WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

MGM's Bankruptcy Stalls "Robocop," "The Three Stooges" and More

Posted: June 30th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
MGMSubmit Comment
Deadline is reporting that MGM is currently working with Summit Entertainment, Lionsgate and Spyglass to get out of its financial troubles and get back into developing films.

But until that happens, the company's slate of movies remain on hold, including the "Red Dawn" remake, Joss Whedon's "The Cabin in the Woods," the Farrelly brothers' "The Three Stooges," Robert Ludlum's "The Matarese Circle" and the "Robocop" remake.

There are also issues around "The Hobbit" prequels and the next installment in the James Bond franchise. For now, all options to get MGM out of this jam are considered, but nothing is yet finalized.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 6:52:48 PM

Wow. In that headline picture, you wonder what Moe, Larry and Curley are doing with their other hands. Right, COC(kMeatSandwich)?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 6:53:24 PM

MGM - Where movies come to die in developmental hell.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 7:13:47 PM

Wow Im so sad to here that

Lets all send a penny to help MGM in their tough time. I just sent mine

I also ordered a fresh Joaquin Phoenix defecation homemade pie to be sent to them.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 7:17:28 PM

Yep. The world's smallest violin is playing just for MGM.
Monash writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 8:42:47 PM

Robocop does not need rebooting.
Fact.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 8:59:19 PM

Maybe they should hold a bake sale ? Or a car wash ? I bet some of those f*cking fat executives look all Lohan hot in skimpy thong bikinis, with their gut hanging out and all that body hair. Like Robin Williams on shedding day.


Monash writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 8:42:47 PM

Robocop does not need rebooting.
Fact.


@Monash. Or sequels.

Frank Miller found that out pretty f*cking fast.
CCBlev writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 9:25:50 PM

NO ROBOCOP REMAKE YOU F-ING BASTARDS!!!!
c-prime writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 10:09:08 PM

It's a shame "Hot Tub Time Machine" couldn't perform well enough to subdue the studio's decline. To me, it was the most entertaining movie experience I've had so far this year next to "The A-Team".

Hey, wait a sec...MGM? You mean that studio that released the tearfully abysmal "Quantum of Solace" which crushed the abundant enthusiasm of innumerable 007 followers nationwide (myself included)? Gasp! I thought so. I rescind all my pity for them. Send those floundering f*ckers to the flophouse.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 10:47:47 PM

I have a big goofy smile on my face after reading this artice.

Thank you, WP.
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 11:03:34 PM

just have peter jackson make the hobbit, release it, there MGM financial problem solved............or is it?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 11:19:55 PM

I wonder if they'll have to shave the lion at the beginning of the flick and sell his mane to get a bailout.

I vote they use that kitten they used on the old Mary Tyler Moore show. He would eat less.
encoreyourface writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 12:33:42 AM

oh no, what will we do without three stooges my mind is breaking ...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 1:01:25 AM

They go to Summit and Lionsgate for help? Oh man, they really desperate. Reminds me of the crackwhore down the street who give rimjobs for a dollar. That reminds me: anyone have a dollar I can borrow?
Mudders writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 2:07:38 AM

from what ive seen of 3 sttoges on the net...it seems no great loss to the movie world....hardly entertaining viewing.

robocop? hmmmm,still out on that one...while i dont wanna see a reboot/remake or an "unworthy of the name" sequel....i think with the cgi avaliable these days it could visually a great movie rather than the stop motion capture they had back then...and with a decent story...who knows?

the hobbit will be made regardless me thinks and red dawn is not needed im afraid
Whitta writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 2:57:45 AM

f*ck, i've been waiting for 'The Cabin in the Woods' now for ages and this goes and happens...
f*ck off MGM
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 3:13:13 AM

Is that a picture of a normal MGM board meeting?
Thalius writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 4:08:19 AM

Not to forget the most important of them all: The Stargate (SG1, Atlantis) Movies :-)
trailertrash writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 4:09:26 AM

ricky- lol

Think moe in the middle just suggested they should remake quantum of solace with Zack efron as Bond !!
sc_kg writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 4:47:25 AM

Well, they could realese "The Cabin in the Woods" year ago, when it was done.

BUT NO!

IT HAS TO BE IN 3D!!!

Now pay for this greedy bastards.
Whitta writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 5:00:21 AM

@sc_kg
no sh*t!! 3D has ruined movies, greedy whores
Whitta writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 5:00:26 AM

@sc_kg
no sh*t!! 3D has ruined movies, greedy whores
gatesoftanhauser writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 9:41:15 AM

I actually am excited to see the RoboCop remake, if Arinofsky is still on board, that is.

I wouldn't worry about The Hobbit being stalled. Those movies are CASH COWS that ANY studio would be Lohan to turn down. ("Lohan" meaning insane)
TRUEMAN writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 11:13:40 AM

Bankruptcy COULD BE A GOOD MOVIE AND THE NAME OF THE MOVIE COULD BE Bankruptcy: A LOVE MGM HISTORY
ShizPaf writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 1:09:23 PM

I don't think 3d ruined movies at all, its just another tool SOME should use for SOME projects. The people in charge of making those decisions are ruining movies.
koul writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 1:31:31 PM

i only care about the Robocop remake. screw those other movies

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved