WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Woody Allen Says He's a Mediocre Director

Posted: June 28th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Woody Allen Says HeSubmit Comment
Speaking to the London Times, director Woody Allen revealed that he is not happy with his films, which should have been much better considering the freedom he's had to make them.

"I've squandered an opportunity that people would kill for," he said. "I have had complete artistic freedom. Other directors don't get that in their lifetime. I have a very poor record given the opportunities I've had. Out of 40 films I should have 30 masterpieces, eight noble failures and two embarrassments, but it hasn't worked out that way."

Allen continued: "Many of the films are enjoyable by the mean standards of movies, but look at what has been accomplished by people who have done beautiful things Kurosawa, Bergman, Fellini, Bunuel, Truffaut and then look at my films. I have squandered my opportunities and I have nobody to blame but myself."

Now that he's 74-years-old, the direct has come to terms with his lack of greatness. He explained: "You aspired to greatness when you were younger, but either through lack of industry or lack of discipline or simply lack of genius you didn't achieve greatness. The years go by and you realize: 'I'm this mid-level guy. I did the best I could.'"

Source: IMDB


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SeWerin writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 6:04:27 AM

He is not mediocre, he is bad and overrated.
blinkbomber writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 6:09:04 AM

i never "hated" the guy... but i always enjoyed his writing more than his directing...
lost_addict writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 6:21:51 AM

I liked his first movies which were silly comedies but then he got into those stupid ass new york dramas which are boring as hell.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 6:28:16 AM

"Woody Allen Says He's a Mediocre Director"

I couldn't agree more. Never understood why so many people have stuck by him for so long. Kinda like the Tim Burton fans that loved "Edward Scissorhands" and "The Nightmare Before Christmas" that still defend him everytime one of his new pieces of sh*t come out.
VDODSON writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 7:18:10 AM

I cant stand his movies, Im glad he feels the same way.
nzfilmmaker writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 7:48:52 AM

He's got a few gems, but he's right. For the amount of freedom he got he didn't make enough masterpieces.
He got Scarlett Johansson and Penelope Cruz to hook up though... thats an achievement in itself
Dr. Strangelove Huberis writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 7:55:45 AM

His early work was amusing. Especially Zelig.

But Soon Ye says he's an amazing " Chinese take-out swallower " and their leaked sex-tape should be his most successful 'nebbish dirty bomb' yet.
trailertrash writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 8:44:24 AM

Every Thing You Always Wanted to Know About Sex * But Were Afraid to Ask...

Can i take naked photo's of my step daughter Soon-Yi and then marry her ??
bill the butcher writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 8:59:48 AM

husbands and wives
hannah and her sisters
mighty aphrodite
deconstructing harry
celebrity
sweet and lowdown
bullets over broadway
manhattan
annie hall
melinda and melinda
everyone says i love you
vicky christina barcelona

no matter what happens woody allen made these films the man is a genius
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 9:17:02 AM

Interesting. Did you also know that pigs can't fly, that the sky is blue (depending on the weather and time) and that Danish people are ugly?

He was the Judd Apatow for his time.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 10:09:43 AM

Who cares Woody your movies sucked and so does your acting

Im not going to feel sorry for you, go boo hoo to someone who cares

This is another example of arrogant holy wood people who are washed up and forgotten that want some attention again.
whoever writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 10:09:57 AM

I have never been able to sit through one of his films and I think he over selling himself when he says he is average!
sc_kg writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 10:50:15 AM

Nowdays- yeah, I agree.
Rush66 writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 10:53:17 AM

Wow. These comments just show how most of the WP users are jerks, trolls and idiots. Woody Allen is a great director. You can dislike a celebrity, but please give good reasons. "He's just bad" is not a good reason.
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 11:26:47 AM

Woody Allen Says He's a Mediocre Director.

Don't flatter yourself Woody.

@Rush66 - so others are expressing their opinions without making it personal. But big-shot, tough-guy, anonymous, name-calling, internet-lurking, pathetic c*nt thinks Woody needs you to come to his rescue.

Go f*ck your dead grandmother... again, you waste of air, groceries and skin.

Internet lurking - just above child molestation and below human trafficking.

If you think he's so great, how about stating WHY as you ask of all of us to state why he's bad. Only see the world through your limited 2-dimension, box-thinking, legally blind eyes... yes? Let's hear YOUR thoughts genius (by that I mean... short bus-riding, window licking retard).

f*cking double-standard running c*nt.

And if you are the terrible Woody Allen yourself... here's why you suck. Because the twitchy, insecure, neurotic, quasi-intellectual wannabe - written into ALL of your f*cking characters got tired really quickly sometimes after Annie f*ckin' Hall circa 1977.
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 11:28:28 AM

And 'wow'... before you bother to reply... just try to shut the f*ck up instead c*nty.

Asking others to give reasons why they think he sucks is as pathetic as you asking for them and not giving any yourself to the contrary, you jerk, troll, idiot.

Crazyhorse writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 11:36:12 AM

Rush

Seriously name a great movie that I would enjoy being able to sit through 15 mins of whether he directed wrote or acted in

Annie Hall, Manhattan, The Purple Rose of Cairo, Husband and Wives, Hannah and her sisters,

I dont feel like posting all of the over 100 crap straight to video crap films he has done
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 11:38:56 AM

He and his actors - all 'dazed and confused' for 90 minutes.

Yeah... that's entertainment right there folks!
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 11:40:26 AM

The only thing more dull and painful to sit though than a Woody Allen movie is a post from Rush66.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 12:11:40 PM

Woody Allen's work reminds of an art museum

You know you go in and see a Rembrandt painting for example, you know what it is, its beautiful in detail

Then you walk over and you see this painting that hippies like him call art, you know the ones that look like the artist drinks his paint has diarrhea and bends over and craps all over the canvas or better yet a toddler painted it, but they want to sell it for $500,000.

Salvador writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 12:25:04 PM

@bill the butcher: Of course!

One of the best director ever.
rabid writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 12:32:47 PM

He's not mediocre, he's just plain bad.
Dr. Strangelove Huberis writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 12:54:15 PM

Rush66 writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 10:53:17 AM

" Wow. These comments just show how most of the W(orst)P(reviews) users are jerks, trolls and idiots. Woody Allen is a great director.

You can dislike a celebrity, but please give good reasons. "He's just bad" is not a good reason. "

@Rush

Heard Nightcrawler got killed off in Marvel Comics. Sorry to hear that. He was the only German in the XMen that didn't try to grow the Hitler 'stache.

Woody is a pedophile. And if he grew up in Utah, he would probably have been Mormon instead of Jewish, so he would've done the whole Polygamy thing.

He is the poor man's standup/Roman Polanski. He dredges up New York Jewish nebbishness with Oedipus Complexes and inferiority complexes like it's nothing, since it is his bread and butter, laced with sexual innuendo and cheap, wry laughs.

Even he admits he sucks (at least at directing).


encoreyourface writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 1:09:08 PM

well i can only guess @Rush is his nickname all the chicks gave him ... i agree with Ranger tell us WHY he is so amazing.

Woody Allen-"I did the best I could.'"

well Rush has the same philosophy on life. he tried ... and failed miserably as a human being.
Peter Parker writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 1:14:21 PM

"You can dislike a celebrity, but please give good reasons. "He's just bad" is not a good reason"

- Rush, I can appreciate your need to have valid argumentation to support such claims.
However, as interested as you may be in reasoning, you come here and all you have to offer is:

"Woody Allen is a great director."

Just like that. No good reasons there, you just say he's great.
Where are your good f*cking reasons, you self-contradicting moron?

Or do you consider the name calling a good reason?

Your supposed "great" director said it himself, he's a "mid-level guy".
Where's the f*cking greatness in that?

Like he said, he had complete artistic freedom and that enabled him to put out some very personal and, in that sense, original films. Good for him.
However, there are thousands of unknown directors that would have done a better job at that, had they been given the opportunities Allen was. As a director, that makes him average.
Eccentric, weird, self-indulged, corky, controversial, yeah. He's certainly all that. Does that make him a good director? f*ck no!

So, again, where are your good f*cking reasons?
triggax writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 1:15:42 PM

Deconstructing Harry was a stroke of genius from the little guy, IMO... As well as Mighty Aphrodite and Sweet and Lowdown...

Other than that.. I cant f*cking stand woody allens movies.. annie hall sucked my balls... Diane Keaton can suck my hairy nuts
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 1:55:23 PM

@Rush: Actually, "he's just bad" is a very good reason. It sums up pretty nicely one's opinion about the guy. Sure, you could go on and on about details, but if you smell sh*t you don't describe how it smells sh*t, you just state that it smells like sh*t.
DustinPutmansucksDick writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 2:13:19 PM

not a funny Jew.
otis writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 2:51:05 PM

Oh, I remember this guy! Wasn't he in Schindler's List?
darkraven28 writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 3:56:55 PM

Well, at least he's honest.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 5:18:55 PM

Who the f*ck gave this guy the lead in Ants?!?
trailertrash writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 6:01:30 PM

Thrush66-

Instead of shouting your big mouth off, as Ranger said why not post your reasons why you think he's a good film maker, Even Woody himself thinks he's a Mediocre Director.

At least bad is a reason not to like him you've said nothing !!

For me Annie Hall and Everthing you want..... were ok and everything else i have seen has bored me senseless.

Plus the guy creeps me out he's just f*cking weird ,like rock spider weird. Thats my opinion of Woody Allen, But i do respect him alot more than i do you LURKER.

Dre-EL writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 6:19:11 PM

I got one better for you Allen.

You Suck
OneTime writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 6:49:34 PM

i dont understand his comedy and his movies only appeal to a small percentage of people ..there boring
onkelchrispy writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 7:13:06 PM

I'm a mediocre commenter.I aspired to greatness when I was younger, but either through lack of industry or lack of discipline or simply lack of writing ability I didn't achieve great comments. As I read the other masterfully composed critiques on entertainment related articles that have no bearing on my daily life I realize: 'I sh*t the bed'
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 7:21:42 PM

lol... nice.
Kooky SpunkCaked writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 7:27:18 PM

So where's the news ?

Hope his daughter/wife still likes looking at this wrinkley writing pen.
Mudders writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 4:07:25 AM

he's a f*ckin obnoxious little f*cker who basically adopted an asian girl with one thing in mind only...to get her preggers and dump his wife to marry her....hmmmmm
trailertrash writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 6:36:30 AM

He only wanted a small asian girl so his d*ck would seem like it was normal size, Mia Farrow had a bucket crutch by all accounts, according to Frank !! He did her his way ...
Ranger writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 6:13:49 PM

@Mudders - hey, if that's all he did and stayed away from making movies... I'd worship the guy.
Mudders writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 1:59:55 AM

@ ranger

i like your style
silverbullet writes:
on July 19th, 2010 at 12:43:31 PM

When I am old, I hope to look back on my life without regret. The realization of having wasted an entire life is not something I could cope with at such a late age. And yet here I am witnessing one of the most prestigious artists of our time confessing, in public, that his lifes work is a failure. Thats a pretty serious confession, and it disturbs me deeply.

Maybe you are all young and believe you are still destined for greatness. If not, then I wonder exactly what you have done with 'your' lives. I wonder, what has Sewerin achieved with his time on earth? And what will Blinkbomber be doing at seventy five years of age? And good old eViL.Kev ... whose only creative genius is to use upper and lower case letters to make his screen name more interesting .. what of you ... mate?

Me? Well, I was born with all my faculties. I was then educated, fed and proudly presented to the world with great hopes. I tried, but perhaps not enough. And look at me now ... little more than late night blogs, cracked software and hardcore rapid-share sh*te. If you dare to return in a few years, you will still find me here, wasting years on the dumb internet. If it wasn't so sad it might be funny. Sure, I have a job, but its all self-serving. As of yet, I've nothing new to offer this world.

And then there is this guy - Allen - someone who did 'a lot' of work and ... is still trying! If he has failed, then what of my life? What might he make of my lifes work? His honesty and confession shames me.

If you can dare to pull this entire show apart, the statement is not a criticism of himself, but a criticism of me, and you, and all those who have the gall to criticize him. In short: he's done a lot, and we have done sweet F*** All !

And the worst part about all this? If a person can be so unhappy after achieving so much, what possible hope is there for us in old age? How unhappy will we feel at 75?
Love him or loathe him, you can't deny there are some very sharp observations being made behind those glasses. Respect. Please. You wasters.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved