WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sylvester Stallone Planning to Quit Acting

Posted: June 28th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sylvester Stallone Planning to Quit ActingSubmit Comment
Speaking at the Los Angeles Film Festival, Sylvester Stallone revealed that "The Expendables" may be his last time in front of the camera since he is planning to quit acting.

"I now, at my age, approach every film like this could be the last one," the 63-year-old actor said. "I hear the ticking clock and it's as loud as the gong on Big Ben."

Stallone added that his ultimate ambition is to follow in Clint Eastwood's footsteps and move on to directing films without having to be in them. "I'm on borrowed time and know my longevity will be predicated on being able to make that move," he said.

The actor/director also spoke about the early days of his career, revealing that he once failed an audition for a part in "The Godfather." He stated: "I couldn't even be an extra at the wedding, that's how far down the food chain I was."

Source: OTRC


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SeWerin writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 6:06:29 AM

But but Sly, you need to earn money to do operation of your right side of face/lips.

Don't give up, you can correct that, and than you will talk like us.....normal people.
lost_addict writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 6:20:16 AM

I thought he quit acting after Rocky 1...
Ari Gold writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 6:28:28 AM

Good. We need more directors who aren't afraid to give us R rated action movies as opposed to PG13.
Bring on The Expendables!!!
trailertrash writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 6:32:08 AM

Just pop back to star in any Expendables sequels !!

Just seen the Expendables is R !! Great News
Sonic writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 6:41:14 AM

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO............. England out of the World Cup.

what about all the old actor's who are still acting?
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 6:44:47 AM

"Stallone added that his ultimate ambition is to follow in Clint Eastwood's footsteps and move on to directing films without having to be in them."

Duuuuuuuhhhhhh.....what? Eastwood acts in the majority of the movies he directs. The ones that he's not in usually aren't as good.

VDODSON writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 7:12:22 AM

Say it aint so Sly. Stallone has been a staple in action flicks for men. The guy is long overdue for a lifetime achievement ward.
TwoTakez writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 7:45:46 AM

When did he start? I must have missed that one...
eddie499 writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 7:50:56 AM

Is it just me or is anybody else floored by the fact that he used the word "predicated"?
Dr. Strangelove Huberis writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 7:53:17 AM

"I now, at my age, approach every film like this could be the last one," the 63-year-old actor said. "I hear the ticking clock and it's as loud as the gong on Big Ben."

More like the timer on a load of dynamite for his next cinematic failure (i.e. the Gotti movie).


You failed on The Godfather but wrote Rocky, which won an Academy Award ? I would say you karmically came out even, ESPECIALLY after The Party at Kitty's and Stud's.
nitishbhat writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 8:11:33 AM

quit acting? when did he ever start :D
Kill-the-director writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 8:37:46 AM

But i wanted to see stop or my grandma will shoot film!!!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 9:21:43 AM

That's ok. You should stop when you're still on top. Go on with your directing, but don't get pretentious on us. Just give us some ol' classic R-rated action, the same sort that made you who you are.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 9:28:51 AM

Techinally I think Sly stopped acting after Rocky 4.

It might not be that bad of an idea. The Cliffhanger sequel would have probably killed him.
Crazyhorse writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 9:58:06 AM

Make 1 more Rambo for me Stallone, go out with a bang.

Maybe return to the town where first blood was at and lets reminisce with that sheriff again!
Blank x2 writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 11:24:19 AM

"John Spartan, you are fined one credit for a violation of the Verbal Morality Statute."
SaulSilver writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 11:25:21 AM

I guess that SpikeTV Guys Choice Guycon award was the ultimate topper for Sly's Career?
koul writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 11:56:45 AM

he is getting really old now. so being a director is good for him.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 1:05:03 PM

right, along with the 10 other actors who are also "planing to quit"
Goober3000 writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 1:41:10 PM

OMG...people can actualy tell what hese saying?
DustinPutmansucksDick writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 2:08:33 PM

Gonna be a sad day in Hollywood.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 3:10:10 PM

Alright I think everyone needs to stop using the line, "when did he start." let's get something straight here. I have a been a Stallone fan since I saw Rocky when I was a kid and let me tell you the man may not be an Oscar winning actor, but the dude puts more heart into his films then most people I see now. Anyone notice how Stallone regained his status as pretty much being awesome when he did a violent Rambo, which was very right to make so bloody to cover the atmosphere of the situation, and doing Expendables. You guys can diss on his acting but the fact is he has gotten better in my opinion and, like Clint Eastwood, he is an excellent director. Critics just like to bash on him because they are being bribed to protect all the crappy actors of today like Shia LeBouf and Zac frikkin' Efron. But who sells tickets? The 60-something old man. And you know why? Besides giving us some great adrenaline rush movies he gives us relatable characters who may be a little out there at time but are way more relatable than Shia Lebouf's "I seem to be able to fence and do everything" in Indiana Jones 4 (Which he ruined I might add) and Zac Efron's "I am a perfect little bitch in everything I star in" acting. So please stop dissing on the one guy who actually acts like he is still interested in doing intense films at his old age. Clint Eastwood may act in most movies he stars in (Although I have to disagree not all movies he doesn't star in are bad as I thought Changeling was good and Invictus I heard was amazing), but no matter whether he is behind the camera or in front, like Stallone, he gives you down to earth moments mixed with the movie magic none of us can deny we love to see. Let the man follow in Eastwood shoes. With his amount of heart, which is pretty much his banner for every movie is showing the heart of a person and what he is capable of when he puts his heart into his actions, Stallone will makes some darn good movies. Good luck Sly and for all who dissed the man who brought you, not one, but two American icons and a handful of surprisingly well acted films (I keep hearing he should have gotten an Oscar for his role in "Copland" and was good in some movie called "Spade" in 2003) you should all bury your heads in the sand. Shame on all of you.
trailertrash writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 5:29:57 PM

Sleuth1989 - Pretty much everyone who's posted above like's stallone and we all can't wait for the Expendables (could be the movie of the year), It just a bit of friendly banter dont take it so seriouSLY....
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 6:39:21 PM

@trailertrash
I know but man it gets old hearing all the dissing, even if it is for fun. Sly gets so much crap normally that even joking seems a little unfair to the guy. But I yeah I get it's just for fun. LOL
Assclown writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 7:09:20 PM

Oh no what ever shall we do
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 7:12:16 PM

@Sleuth - You are right to defend the man! Nobody f*cks with Machine Gun Joe Viterbo! I also agree with Trailer - I think the majority of the regulars here have been on board with "The Expendables" since it was first announced.
Kooky SpunkCaked writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 7:14:57 PM

Now if only we could get Frank Stallone back into acting. He was the real thespian of the family.

NOW THAT IS SARCASM.
Kooky SpunkCaked writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 7:15:53 PM

That plastic surgeon must be a BITCH to pay ... who did you get, Sly ? Dr. Mengle ?
johnny_boy writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 7:54:45 PM

I've seen Rambo and that wasn't acting. I thought he retired way back
Mudders writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 4:09:26 AM

clint eastwood is the man!!

i wouldve stopped ages ago sly...regardless of the hype of the expendibles.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved