WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Iron Man 2" Earned Less Than "Iron Man"

Posted: June 29th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Iron Man 2" Earned Less Than "Iron Man"Submit Comment
Before "Iron Man 2" came out, every projection showed that the sequel would outperform the first installment. It started to look very likely when the second film opened to $128 million, which is much higher than its predecessor's $98 million opening.

But now that "Iron Man 2" is all done with its theatrical run, the results are in. The sequel grossed $307 million domestically, which is slightly lower than the $318 million the original film took in, despite an 11% rise in ticket prices over the last two years.

"Iron Man" surprised audiences back in 2008, which led to countless glowing reviews. The sequel couldn't pull off the same trick and ended up with weaker word-of-mouth. But Paramount Pictures is no complaining, at the worldwide box office "Iron Man 2" was able to gross $24 million more than the original. Unfortunately, the company spent an extra $60 million on its budget to accomplish that.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 7:02:47 AM

I blame all the spoilers. When I saw it I felt like I already knew pretty much what was gonna happen and all that. Probaly couldve enjoyed it mire if it weren't for that. f*ck it. Least there was a nice scene of scarlet johansen in a bra.
Dr. Strangelove Huberis writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 7:40:32 AM

"Iron Man 2" Earned Less Than "Iron Man" ... and yet, didn't it earn more than Karate Kid (which should've been renamed Kung Fu Kid, but whatever) and Knight and Day, during the opening weekend ?

Dr. Strangelove Huberis writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 7:42:11 AM

But Paramount Pictures is no complaining, at the worldwide box office "Iron Man 2" was able to gross $24 million more than the original. Unfortunately, the company spent an extra $60 million on its budget to accomplish that.

Okay. If it earned more WORLDWIDE than the original, isn't the title of this article contradictory ?
wonderBOY writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 7:51:45 AM

it still earned a lot for a non 3d movie. why did alice in wonderland gross over 1 billion
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 8:17:37 AM

You don't make a billion dollars just by being in 3D o_0

IM2: Well it wasn't as good as the first which is pretty sad because the first wasn't great either. I'm sure Paramount still made a ton on merchandising and such.
Detrimental writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 8:37:22 AM

Only good thing was the whiplash suit and the wrist lasers he waited throughout every other battle to use.
Detrimental writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 8:37:56 AM

OH and the Boneriffic Scarlet Johansen. Just.... Amen.
Jedimax writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 9:09:25 AM

Iron Man 2 was not as a good as Iron Man, people go back to the theaters to see good movies.
johnthemon writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 9:24:16 AM

so instead of making insane amounts of money it made slightly less insane amounts of money. boo-freaking-hoo.
the_dude writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 9:32:10 AM

Easy... Mickey Rourke is at fault here. They put nearly even facetime with RDJ in the trailers and I really don't think people like the guy at all (general public)

Since the plot was generally a point for point rip off from the first one, I never felt that people came back wanting to see it a second time, granted if we weren't spoiled the first time around with one of the best origin stories told on screen, the threat and escalation of events wasn't there...
trailertrash writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 9:46:11 AM

I think this was to be expected wasn't it , It did well to break the $300 mil mark.

Very rare for a sequel to out perform it's original anyway , especially when the original may have over achieved at the boxoffice.

If the first Iron Man had done Batman Begins type money then i think part 2 would still have done $300 mil plus but the 1st movie reached the Iron man boxoffice peak at the first time of asking, same as Spider-man and Harry Potter did .

Dark Knight, Pirates of the Caribbean, Xmen, all had room to improve on the original movies gross.

I am sure part 3 would do there or there abouts the same again and thats not too shabby is it...

CCBlev writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 9:47:38 AM

Who cares, they still got part 3 coming out anyways, they'll make excuses why it didn't do so well and promise to deliver on the 3rd.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 10:18:20 AM

@johnny_boy: Well said, I felt the same way about the damn spoilers. I hated that they showed the briefcase and all that sh*t. That's why I didn't saw it, well no, I had to buy doritos: Predator night.
lost_addict writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 10:46:46 AM

people read reviews and talk...fact is it wasn't as good as the first one.
rabid writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 11:07:15 AM

Iron Man 2 was a great film. It's nobody's fault that the NEW wore off.
nope.com writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 11:34:38 AM

Iron Man is and has always been (with the slight exception of the demon in a bottle storyline) a one trick pony. Once you saw the first one, there was going nowhere but down.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 11:44:37 AM

A sh*tty, convoluted and contrived script that used Rourke to ill effect and ended his onscreen role very, very abruptly didn't help.

Anyway, it's been a very terrible year for films. I think Inception will be the high water mark.
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 11:50:52 AM

Iron Man 2 sucked tyrannosaurs balls and RDJ f*cked up his career with Iron Man and Sherlock Holmes. I saw Iron Man 2 with my friend and it was only me and him in the theater (honest). there wasn't even intermission, the projector dude asked us if we wish to continue and we said to get this over with. If I wanted to bootleg the sh*t outta this crapfest it wouldn't been easier. The only good thing about Iron Man 2 was Scarlett Johansson TNA. Fanboys at WP really got me excited about this sh*t and I was never been disappointed like this in my whole life.
John Favreau needs to be shot to death in public and stop making movies altogether (which order you like).
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 11:53:24 AM

@Mink true about Rourke and his fake russian accent was stupid and annoying


and good to have you back often Mink
Ranger writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 1:08:50 PM

Biggest Iron Man fan right here (since the 70's not only because of the movie). And I haven't paid to see it in the theater. I'll probably just buy the DVD when it comes out. So my $'s aren't counted in yet.

And TH3D4RKKN1GH7 I believe is correct. Although I haven't seen IM2 (yet), the first one was good... but it wasn't over the top spectacular. It had high-tech, decent effects... they did his origin respectably. But it wasn't a Gladiator or Shawshank.

Marvel had better get the pickle out of their ass and get The Avengers made. CA and Thor are real wildcards... and with waning interest ($-wise) - if this trend were to continue (and CA and Thor bomb - which I hope they won't) - we may only see 1 Avengers movie tops (were is great... one would be just fine by my).

@Mink - nice seeing you back.
JOR-EL writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 1:47:44 PM

I actually thought Iron Man 2 was much better than Iron Man. Jeff Bridges was ok as a villain but it took too long to get going. I thought Sam Rockwell and Scarlett were awesome. But I guess to each his own.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 2:38:26 PM

Wow WP you guys need to check Box Office Mojo more carefully. Yeah it didn't fair as well in the US by about $11 million but it made $37 million more outside of the US and surpassed the first one's overall gross by about $21 million. What did you expect?! The US isn't exactly having an easy time plus, like Spider-Man 2 (Even though it was far superior to the first one in quality), by now audiences decided from the first one if they liked the franchise or not so not everyone was willing to spend $10-11 frikkin' dollars to go see the sequel to a movie they didn't really care much for. Still, overall, Iron man 2 did technically surpass the first one, just the US wasn't the source of the increase in revenue.
darkraven28 writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 3:35:13 PM

So, do we care about an 11 million dollar difference when overall is still over 300 mil? NO!
pomme writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 3:56:22 PM

the second movie is less good than the first!
encoreyourface writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 3:00:56 AM

not surprising. the first is considered better ...
JohnZee writes:
on July 1st, 2010 at 1:26:21 PM

That's weird, I thought according to Marvel that "Iron Man 2" was going to do better at the box office then "The Dark Knight"? The movie did well enough, but seriously all that Marvel over-hyped sideshow barker b.s. gets on my nerves a bit. Especially coming from a company that is well established as being one of the tightest penny pinchers that are having movies made based on their source material.


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved