WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Should Steve Carell be Replaced on "The Office"?

Posted: June 29th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Should Steve Carell be Replaced on "The Office"?Submit Comment
A few months back, Steve Carell hinted that he would leave "The Office" after his contract ended next season. Many thought that the actor would rethink quitting if NBC would simply raise his salary.

Now, during the premiere of "Despicable Me," Carell revealed that it's not about the money, that seven years is simply too long to play a character. So it seems that he is definitely through with the show, but that doesn't mean that show is over.

According to NBC president Angela Bromstad, "The Office" will continue with or without Carell. It is still unknown whether the network will replace him or complete get rid of Michael Scott.

Source: HitFix


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SofaKing writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 6:57:29 AM

There is no Office without Michael Scott!
Dannoral writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 7:13:28 AM

as a huge fan of the show, i think it can work without him. the other characters are very interesting (jim and pam, toby, etc...)
AYT BALL writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 7:19:33 AM

nah
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 7:36:14 AM

Let me ask you this: how many shows have survived and/or being good after the key character disappear?
wonderBOY writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 7:48:50 AM

this show should just die the last 3 seasons have been so bad especially the latest. This show should die more than simpsons. Michael scott is such a bad character now he is sooooooooo annoying and so f*cking stupid
Dr. Strangelove Huberis writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 7:51:15 AM

The real question is how many seasons will the Office go on without Steve Carell ?

What do the Vegas bookies say about that ?
Ari Gold writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 8:17:15 AM

Easy. Bring in David Brent!!
velocityknown writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 8:17:28 AM

Absolutely not, but there's not a chance in hell that NBC let's The Office go with him, it's one of their few viable shows right now.

For my money, I hope they replace him with Portia de Rossi. She can breath new life into the show without just being Michael Scott 2.0, like some people would have.
trailertrash writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 8:31:24 AM

Ari Gold - I agree

The Uk Office is classic , Would the US find ricky funny though, his hosting of the golden globes didn't go down to well did it.
Ari Gold writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 8:34:13 AM

@trailer

I personally prefer the British one, I reckon it would be great to mix it up. But, your probably right, I don't think Americans would like the original version.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 8:34:34 AM

Ah

It must be nice to say seven years is too long to work at this job Im at.

I think I will quit and become a stay at home bum and hopefully I will get another gig someplace else when I feel like working again.

Sorry everyone who works behind the scenes on this show, I know ratings are good and if I leave most of you will be applying to Walmart for a job to help support your families but oh well thats life

Oh, If he leaves just cancel the show there is no point then
darthraige writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 8:36:41 AM

Bye bye office if Carell leaves. Ratings will plummet. Show will f*cking suck.
VDODSON writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 8:37:18 AM

I thought the British Office, and Extra's was funny as hell. Unfortunately, that dry humor wont fly in the states. Dont get me wrong, the american one is funny as well, but without the name/same characters it is a completely different show.
Detrimental writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 8:39:23 AM

Just don't mention him. Pretend he's there, but never show him. And whenever he needs a line, make it the adult track from Charlie Brown. Problem solved. Hold your applause.
sc_kg writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 10:02:31 AM

No. I think the series should end.
Everything should be brought in it's place. Bring some closure.

Series 4 was the best IMO.
optimusprime writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 10:55:34 AM

Oh for the love of God... let the show die! It's been terrible for the last 3 seasons!! GYAH!
felix559 writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 10:57:02 AM

If NBC replaces him The Office will be killed. I realize the show is still doing well, but don't drag it out. Take a hint from th eoriginal series and bow out.
rabid writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 11:08:14 AM

even good shows must end. it is time.
ChainsawX writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 11:27:17 AM

two words Ricky Gervais nuff said bring his office character from the original series...that would be interesting for the last season
nope.com writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 11:31:46 AM

this show died at the end of Season 4
nope.com writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 11:31:58 AM

just cancel it
Rio14 writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 11:54:40 AM

Sienfeld new how to end a good thing before it got out of hand and lost it's goldness. When Steve leaves, the show should fallow but in great fashion. The story is finished, Jim and Pam are together, Dwight is finding a girld he really likes, and everyone really has no story without Michael Scott as there boss. Here's how they should end it. Michael's girlfriend Holly comes back pregnant with his baby. They've been seeing each other secretly. Ryan Howard posts there show of the office that's been filming them, online to NBC and it gets picked up as a great new reality show making them all rich, but they stay at Dunder Mifflin for the show. Michael retires and get's married at the end when the new boss, their writer of the reality show is left in charge of there company, get this, there TV writer/boss is now Ricky Gervais.
---I'm going to school fo this so that's how I would end the show!!!
the end
ShizPaf writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 12:04:29 PM

Man thats tough, no Carell or no Office at all. I guess I would watch a season to see howit could be....
SaulSilver writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 12:11:20 PM

Todd Packer?
triggax writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 12:31:17 PM

"Let me ask you this: how many shows have survived and/or being good after the key character disappear?"

@freudian...

Let me ask YOU this... Have you ever watched Spin City after J. Fox left and was replaced with Charlie Sheen.. That show survived in 1st place for another.. almost 2 seasons? And was just as good if not better than before...

So there.. there is the one and only time that has ever happened. This WILL NOT work... No hope for this series after Carrel walks.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 12:52:34 PM

@Triggax: I had a feeling someone might mention Spin City. Me personally thinks Spin City got worse but that wasn't so much about replacing Fox with Sheen, more about that they lost many of the originalmembers and the adding of Heather Locklear.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 12:52:58 PM

No way, Carrell is definitely a major staple of the show! it should end on a high note, they could definitely whip up some great closure for alot of the characters. As a fan of the show, it sucks to say it, but END IT.
velocityknown writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 2:29:26 PM

@Everyone who says the show should end:

I could not agree with you more, but look at it from NBC's point of view:

They're last in ratings.
They have no non-reality shows that could succeed in the 18-49 demo as well as The Office does
The absence of The Office would hurt the shows put around its time slot and any new shows they want it to lead into.

I want The Office to end with Carell departure like the rest of you, but there's no way in hell that NBC puts a satisfying ends/artistic integrity before money and ratings. And there's no way that all those cast members won't delude themselves into thinking that they can do the show without Steve Carell just so they can keep getting paid.

The only solution is to change the show with a new boss as I've been suggesting with Portia de Rossi. Some people have been suggesting Ricky Gervais but there's a number of things wrong with that:

1. BBC humor won't fly in the states. That's why no one knows the awesomeness of Extras
2. The Office has been spinning it's wheels and replacing Michael Scott with another Michael Scott won't help it.
3. Ricky Gervais is currently producing a new series, Life's Too Short, with Stephen Merchant and Warwick Davis
4. Gervais would never go for it. He ended the original Office after 14 episodes for a reason, for the sake of his art. And there's no way he would risk damaging the legacy of either show just for a paycheck. Gervais is the last person who would do that. This is the guy that ends critically acclaimed shows after 14 episodes with people begging for more because he knows when and how to end things.
5. The early episodes of The Office borrowed directly or were inspired by episodes of the original Office, why bring David Brent? Who wants to watch repeats branded as new episodes when you can just catch reruns on TBS.

Yes, Gervais is a comedic genius, but bringing him in to replace Steve Carell is just a bad bad idea.

But if you like the Portia idea please "Like" this Facebook page, it would be extremely helpful.

http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Portia-de-Rossi-for-The-Office-Season-8/133449483346562?ref=ts

PhantomCloneInX writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 3:08:40 PM

I think that many television shows tend to drag on and on instead of closing on a high point. Case in point: The Simpsons, 20 some odd years later.

The departure of Steve Carell seems like a good enough reason to move on. The character of Michael Scott is THE central character, and while the remaining cast is very, very good, dragging the show on for a lot longer would seem like an act of desperation--especially since, as many have pointed out, the last few seasons have been a little weaker. Give the show a definitive end and some dignity.
tantrum4 writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 3:56:48 PM

Shelly Long left Cheers and it survived for years with Allie Kirsty, not THE main character but a pretty big one. Criminal Minds has gone on and became even better since Mandy Patinkin left, he was the main character. That's just two off the top of my head.
elrei writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 5:21:35 PM

NO. As simple as that.
flopplegank writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 5:38:27 PM

i think zach galafianakis should come in as a new boss for a bit
velocityknown writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 6:07:45 PM

Just because someone is a good comedic actor, doesn't mean they'll work on The Office. It's called stunt casting and 9 out of 10 times, it fails. Hard.
Rosalie writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 6:19:23 PM

How about a succession of guest stars in 2 to 3 episode story arcs that play temporary bosses?

This would at least keep interest up for another season.
Zebastian von Kane writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 6:25:00 PM

There won't be any office without Carell.
Matiax writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 6:37:48 PM

Look what happened to Scrubs, or That 70's Show.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 2:53:27 AM

NO! he's hilarious. can't believe he's leaving ... really blows.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 2:54:30 AM

only person who could potentially replace him as the boss is Dwight.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 2:56:26 AM

the shows ratings are gonna fall faster then the two towers after he leaves.

to soon?

(before anyone gets all offended and go ape sh*t on me, it was a joke when the Two Towers fell it was a tragedy.)
jigsaw23 writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 5:29:35 AM

continue blah come on it will be like scrubs without jd which died after he left. im a big fan of both
seveltoto writes:
on November 9th, 2017 at 9:09:42 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved