WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Dustin Putman - What Do You Think?

Posted: June 26th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Dustin Putman - What Do You Think?Submit Comment
For a while now, I've been seeing endless comments about how our movie critic Dustin Putman consistently gives great movies low ratings and gives terrible movies high praise. Some went as far as spamming the comments section with their hatred and some have called for Putman to be fired. I'm now going to address some of these things.

What attracted us to Dustin is that he provides detailed criticism and is not afraid to trash a popular film. Do I agree with all of his opinions? No, but it's unlikely that you'll find a person with the same exact taste as yours.

I feel most of the hatred comes from the fact that he has given films like "The Wolfman," "Prince of Persia," and "Clash of the Titans" negative reviews. Since most of our readers were hoping that these movies would be something amazing, they were surprised to see Dustin not throw out 10/10 ratings. Days later, when most of the readers have seen these films, it turned out that the movies were actually really terrible. And yes, I'm aware that he gave "Sex and the City 2" an 8/10.

We're not looking to get rid of Dustin, but we are working on something that may end up replacing him. Our goal is to eventually have the readers post their own review. We do that already, but we're looking to make the system much simpler.

So here is your chance to let us know why Dustin doesn't deserve to write reviews. We will take a look at the comments and assess the situation if good points are made. We will then likely put up a follow-up post with our decision.

I'm hoping that all the spamming will stop, because I don't enjoy banning people who refuse to post comments that are on topic. I'm looking at you Max Rockatansky Junior.

Source: WorstPreviews.com

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 212 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bigcheese writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 6:47:19 AM

I honestly laughed so hard at that headline.
Ovidiu.C writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 7:15:05 AM

In my eyes, Dustin Putman is one of those few guys who can see beyond all the marketing bullsh*t, who can see the good in a movie and the bad also, ofc. I respect his work simply because he is not afraid to say it as he sees it.

"In a time of universal deceit, telling the truth is a revolutionary act" someone once said.

It's not Dustin Putman's fault that Prince of Persia the movie was made after the game from Disney and not from Ubisoft. It's not Dustin Putman's fault that Clash of the Titans and Avatar look like video games and not movies.

Probably you, the staff of WP, need to look at this from another perspective, and that is that perhaps the audience is not prepared yet to understand his work. Perhaps not, because you said it...eventually the audience, after they saw the movies, approved that those movies that have 4/10 from Dustin Putman indeed suck.
whoever writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 7:15:48 AM

Alex, I think it's more a case the Dustin sounds like most other reviewers in that unless it is a potential Oscar winner it is not worthy of a cinema release.

I think what would help is in further expansion of this site you give readers the chance to review or even just rate the film themselves which then goes to an average score. No one is going to 100% happy but at least everyone can then have their say.
Monash writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 7:19:51 AM

Wouldn't it be great if Putman didn't know about this replacement idea until he read this article?

Nothing against him, i just enjoy moments like that
The only reviews i take note of is Rotten Tomatoes, more often than not it has a similar opinion as me but other times its dead wrong, a bad review doesn't stop me from wanting to see a movie, basically all it does is help me decide if i'm sitting on the fence about seeing a movie
One thing i've noticed, they hate Michael Bay and love asian cinema.
Whitta writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 7:25:25 AM

I think he is a giant douche and you need to hire a new reviewer... like Yatzee or someone
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 7:38:04 AM

I don't think "Dustin Putman" actually even exists. I think that's just the name of the search program that compiles random sentences from other movie reviews and basically strings them together to the point where they resemble paragraphs. I have yet to figure out the ratings system, but I believe it's something like one of those Bingo ball mixer-uppers.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 7:46:32 AM

I always liked to read reviews, good or bad, because they always give you something. Reading through the "Sex and the City 2"-review you get feeling of "I know this would be sh*t" and "This reviewer suck, I could do this better". I'm not saying that I can do it better, but it's a nice feeling to have.

Then I looked through the review-archive and I must confess, sadly, that I must crawl to the cross. It was easy to jump on the Hate-Putmanwagon after the SatC2-review, but he has been correct sometimes as well. Replacing Putman or not, I don't care that much, I just want to read reviews that's articulate enough.

Can just add that Roger Ebert, who's viewed as the greatest reviewer in the world, called the "Death at a Funeral"-remake the funniest comedy of the year and called "Kick-Ass" morally disgusting.
on June 26th, 2010 at 7:49:19 AM

wait guys cuz i've been meaning to ask you this for a long time, is it Putman or Putzman? cuz i honestly don't know who the guy is and when i searched google for Putzman all that showed up was gay porn sites
Ari Gold writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 7:58:00 AM

I don't comment on this site as much as I use to. I still frequent this site over the many others on the net. I can say honestly, from when I first started coming here, before posting, I would ALWAYS without a doubt skip over the reviews.

Maybe you could get a few other reviewers? Then we could get a bit of a variety and pick which reviews we decide to read and avoid the others?

Overall, I really like WorstPreviews the news, the posters and the layout. Keep up the good work.


"I'm hoping that all the spamming will stop, because I don't enjoy banning people who refuse to post comments that are on topic. I'm looking at you Max Rockatansky Junior."

kasleari writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 8:02:13 AM

he is really good at giving a detailed review. It's just that some of his opinions are not generally liked. I think he is a fantastic writer, he just takes alot of sh*t. I appreciate his reviews, not always agree with them. Something needs to be changed, but not Putman
YourFriendWithTheBigDick writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 8:28:12 AM

ive been doing some deep investigation on putmans family tree and hav just found out through his blood line that he is a descentant of jitler, its true the internet says so, is this what wp has come to hiring nazis to review films,

New information

also in breaking down his name (and this may be a bit of a longshot but the name)
put, as in he wants to put it inside a man

with this new information i think we should keep him, its in all our best interests, right fellas ;L........
trailertrash writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 8:39:34 AM

Fair play to WP for finally putting this thread up !!

If you guys had just done this a few week ago instead of just deleting every negative post regarding Dustin i don't think you would have had such a problem in the first place.

On Dustin or any reviewer for that matter, I will always take on board what they have to say but it will never put me off watching a movie, if it's a negative review say like the Ateam 2/10 i still can't wait to see that movie. The same way sex and the city 2 got 8/10 wild horses couldn't drag me to see that movie.

I take more notice when you guys do your What did you think threads and the guys on here have their say about the movie.

It's all about opinions though Dustin has his and looking at all the films he has reviewed this year so far and the movies he likes i am love or Winters bones and the films he doesn't like The Ateam or Iron Man 2 is he the right sort of reviewer for WP and the guys that use the site ????
velocityknown writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 8:47:09 AM


I appreciate honesty in a reviewer as much as the next guy, I hate when people jump on bandwagons. For instance, I hate that every critic decided to just LOVE 'No Country For Old Men' even though I don't think I've ever met a non-critic who loved the movie. No what I don't like about Putman is that he TRIES to be different from what everyone else is saying. He tries to set himself apart by separating his tastes in new releases apart.

The problem is the buzz on a certain movies quality is apparent before you go to see it, for instance, Sex and the City 2 and Jonah Hex, it felt like Putman went in knowing the buzz was bad and looked for reasons for why it was good rather than examining the movie as a whole, which would have resulted in the movies being bad.

Toy Story 3, the people were unanimous, it was the best movie of the year, everyone loved it, but Putman wrote a review that didn't match his score. It seemed to me like he was giving the 7/10 score as an obligation because even he couldn't openly disagree with people on that movie, but then wrote things that indicated he didn't like the movie. But his review was another instance of him just wanting to be different, instead of examining the movie as a whole, not being affected by outside sources, he looked for things wrong with it to be different from everyone else.

He'll say, 'Like Jonah Hex for what it is' (paraphrasing by the way) but 'Iron Man 2 was supposed to be better so I can't like it for what it is'. What separates movies like Jonah Hex and A-Team? They're both mindless action flicks, but we can accept one for what it is and just outright hate the other? It's too contradictory for me.

Now there's nothing wrong with looking for things wrong with movies, but it seems to me like Putman looks so hard that his mind makes up things no one else notices.

You like someone who is different from other critics that's fine, but their reasons for being different have to be more clearly illustrated than Putman's.

Like @Ari said, get a few more reviewers, some people may like Putman, I'm not saying he's a terrible writer, but in my opinion he's a bad critic.

Also, no offense Alex but you made this situation worse than it was, if you had never censored anyone, then the uproar would have definitely died down a while ago.
BigUnit writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 8:47:59 AM

This guy gave JONAH HEX a higher rating then AVATAR. enough said.
CCBlev writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 8:50:05 AM

Spot on Trailer
I dont read his reviews, and I don't care too. His opinions are his opinions. If I wanan go see a movie I'll go see it regardless of what he says. Now this is the one cool thing Alex has done that most websites won't and that he finally addressed the problem and didn't ignore like most would. Kudos for him, thats on reason why i like it here, that and everyone else's sick jokes lol.
nitishbhat writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 8:52:23 AM

the reason a lot o ppl hate Dustin Putman here is coz WP is filled with a lot of attention seeking, intolerant douche-bags, who only expect their per-release ideas to be reflected in the reviews.
now, i hate sex in the city as much a the next guy, but as i have not seen it yet....who knows, it might actually be a decent movie for its fans. i was also shocked, disappointed n angry at the low rating of Prince o persia. but once i got to c the movie and reread the review, i hound that i agreed with about 80% o it.
bottom line is, i like Dustin Putman's detailed analysis of the movies and i dont fully agree with most of his reviews. but hey, its not his job to be a crowd pleaser, is it? he just gives a detailed analysis o a movie and finally give a verdict based on his own taste. its up to the readers to weigh the good points against the bad n decide if they would want to c the movie.
jdl107 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 8:54:52 AM

"I'm looking at you Max Rockatansky Junior"

He does talk alot of sh*t. But then again your reviewer appreciates alot of sh*t. So I don't even know which hand to pick
jdl107 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 8:56:14 AM

"Stop the Hatred"

Make him watch some movies.

Classic movies. Quality movies. I bet you this guy would give 2001 a 6.
bradjo72 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 9:03:41 AM

Some of he reviews he put up where deservedly bad but he slammed movies like the A team i havnt met one person who didnt like that film as for films like clash of the titans i saw that movie in 2d and enjoyed it was great popcorn movie if replace him get someone who can appriciate a good fun movie
vineethchacko writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 9:04:31 AM

As a movie reviewer myself, I've stopped reading Putman's reviews because honestly I dont think he has a proper train of thought that enables him to assess a movie.
Like some others have said, many times the reviews dont match the scores and he gives extreme scores just to create a stir. I dont mind an 8/10 for SATC if he is able to justify it properly.
Putnam strikes me as the kind of reviewer who tries to be different to get attention. A 2/10 for A-Team strikes me as extreme as the points in his review seem to be taking quibbles and multiplying them into mountains of ineptitude to justify his score.
It's almost like he knows the buzz, he decides he is gonna go one way or the other. Then he walks out of the movie with a score and few points in mind. The resulting review is a mess - write the review first and decide how many points to give the film, not the other way around.
As a professional myself, I was one of those campaigning to get a professional review column in here but now I take that back. Quality and professionalism don't come to mind when thinking of Putnam.
I honestly believe filtered user reviews would be better at this point than reading more of Putnam's reviews. Thanks for the forum to discuss this. Appreciate it.
WonDerBanGeR writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 9:06:53 AM

Max Rockatansky Junior TO WRITE ALL FUTURE REVIEWs his comments are gold
shayhiri writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 9:18:59 AM

I've practically stopped reading your blog because of this pathetic Putman loser, Alex, so it is already too late.

Idiot can't recognize a good movie if it hit him in the face.
wertibole writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 9:29:49 AM

I'm not a critic by any straight but I like to read as many reviews as possible before I go to a movie. NO spoilers, just a quick overview of the movie and see a rating. This is the only site I go to frequently where the review and rating has no basis on if I see it, if i even check the review at all. Take that any way you want.
scarface85 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 9:30:39 AM

jajajaaaaaaaaa omg, well he does make some suprising review, but thats his work lol i like reading his rev just to see what he thinks, not that i take everything that he says. i really liked prince of persia, but i saw street fighter and lol he was right. i really respect him cause he says wats need 2 be said, without fanboysm. keep up the good work man. hope they dont chane you.
Broken_English writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 9:35:05 AM

The fact that the dude gave sex and the city 2 an 8 out of 10 is reason enough to fire him. How can a man like that movie and trash films like iron man 2? Now I'm not saying iron man 2 was a 10 out of 10 but it was solid and a good avengers set up. I gurantee it was also a better film than sex and the city just look at their overall reviews everywhere else. Its time for dustin to find a new profession because its clearly not reviewing films.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 10:04:03 AM

@Shay: At least you have a friend now.
JohnZee writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 10:05:22 AM

I think that this guy's problem was the fact that he was trying so hard to go against the grain. A movie reviewer should just be objective, and going against the general consensus or for the general consensus is just as bad. And I think other comment makers are correct when they say that he is deciding how he is going to rank a movie even before he watches the first minute of footage.

But censoring the negative comments against him did very little to help the situation. Instead it gave the appearance of this website taking a blind eye to an obvious problem. And even the posters that didn't get to read the spammmed comments had a good idea what was going on and said, because we knew the things that Dustin had written that had sparked the negative response.

He needs to learn to just watch a movie, write a review, and then after looking over the review figure out what his rating is going to be.

And also he might try reading the user reactions to his reviews, because if he's not paying attention to those that read articles on here, then who the heck is he paying attention to? His grandmother's reaction to his reviews?
trailertrash writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 10:24:46 AM

CC- Cheers mate , Alot of good post on here today for and against Dustin, hope alex is taking notes ...
Zubostl writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 10:26:47 AM

Nice try and it's cool to see someone stand up for a collegue like this, but the reviews are horrible, not just for movies that hadn't come out yet.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 10:31:28 AM

Max Rockatansky Junior gets on my f*cking nerves, every comment he posted in the last week has been "F* WP LAWL GUISE"

On Dustin, I think his reviews are like that of Cole Smithey or Armond White (for you Rottentomatoes followers out there), those guys just go against the grain for the sake of site traffic. I mean Armond White hailed Tranformers 2 as an innovation, and said that Toy Story 3 celebrated consumerism.

I think Dustin is similar, He gave Killers a high rating and in that review he went on and on about Lionsgate's "genius marketing". He also did it with Sex and The City 2, as you mentioned.

'I feel most of the hatred comes from the fact that he has given films like "The Wolfman," "Prince of Persia," and "Clash of the Titans" negative reviews.'

No, Alex, that's really not the case. It's just that when he makes a review that OBVIOUSLY is to negate from the popular word, we know he's lying about what he's saying and just wants to raise traffic for his site, and that's what pisses us off so much. Well, me anyway.

The thing with Dustin is, he seems like the person who would constantly change the subject in an argument, and always responding with an ignorant "Yea, Right" or "Oh sure..." whenever somebody pegs him down. It's just an aura of smug that I see coming from my computer screen whenever I see one of those pinkish headlines!

On WP.com, I think it looks fantastic so far, maybe make the colour scheme more fluent. And yes, please make it so we can review the movies. You could make it similar to the Tomatometer, but instead it'd be our think, you know? (I'm pretty sure you have somehting like that already though.)
Kesben writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 10:35:26 AM

I just registered to this site after two years of checking it out to comment on this. You need someone who loves movies to review movies, and this man does not love movies. He hates them. He's put himself on a pedestal and demands these movies please him. His reviews have failed to show any love for cinema whatsoever. He doesn't love to be entertained, to laugh at a funny moment or grin at an explosion. He want's to review Shakespearean plays or Oscar nominated roles or main stream fodder. A-Team was a fun movie, but he doesn't want to have fun, he want's to get known for tearing a action flick to shreds while promoting Toy Story and Sex in the City. He may be an excellent writer, he may even be an excellent critic, but he does not like movies. He has no passion for them at all. No one wants to read a cold, play by play picking apart of a movie. We all do this on our own later on. Let's see some love for the movie, some praise for the big screen....

Personally, I think you should let the people apply for the reviewer spot. Have this guy stay on, but then show two or three other opinions. Hell, you could even have debates or pro/con articles. Having three people, one being your reviewer and two being the guy on the street like ourselves, would allow for a more varied and interesting point of view.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 10:36:59 AM

"Stop the Hate" great pic Alex

Though I take a little cred for coining the name "Putzman" I've never been an advocate of firing him. I've said many times that I take most critics opinions with a grain of salt. They are paid to be argumentative for a living which imo is a total conflict of interest to the honesty I'm usually seeking. You can't get an honest opinion out of someone paid to find fault in everything and find praise where there is none. I want a review as if I were at a bar sitting across the table from the critic having face to face discussion about the film. No way (in that situation) could Putnam argue his love for SATC or his disdain for the A-team with a straight face. This is what made the At the Movies format (Siskel and Ebert) so successful in the past. Neither host was able throwout some old bullsh*t (like praise for SATC) without being held accountible by the other. The guys at Spill.com believe in the same format, so I tend to go to them for reviews before I check any lone critic's opinion.

Most of these issues with Putnam can be resolved with a simple comment link to his reviews. Spill allows their viewers to comment on their reviews, why not WP? Allowing this might go a long way to ending the Off Topic spamming, and would actually provide a platform for other posters (like myself) to squash some of the misguided rants of their peers directed towards SOME of Putnam's critiques. Sure, many of the comments will be full of the hatred, ignorance, and comedy we've come to expect from the WP community, but at least there will finally be a proper place for them.

BTW, The A-team was awesome! A true homage to 80s filmmaking.
Kesben writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 10:39:23 AM

I'm also going to add, don't let everyone review the movies...it gets too cluttered and too hard to find a reliable one. I don't want to come on here and see reviews in Interbonics and try to figure out what "he reason a lot o ppl hate Dustin Putman here is coz WP" means and "LAWL" and everyone adding a z at the end of every word...Have three reviews, tops, and let the rest rate it with stars...Don't let the masses kill this!

SACdaddy writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 10:46:01 AM

Great post Spooky! I don't think I've ever agreed with you more.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 10:52:00 AM

Thanks SAC, I agree with what you said too, even the A-Team comment.

Pure 80's action fun, exactly like a Schwarzenegger, Norris, Segal or Van Damne film!
manichispanic writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 10:52:53 AM

i don't listen to reviews, but i do think all the commercials and ads are annoying as hell, especially before a trailer.
Blank x2 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 11:03:19 AM

I main thing is Putman, like all critics, leave out the very single most important aspect when dissecting a movie: entertainment. Most every critic I read has a set of predetermined criteria that a movie must meet in order for it to be "good". This, to me, is completely the wrong way to view a movie.

If a movie can entertain, and do the job is was created to, why give it hate? Sure, movies like the A-Team, Revenge of the Fallen, other movies based on 80s shows/cartoon, or half of the comic book movies made that we talk about don't possess a great story with a deeper meaning, artistic direction, great actors, etc. But that's not what they should be judged on. And I totally agree with whoever above said that marketing and such (like with The Losers and Sex and the City 2) should have NO place in the review of a film. That's not the director and crew. That's the studio.

Critics sometimes ignore that movies are supposed to be fun. Do we all really have to have great directing, acting, storytelling, plot, etc. to have a great movie? Certainly not. I love (and own) Toho Godzilla movies, Troma movies (Toxic Avenger and Redneck Zombies = Amazing), and even Killer Klowns from Outer Space. And none of those movies save for the original Godzilla would never even be viewed by most critics. And all of these movies are awesome, even if they look like a ten year old wrote them and two monkeys with a cell phone filmed them.

I think above all else, Alex, you need at least more people to review, and you definitely need a way to let the users do reviews. Regardless of how much people on hear argue and hate each other, we all love movies, and we just don't want to be insulted when we try to get an opinion of a movie. Movies can be VERY entertaining and beloved, even if they don't have Academy Award winning credentials on paper.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 11:03:50 AM

My sugestion: 3 reviews from 3 different guys, something like IGN, that way the reader will be able to see if the movie is good. Like 3 out of 3 or maybe 2 out 3, you'll give it a shot, but if you see a 1/3 or a 0/3 you will know that the movie is most likely to be bad. And that way you'll keep your precious Dustin Putman, WP.
Adamtheflash writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 11:09:11 AM

I think he was completely right in his review of Clash of the Titans. That movie sucked. I don't really have a problem with his reviews. It really doesn't affect my life enough to strive to get the guy replaced. If I don't agree with his reviews, then I go to another site. Simple as that.

If this Dustin is actually real, I kind of feel bad for him. It's got to be embarrassing to be put on public display over your job like this.

If you had more reviewers, then perhaps these jackasses will find someone they do agree with. If WP wants to not hire someone else, then I say that it's everyone else's f*cking problem.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 11:21:58 AM

I don't mind Putman reviews. His reviews are generally rather interesting and make valid points. I think it is the scoring system that he uses that doesn't work.

I went to the guys website and actually found his four star scoring system worked rather well. My suggestion is to go with that and keep the guy.

SofaKing writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 11:27:43 AM

I think it would be great if we could somehow simplify user reviews and have our own "tomato-meter" of sorts. I am a very easy to please kind of guy when it comes to movies, just look at my all time favorite star as my avatar. I would like to see reviews from someone like me that likes a good action flick and a good comedy but steers me away from G.I.Joe and other movies that are quite literally bottom of the barrel. I don't think firing Putman is the answer but maybe adding something new to the mix is.
thedotsays writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 11:37:03 AM

First off, peoploe look at reviews regardless of who they're from just to get a sense of what may be right or wrong with the film. I doubt any movie goer worth his salt would let reviews sway their choice to see a film or not. So to that, this goes beyond the fact that he's going against the grain on purpose.
Granted that kills his credibility from the start but the biggest issue is that this guy often contradicts himself within the same review. With MANY reviewers out there, if they like/dislike a film, they are consistent with their opinion. I've seen reviews from Putman that flip flop within sentences of each other. It's as though he can tell the BS he just typed and tries to backtrack without having to write the whole thing over again.
To me, that is the biggest fault a reviewer can have.
Fine, if you hate an otherwise popular film, then hate on. But be absolute in your conviction. As much as I was annoyed by Ebert's disapproval of Kick-Ass (for reasons aside from just not liking it) One thing I could respect was that he stayed on the same road of his dislike.

As the site owner/operator I cannot dictate how you handle your site. But for you to come on here and defend him this way is, in a word, absurd.
This equates to some kid at school getting picked on and his mother comes to the school to defend him. As a reviewer, it should be the first rule of thumb to expect that you will be both praised and obliterated for your views. I'm sure through his career, Ebert received many of negative comments going well beyond expletives. He did not need his parent company come running to his rescue.
You want to balance things out, fine add a comment section to the reviewer's review. Or add a section for user's to submit their own reviews. egardless, you're still going to have negative reactions when disagreements happen.
But one thing you should not do is to defend someone's freedom of speech by crushing another's.
As much as some of the remarks have been vicious and retarded, just keep it moving. Paying attention and shining a light on that only makes them stronger and grow followers.

I've been a fan of this site for some time and I see the growth happening bit by bit.
The best thing you can do is add balance. pinions by the so-called critics can be balanced out by your average Joe's review.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 11:47:47 AM


Rockatansky is in trouble!!

Also, really don't read the reviews anyway, i only go for what people say in a breif sentance ( Good or sh*t?)

VDODSON writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 11:48:25 AM

Alex, thankyou for addressing this topic, its about time. Dustin Putman aka Putzman cinema tastes seem to mirror what we find so wrong with high end award shows (emmys,oscars). How can you give a poor review, example the A Team when it didnt differ at all from the source material, and was never marketed as an art piece? His review of Sex in the City makes me question if he was born the right gender. To make matters worse, his review serves as yours and makes us question this website. How about labeling his review as ''Putnams Review'', and also offering your other staffs thoughts on the movie? Putman is not only ridicule on this site, but several others. The guy just plain out sucks, and his reviews would be more at home on a site that catered to his likeing.
Spanza2 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 12:01:21 PM

Lets be honest, hes right about some of the reviews he makes, but at the same time he has been down right wrong on his reviews, he feels the need to almost nit-pick and sometimes he feels like he hates every movie he watches, it has gotten to the point that i only look at his reviews if i want to see negativity and its for every film. Some of the movies do indeed suck but i mean he's given some of the best movies out today 5/10, 4/10 ratings and it pisses people off cause its just not true and all it means is that i no longer read or trust the reviews on this website
Coasterkid345 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 12:08:08 PM

I, too am glad to see this headline. I've had a problem with this guy for the past few months now. Every now and then, he writes a review that I can understand. Like he gave Grown Ups a 5/10 and Final Destination 4 a 4/10. People know that movies like these are going to either suck or be so bad that people enjoy them anyways. Dustin flips this around when it comes to big, blockbuster films. I mean, Avatar = 5/10? Come on, man. I agree with what the other people on here are saying. The only possible explanation for this is that Dustin is an attention seeker. He wants attention so he can be set apart from other "critics." But the only way he knows how to do this is by giving decent films bad ratings and bad reviews. I haven't seen too many films recently but I highly doubt that 'Killers' is worthy of a 7/10. If he was smarter, he would actually get into the movies he watches and write about what REALLY makes the movie bad or good.

Now I do like the idea of getting the users to review movies. I've always liked that idea. But if it isn't too much of a problem, get more than one reviewer. Change the rating system if you have to, to like a A-F system. Although, Dustin would probably be all over that. I could just imagine... "F! F! A-! F!" Anyways, if you do find a replacement, try to get a person who enjoys the cinema. Someone who wants to review these movies, someone who likes reviewing movies for the whole reason of reviewing them. Not like Dustin who gets annoyed when he has to review more than 2 movies in the same month. See what I sayin'?
Coasterkid345 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 12:09:08 PM

Oh, and I forgot. If these bad reviews continue, then I will no longer trust this website and probably leave. :)
RichieTenenbaum writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 12:24:05 PM

Dustin is one of the reasons I go to CinemaBlend 10x as often as WP.
Powderedtoastman writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 12:24:35 PM

I think the Dustin Putman is actually the last person I would ever "trust" for a movie review.

It's not the Wolfman's and the Persia's that upset me. It's the fact that movies like Grown Ups gets a 5 when it should get a 2; SaTC2 gets an 8 and gets a higher score than a fantastic movie like Toy Story 3!

Putman is a terrible reviewer. Rottentomatoes is always a much more accurate depiction of the quality of a movie than Putman...whether it is users or critics.

If it were up to me, I would take Putman out of the site, and use the "What Did You Think" section as WP's source of reviews...or the user review section. I find those sections MUCH more informative than Putman. Every. Time.

The only reason I ever check Putman is to see how bad his review is. The end.
zapata17 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 12:24:37 PM

What about the time when all he gave every movie a 5 for like the whole year. It was retarded. Literally their was a 6 month stretch when he gave every movie a 5. And you can't ever explain to me giving Sex and the City 2 an 8.

That was a perfect movie.
Loki writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 12:37:37 PM

Honestly I could jam a pencil up my ass and squat over a piece of paper and still have better reviewing skills than Mr. Buttman (yea I really did put that joke)
Osiris3eagle writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 12:40:34 PM

Count me as one of those who thinks Putman's main purpose in his reviews is to cause a stir, ala Armond White. He knows giving a movie like District 9 a 6/10 (I think it has over 90% on RT) is going to upset people, who will come back to see how poorly he graded the next great movie to come along. It's all for the publicity and page hits.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 12:42:39 PM



I, first and foremost, am HONORED that I would be threatened to be banned from commenting on Dustin. I personally have no qualms with the man. But as a critic, I find his replies and ratings rather ... SAFE ... is the best word I can describe. It's almost like those paid-for disclaimers from the New York Post for a movie that try to divert us from the fact that the movie was needing work at post-production and yes, will make a lot of money for the distributors, but could have been so, so much more. Or when a movie is released without a critique because the studio knows how bad it is. That is what he reminds me of. He may be new. He may be learning his own tastes and how to test the waters. But he has to realize that I don't really value the critic of movies as much as I do the storyline of that movie and the emphasis on quality. THAT is what I will spend my hard earned money on. What I rely on the critic is to challenge the status quo of such a movie. Why is it worth it ? What makes it worth me to spend gas, money and time to sit down and get engaged ? It is because of the intense suspense brought into play over hours of delibate pressure derived from the screenwriters manipulation and focusing of certain scenes, words ... is it because the director knows how to build climatic scenes without having to support themselves on easy special effects, explosions and gratioutous cheese-cake shots ? If not, then it's popcorn filler and both you, I and the studio know it. That's not too much to expect from a critic. An independent mind with the ability to back it up. And when you don't take into consideration the paying public, well, that's just downright insulting, even more so than calling anyone the Forth Reich.

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 12:43:41 PM

^ Alex, consider that my formal apology. But please read it before editing it out.


Aingx writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 12:51:51 PM

"I'm aware that he gave 'Sex and the City 2' an 8/10."

Says it all right there.......
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 12:53:32 PM

I say, who knows ? Dustin might be a diamond in the rough ? A cinematic Lester Bangs ...

I'm pushing it, aren't I ?
Lulupendragon writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 12:57:18 PM

I don't pay attention to critics. I use my own judgement, which means sometimes I leave the theater disappointed, but most of the movies are just OK.
jdl107 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 1:04:40 PM

@VelocityKnown: I like the reasonableness and the understanding and thorough knowledge you brought here today, although still...... what could have been good about Sex and the City 2???
lost_addict writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 1:05:14 PM

WP,keep putman,we love to hate him,but bring another critic which will be the opposite from him and then we'll have siskel and ebert kind of thing.
triggax writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 1:08:03 PM

I don't need to say anything except that... lets say I'm on the exact same page and Sac and Spooky...

If it wasn't for your online community here Alex, I would probably never come to your site... I love the layout and sh*t and you seem like a decent enough guy but... How can someone put any stake into a website about films that has absolutely no credible reviews... Short of the couple of reviews up that were written by other critics.. Even when Putmans being fair he's an idiot critic... I don't know why people are calling this guy an excellent writer... I love WP.. I guess I dont really care what you do with your reviews section, its your prerogative in the end... Ill just wont read them... but unless something is done I'll always feel slight resentment towards this site.. as its one of my favorites and you're letting some *sshole critic sh*t on it.. But whatevs..
funseeker writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 1:11:29 PM

the main attraction about worstpreviews is honesty ... and reviews of sh*tty movies cannot be anything else but a bit negative ...

so do not replace dustin, because he is right in my opinion on every movie except sex&city2 - i do not disagree with him because i did not see it and i do not plan to see it in this life ... i have stopped reading/buying a lot of movie magazines, sites, etc because everything was sooo great and shiny and positively reviewed until i waste time watching hollywood's unimaginative new sh*t ... so, to say my point - strong and honest movie critic is your strenght not weakness!!!
otis writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 1:19:00 PM

I'm going to go conservative here and say
1) My own first name is Dustin, and it sorta puts me in a bind to see my name slandered all the time. I'm fine with Putman, Putzman, or Mr. Buttman, but using my name in vane is not appreciated.
2) Critics shouldn't be fired for their opinions- that's their job- unless he made some offensive remarks towards some personal matter. But the fact is he hasn't, and should not be fired. My opinion on the matter is to agree with what other people have said so far and put in at least 2 more people so we have multi-grades. These other 2 people should use different critiquing criterion (i.e. the emotionally on-the-wire type, the level-headed man's man type, etc.). This allows for checks and balances, and will put[man] the focus off of Putman's reviews.
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 1:40:26 PM

I think Putman was the one who gave 'Pride and Glory' a 10/10 and said it was the first cop movie to rival 'The Departed' -- bold statement, especially when it couldn't have been more wrong.
spider-man writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 1:42:50 PM

First off I would like to thank wp for putting up this thread. Second I think there a fine line bettwen harsh and way to harsh take for instance 2/10 for the a team wheb most other reviewers gave it much higher notes. So what I'm saying is he is sometimes too harsh or too leanent on films say like sex in the city 2
Lloyd Christmas writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 1:44:09 PM

i actually emailed alex about this a couple months ago, and decided to give putman another chance after listening to alex's reasoning behind using his reviews.

it is now safe to say, i have not changed my mind one bit. i agree that he is a talented writer, and is good at using fancy adjectives and such, but as a reviewer i think his content is lacking a genuine opinion.

i'm going to have to reference the infamous a-team 2/10 & sex and the city 2 8/10 debacle now.... i can't help but notice that he claims that charlie's angels is the epitamy of tv show to movie adaptations. that right there should tell you something. on top of that, he claism the reason he loved charlies angels so much was because it didnt take it self seriously and knew that it was supposed to be cheesy and brainless... i guess he didn't see every second of sharlto copley's screentime in the a-team? or rampage's "pity" & "fool" knuckle tattoos?what about that movie took it self seriously?

as for sex and the city 2, i haven't personally seen it, but my girlfriend, who is a huge HUUUGE fan of the series and the 1st movie, said it was just plain awful. that it seemed like it was pumped out just to satisfy demand for a sequel. that sounds about right. putman makes it sounds like it's any fan's dream come true...which is completely misleading to people who actually are fans that might be tempted to spend their hard earned money on the film. is dustin putman a fan of the series? whenever he talks about why the series was so good in his review, he talks about how the series was "groundbreaking" and a "cultural phenomenon" and that just seems like something he might have read in TV guide magazine.

overall, i just find that with dustin putman doing all of the reviews on WP, it makes it seem like amateur night. i really enjoy WP, I check it every single day, but whenever i see or read a new putman review, i just get the feeling that he is some lonely little dweeb who lives in the basement of his parents house, and his revenge at the world is in the form of telling everyone that the a-team sucks and SATC2 is amazing. whatever his reasons are, his reviews are the big gaping hole in this site's credibility.
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 1:46:51 PM

On second thought, I don't think Putman did 'Pride and Glory,' but a 9/10 for that movie? Really?
AshTrey writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 1:50:22 PM

its simple... that dude dustin is just plain wrong. I read his reviews with the idea that i'm gonna do the EXACT OPPOSITE. I know he doesnt want to give popular movies their due... but he's just wrong about most movies.

he needds to be replaced with someone a little more accurate.
triggax writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 1:55:39 PM


Excellent Post bud...
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 2:03:13 PM

Personally I think putman is a TERRIBLE critic. I hate his reviews. He just can't sit back and enjoy a movie.

Are the bigwigs in charge of WP really so out of touch that they're really threatening people about 'commenting off topi?' Half of the fun on this site are the inane and ridiculous threads. Do they act like attentilon seeking, intolerant, psychotic children? Of course. But the ramblings of guys like Ranger, Max, Mink, Spooky Cupcakes, Ari Gold, Freudian Nightmare and even that creepy 'YourFriendwiththebigd*ck' make this place fun. Stop threatening goofballs about off topic comments and find a better movie critic. Oh and some more trailers would be cool
BigUnit writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 2:20:08 PM

@ Lloyd - what you said about sex and the city 2 hit it right on the spot, my girlfriend is a fan of the series and trhe first movie to and you just explained that perfectly.
DustinPutmansucksDick writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 2:29:28 PM

"I feel most of the hatred comes from the fact that he has given films like "The Wolfman," "Prince of Persia," and "Clash of the Titans" negative reviews."

hahaha really those movies suck balls i am just shocked that he gave it negative reviews. those are the type of films he loves.

DustinPutmansucksDick writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 2:31:20 PM

and how does Sherlock Holmes and A-Team get a 2/10 and karate kid and Sex in the city get a 8/10.
super_suck writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 2:40:59 PM

I could really give two sh*ts either way. I have more important things in life to worry about than a movie reviewer and his opinion.
triggax writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 2:41:16 PM

Go and read something from Pete Hammond over at Box Office, or Phil Contrino.... Peter Travers even.. those guys are REAL critics... Those guys know how to critique a film... honestly.. 2/10 for sherlock holmes even.. if that doesn't scream attention whore... i dont know..
mjbodnarek@gmail.com writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 3:09:53 PM

He gave Old Dogs a good review. If that's not good enough proof, then I don't know what is.
Bunny X writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 3:13:11 PM

@Thedotsays, wonderful words my friends.
As is everyone.

Personally, I think Putman is just a bit green. I'm not sure how long he's been doing reviews but to me it just seems like he hasn't found his niche. I think @thedotsays nailed it by saying he does tend to flip flop within his own reviews and all his reviews do not sound consistent with each other. If you hear from a certain critic over and over, they tend to come from the same place and you can get a sense of what their likes and dislikes are and can tell if they'll like a movie or not. that's one thing I love about critics. There will be times when a critic will surprise you and actually like a movie you almost knew they would hate.
With Putman, I just don't get that.
There are folks on here that obviously hate the Twilight series and if I were to read a review from them, I would expect them to trash the content of the film. But what I would also expect is for them to say what good they could find out of it regardless of their disgust of the franchise.
That's what I want from a critic. Tell me that you like it or don't for your reasons. Then tell me in spite of that what's good or not good about it.
I just never found that in the reviews I've read from Putman.

But as someone said, he is doing something right. I mean to get a post dedicated to him and his work that is generating buzz not only on this site but other sites as well is fortunate. I bet there are thousands of critics out there who will kill to get the publicity good or bad that he's getting from this.
vaodsi writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 3:49:25 PM

in the end i think everybody freaking out about dustin is kinda stupid. Yes i think he has bad taste, because taste is like armpits.. everybody's smells but your own.
but I do feel like his rating of films is a little off kilter when you give great movies 1 star and terible crap like sex and the city etc glowing reviews. ROGER EBERT referred to Armond White as a "TROLL" because he gave transformers a positive review while trashing "There will be blood"
i think the reason people freak out about putman is that they are looking for affirmation.. and he's not giving it to them. Only very insecure people actually give a crap about some random person's clearly misguided opinions. I don't base my reality around what critics say. I enjoy movies based on my own taste. there are critics that i look at who share my taste and inform me whether or not to spend the eight dollars. Dustin Putman is NOT one of those critics. I rarely agree with him and think that he's a little snobby. It's very obnoxious when he starts putting in political views. But if something is stupid.. DON'T READ IT! that is why i do not read his reviews any more and have not in some time. complaining about a reviewers opinion i think is a waste of time. Armond White is a pretentious troll.....Dustin is a troll in training.. but who cares? don't read the reviews.
nope.com writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:03:53 PM

he gave Gigli a raving review

... nuff said
nope.com writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:04:57 PM

oh don't believe me? Check for yourself and the many hacks that he gave a good rating to

nope.com writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:06:28 PM

I think I'd rather watch Ebert try to talk with no lower jaw than to read another one of Dustin Putnam's "reviews"
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:07:09 PM

I just don't believe that a boy (Dustin) that takes his dad's d*ck up his ass, and be OK with that could possibly write objective views.

To each his own...

If my mom had her tits done... maybe incest would be my thing too.
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:08:13 PM

8/10 for Sex and the City?!

Someone is living the life of a woman in a little boy's body... that much is clear.
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:08:40 PM

@WP - PS: priceless photo Alex!
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:09:45 PM

Note - all my comments are on topic.
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:16:05 PM

Well... except that last one.
trailertrash writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:17:09 PM

and very valied comments they are too !!
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:18:27 PM

lol... thank you.
trailertrash writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:19:01 PM

He's like little Jimmy Krankie then !!

trailertrash writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:19:51 PM

Sorry Uk only would get that !! LOL
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:28:23 PM

Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:30:16 PM

trailertrash writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:39:19 PM


That first one, priceless. Where can you get those toilets, Wal-Mart !!
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:39:59 PM

Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:41:53 PM

On-on topic. Dustin can write what he wants. If people disagree... don't read his reviews. Pretty much same advice I'm been telling the lurkers on here that only post to make a personal bitch towards someone (always WAY OFF topic). If you value Dustin's reviews... read them. If not... go out and get laid (well, do that anyway). Opinions are like *ssholes... everyone has one (Mmmmm... The Human Centipede!).

trailertrash writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:42:07 PM

LOL of course, silly me !!!
JRprime writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:49:25 PM

i'd say don't let people on here put someone out of a job. if you're thinking of replacing him on your own terms, that's your business. don't do it because people can't handle a different opinion than their own.
Peter Parker writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:53:24 PM

Putman is only seeking attention.
All he needs is a big old hug.
That's the most plausible explanation I can find to explain some of his ludicrous reviews.

The other explanation, very plausible as well, is that he has an odd taste in movies and doesn't really comment on a movie's artistic/entertaining value, but on what pushes his own buttons.
If that is the case, apart from making him a bad professional, I see nothing wrong in his work. He supposed to write articles of opinion and, as controversial as they may be, that IS what he is doing.
Any idiot can have an opinion. The only difference is that he expresses his for a living.

At the end of the day, it seems to me that this whole "fire Putzman" imbroglio comes down to freedom of speech. If a man is censored and fired because of his opinions, then... "the terrorists would have won"!

If a movie critic seems to be a flamboyant idiot, and if his reviews are just plain ridicule, the healthiest way to express disapproval for his work is by not reading him. If people stop paying attention to his comments, he'll be deemed as someone who doesn't deserve the space is his given. And that's how you take someone off the air.
Public lynching and witch hunting are for ignorants.

Putman is the Glen Beck of movie critics, that's the type of attention he persistently calls upon himself and that how serious he should be taken.

asylum writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 4:55:02 PM


I'm glad we finally got your attention on this Dustin Putman issue and am even more glad that you have decided to address issue.

It's hard for me to speak for everyone here at WP, but in my personal opinion his reviews are not in line with the audience you attract. It's ok that he gave Sex and the City 2 an 8 out of 10, but not for this site and not for this audience. I believe you need to write for your audience. Are WE going to like the movie, thats what important.

To say that we are mad because he gave movies we are looking forward too bad reviews is 100% inaccurate, at least for me. If a movie is bad, then its bad. When I read his review for The A-Team before I saw the movie, I thought to myself "Man, that sucks. I was really looking forward to that movie". But when I finally saw it, I was appalled that Putman gave it a 2 out of 10. It was possibly the best movie movie the summer and thats when I knew he had to go and thats why I started the Fire Dustin Putman Facebook group. I dont care that he trashes popular films. I care that he trashes popular films that are good.
trailertrash writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 5:17:48 PM

Bill Clinton and Mick Jagger hi-fiving Classic !!

Unlucky USA !!
jigsaw23 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 5:33:46 PM

first off everyone has a different opinion, like critics kill some really good ones example: iron man 2, kickass, so to me a critic is just another person, but dustin ruins mos of those and his next on he will prob give a 10/10 is twilight eclipse. so i agree keep him so we can still mess around with him, but get a new one that we wont hate and love. wp great headline one of the BEST.
trailertrash writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 5:34:01 PM

^^ Meant that sincerely BTW
Blank x2 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 5:52:31 PM

I think the consensus here is not necessarily JUST Dustin Putman. The issues here are that we only have one reviewer, and he doesn't analyze the right parts of what he's looking at. He seems to take too much stake in marketing and such, and tries to judge movies from source material more on the actual source material than what is in front of him. And, he rarely seems to use the same 10 point scale to judge movies. A rating of 5 doesn't seem like it means "average" for all of the movies he gives them to. He just needs more consistency.

I do think the answer is not getting rid of Putman, but WP needs to totally rethink the reviews section on this site. Keep Putman, but you MUST (REPEAT: MUST) have more than one person reviewing. The more opinions, the better. Do something like other sites where you have site reviewers and user reviews, sort of like what Rotten Tomatoes has, but not as convoluted.

You're already listening to your audience, Alex, which I will commend you for. Just don't stop listening to all of us now, and try to really work with people who care (the WP nation) to try to oome up with something that helps you, Dustin, us, etc. I, and it looks like all of the regular WP gang, will be more than happy to try to make this the best movie site there is.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 6:14:48 PM

I feel most of the hatred comes from the fact that he has given films like "The Wolfman," "Prince of Persia," and "Clash of the Titans" negative reviews. Since most of our readers were hoping that these movies would be something amazing, they were surprised to see Dustin not throw out 10/10 ratings. Days later, when most of the readers have seen these films, it turned out that the movies were actually really terrible. And yes, I'm aware that he gave "Sex and the City 2" an 8/10.

The Wolfman - A remake that had production and delay issues. Horrible special effects. Seemed almost to be pushed out through production.

Prince of Persia - Disney producing a video game based adaptation with English or American actors & actresses using staunch accents to come off Arabic.

Clash of the Titans - Clash of too much computer special effects and lackluster acting.

Sex and the City 2 ? Chick flick making sexual jokes on the expense of the Arabic community and
relationship comedy that would be relative to fans of Sex and the City.

My recommendation ? Get rid of the number system, like suggested by my fellow commenters.
Aaron writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 6:23:15 PM

I stopped reading the reviews when i realized that I just disagree with the ratings. It's kind of a non-issue.
What would make me start reading the reviews? A second opinion would help.
But.. eh - I see movies based on the talent involved with them - not reviews, so..
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 6:23:22 PM

I would be interested to see how Dustin reviews The Good, The Bad and The Weird, Holy Rollers or Exit Through The Gift Shop.

Throw him some independents or art films. Maybe he'd fair better results.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 6:34:00 PM

But Prince of Persia, was a epic movie and quite frankly the best game to film adaptation out there....
Clash of the titans, was average....
Johnston can bite the wolfman's nuts, for messing up a piece of Universal Studio legacy.

And when you give Sex and the city 2 a high rating well, then clearly your nuts, the film was awful, and i was walking in to see a film and they were walking out 10 mins later before SATC 2 started....

My reason why Mr Putman, does not deserve to make movie reviews, is simply because he doesn't know how to.

His reviewing techniques are critiqued to his taste within the movie of himself, not within that of a wider auidence

velocityknown writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 6:43:07 PM

I think this about sums up everyone's points:

1: Dustin Putman writes against the grain for the sake of being different, not because it's his honest opinion.

2: There's no need to fire anyone.

3: Find more critics so the users of this site have more options for reviewers since this one is generally disliked.

Peter Parker writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 7:12:58 PM

Just like the movement started here to have Putman fired, I also tried something like that some time ago, but towards a different objective.
My goal was to persuade Jayden Jaymes to go anal, since she spent years refusing to give up her anal (on camera) virginity.

Well folks, I am now very happy to say that Ms. Jayes is officially taking it up the toosh, and her first anal scene is featured in "Big Wet Asses 17"

Here's a link to the glorious clip:


And just to make this on topic:

Hey, Putman, watch "Big Wet Asses 17" and then let us know your thoughts, will ya, hun?

BDeck writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 7:16:13 PM

really every one here has answered any question you may have Alex.

Dustin just doesn't play to YOUR audience.

you know who the people that come to your site,and who keep coming back are,and you know what they like, and all the movies that most of us like Dustin doesn't. he would rather see a romantic comedy like sex and the city ant the killers over the a-team,and that's fine, but it doesn't play to us!

i really dont think any of us give a sh*t about wolfman or prince of persia ether,But you know you have an issue when other websites are commenting on your reviewer and how off his review is.

you get sh*t for posting things about satc or twilight but we realize that you have to post those to ether play to the people that want to know about them or to get hits on google, which in turns brings you more money.we get it.but you still should care and take care of the core group of wp followers that are here every day.

in conclusion,you dont need to get rid of putman but you do need to find someone that will cater to your following.
BDeck writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 7:18:07 PM

oh peter parker!!

how ive missed your love for huge asses.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 7:18:46 PM

well said BDeck
BDeck writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 7:26:25 PM

right back atchay spooky.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 7:33:03 PM

Wow! SpookyCupcakes (love the pink Hitler avatar, btw) and I agree ?

Is this the first sign o' the apocolypse ?
johnny_boy writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 7:37:56 PM

Just get rid of him. If he's so "good" at what he does, he'll find work with entertainment weekly or something. But with his sh*tty reviews, let's see how long they keep him and if they listen to what people want and not delete their comments. By the way,"Dustin Putman - What Do You Think?," i think with all we've said it's pretty clear what we think of his sorry ass.
velocityknown writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 8:00:48 PM


Best post I've read all day.
spider-man writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 8:37:05 PM

well said Alex made the situation WAY worse by deciding to censor anyone and everyone who got pissed off about Putmans horrible reviews(and i mean the ones he writes not the ones we gave em haha).

you see when you start censering people they begin to start feeling like there rights to free speach are trampled on....i mean come on its in the bill of rights...so when someone starting deleting what they say when speaking there mind...its just gonna piss em off and there gonna do one of two things. there either going to leave the sight(situation) and never come back....or its gonna reach a boiling point and fire back with "guns blazing" now alex wants us to stay on topic but gives the option of writing whatever you want. in my book thats a HUGE contridiction(not trying to stir up trouble. just being honest). Putman rigts poor reviews...2 out of 10? youve gotta be kidding me...a film student working on his/her first movie could get more then a 2/10. so yeah like what velocity said he trys WAY to hard to be different and ends up sounding like an idot
spider-man writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 9:09:42 PM

for one i agree with most people on this site that Putman seems like he doesnt look at a film and review objectively. in my opinion a movie reviewer should be like a ref in say basketball, football, whatever sport you wanna use. they should look at a film in an objective point of view. and it does seem like he rates the film before he writes the review its self
shayhiri writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 9:18:04 PM

Can't we just burn Putman on a stake or something? THAT would be fun.

And efficient.
Mindala06 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 9:18:46 PM

For me, I don't read his reviews til after I have seen the movie. lol. I go see movies bc I think they will be good, not bc some reviewer thinks they are good.
On the topic of DP, his reviews are not truthful. I think he is trying too hard to be different from other reviewers - trying to go against what everyone else thinks.
masht7 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 9:24:25 PM

It's not Putman we should be worried about, it's Armond White. He gave negative reviews to 'District 9' and 'Toy Story 3' and he gave a positive to 'Transporter 3'.
cheddarhead4 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 9:25:11 PM

I think he should be removed. After seeing so many ridiculously scored reviews on this site, I honestly came to believe that the reviews on this site were some sort of deep satire that i just didn't get. When i read a review I'm not looking for

What attracted us to Dustin is that he provides detailed criticism and is not afraid to trash a popular film. Do I agree with all of his opinions? No, but it's unlikely that you'll find a person with the same exact taste as yours. When i read a review i don't care how couragous the reviewer is in trashing a popular film. all i want to know is if the movie is worth my $10 ticket. It's gotten to where i just skip any review on this site, because i know it will give me a horrible first impression of a movie and cause me to miss out on a good movie or wast

Inception writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 9:31:39 PM

I bet he's gonna give me a 3/10, because he is too dumb to understand me.

Inception writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 9:44:53 PM

Dustin Putman -> gay critic, fan of Sex and the City, and likes to party dress up as Samantha in order to satisfy his c*ck craving desires.

Putman I bet you are gonna give Twilight 9/10, you disgusting c*ckroach.
HideousSecretion writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 10:41:55 PM

+++I feel most of the hatred comes from the fact that he has given films like "The Wolfman," "Prince of Persia," and "Clash of the Titans" negative reviews.+++

Those three films were terrible and anyone involved should have been turned into eunuchs.

Vin12 writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 11:39:55 PM

Look Alex, I haven't been on here in a while but I can tell you that Whenever I read a DP review, I assumed it was the opposite of whatever he thought about it.
lost_addict writes:
on June 26th, 2010 at 11:52:40 PM

put man
Peter Parker writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 12:08:06 AM

"I can tell you that Whenever I read a DP review, I assumed it was the opposite of whatever he thought about it."

- Which just says you're still the same old stupid, clueless idiot you always were.

Way to go, Vindy!
OneTime writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 12:09:54 AM

the whole idea of bein a critic is retarded....
koul writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 12:10:13 AM

i agree that clash of the titans and prince of persia sucked
Eben1277 writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 12:48:31 AM

I feel most of the hatred comes from the fact that he has given films like "The Wolfman," "Prince of Persia," and "Clash of the Titans" negative reviews.

Most of the vocal site users here bashed those films, ruthlessly. While I personally enjoyed Clash and Prince (haven't seen Wolfman, but I'm sure I'll like it, I like everything) that has nothing to do with why I don't like DP, and I'm not talking Double Penetration right now. In fact, I didn't even know he gave those movies a bad review. The reason I didn't know he gave those movies a bad review was, drum roll please... because I haven't read one of his reviews in probably about a year... Oh my mistake, I might have read his Avatar review, I'm not sure. The only thing I look at on here anymore is the news articles and sometimes the comments, and it's a shame, because I would like to read some movie reviews from time to time, but I will not read them on this site, because I know your resident critic does not cater to my entertainment choices.
Ranger writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 1:23:16 AM

@OneTime - well said.

I have NEVER listened to critics. Haven't read even ONE of Dustin's reviews (I hear things... on here... like, 8/10 for 4 dried-up old hags in the city). A critic has NEVER swayed me from seeing a movie they dissed. If the trailer is interesting... I go.

I'd watch Siskel & Ebert just to see the trailers... couldn't give a sh*t about what they thought. But still, freedom of speech and all that.

I have friends with 'oppositional disorder.' You tell them to go left and they'll go right... every single time... without fail.

If Dustin:

1. Writes his reviews just to go against the grain (as defined by the opinions of the majority)... whatever.

2. If he writes emotionally, and doesn't break down the pros AND cons of a movie... whatever.

3. I've heard enough negativity from those on WP I respect to avoid any of his reviews anyway.

4. Shannon Price is a murdering c*nt!

Thank you.
Duffman writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 1:26:06 AM

I don't think the dude should be fired, hell besides lohan and coleman he's the most popular topic talked about on here. I stopped reading his reviews a long ass time ago but you do need another reviewer. Open up a thread on his reviews and let him justify, or have a chance to defend himself, to everybody on here (mostly the frequent posters like max, ranger, encore, trailer and others)I'm sure we would all love that opportunity. Like it was said earlier, we love to hate him and I'm sure he likes being in that role and does the reviews on purpose to stir the pot, maybe not every single time but more times than not. At least you had the balls to address this and listen to us, no matter what the decision is.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 1:29:34 AM

PP-your anal post was f*ck hilarious!!!

eViL-nice post as well.

many people had nice posts, but i don't have time to read them all.

@Alex-first off, i really like the site, been a fan for a long time. not as long as many, but a long time. but Putman's gotta go, he is a retard. we aren't looking for a yes man to agree with us, but we aren't looking for a dumbass that thinks just about the opposite of everyone else here. you are (i'm guessing) site manager/creator. if your readers aren't happy they are bound to leave some time or another which is bad for you. If you do a simpler reader-review kind of thing, i'm good with that. if you do that AND get rid of/replace Putman, even better. it's not the fact that his views aren't like ours all the time that we mind, it is the fact that it is like that, EVERY time.

also thank you for listening to us and posting a thread like this, appreciate it.
Ranger writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 1:32:13 AM

PS: Sitting in a restaurant today, and the theater across the parking lot was putting up their 20 ft. high 'The Expendables!' poster... I'll be honest, I got a boner.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 1:52:05 AM

Ranger-good post about Putman. I'll admit i never listen to critics either, however it is very annoying because he can give people who do the wrong idea. also annoying because almost everything he says is stupid.
Ranger writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 2:01:02 AM

Thx. encore.

Well... I guess he's entitled to his opinion. I've even asked others (ie: idiot, non-contributing, pathetic lurkers, mainly and only pop on to personally bitch about someone), to just scroll past posters (and their comments) they don't like.

WP gives up great latitude to post almost anything... Dustin should be allowed too. If you've read some of his stuff and don't agree.. just blow by it. But he should get the same rights (at least) as we're granted.

You and I differ on a lot of movies. I like a lot of those cheesy B-movies... you have commented they'd be a pass for you. All kewl in my book.

As for people being swayed in their movie-going choices by the writings of a critic (or anyone for that matter), should have a lobotomy, as they're not using their brain anyway.

Dustin... you just keep on doing what you're doing. You'll have your followers for sure, some not... but bitching about you and movies is so much fun!
encoreyourface writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 2:13:01 AM

"but bitching about you and movies is so much fun!"-lol, ain't it the truth. i wouldn't leave the site if he stayed on or something stupid like that. hell, i basically ignore him besides when i need a good laugh, in which case i click on one of his reviews.

but you have a point about the same rights as we get thing ... however that only applies to humans,lol.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 2:15:48 AM

however everybody else wants him gone. i want him gone or they get a second person to do the reviews as well as Putman who makes sense. or do the user-review thing.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 2:18:35 AM

@One Time, you said it!

I don't mind reading someone's opinions on films, but honestly everyone judges movies for themselves, so the idea of people putting their judgment of something they haven't experienced in the hands of a different person's opinion is kind of ridiculous.

I don't see films based on reviews; I see films based on whether the trailer, cast, director, writer, or story interest me.

Another person's opinion has never swayed me from seeing something I want to see, so I say if Dustin Putman wants to keep writing reviews here, let him; it won't affect my movie-going at all.
gobolog writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 3:43:52 AM

Only 6/10 for Moon. I'll get you next time PUT-MAN!!!!!

Worst previews. I don't wanna watch a movie in which its claim to acclaim is that it's written by the guys who wrote the worst saw films so stop bombarding me with adverts for the collector.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 8:59:44 AM

These remind me of the good ol' days (like 7 months ago)

Using giant walls of text to prove our points, ah it's great.

Pathetic, but great.
jokerguy75 writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 9:30:52 AM

I don't like him. Haven't agreed with any of his reviews. Still don't think the guy should lose his job.
Anung_un_rama writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 9:44:29 AM

I don't like Mr Putman's reviews not that its the pompous attitude he has in reviewing movies as if its not worthy enough and then you get Sex in the city2 gets a 8??? and the A-team yeah not something new we've all seen something like it but it was FUN you know most of us folks like fun and we like to think but
Anung_un_rama writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 9:55:44 AM

his over analytical review of toy story 3 was enough to make me pull my hair... but i want to see his review of inception
trailertrash writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 9:56:36 AM

Just took some time out to look at DP web site (Waiting for Kick off)and have a read of some of his old reviews.

I just find his whole style of reviewing really annoying and very patronizing. Even on the movies that i agree with him on his rating, the review is still poor IMO.

He described Invictus as sap-induced egotism ,is that the pot calling the kettle black or what !!

velocityknown writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 10:45:51 AM


I could not disagree more...

Let's go Deutschland!
Vin12 writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 10:46:06 AM

Nice to see you too, bud.
Vin12 writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 10:46:07 AM

Nice to see you too, bud.
trailertrash writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 10:58:13 AM

velocity- LOL !!!

We need a Russian Linesman on this game !!
velocityknown writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 11:34:33 AM


Right now England needs 5 of 'em and a really harsh winter haha.
Dr. Strangelove Huberis writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 11:35:28 AM

I've been told he reviews movies.

Is this true ?
trailertrash writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 11:43:26 AM

velocity- LOL , Very true my friend !!
Golpe de Estado writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 11:49:30 AM

Just because someone pretends to be skilled in rhetoric and tries to complicate his sentences so doesn't make him a good writer.

And it most definitely does not make him a good reviewer. I saw the comment earlier about him only liking Oscar winners, um...Sarah Jessica Parker for best lead actress? I just think the homo is so out of touch with reality he wouldn't know a good movie if he walked into a pre release screening of The Godfather. Those three movies you listed WERE bad, its the other movies hes reviewed that are horrible...someone should really make some sort of a chart or graph so you can see it all out in front of you at once.
Coasterkid345 writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 12:06:22 PM

Alright, what do we got here?:

- Iron Man 2 = 4/10?
- Robin Hood = 4/10?
- 17 Again = 8/10 ...Because Zac Efron beats RDJ any day, right?
- Black Christmas ('06) = 8/10...
- Sherlock Homes = 2/10?
- Invictus = 1/10???

... I rest my case.
lost_addict writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 12:07:04 PM


what was that about usa winning about the world cup?

too bad for england...f*ckin fifa in 2010 still don't use camera replays
Peter Parker writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 12:12:25 PM

"Just because someone pretends to be skilled in rhetoric and tries to complicate his sentences so doesn't make him a good writer"

- Unless he's writing a book called "Rhetorical Skills and Complicated Sentences".

But yeah, I agree with you. Putman is only shooting himself in the foot by putting so much effort into literary resources and neglecting what he should actually be doing, which his to analyze and classify movies based upon their own merits.

And, like I've said before, that makes him a bad professional.
Ranger writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 12:23:12 PM

When I'm out of toilet paper...

I print out Dustin Putman's reviews, and wipe my ass with them.

(see... the bitching continues).
Peter Parker writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 12:24:35 PM

And I still say he's the Glen Beck of movie critics and should not be taken seriously.

Coasterkid345 just showed in a very clear fashion what a joke Putman is when it comes to rating movies.

And jokes can't be taken seriously.

Speaking of jokes, have you heard the one about the two pussies?

There is a wet p*ssy and a dry p*ssy.
One of the girls says: "Why is your p*ssy wet and my p*ssy dry?"
The other girl says: "Because I am horny and you are not horny."

Putman would give this joke 1/10. He'd also waste 10 paragraphs explaining why the joke isn't funny.
As always, he'd be missing the point.

MoneyHayabusa writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 12:25:02 PM

f*ck it. Rotten tomatoes is the only way to even slightly assess the quality of a movie before seeing it. I come here for the news and comments.
AYT BALL writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 1:29:21 PM

Yeah.....as a site your reviewer should be in touch with the memebers.....hes not, its that simple, and tries (and fails) to talk as if he knows his subject. A reviewer should be able to see a movie for what it is and score it according to the audience its aimed at rather than his own (PG) tastes.

And if you ban MAX im off, not kissing his ass but he spouted off because you werent listening! He didnt before, and if you show your listening to this he probs wont again
BigMex11 writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 2:35:44 PM

I have to agree with some of the other post I've seen here. I read reviews to see what others think but If I am interested in seeing a movie I will see it with good or bad reviews. I think the real problem is that your reviewer dosnt seem to remember that movies are ment to entertain. I realize that there are movies that the story is so bad that its not worth the time and there are movies that are so well written that the subject matter dosnt make a difference but the chief reason for a movie is entertainment. By dissecting every aspect of the movie you miss the movie as a whole and end up giving movies that are very entertaining a harshly low rateing and movies that are not really that entertaining a pretty good score...I.E. Sex and the City 2, Meet the Morgans...I mean really? those rate higher than Law abiding citizen? really?
I have to agree with the solution I saw posted here already, a group of people reviewing the movie, would allow for more points of view and would give a more well rounded review, because lets face it, not every one will like every movie.
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 2:44:19 PM

Unbelievable Moron
Stupid Bastard
Totally Idiotic
Not Likeable

Ugly (Probably)
The Dumbest Critic Ever
Moronicly Moronic
Not Cool
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 2:50:36 PM

Dustin Putzman = -1/10
Dr. Strangelove Huberis writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 4:21:39 PM

I think Dustin is the second coming of Christ.

Where's my crucifix and nails ?
slusho writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 4:25:31 PM

Maybe more than one reviewer who have different styles..
Ranger writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 4:50:35 PM

Anyone know if Dustin's parents ever had any kids?
Ranger writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 4:53:14 PM

trailertrash writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 5:28:19 PM

Thats Nasty, but it's the one with the tits, right ?
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 5:34:07 PM

Dustin Putman for Captain America?
encoreyourface writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 6:33:52 PM

Coasterkid345-summed up very nicely.
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 7:19:36 PM

Damn there are a sh*t-ton of comments on this lol...f*cking awesome. Honestly, and I think a few people already mentioned this, but some of his reviews have been perfect, but most are insane. Personally I liked Wolfman. The acting was somewhat lacking, but I liked it. Reviews and opinions are like *ssholes, everyone has them. Not everyone's *sshole will be similiar. I think there should be a few critics on this site and maybe a rating system for the reviews of specific critics so we vote on who's we like better.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 7:45:54 PM

nice post, perhaps a vote is a good idea.
Ranger writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 7:52:55 PM

@trailer - I figured the one with the cack in his mouth was.
guillotine117 writes:
on June 27th, 2010 at 9:56:21 PM

wow, my prayers have been answered. i've always thought his reviews were completely rediculous and borderline retarded, but i've never commented or spammed the reviews, i just used my inner voice and said, "this guy is such an idiot". anyway, point is he shouldn't be writing reviews at all, just replace him.
spider-man writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 12:57:08 AM

ive agreed with you on many things most times, and on the point that you made that he should be able to have his opinion as the rest of us, but theres a diffrence between saying a movie sucks because it generally sucks and saying a movie sucks just for fun of saying "it sucked" because every other critic says "its a great film". putman does this everytime he goes the oposite way just to say "yeah im different" he just comes off as an arogant *sshole
spider-man writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 1:01:37 AM

i meant to say that on the your point of he should be able to have his opinion like the rest of us i would agree, theres gotta be facts behind his disagreement witch he almost never does
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 1:37:59 AM

What angers me the most is that he gave District 9 a 7/10. What. The. f*ck. I mean, he gave District 9 a 7/10 and Sex and the City 2 an 8/10? In the words of Eric Cartman, that's pretty f*cked up right here.
encoreyourface writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 1:56:39 AM

yes it is.
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 2:05:38 AM

Ditto it is.
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 2:07:05 AM

@Spider-man - well said.
spider-man writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 3:10:02 AM

Thank you...cheers
Shoot to thrill writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 3:13:13 AM

This is brilliant. My feelings for Dustin Putman are obvious, I strongly believe he is a hack. I can understand giving certain movies a low score, but what gets me our when you read his reviews its blantantly obvious he is only partial to certain types of movies. In my opinion, if you are writing reviews about movies on a website that has people who have more then the normal love of movies, then you should be more open minded. If one is going to make a career or even a side hobby of writing reviews for movies then they have to be open minded, does that mean giving each movie a positive review? No, it simply means take each movie that one reviews in all angles and make a decision on what one believes would be a good rating for the said movie. Everyone has a favorite type of genre, but to write reviews for movie lovers means to put that favortism away and give a review that the general public would agree too. Not everyone will agree, thats fine, that happens with everything, but to butcher a movie because its not your type is just ridiculous. I truly believe Dustin Putman is a hack, and to put up a system where we can review the movies is a great idea, it gives us a chance to have more open forum for our opinions and help each other decide what movies we should see right away and which can wait. Please, to keep people at worst previews and to help make this great website better, stop that hack Putman from reviewing anymore movies.
swoooop writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 9:25:32 AM

I don't see the problem with this guy. He writes reviews. And some people may or may not agree with him. Whats the f***ing problem? Stop reading him if you hate him that much.
The-BRAD writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 12:40:41 PM

THANK YOU for putting this up.
Much Respect to you, and the WP staff.

Should you fire Putman. No.
Should you have a variety of reviewers. Maybe.
I've been coming to this site for a long time now. And quite awhile ago I've stopped taking any stock from Putman's reviews.
His reviews ON AVERAGE are verbose, self serving, hypocritcal,and pretentious.
His scoring doesn't seem to make much sense and is never consistent. I won't mention the last few everyone else seems to mention S&TC2 & A-Team, but I will point to all of his WP posted reviews over the last 2 years. They seem to decline steadily. Almost like he reviews movies because he has to. not because he loves to, which i have no doubt at some point in time he did. Someone above mentioned the entertainment of movies, and I do believe Dustin has lost that view.
In short, I can't stand his writing or hypocritical reviews.

I really enjoy and appreciate your
"What Did You Think" posts, now those I can read throughly and take full stock of our community's pros & cons on a lot of different points.

That being said, I love the posting community, and I apologize for not posting enough, I read all of your comments daily, and guys, they are a great source of entertainment for me while I'm at work! Keep it up!
I love how you guys hack on, and protect eachother. It's a great family, and one I'm happy to be a part of!!

encoreyourface writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 1:17:21 PM

"That being said, I love the posting community, and I apologize for not posting enough, I read all of your comments daily, and guys, they are a great source of entertainment for me while I'm at work! Keep it up!
I love how you guys hack on, and protect eachother. It's a great family, and one I'm happy to be a part of!!"

well said.
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 3:26:34 PM

Gran Torino = 3/10

Invictus = 1/10

Did Clint Eastwood abuse Dustin when he was a kid or something???
lindemud writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 4:58:15 PM

I may be a little late on this but I'm gonna agree with the countless others above that Putman is out of touch with this sites users. Also, i've got to agree with spooky all the way at the top that Max can be pretty hard to take sometimes. I don't know if it's the spamming, the fact he feels he needs to repost the article everytime he puts his 2 cents in about it or if it's the fact he strings together 15 terrible "jokes" at a time. But it's something. That being said, kicking him off the site may be a little harsh... I think he means well.
Salvador writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 6:27:42 PM

"I'm aware that he gave "Sex and the City 2" an 8/10..."

Is not enough?

If Putman thinks a movie like "The A-Team" is below his usual 'high standard', well, he should move to another place, I already told you, er... let's say "Teen Magazine".

And by the way, I enjoyed "Prince of Persia" like a midget.

Sex and the City 2" deserves an 8/10? C'mon!!!
trailertrash writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 7:14:10 PM

The-BRAD- Good post fella ...
Lloyd-Christmas writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 7:41:13 PM

"He is not afraid to trash a popular film"
It seems like he gives good movies bad reviews just to get that acknowledgement... I don't understand how Toy Story 3 and Killers can get the same rating...
DetroitFanRick writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 8:00:01 PM

Well, now that everyone else has made their opinions known, I guess it's my turn?

Personally, I've never been a big fan of film critics. I've never let their reviews sway me towards or away from a movie. If I like what I see on the preview, I try to see it. If it doesn't look like my cup of tea, I avoid it.

Now this has backfired on me once or twice, but not often. Cloverfield left me with a bad taste in my mouth. Mainly because the shakiness of the camera gave me motion sickness.

I've never read any of DP's reviews, and most likely never will. So keeping him or not will have no effect on myself.

Adding a section for site visitors to give their own slants on movies would be fine. Much like this article. And there's always the message boards for people to give their 2 cents on what they've seen at the theaters.

So that's my bit. I'm out.
Kooky SpunkCaked writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 10:06:56 PM

He's adorable. Like the last asthematic dwarf from The Wizard of Oz still ticking a faint heartbeat.
Kooky SpunkCaked writes:
on June 28th, 2010 at 10:08:43 PM

Dustin Putman is like salty balls in your mouth.

They're salty, they're skin, they're hair and they're testicles.

Dustin is the salty balls of reviewers.
Method writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 1:23:35 PM

I'm looking at you Max Rockatansky Junior.

HHAHA good sh*t.
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 2:22:29 PM

C'mon, let's keep the hate flowing...

Ranger writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 8:55:14 PM

Could we get a review with a kewl name like:

Delroy Lindo?

A guy with a name like that knows his sh*t from a hole in the ground.

But 'Dustin Putman'?! C'mon!
Ranger writes:
on June 29th, 2010 at 8:58:24 PM

review = reviewer.
The-BRAD writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 12:15:57 PM

What's the stautus on this? Any updates?
spider-man writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 12:34:03 PM

ladies and gentleman we all knew it would happen dustin putzman just gave twilight a f*ckING 7/10 are you f*ckING kidding me. how the hell do you give a sh*tY movie like twilight 7/10 and movies like a team a degrading 2/10
Salvador writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 12:50:34 PM

@spider-man: I saw that too...

I didn't bother myself to read the review (I know is CRAP).

Whoever is running this site, you better do something ASAP.
Spanza2 writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 1:56:59 PM

HE GAVE TWILIGHT A 7!?!?!?!?!?!?!?....nuff said
steamluv writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 2:40:50 PM

When I read a review on this sight I generally am either captivated by the relatable articulation or see that it's so long and it's a movie Im not really all that interested in anyways so I just skip it. For the one's I do actually read I feel that the author writes a dialectic feel for movie reviews in that I can take away the good and bad and eventually decide for myself. Hell I thought he even gave Eclipse a fair review and that's tough to do considering. Unlike many movie critics he goes in depth and tells you about the writers, directors, and actors outside of the movie so you have a basis of what to expect. Most of the time I dont feel like he completely trashes a movie or treat's a flick as god like, he's very fair in his assessments and that's the best thing possible for people who have yet to see the movie in review. It doesnt ruin any hype or deaden what they might expect, his reviews generally just give me more info surounding the movie and I feel Im actually smarter for reading it. So in closing, I like Dustin Putman. While his reviews might be extremely long at times, they can be captivating and always thought provocative and unbiased.
ElizabethMitchellsBoobs writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 2:48:02 PM

Well, the dumb son of a bitch just gave the new Twilight a 7/10. Nuff said. Fire him.
Ranger writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 5:30:26 PM

Even if Twilight was worth a 7/10 (not saying it is). Fine. Then how does he explain other movies reviewed no worse or better than Twilight that receive a 2/10?!

WTF is this guy on... and did he bring enough for the whole class to sniff/snort/toke/shoot-up?!
Ranger writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 5:33:00 PM

Yeah... I thought so:

Ranger writes:
on June 30th, 2010 at 5:34:26 PM

steamluv writes:
on July 5th, 2010 at 1:01:33 PM

Anybody actually seen the new Twilight? Actually wasnt that bad, how can you dis something you have'nt seen?
gshauger writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 11:09:14 PM

Dustin gave both Avatar and Inception ROTTENS at RottenTomatoes yet he gave Gigli a fresh.

Let's think about that...Dustin thinks Gigli is a better movie than Avatar.

He's a contrarian...an attention whore...he's an Armond White wannabe.
gshauger writes:
on July 14th, 2010 at 11:17:20 PM

Fire him over his Inception review
Blueprint413 writes:
on July 16th, 2010 at 12:58:57 AM


After reading his Inception review, I now understand why there are so many negative, cynical people out there who are unreasonably judgmental of movies.

Why? Because you employed one. Change the reviewer or expect to have a lot less web-traffic.
Blueprint413 writes:
on July 16th, 2010 at 1:03:34 AM

And by the way, guys like this are the reason this site will never be on metacritc or have any Rotten Tomatoes kind of pull.
jeux banat writes:
on August 16th, 2016 at 5:54:02 PM

طريقة اللعب بها بسيطه وجد سهلة مثل بقية العاب بنات التي يوفرها موقعنا حيث لا تحتاج لذكاء وجهد فكري او معرفة مسبقة ، فكل ما عليك هو اختيار زي مناسب للطفل والاعتناء بمظهره العام حتى يكون شكله النهائي مرتب و غير فوضوي .
العاب بنات تلبيس
العاب بنات جديدةal3ab banat

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved