@shamusot00le great comparrition.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 4:30:50 AM

@Sc_kg: No need to apologize, my english isn't the best either.

Just for the sake of being on topic, I'll leave an response to you on the "Let Me In"-thread.
KoJay90 writes:
on July 2nd, 2010 at 7:53:20 PM

LEO DICAPRIO IS ONE OF THE GREATEST ACTORS OF ALL TIME!! EVEN THE BEST DIRECTORS HAVE WORKED WITH HIM, SCORSESE, CAMERON, NOLAN AND NEXT EASTWOOD, SO U HATERS CAN KISS MY ASS!!
moreHOLLYWOODvomit writes:
on July 9th, 2010 at 4:26:48 PM

carrot top and danny bonaduce made love and out popped this creep. martin is off his rocker...or his meds

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved